Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Banana Review

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Banana Review
Overall rating from 33 reviews so far:
4.6/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.6/5

Garnier Fructis Nourishing Banana Hair Food can be used as a conditioner, hair mask and as a leave-in treatment for stronger, healthier hair. It deeply hydrates and repairs, leaving dry hair soft and healthy hair.

Enriched with banana, shea butter and coconut oil, the 98 per cent natural origin formula is free of parabens, silicones and artificial colourants.

Availability Selected department stores, pharmacies and online

Website www.garnier.co.nz



RRP: $12.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Banana Review

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Banana Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.3/5
23rd October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Banana Hair Food

I have long, straight, fine and frizzy hair and I don't use supermarket shampoo's or conditioners, mostly because they irritate my hands so reading the reviews that said this was just as good as a salon style conditioner I thought I'd try it out as a potential replacement for my in-shower conditioner.

As others have mentioned, this comes in a tub. It's really awkward, it takes up a lot of shelf space, you have to use both hands to hold and open the top then you have to scoop it out with your fingers and reverse the procedure while trying not to drop what's in your hands. I understand the reason behind this is because it's more for a hair mask than an in-shower conditioner so it makes sense.

My husband loved the smell of this and said it smelt good enough to eat and yes, it has a lovely, slight banana scent to it which I didn't find overpowering.

It didn't irritate my hands and left my hair feeling soft. No increase in frizz and yes, it was just as good as my salon conditioner.

However, I recently spent some time in a humid climate and this conditioner did not perform well at all. I could not let my hair down due to the incredible frizz and didn't want to walk around looking like a cavewoman. So, back to my salon conditioner.

Tips: Get hold of a re-usable silicone bottle and scoop some of this into it out of the tub so you can use easily in the shower.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
THE BEST

I bought this from Countdown when they were having a sale, and I do not regret it. This is by far the best smelling hair product I've ever given my nose the pleasure of smelling. The banana is so sweet and candy like, it reminds me of fruit bursts without the cavities.

It's thick but easily spreadable, so makes for applying in hair easy peasy. You never need a lot but it just smells too darn good to stop. I actually wish the scent was more potent so it perfumed my hair! I also find that using this all three ways doesnt weigh down my hair, or make it greasy. It's da bomb!

It's also the best (in my opinion) in the range. I used it after swimming at the beach and my hair felt brand new, it was so soft and conditioned, it was like I'd just washed it not subjected it to salty water for a couple of hours. It's so hydrating and its just. Literally the best. I'll be repurchasing when I run out!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
shazatron101
9th November, 2018

I havent tried the Macadamia one TouchaCat, only this and Goji, sorry!

TouchaCat
8th November, 2018

Hi, I'm curious to know how it compared to the macadamia one :)

shazatron101
21st October, 2018

Aw thank you Maree xx im not a huge fan of banana scented beauty either but this is amazing. I can send you some if you'd like? :-)

MareeB
21st October, 2018

Gorgeous profile pic Shaz! I'm usually not a fan of banana scented products, but you make this one sound lovely!

Overall rating:
4.0/5
16th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Smells divine and very moisturising

I use this stuff once a week as a treatment, it smells sooo good! I absolutely hate bananas but this smells more fruity and yum. I apply after shampoo then cover my head in a shower cap then hair turban to keep it covered. If you heat your hair it will penetrate better so I sit in front of the heater for half an hour, then rinse it out. It leaves my hair very moisturised but can be a bit heavy if you don't fully rinse it. Overall great for dry hair and reasonably cheap too!

Tips: Rinse out fully if your hair is low porosity and prone to build up or looking sad and limp

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Banana Rama!

So after trying the goji berry in this range I just had to try the banana one! I love the big tub these come in, reminds me of a yoghurt pottle. Easy to screw the lid on and off and not too fiddly to use in the shower

My favourite way to use this is as a conditioner in the shower,  I leave it on for about 5 or so minutes. It is so lovely and thick and the banana scent is so beautiful. It doesn't smell really fake and I love how it lingers in my hair. I never thought I would love smelling like bananas but I do!

It leaves my hair feeling luxuriously soft and shiny. I find I have less frizz and it takes less time to straighten my hair.

I picked this up on sale for $9 which is a great price, you can get them even cheaper when Garnier have a 50% off sale. I would certainly buy this again and I am keen to try the rest of the range.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Tropical treat for your tired tresses

My frizzy dry follicles went looking for a drink and found salvation in this smoothie-like hair mask.

Described as an "intense conditioner" for "dry hair", this Garnier Fructis Nourishing Banana Hair Food is softening, moisturising, and smells and feels like banana custard.

It is ninety-eight percent of natural origin, with no parabens, silicones (no greasy feel), and no artificial colourants.

It is fun to scoop out, in a chunky fun pottle, much more satisfying than a measly squeeze bottle dispensing a drizzle. It is a huge tub, 390ml, so offers very good value for money at $12.99 rrp. Most supermarkets sell it.

I will definitely purchase it again, as the results and the smell are bananas, as in very good.

Tips: Leave it on for longer than the 1 minute on pottle, if you can, as the smell will settle in more.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
6th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
The Most Delicious Scent

I got my hands on a generous sample of this from a fellow BR Babe, many thanks and appreciation! First thing I noticed was that smell! I am not into bananas at all but love the smell of this. The texture is creamy. I used this as both a conditioner (after shampoo) and also as a dry leave in mask.

Both worked wonders. I have very dry, frizzy, long thick hair. I noticed from the first use that the condition of my hair had improved. Not only did it smell great but it was softer and easier to manage. My frizzy is actually more wavy than I thought it was as it soaks up all the goodness.I have had compliments about my hair which is not common with my mop.

The brand isn't cruelty free which is the biggest bummer for me but I would still purchase this as I am very happy with the results.

Tips: I like to apply to my dry hair and leave to soak for atleast half an hour before washing out. (Follow up with shampoo if desired)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Omg Banana Scrumminess

I literally want to eat this as it smells so good and I love everything banana, so super stoked with this.

I jumped on the Garnier hair mask train when I saw so many of you lovelies raving about it and with it being half price I was like why the heck not (I think I paid $6.99 from Countdown).

This is so thick and creamy, so easy to apply and the tub is so flippin huge that it will last you ages.

There are 3 ways to use it which is so versatile: 1) As a straight conditioner after shampooing 2) Hair Mask while in the shower and then wash out or 3) Leave in treatment without washing

I have done all 3 and they all work really well leaving hair feeling and looking soft, silky, shiny and really healthy. Smells amazing and have had compliments each time I have used it.

Highly recommend using this hair mask as it really does what it says it is supposed to do.

Tips: I found a fourth way to use this - as a shaving cream - OMG so good, legs feel super super smooth and feel hydrated eek.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Leave in for curly

I love this product as a leave in conditioner for my curly/wavy hair. I don’t feel it is a deep conditioner. I don’t feel that 5 minutes are enough for conditioning. The smelling is really amazing. I think the best is this product is 98% natural ingredients and curly girl method friendly. No silicones, no sulphates, no parabens, no short alcohols.

Tips: I use it on wet hair before my styling products. It’s not heavy or sticky.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Banana addiction

My daughter had some of this and I had to try it. She was using it on herself and her daughter who's hair is beautifully curly and I was impressed as there was no brushing. So I had to try it.

I use this daily and usually before going out. I apply to dry hair and actually leave it in. It smells wonderful and leaves my hair feeling great. I was so disappointed I couldn't top up my stash when countdown had their latest sale on garnier as our local countdown and the next town over for some reason didn't have this in stock?? Maybe it sold out.

It's pretty reasonable price wise it's a nice cream that spreads a long way so I use this slower than I would a conditioner.

Will be purchasing again.

Tips: It's like a perfume for your hair any which way you use it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
26th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Smells amazing

I bought this on special to give it a try as I loved the concept of "hair food" which implied it was made from mostly natural, food ingredients. I picked the banana because I thought it would smell the best and was best suited to my dry hair. I used it like a mask, leaving it in my hair for about 10 minutes before washing it out. It didn't really do much to change the condition of my hair, it was just like a normal conditioner but the smell is amazing and my hair smelled like it all day! It's like a fake banana/Perky Nana bar smell and it is delish. I would purchase again based on the scent alone.

Tips: Leave it in your hair for as long as possible.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No