Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Fudge Paintbox review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.0/5

Fudge Paintbox Semi Permanent Colour Review

Overall rating:
4.1/5

All FUDGE Paintbox colours are semi-permanent and will work on pre lightened hair, they also work on grey hair.

If used on dark hair, expect to see a slight gloss of the colour you've chosen.  

FUDGE Paintbox colours last between 3-30 washes depending on the colour you've chosen and the condition of your hair. FUDGE Paintbox are available in a variety of colours. FUDGE wants you to play your way, so where you apply the colour and how long you leave it on for is up to you, it's your hair.

Pack Size: 75ml

RRP $23.00

Availability: Selected Hair Salons and specialty hair product stores

Website: www.fudge.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
15th July, 2017 at 12:01 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Blueberry Hill

I used Blueberry Hill on my bleached ends. It is a gorgeous purple and comes out very vibrant. I feel you need to have blonde or bleached hair to get good results though so be aware of this.

Although the colour is amazing it washes out and fades mega quick. Also it runs if you get wet as I experienced oneday after getting caught in the rain. Stains clothes pretty bad.

I like the colours but there are definitely other brands with much better results so I would not use this again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
6th May, 2017 at 11:57 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Washes out easily, not worth price.

I'm a bright hair dye junkie, I've tried every colour and brand I can get my hands on, so I know there are a lot better products out there that cost less. I wouldn't say this is a bad product by any means, it's just not the best on the market. It washes out very quickly and the way the colours fade does not look good, it fades patchy and into weird colours, however if you do love to dye your hair a new colour every week this works well because of how quick it fades, it's easy to do a new colour over top without having to rebleach your hair! If you want a burst of colour for a short time I would recommend this, however if you're looking to stick with one colour for a while there are much better products out there

Tips: Wash your hair with COLD water to avoid fading

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
8th October, 2016 at 5:31 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Chaneg your colour with your mood.

I initally started using the fudge products several years ago as a way to dip my toes into the creative colour scene. Once i started i was addicted ! I've tried every colour in the range- some fade out better than others and also have better longivity.

Tips: mixing with conditioner can lighten the colour your after as well as giving a top up/maintain the colour you already have.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th October, 2016 at 12:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Awesome colours

Loved using this when i was younger gives you a vibrant colour whilst not being permanent - Love the colours that are brought out! Doesnt kill your hair!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
2nd October, 2016 at 5:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Chameleon

I change my hair colour like I change my undies sometimes haha and these are so fun and easy to use! Big colour range and love how I can just go to the local shampoo and things and purchase. 8 have tried many brands now and found some do last longer than fudge but I would still use them again, because of convenience and not badly priced

Tips: Mix with conditioner and use in shower between colouring :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd May, 2016 at 3:03 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
<3 this

I've used Fudge colours a few times over the years. I love them because they are easy to apply (no mixing two bottles, etc) and are fairly true to colour (no nasty surprises!). Also it's easy to use half a tube and put the cap on, saving the other half for later - unlike many other hair colours which need to be used immediately.

On the downside, they wash out. I don't know if this is a legitimate downside as that is what they are designed to do, but I'm always sad to see my beautiful colour washing down the drain!

Although I guess it's an excuse to go buy the next colour...

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
7th May, 2016 at 12:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Brilliant

The product is super easy to apply, ai have bleached hair and so it's fun to play around with colours. I got an electric blue and it's super intense so a little goes a long way. For me, the product held for probably around 4 weeks before it started noticeably fading out, but that was alright. The colours are very fun to mix and match

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
19th April, 2016 at 12:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My go to semi permanents!

I've had level 10 blonde hair for the past 6 or so years and have frequently been playing around with different colors and brands, but I always come back to fudge.

I mostly mix semipermanent colours with conditioner to get a more pastel shade, and I've found that fudge dyes tend to stick to their original color most accurately and don't get as splotchy as other colours.

The pink (pretty flamingo) dye can occasionally stick around in your hair for quite some time and washes out as a peachy pink/orange color, but I think this also depends a lot on how porous your hair is and whether you use a toning shampoo/conditioner. I currently use the pink and orange (clockwork orange) dyes in a very weak solution in both my shampoo and conditioner to maintain a strawberry blonde/ginger colour.

The purple dyes are by far the best I've tried! They wash out after a few washes, which is disappointing, but they fade to a lovely silver then regular blonde colour. Too many purple dyes have left me with blue or green hair for weeks after applying them which I can't stand, so I stick to fudge now. They also work very well diluted with conditioner as a toner for blonde hair, or as pastel violet if left on longer.

I feel that the price is quite reasonable because I almost always mix the dyes with shampoo or conditioner to make a pastel colour or to use it as a toner. Each 75ml tube tends to last me around 3 months with weekly use as a toner.

Tips: Definitely pre-lighten your hair, I have level 10 hair and usually have to leave the color on for longer than recommended to have it take to my hair.

Be cautious if you have foils, it will come out differently on the different hair levels/tones.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th March, 2016 at 8:44 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love the funky colours

Fudge colours are my go to brand of semi permanent funky colors. I find them easy to use, I like that the tubes are resealable so i can top up my colour. I find them an OK price range.

Tips: Lightening your hair give you a better result, blue can wash out mermaid green. Avoid light coloured towels

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
10th March, 2016 at 5:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product!

I used this to get my hair bright pink and loved it! It was a great vibrant colour - but i accidentally left it on longer than it recommended on the back of the colour and it stayed in my hair for a while.. But i loved that too! My hair had a pinkish tinge for a while which was awesome. Have used the dark purple too and absolutely loved it. Didn't feel damaging on my hair either which was lovely <3

Tips: If you wanted it to last longer in your hair you could probably leave it to process for a little longer - but ask your hair professional first!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here
Review of the Day
blondefairy74
Love my 'new' nails!!
I was keen to try these product as my nails are brittle and split easily, and my cuticles are often… more »