Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bronze Shimmer Brick Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.5/5

Bobbi Brown Bronze Shimmer Brick Review

Overall rating:
4.5/5

The original Shimmer Brick Compact. This shimmering, brush-on powder creates a deep, bronzy glow. Works well with neutral and deep blush shades.

Sweep the Face Blender Brush through all five shades and dust lightly on cheekbones after blush. Focus on applying shimmer on the top of cheekbones.

Pack Size: .4 oz./10.3 g.

RRP: $65.99

Availability: Farmers, Department Stores and Online

Website: http://www.bobbibrowncosmetics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
17th May, 2016 at 12:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good but not worth the price

This is a super great highlighter, it gives the most beautiful bronze glow and it's super reflective but I honestly think you can find something exactly the same from another brand. Like I'm pretty sure these are between $80-$100 at farmers and it's so not worth it. The product lasts a long time and can be used as a bronzer, highlighter and eyeshadows but I just don't think I would ever spend that much money again on a highlighter

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th November, 2015 at 3:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Luxury Item

Back in my pre-child life when I worked full time I would buy a Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick at the beginning of each Summer. The Bronze Shimmer Brick was by far my favourite and I almost wept when it ran out! It always went on smoothly and was very long-lasting, with a fantastic shimmer/glittery-glow!

Tips: You can easily use it as an eye shadow as well!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
18th July, 2015 at 7:18 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Shimmer Me Up

This was something i had ogled over for ages, but honestly, i did find it hard to justify the price tag, so put it off for a long time. Luckily for me, a beautiful BR babe was parting with this, and i snapped it up in a heart beat.

This shimmer brick comes in a black shiny square palette, with the words Bobbi Brown in white. So simply yet classy and sophisticated. This is one of the product i love having out whether i use it or not, just because it looks so classy. The palette has a flip top lid, which closes really securely, and it has a handy mirror inside.

I have this in the shade Bronze, which has 5 shades (and i am pretty sure its the same as the one in this display picture for this review product). It has gorgeous shade which look beautiful swatched separately, and look amazing swirled and used together, so it can be worn in a variety of ways to create different looks. I would consider this a warm shimmer brick, but i like warm tones so i am happy.

The colours are pigmented and quite fine, with long-lasting power. I do find this shimmer brick very shimmery, and sometimes it can just look a bit like glitter on my face depending on how i use it. When i swirl the colours together, i use it over my cheeks for a glow, which is a look that just brightens my whole face. I only use the white as a highlighter for my cheeks, and only when i want a shimmery look. Plus another bonus is that these colours can create gorgeous eye looks, so the perfect makeup item to take when travelling.

Honestly, i really like this product, and i do think it is worth the hype. I have only had it for around 6 months, but use it regularly, and i havent even made a dent. It creates a beautiful glow to my face, and that's a glow i would pay this amount of money for so... if you are sitting on the fence about this product, go and get it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd June, 2015 at 10:39 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Simply Beautiful

I've never been much of a highlighter person, being an oily-skinned girl in my mind shiny was never a good thing. I've been playing around with various highlighting products this year and after hearing sooo many good things about Bobbi Brown's Shimmer Brick I had to give it a go. I admit I didn't pay full price for mine, and before using it I wouldn't have done but with how much I love it I really thing it's worth the investment.

This is the first Bobbi Brown product I have owned and I was impressed by the quality of the packaging, sleek and well-made with no unnecessary dazzle, it lets the product speak for itself and it's sturdy enough to withstand travel.

The shimmer brick is made up of five shimmering powders, a white and four bronzes. The product is very fine and pigmented, a little goes a very long way. Being an amateur I was worried I'd go overboard but it's incredibly easy to blend in and create a really nice glow.

I like to apply this using a rounded kabuki brush after I apply my bronzer and blush, running the brush lightly through the brick, picking up a little of each colour and then brushing it across my cheekbones. I've also used this as an eyeshadow palette when travelling as the colours are such pretty, shimmering bronzes and you can create so many looks from them.

I normally wouldn't spend so much on a highlighter but this product is so much more and really takes my makeup to the next level. When I'm looking less than fab, this is the product I reach for to perk me up (or at least look like it!). Because of how little product you use at a time I see this lasting a very long time and I highly recommend it for anyone wanting a really lovely highlighter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th April, 2015 at 11:31 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Long lasting

A good quality shimmer brick. A little on the expensive side compared to others on the market but you definitely get your monies worth out of it. I use it all year around, summer use is to enhance a 'summer glow', winter use is more for a special occasion. Goes on lightly and can be built up to an all over sun kissed look, as a blush or as a shimmer across the cheekbones. Colour blends easily and I don't find the brick loses too much powder so next to no wastage. Great with different types of blush brush, small, medium, large.

Tips: Take your time in applying it, doesn't build up in an instant so no worry about over doing your blush. Use the lightest shimmer colour as a highlighter under your brows to define their shape.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th March, 2015 at 8:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great investment!

I think this product is quite versatile as it can be used as a blush, highlighter for contouring, or you can swipe over all the colours for a pretty glow. It's quite expensive but it does last a long time as long as you don't drop it as it is veery fragile which means it can be hard to travel with. I use it as a blush mostly for a subtle hint of colour. A little bit goes a long way and can look too shimmery if you slather it on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
8th November, 2014 at 2:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
expensive haha!

its a very light product that you can apply on your cheeks and anywhere where the Sun hits on your face its really light to put on and you can use the brushes that shannxo uses on YouTube. usually I like mix all of the colors and dust it all over my cheekbones because it makes it a bit shiny and gives a glow it usually lasts all day but if I put a fair amount on us I only lightly dusted it will last maybe 4 to 5 hours. Not for everyday use because its very expensive but if you go out on special occasions then its really good and looks good all night/day. Lasts long if you use it properly

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th September, 2014 at 4:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great Product.. But is it worth that price?

I purchased the Bobbi Brown Bronze Shimmer Brick a while ago, and I'm still using this product. Now this product is built up of 5 different shades of power, allowing you to sweep all over the shade to create a shimmer for your check bones, or you can use individually.

I also use this product as an Eyeshadow Palette, as the colours are so pretty and the shimmer is perfect. The product is buildable, not too intense when first applied but can become very shimmery if too much is applied.

Overall, the product is pretty pricey but if you can balance out the cost with the use for the product it's not too bad.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
11th August, 2014 at 6:31 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Very shimmery

This is definitely a SHIMMER brick. Because I am very fair I am not able to use this as a highlight but I instead use it for an overall glow on cheeks over blush. This works well as eyeshadow too. I like the colour but if over-applied it can become very metallic looking and make my skin's flaws more apparent.

Tips: Use with a light hand

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st August, 2014 at 9:22 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
What a bargain for $65.99!

I bought the Bronze Shimmer brick seriously about 6 years ago and its still going strong even though I have used it to death! At the time I bought it for $99 and thought I had got my moneys worth but now that it is a lot cheaper I would 110% recommend. The powder is super fine so you end up with a glossy shimmer rather than powdery and each individual stripe can be used as eye shadow wet or dry too. So versatile and beautiful on all skin tones.

Tips: Use wet for an intense colour on the eyes

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here
Review of the Day
blondefairy74
Love my 'new' nails!!
I was keen to try these product as my nails are brittle and split easily, and my cuticles are often… more »