Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun Xmas
Braun Xmas

Urban Decay Naked Basics Review

Urban Decay Naked Basics Review
Overall rating from 35 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.8/5

Urban Decay Naked Basics Review

Our first MATTE palette, featuring six gorgeously Naked neutrals to build on or wear alone—including four never-before-seen shades.

 

Availability  Selected online retailers

Website www.urbandecay.com



RRP: $67.50

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Urban Decay Naked Basics Review

Urban Decay Naked Basics Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
My handbag staple!

I received this as a gift a few years ago and initially thought it was SO BORING. But I quickly realised that this is the most useful palette in my collection. I use every single shade all the time! I use the two brown shades in my crease and on my eyebrows, and the black is super pigmented so it makes a great eyeliner. The two light neutrals are good for setting eye primer or blending out a crease colour. And the cream shade has a slight shimmer to it so it's a lovely browbone/inner corner highlight. So many palettes these days are all colourful so this palette is the one I reach for when I need some neutrals to tie my look together. The quality of all the shades is lovely, they are all smooth and blendable. I've had mine for almost 4 years and it still performs the same as when I first got it. Would 100% recommend as a makeup bag staple (it'll fit in there, it's really small!)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Naked Basics

I got given this little palette from a friend for my birthday, it was my first urban decay product! It is perfect for traveling or when you want a very simple eye look. My favourite shade would be the fourth one, it’s amazing for when I just wanna swipe a normal colour across the lid for every day life. I’ve had this for quite sometime now and it looks like I have hardly used it. For 6 shades it’s definitely pricey. Would I buy this my self after been given this as a gift? No probably not as I only really use 3 of the shades but I do really like the eyeshadows just don’t think I’d like to pay that price. Have recommended this to my mum and other friends already.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Great for on the go/travel

I've owned this palette for a few years now and it continues to be one of my go-to palettes, especially when travelling and weekends away. I love a neutral simple eye, especially for work or day time and this has all the perfect colours for that as well as a darker colour to amp things up for a darker evening look if need be and a colour light enough to use as an inner corner and brow highlight. These shadows blend really well and I've never had any issues with fall out etc. The generous size mirror in this is also handy.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
21st June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Every day favourite

This is an ideal 'go to' palette for everyone - it lends itself perfectly to everything from barely there natural looks to daily glam right through to bold and smokey.

It's compact and portable, so an easy option to slip into your travel case, but has a great range of colours for its size. There's a lightly shimmery highlight, a few light to mid colours perfect for the browbone and lid, a darker mid-brown for smokey looks and crease accentuation, and a rich sultry black if you want added drama and/or use powder for eyeliner like I do!

The colours are highly pigmented and despite most of them being ultra matte they're silky smooth and easy to blend.

It can have a little fallout if you're working quickly or with a lot of product, though, so do be prepared to give your undereye are a quick once over afterwards.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Love it!

I got this as a gift, and I absolutely love it! Amazing pigment and wearability of all the colours, and Urban Decay is vegan! Easy to travel with due to small size, and the shadows all blend really easily.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
30th August, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Nude lovers rejoice!

Definitely one of my top three palettes (my top three are all from this brand!).

It's such a nice change from the larger palettes, and makes for a great staple in your beauty bag. I love that the shadows can work well for everyday but you can work with it for a smoky eye for a night out.

The case is smaller than my hand and slim so fits easily in my make-up bag and has a velvet like feel to the case, but opening and closing it can be a bit of a pain. The latch area is quite small so it's easy to slip your fingers when opening. I ended up losing it out of my hand and the dark shadow smashed to bits on my white bathmat (total pain to wash up but I digress!) But aside from that, it's a perfect palette to have in your mix.

The shadows are buttery soft and all matte as advertised, though I find the lightest shade, Venus, to have some sheen to it (but I'm not complaining). It's a perfect highlight on my inner corner of my eyes.

The shade WOS (pinky nude) is hands down my favourite eye shadow colour. I have fair skin and it's the perfect base colour to sweep on my eyelid, and for such a light shade it has amazing pigmentation and hides the veins on my eyelids!

Highly recommend this palette!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Cute & Practical

I am a massive fan of the Naked pallets and had to add this to my collection! Like all Urban Decay shadows these are perfect, the colours are a dream to work with and the product itself is long lasting (I can never be bothered to wear shadow primers) and easy to blend. At the moment this is one of my go to pallets as all the colour combos go easily together when I'm up at the crack of dawn getting ready for work I don't have to think too much about what I'm slapping on my eyes. This is my first matte pallet and I'm ready to add more to my collection!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th January, 2015
0 members found this review useful
I think I'm in love (and will be broke soon)

I've been lusting after Urban Decay shadows for a long time. Youtube reviews don't do anything to relieve this obsession. When my parents went to the US for a wedding, I begged them to bring me back this palette.

I LOVE IT! I use it for my work look all the time, and frequently it is the basis of every eye look I do. I use WOS the most frequently, applying it all over the lid. I like a natural look, so the darker shades are practically untouched. The lighter shades have taken a beating!

These shadows are worth the hype. They are so lovely to apply, and will help create some fantastic eye looks. I have found that the shadows wear off if I don't apply a primer, but I think I have excessively oily eyelids, so this may not be the case for everyone.

Tips: Apply a primer to keep the shadows sharp and fresh all day long!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th January, 2015
3 members found this review useful
My everyday palette choice

I have a problem, a Naked problem, and one that doesn't involve taking my clothes off. I own all of the Naked palettes (other than the Naked Basics 2 that is just out) and the addiction didn't stop at the Naked Basics palette. When this came out and I heard that this palette was all mattes I was already hooked! One of the reasons I don't use the Naked 1, 2, and 3 as much as I should is because the amount of shimmer in it. For that reason I thought this would be perfect for me.

The packaging is great for a small palette. Small light brown plastic and about half the size of a normal Naked palette. The lid has a mirror in the whole thing. I love that there is no space for a silly brush or sponge that I would never use. I have had the palette for probably around 12 months now and hinge has broken a wee bit at one side, and the rubber coating around the outside is starting to peel off. I have taken this palette with me travelling quite a bit though so a bit of wear and tear is to be expected.

There are six eyeshadow shades and one shimmery shade. My favourite look is using Walk of Shame (WOS) all over the lid, with Naked 2 in the crease, and Faint to darken the outer corner and as an eyeliner. Occasionally I use the shade foxy as a highlight in the inner corner and brow bone, it is easy to just pick up with your finger and apply. The matte black shade is probably the one that I don't use the most, although I like that it is there to darken up a look should I feel the need. I find all the shades pigmented, buttery, easy to blend, and just overall great eyeshadows.

For me this is the perfect palette for work and for travel. There are plenty of looks you can create with this if you are travelling, but you can also create a classic look for everyday. Of all my Naked palettes this would be the most used, and at almost half the cost!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
kirstyj
21st February, 2015

Thanks Kateaislinn! That is super sweet :)

Kateaislinn
21st February, 2015

this review is quite possibly the best thing i have ever read! super helpful x

Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th June, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Travel/Everyday palette

This is amazing palette!!! It is so compact and will be the prefect palette to take with you if you are going tripping overseas. When I first starting wearing makeup this was my favorite go to eye shadow as it had all I needed for a beginner. It is great for work or day time look and you can also dress it up for an evening look.

The packaging is very sleek and compact and will be easy to store any where (Even in your Jean pockets!)

The price is pretty good if you were to use it everyday, as each shadow will last you a long time. I have had mine for 2 years now & I still have heaps left. A little of product will go a long way. The only down full is the gule holding the shadows in is not that good and some of them are becoming unstuck :(

Tips: Look this palette up on youtube for ideas on looks :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No

CHECK OUT THE BEAUTY VAULT PREVIEW!

The Beauty Vault opens this weekend!

You can have a sneak peek at just some of the products you'll be able to grab this weekend in the Beauty Vault Preview!

Click Here to go to the Beauty Vault Preview!