Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Macadamia Reviews
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.1/5

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Macadamia Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Garnier Fructis Smoothing Macadamia Hair Food can be used as a conditioner, hair mask and as a leave-in treatment that intensely moisturises and smoothes, leaving dry and unruly hair soft and healthy. Enriched with macadamia seed oils, soya and coconut oil, the 98 per cent natural origin formula is free of parabens, silicones and artificial colourants.

RRP: $12.99

Availability: Selected department stores, pharmacies and online

Websitewww.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th July, 2018 at 9:37 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My expectations were high

Ok. I know you shouldn't judge a book by its cover...but I was totally expecting big things from the Garnier Hair Food. Was it the super-cute packaging? The 98% natural claim? The fact that it just looks like it'll be a miracle for your hair?

My first impressions of the tub in real life were overwhelmingly positive. It looks like something you'd pick up in your organic food store. Its just got that natural, 'good' vibe about it. Loads of info on the packaging, no 'extra' packaging like a box or plastic disc under the lid. It looks as simple and clean as it could be.

I do have a few issues with the tub format - water does get in there if you're using it in the shower. But it does make it easy to get the product out I suppose.

I first used it as a conditioner after shampooing. It is so thick and creamy I wanted to start off sparingly, just because my thick hair holds on to product like a sponge.

As a conditioner its simply wonderful. It spreads easily, it rinses well and it leaves hair soft and smooth. My hair is ombred and the ends were looking a bit knackered and I am prone to frizz. After drying and styling, my god my hair was so soft. I felt like Monica from Friends. You know that glossy, frizz free hair? It even straightened easier than usual.

As an intensive mask this is brilliant, but don't be tempted to use more than you would when conditioning. I went a bit slap-happy putting it on as a mask and it was more difficult to rinse.

As a 'leave-in' it was a bit of a fail for me. My hair felt icky and tacky.

The softening and smoothing effects last at least 2-3 days. The gorgeous scent lasts at least 24 hours.

The price for the mask is great, and I think it'd make a lovely gift too.

I'll definitely be trying other flavours - Banana is next on my list!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
14th July, 2018 at 1:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good, but not the best.

I was lucky enough to trial this product. I have dry, fine, frizzy hair; so any product that claims to nourish my kind of hair is something I want to try.

The tub is huge!! I love how large and generous it is. The hair food smells delicious, like macadamias and the texture is smooth and incredibly creamy.

I used the food as a mask and a conditioner, but it was more effective as a mask. I feel if you want the best results, you need to leave it in your hair for as long as possible. It didn't really work as a conditioner for me. While it did work, the results weren't long lasting. I was hoping it would leave my hair feeling soft and silky, and looking super shiny for at least 24hours; but I was lucky to get 12 hours out of it. So it IS good, but NOT as good/great as I hoped it would be.

Tips: Leave in for as long as possible. I found it more effective leaving it for around 6 minutes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 7:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smells like a buttery dream!

This product is great, the tub is a large size and easy to open while in the shower The product is a thick creamy mixture and is dense, I have thick coloured hair and used this as a leave in conditioner after shampooing, it left my hair smelling great and nourished. I would use this at least 3 times a week for maximum results. It’s free of nasties so that’s great if you’re avoiding SLS, parabens etc! It also has a great mix of coconut oil, macadamia oil and more! The smell of the mask is buttery and nice it also isn’t too heavy on the hair! I hope this product becomes available at supermarkets cause I love it!

Tips: Use 3x a week or more for best results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 6:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Super food for my hair!

When I first received this product I was pleasantly surprised with the size of the tub. It contains 390ml of product and after only a few uses I've hardly made a dent in it.

I especially like that this is a 98% natural product. The 2% of ingredients that are unnatural are necessary to ensure the product doesn't go off, which is fine with me. It contains coconut oil and macadamia seed oil that helps to ensure my hair is left nourished and moisturised. It doesn't have any parabens or silicones in it, which is great for people who are sensitive to these

The texture of the product is thick and creamy. I find that only a small amount of product goes a long way. It has a nice smell which is a cross between coconut oil and a fruity scent. The smell lasts on my hair for at least two days after I've used it.

I've only noticed positive changes in my hair since using this product. I've definitely noticed that my hair has become visibly softer and shinier. I even had a co-worker comment on how healthy my hair looked the other day, so something must be working!

My favourite method for using it is to apply it to wet hair will already in the shower. I find that it applies much easier this way. Then I leave it for a few minutes and wash it out.

Overall I've really enjoyed using this product and I will continue using it until the tub runs out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
13th July, 2018 at 11:37 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Delicious scent

First off, I need to let you know that I don't wash my dry hair too often, so I was only able to use it once in the trial period. I'm making a mental note to come back and update this review once I've used it a few more times, as one of the things I LOVED about this product was the multi-tasking nature of the product.

While I put my name down to try a hair mask, I was pleased to find on the tub it gave information on how to use it as a conditioner, a hair mask, or as a leave-in treatment. I'm trying to streamline my beauty products, so this was a big plus in my book.

I don't think I've ever done a hair mask before, so this was how I tried the product. As a bonus, it only said to leave it in for one minute. I left it in for much longer, but it was good to know I didn't need to have a super lengthy shower - or worse, two showers - to get the benefits of the product.

The tub is a nice big sturdy thing with plenty of product that is easy to scoop out - much better than those conditioner containers that leave you struggling to get the last of the product out, then in a quandary as to how to wash it properly for recycling.

The product smelt delicious. I'm not a fan of overly strong fragrances, so I was nervous about that, but this one smelt good, which made it a pleasure to rub into my hair.

The big question - did I notice a difference in my hair? To be honest, I didn't. Maybe this is because I'm a wash-and-go type girl, never spending long drying and styling my hair, or maybe I was expecting too much, but I didn't notice a difference to when I used straight conditioner. This may be because my hair wasn't too dry at the time, so I'll be interested to see how I go tonight, when I'm going to use it again having just coloured my hair.

At this point, while it's a decent conditioning product, with a lovely smell and great packaging, it's not a must-have. Watch this space for an update when I've got through more of the tub!

Tips: You can skip the conditioner and use this on it's own if you want to save some $$ while getting the benefits!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 11:25 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It really is food for your hair

I absolutely loved trying this Hair Food. Now I feel like it is a must have for me. There's no turning back now.

I like how it comes in a jar type container. Its easy to access and I am in control of how much product I am getting out and using so there is hardly any waste during application. A little goes a long way which is awesome. The product itself smells bloody delicious! I'm very impressed of how it smells. I have used this as a hair mask, conditioner and a leave in treatment and each time I have had the best results. My hair is left super soft, healthy, nourished and smoothe.

I completely recommend giving this a go and Im going to buy and try more flavors ( flavors, smells, hair food)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 11:02 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Yummy!

My first reaction when I "met" this product is that it is huge tub. It is in a ice cream like tub, which plays on the whole food thing. It is a really eye catching design. It definitely brightens up the shelf in my shower. I always use a hair masks a conditioner. My hair is super dry and coarse so anything that promises to smooth and moisturise unruly hair...I'm in! I use a hair mask as a conditioner all the time. It seems like a more nourishing effective way to condition my hair. I have no issues with products weighing my hair down since it is so fluffy and coarse. As you would expect of a mask, this mask is very thick and creamy. It makes it easy to apply a thick coating to my freshly shampood hair. It has a subtle fragrance. Which is a bit different to what I would expect from Garnier Fructis. I have always thought Garnier Fruictis had strong sweet fruity fragrances. This mask seem like a more grown up hair product. I left it on my hair for 5 mins, and rinsed it out. I was really impressed with the results. My hair felt softer and less frizzy. It left a really nice subtle fragrance in my hair. I have a feeling the condition of my hair will continue to improve after every use. I look forward to using this product on a regular basis. And I would definitely repurchase again....although that wont be for a while.....since the tub is so big!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 9:06 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Decent conditioner

Overall, I would say I found this product decent without raving about it or saying that it did anything remarkably different to other similar products.

The pot size is large and is easy to screw open the lid to get the product out. The smell is delicious and lingers for a few days after use.

The product itself is quite thick so you don't need to use too much but it integrates well into the hair without being too greasy. I prefer to use this just as a conditioner as i don't like leaving products in my hair and don't like the mess and annoyance of hair masks.

I enjoyed trialing this and would be keen to repurchase but will probably still use my regular conditioning products intermittently as well.

Tips: You don't need too much

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 12:41 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Delicious hair care!

I just loved how you can use this product 3 different ways, a normal conditioner, a leave in treatment or a hair mask as well as the fact it is 98% natural origin. I tried all 3 ways but have to say the hair mask was my absolute fave!!! I used the Garnier Fructis Hair Food Macadamia along with my Fructis Sleek & Shine shampoo or the shampoo & conditioner combo (got hooked on this after trying it via Beauty Review!) depending on what treatment I was doing. While using as any of the 3 your hair is left smelling absolutely yummo and feels as well as looks more settled, but I found using it as a hair mask the best for me as when I let my hair naturally dry it still kept the curl looking soft as well as together and controlled instead of the annoying little halo of static frizz I still got a bit of normally as well as keeping the curl well controlled even after a couple of days. My hair feels even more healthy and soft and I just love having no frizz after using this. I totally recommend this to anyone with a bit of frizz to their hair or has curls that go a bit out of control because you will love it and not want to part with it once you start!

Tips: The tub is big so take care not to get too much water in it when you open it in the shower so it keeps it texture. If you have long nails don't try to scoop it out, tilt it to the side to get it and you may think you are using loads but it actually goes along way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Great review Wilko.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th July, 2018 at 8:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My hair is so soft and silky smooth!

Well, this is most definitely my new hair care must have! I love love love this product! It smells lovely, is nice and thick and the packaging is nicely designed. It's an easy screw top pottle so it's easy to use even when your hands are wet from the shower.

I'm so excited that the mainstream brands are starting to get on the natural and environmentally friendly bandwagon. This formulation is just as good, if not better, than Garnier's other, not so pure, formulations.

I tried the product is all of the three ways listed on the back: - as a conditioner (I really like this, it felt like a really rich conditioner and left my hair feeling smooth and silky) - as a mask (I got the same result from using this as a mask as I did using it as a conditioner, so given the extra time involved in using a mask, I'm not as convinced by this one) - a leave in (this is my favourite - I used this instead of my usual argan oil hair product and this is so so so much better! My usually frizzy hair became lovely waves. Someone asked me if my hair naturally did that and they were shocked when I told them it did. Also, a little goes a long way).

All in all, I love this product and I'd definitely 100% recommend to anyone.

Tips: Use a small amount as a leave in and your hair will feel soft and silky and any frizz will disappear

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »