Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Schwarzkopf Live Salon Colour XXL Ultra Bright Purple Review

Schwarzkopf Live Salon Colour XXL Ultra Bright Purple Review
Overall rating from 18 reviews so far:
3.7/5
Would use it again?
3.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.8/5

Go ELECTRIFYINGLY bright with our semi-permanent shades. For extreme results, apply to pre-lightened or highlighted hair.

The semi-permanent formula with Ultra Bright pigments gives you bright and colourful shades that are sure to make you stand out from the crowd. Its multiple application techniques means it's perfect to help you customise your look.

Availability  Supermarkets, Farmers, The Warehouse, selected pharmacies

$8.99

Website www.style-studio.co.nz



RRP: $8.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Schwarzkopf Live Salon Colour XXL Ultra Bright Purple Review

Schwarzkopf Live Salon Colour XXL Ultra Bright Purple Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
1.7/5
30th March, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Barely works

My hair is lightened, to a dark beigey blonde with highlights. This is the second time I've used Live rinses. The first time was pastel pink, and that barely worked. I chalked that up to my hair being too dark for a pastel.

So I tried again, with the Brights, this time Magnetic Purple. I left it in the full 30 minutes. And my highlights were the only part of my hair that took any colour, and only a pastel purple.

This product either needs far more processing time, running the risk of damaging the hair, or is only suitable for severely lightened hair.

Tips: If your hair isn't Nordic blonde, don't bother. Try another semi permanent brand.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Great!

If you want to try something new for a short period of time, definitely reach for this box of hair dye. I visited some of my friends recently and bought this dye that I got as a Christmas present as well as the lighter lilac pastel hair dye and the result were vibrant. The dye didn't smell bad and my hair didn't feel dried out after I used it either! Unfortunately it doesn't last very long but it is a very fun colour when you can see it. This product can be found for cheap in some stores so have a bit of a squiz before buying.

Tips: Lighten your hair before use.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
6th April, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Even Fab on darker hair!

I absolutely LOVE this product if you are looking to add a little fun to your hair.

At the time I was attemping to go purple and after a failed attempt with another home dye which left my hair effectively a rich reddish brown, I threw one of these in. The results were sooo beautiful. I was left with a purple glow and while it wasn't the electric pop purple I was going for it was still a noticable purple and perfect for anyone not wanting to be SO bold. As the dye washed out I was left with a very beautiful muted pink almost pastel, which I got lots of compliments on.

At a later stage I did re-try this purple on pre lightened hair but unfortunately I still never got the purple advertised on the box, it always came out more Pink than purple.

Application is very easy, the dye comes in the form of a moose that you squeeze out of a foil packet. It's also does not have that strong chemical smell that you often have with home dyes.

I find this to be a super cost effective way to get funky with your hair & for less than $10 a box and often on special or x2 for the price of 1, you can't go wrong.

I have seen friends spend hundreds of dollars trying to go pink and purple at the salon and it still washes out just as quick as these bargin buys.

Tips: I recommend using a couple of boxes if you have hair longer than ear lenght, as their is not a lot of product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
24th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Magnetic Purple

I am no stranger to the colour purple... it's one of my favorites. It is hard however to find the perfect shade of purple, one that is not to deep in red tones nor too cool in blue... a happy medium that stays bright and doesn't fade too quick. Well... almost all the boxes got a tick.

I had a struggle getting my hands on this particular shade as I sent the husband on a shopping trip... alone... with a list in hand... this. is. never. a good. idea!! So he returned home... with twice as many items as I set him out for (not surprised at all) and not one of the items in his shopping bags was the purple brights I had at the TOP of my shopping list :/ Next venture out I took the random colour he selected on his own steam and attempted at three locations to swap it for the purple I so eagerly sought... Success... Finally!!

I had to admit that is was a good idea having more than I needed... with living so far away from a shop it was best to not run out mid process, and as soon as I started applying the metallic mix I found that even a couple of packets would have left me short... my hair is midway between my shoulders and elbows and is extremely fine, bleached, dry hair.

The colour was in a foil sachet which I have mentioned in the pastel reviews was unexpected and the product was thick like a really dense mousse... it was a bit tricky to apply at first but soon got the hang of it.

It lasted the 6-8 washes it claimed and I even still have bold streaks of colour through out my hair after a few more washes than that. It had shown signs of fade and noticeable areas of blonde after only 5-6 washes though. I think it may take a few more to get the last of the colour our of my hair and back to the colour it was prior.

All and all this is better than the pastels for fade but I still think by the time you buy 3-4 packets I might as well buy my regular colour.

Great for using as a highlight or feature but expect to buy a few packets for a full head of colour.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
13th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Pretty purples for cheap!

I have never tried the Schwarzkopf live colours before so it was a first time for me, I purchased Bright purple and a few other shades to try on my freshly bleached hair.

The box is smaller than the usual box dyes, and quite cheap, They were on special at Countdown for $5, they were such a bargain!

Inside the box was a sachet, some plastic gloves and a paper that had the instructions. I wasn't too sure if these came with gloves so I purchased some while I was at Countdown. Its a big bonus to have gloves too as other temporary dyes dont come with disposable gloves.

It recommends that you squeeze out the dye into a container which I did, the dye is very thick, a bit like paste, a lavender paste. My hair is just past shoulder length and I used this plus another colour, both boxes were just enough for my hair.

Once my hair was washed and dried, I could see how bold and vibrant my hair was. It really soaked into the lighter blonde that I had in my hair and didn't really change the colour of the darker yellow parts. But the parts that did change looked amazing and so vibrant!

The colour only lasted 3 washes, maybe because I put leave in hair treatment into my hair every day? Or the use of hot tools? I would wash my hair once a week to try to keep the colour but there was no hope. I found it faded after the 2nd day.

Overall I am happy with the results, for the price it is good value for money.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th December, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Unicorn Purple, don't mind if I do!

For a brand I don't like, they do bright hair dye well. I was looking for a cheap alternative to what I usually buy, and this popped its head up for less than half of the price of what I usually get. I had been told it was good by two different people so I got a box of purple and away I went. I opened it a few weeks later when my hair was ready, and I was surprised to see it was in a foil packet. I was happy to see the gloves though! The gloves fit well but are too short I think, so I keep them in place with hair ties.

I was again surprised by this little product, as the purple dye is so metallic! I wasn't expecting it. It is a very gorgeous purple though. It's thick and creamy, and I diluted mine with conditioner as it made it go further plus it made it easier to put in my hair.

It rinsed out really well and I found the color didn't bleed into any other color I had in my hair. In my hair, once dry, the color was gorgeous, and stayed fairly true to the color that came out of the packet. I don't wash my hair often anymore (once a week) so I got more than the 8 washes out of my color, and even as it fades it still looks nice. I would and have repurchased this, among other colors of the range.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
5th December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Passionate about purple

I have been going through a transformation lately with experimenting with bright colours in my hair again. I have recently fell in love with the Schwarzkopf Live Salon Colour range and of course the purple had to be one of my top choices. I am lucky that I have short hair because the amount in the box only does a small amount of hair. It is even not enough coverage for me to be honest.

The product itself comes in a small foil packet so it is ready made and raring to go. Having it this way make it convenient and fast but can be very messy. It comes with plastic gloves to protect the hands which is a handy thing (excuse the pun) because this dyes the skin really good. I can say from personal experience it takes a couple of scrubbing sessions to get it off.

I follow the instructions precisely on these colours to maximize the results. I wash my hair beforehand as instructed and then start at the roots of my hair making sure they are all covered and then bring the rest through the lengths. I rub it in all over making sure every strand is coloured. I leave mine in for 35 minutes to get the most intensity out of the colour.

I rinse out without shampooing so that the colour stays for a bit longer. If you wash it with shampoo after applying it starts fading already so prefer just to rinse. The colour is VERY bright and intense. It resembles the hot pink a bit but with purple tones. It's not true to the colour on the box but it is still stunning and I love it nonetheless. To get the best colour I tend to re-blonde my hair beforehand so it stands out more.

It has now been two weeks and three washes. I see blonde chunks coming through and pink more than purple colours. It almost resembles mermains hair in a pink/purple. It looks awesome! This purple lasted far longer than the pink did which is what I am after! If you love bold and bright but can't commit forever this is definitely for you!

Tips: Follow the instructions perfectly it gets the best results.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
8th August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Would love more product in box

When I found these in the warehouse I was so excited that finally I can buy these bright coloured semi permanent dyes in the shop and didn't have to buy online and wait for postage. I really liked my results after using this product my hair turned out the same colour as it was on the box.The formula was really thick which I didn't really like as you had to use a lot of product for 1 application. I mixed mine with a white conditioner to make it a thinner consistency. The colour I found lasted about 2 weeks till it started to fade but the colour did not fully wash out. Would purchase this product again as I thought it was a good product to use for a burst of colour!

Tips: you can mix with a white conditioner to make a thinner consistency

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
29th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Purple!

So I decided I wanted a change but I wasn't brave enough to go permanent so this seemed like the perfect product to try out. So off I went to the warehouse who didn't have any so off I went again to the supermarket yay found some. I got home and started the process. I found it went onto my hair quite well and the bright color made it quite obvious if areas weren't covered in dye. I left it on and rinsed it off when the time was right. I found it didn't leave s really bright color like on the box and it was abit patchy in some areas even though we made sure we got it everywhere. It faded to a really nice pastel purple quite quickly but from there it faded really weirdly and I still have some purple bits in my hair that I can not get out at all and its from over 4 months ago now. I found the product needed a lot more in the packet because I had to use three packets to do my hair and normal dyes don't even usually take two.

Tips: Buy extra as there isn't a huge amount in the packet.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Most desired purple!

This temporary dye is great! It has a nice deep, but bright purple!

For a long time i'd been searching for a purple that is a nice purple, id been looking through the fudge paintbox range, and there was no purple that I liked. And I ended up settling for Rasberry Beret from the fudge range, huge mistake as it turned my hair hot magenta! eep!

For the price $5 at my local Warehouse, is a HUGE steal!!

It comes in a small box, that includes a instruction and about the live colour brand, and some horrible gloves! Too big for my hands and were like huge plastic bags around my hands haha, I ended up having to use some gloves id been saving from the Loreal casting creme gloss gloves as they are amazing! So that was the only let down from the brand was its gloves haha.

I have shoulder length hair which is curly with a mix of fine and thick hair, I ended up having to use 2 dyes to get an average cover, the dye comes in a small foil rectangle which is about a nice handfull worth.

Make sure your hair is lightened/bleached before applying this product to your hair, otherwise untreated hair will have no effect colourwise.

Tips: For best results use a colour lock conditioner or treatment.

Make sure to apply more product to the tips of your hair as it seems to fade out faster than the roots.

If you have long hair and dont want to buy a lot of these dyes just to cover your hair mix with a plain white conditioner 1 part for 1 part, it may come out a little bit lighter but will also keep you hair nicely conditioned while waiting to wash off.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
itsclearascrystal
8th May, 2015

The colour looks good :)

OllyPops
6th May, 2015

Hey Crystal, i'll change my avatar to a photo of when I had died my hair this purple, so you can see what outcome I got. You really just have to look out for the sales :)

itsclearascrystal
5th May, 2015

This sounds perfect for me. And it's $8 elsewhere so I will now be checking the warehouse for it. So thank you for mentioning that.

OllyPops
4th November, 2014

Forgot to add, the intensity of the colour lasts around 2-3 weeks pushing the 3rd week if you've used colour lock hair conditioner or treatments. Until it starts to fade. and for $5 that is so worth it! Plus you dont need overly white hair to use it