Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick Review

Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick Review
Overall rating from 44 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

Max Factor Elixir Lipstick gives you smooth, soft lips with gorgeous colour.

  • Instant fabulous colour.
  • Actively moisturises for smoother, fuller lips (vs bare lips)
  • A blend of 60% emollients, conditioners and antioxidants including vitamin E.

Website www.maxfactor.com

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick Review

Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.7/5
11th September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Wrong finish for me

Max Factor isn’t a brand I would normally buy. It does remind me of my grandma who loved the brand and I do feel it is targeted more to that age group. I received one of these lipsticks though in a beauty box. Whilst it wore well and it was nice and moisturising, it had a very pearly finish. Again, I felt this put it in the grandma category, as did its scent and taste. Whilst this wasn’t a bad lipstick as such, it’s not for me so I wouldn’t go out and buy one for myself.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th January, 2017
0 members found this review useful
A Nice Go-to Lipstick

The Max Factor Elixir Lipstick is a good lipstick for when you're on the go and need to pop something on that will look good with whatever you're wearing. I find most of the shades from this range pretty versatile, and they wear well throughout the day with minimal feathering or fading. I personally prefer lipsticks with a slightly different finish to these — I'm not a huge fan of the pearlescent look. I also hate that Max Factor still tests on animals, so I'm not going to repurchase based on that too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
30th August, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Molten Bronze

When I was given this I was a little under whelmed by the packaging. The gold tube looks pretty. The clear bottom showing the shade colour. Sadly it feels cheap and light.

The colour it self is beautiful my problem is the formula and finish. A bronze brown shade with a real pearlescent look to it.

On the lip it looks like a gloss, it's really pearly which I'm not a fan of. The formula I think is too soft and more a gloss stick than a lipstick. It wears off really quickly aswell.

The glossy finish isn't my thing either. I love a good matte finish. This brown would look beautiful with less gloss and more of a matte feel and finish (I'm only saying that because I love mattes). If you like a gloss that has a good pigment then these lippies are the ones for you.

I wouldn't be happy paying the RRP of $24.99 for this product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
26th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
MF Elixir in Angel Pink 610

Packaging: The square gold tube reminds me of a lippy Id find in my Nanas using, it feels a little dated, but overall the gold does give it a touch of class, and the cylinder winds well.

Product: This is a lot more pearly than Id normally go for and I guess I was hoping it would be a more subtle pink, I think because it holds in my lip creases/wrinkles due to the pearly effect it makes it more noticeable and vibrant.

Wear: It is super moisturising to apply and the moisture continues to last on my lips. I don't feel like I have to be overly careful applying it as it takes to my lips really well. I find surprisingly this lasts longer than Id expect and when it rubs off it leaves a nice pinky colour evenly on my lips.

Overall: I cant see myself using this all up, however I would be interested to try more from the colour range due to how it feels on my lips and the ease of use.

Tips: Blend this colour with other lipsticks to give a shine/gloss look and to add a touch of moisture.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
1st December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Beautiful colour :)

I received this lipstick in my March beauty box. I got this beautiful bright pink lipstick. This lipstick has beautiful packaging and the lipstick is very pigmented.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
24th October, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Not my kind of lipstick

I love me a good nude lipstick and sadly my search for the perfect one continues. I received this in the March BRBB and when I read the name I had an inkling it wouldn't work for me.

Sunbronze is a bronze rose shimmer with a frosted finish. I'm part of the chocolate club and from experience; a bronze lipstick just doesn't really work for me. I'm not a fan of a frosted finish nor do I like shimmer in my lip products.

The packaging looks good with the gold case and see-through bottom showing the colour of the shade however when you pick it up, it feels - cheap. It's very light and you can easily break it (not that we would aim to do that but it wouldn't take too much force).

The scent is a bit much for my liking, it doesn't linger on the lips but it's quite a sickly sweet smell. The only positive aspect for me is the creamy formula and the pigmentation. It glides on effortlessly and with just a few swipes you'll have very good coverage. It's very smooth, hydrating and hasn't dried out my lips once.

On it's own the shade doesn't work for me at all; it kind of washes me out and makes it look as if I put no thought whatsoever into which lipstick to wear with my makeup. I would have considered trying out the other shades but there are too many cons to even bother.

Tips: I line my lips with a darker lipliner (MAC Half-Red / Stripdown); apply Sunbronze and then blot. I repeat the application of the lipstick and blotting maybe 3 times until I'm left with a mauve pink shimmer with a matte finish.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
My favourite go to lippy

I got this as part of the March beauty box and it's absolutely one of my fave lippies to use now, I got the Pomegranate 665 shade and it's a deep pinky shade, very lovely for any day or night looks, it lasts aaaages sometimes when I wake up the next day it's still there but faint.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
11th August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Just not my cup of tea

Received in a Beauty Review Beauty Box. Shade that I randomly received was SUNBRONZED.

This is a cute lipstick in packaging, it has a golden thin metallic lid that goes over almost the full length of the lipstick case with a small clear acrylic based that shows you the colour of lipstick held within. It comes in a square shape that sets it apart from others on the drugstore market. Formula wise, again it is a nice lipstick that has a soft almost buttery smooth application that sees it settle on your lips to give a comfortable wear and even when blotted with tissue still leaves the colour true to itself on your lips. It remains on your lips for an hour or so before you need to reapply.

However, what I didn't like is the finish and colour, it has a slight metallic lustre about it that has me recalling the late 80's when these were the rage and can still be seen worn on ladies in their late 50's early 60's, it just feels a little old fashioned and it's a finish I just can't deal with. The colour I was sent, Sunbronze has this muddy orange, fake tan shade about it that just looks a little out of place against my pale skin, perhaps it is more suited towards medium to darker skin tones.

Another downside to it was it's chemical aroma and taste, a waft of perfume lingers on the lipstick that kind of put me off it as well as the other issues. It might just be a personal thing for me and it might appeal to others but I just can't get around it, even though I have given this a while to try and let it grow on me, unfortunately it hasn't.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
27th July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Rosewood 833 - not for me

This Lipstick arrived in my March BRBB and I was excited as I haven't tried Max Factor lipsticks before. I have to say the colour itself is a rich pinky-brown nude, the packaging is stylish, and the colour is easy to see at the base of it, and the lid is golden with the iconic X on it. I found the lipstick base a bit small to grab easily to remove cap, but once I managed to get it a few times it became easier.

The bullet itself, matching gold case and the lipstick... stamped with the same iconic X... love it so far. It has a scent of soft sweet vanilla (maybe creme-brulee?), and unfortunately it has a taste.. a strong one at that. It didn't take long for me to decide if I could wear this lippy, I can't wear ones that feel like the back of my throat is scratching... it has a powdery taste, like talc? but also floral? I am not sure. I persevered in case the perfume use in it faded... it did, along with the lipstick. I was reapplying after only an hour with one cuppa in that time.

The texture... buttery creamy softness... if I could get past the taste I would apply it as a balm continuously just to feel it on my lips. Because it is a nude I found it hard to tell if the coverage was decent but on swatches on my hand it looks quite opaque.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
21st July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Looks great on the lips but smells horrible

I like Max factor and when I received one of the Elixir lipsticks in Rose wood in the March beauty review beauty box I couldn't wait to use it on my lips!

The tube it comes in looks very classy, its in a gold shiny tube, and the colour Rose wood is a pinky light beige colour. It is a shade that would look great on anyone because of the different colours it reflects, the beauty review couldnt have choosen a better shade in the BRBB for me (Thank you beauty review)

The first thing I notice is the smell, I wish I could tell you what it smells like but I cant even think of anything that smells like that until you smell it for yourself. I do not like the smell, but I try to wear it because it is a very pretty shade.

The formula is very soft and very creamy. It has a glossy finish which helps make my small lips appear bigger. My lips feel so moisturized and soft when I wear this lipstick. The wear time is ok, when you eat or drink it leaves a bit of residue. 4-5 hours is the average time before I need to touch up my lipstick.

Overall I love the shade and how moisturizing this lipstick is but I really dislike the smell, and you hope you don't get any in your mouth, that tastes like mouldy crayons (not that I have eaten mouldy crayons) I wish I could describe how bad it smells.

I wont be purchasing this shade of lipstick but I still like Max factor.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

DOUBLE BEAUTY POINTS!

Do you love Antipodes?

We've updated all of the Antipodes listings - so if you've been waiting to review an Antipodes product, or three, now you can!

And until midnight Saturday 2nd July, you'll earn DOUBLE Beauty Points for every Antipodes review you place!

CLICK HERE TO FIND AN ANTIPODES PRODUCT TO REVIEW!