Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation Review

Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation Review
Overall rating from 494 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Won't change color, smudge or come off on clothes. Feels lightweight and comfortable. Now the flawless look you see in the morning is the look you keep all day. Oil-free. Fragrance-free.
 

BENEFITS:
LONG-WEAR: 24 hours. Medium coverage. Our #1 makeup.
COVERAGE: Medium, buildable
FINISH: Natural, semi-matte
FORMULA FACTS: Oil-free dermatologist-tested

Website www.esteelauder.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation Review

Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th June, 2021
0 members found this review useful
My Absolute favourite

It’s taken many many years of trialling foundations. From liquid, to pancake, to powder and everything in between.

From the cheapest of the cheap, to the luxury brand’s. I’ve lost count on how many I’ve used!!!

And then about 3-4 years ago I found this foundation. It does everything it promises and more. It stays put for hours and leaves a beautiful dewy finish. It’s also incredibly versatile. Apply sparingly for a light finish, or build it up for maximum coverage

Tips: Best finish is achieved by applying with a sponge

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
7th June, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Worth the money.

This foundation is great for coverage and long wear. It’s definitely NOT a foundation for your everyday minimal/ fresh coverage gals out there! I find it similar to Tarte Amazonian Clay foundation. It’s very matte and once dried- it’s heckin plastered there until you decide to take it off! It is expensive if you are using every day and power through it. Other than that, it does what it claims to do. Great for bridal or special events for photos being taken.

Tips: • Blend fast. • A more chilled out version of this is Loreal Hyaluronic True Match- has same matte/ clay look finish. • All the Arden counter workers say it doesn’t oxidise but it does. The darker the shade, the more it oxidises I have found (makeup artist working on diff skin tones).

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th May, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Literally the Holy Grail of foundation

After using a few different professional brands, I still wasn't satisfied with the coverage and the longevity of the product.

On my maiden voyage, setting sail to find the holy grail of foundation, I found reviews for this foundation. Uses were praising the coverage, how long it lasted and rejoicing in finding a foundation that was buildable AND flawless.

I had to try it.

I took off to the local stockiest who swathed me with different shades until we agreed on the correct shade. I was thrilled.

This is the best foundation I have ever used in my LIFE. The coverage is amazing - a little goes a long way. The best part is that you can touch your face and the foundation doesn't come away. It sticks like gum in your hair. At the end of the day the product is still flawless, albeit a little worse for wear around the nose.

The price is a little bit up there but I fully believe it was worth every cent. I also walked away with a little gift with purchase which included a small mascara which now lives in my car for those touch-up moments. Don't underestimate the usefulness of those little trial products.

Tips: I use a brush and it goes on very well.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Fantastic

This product is amazing

Great coverage A small amount goes a long way.

For me the price point is too high to use it often. but is worth it for a nice foundation

Tips: If you have dry skin it's not for you as it sticks to dry patches

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
28th March, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Amazing full coverage

This foundation was a definite holy grail foundation especially during my late 20s and early 30s. Gives amazing full coverage, that made my skin look flawless. Depending on your skin prep and the/ or if you use primers will depend on the finish. I paired this foundation up with the Smashbox photo finish pore minimizing primer and loved the matte finish. Definitely worth the money. Only reason why I have given it a 3/5 for would I use it again is because now I'm nearly entering my 40s, my skin has changed and so has my preference of makeup application.

PROS: - its available in over 60 shades across cool, neutral and warm undertones. - its a medium to build-able full coverage - semi matte - works well with a brush or sponge - wears well throughout the day/ night

Cons: - the packaging, love the bottle but the fact you have to purchase the pump separate is a huge thumbs down - Invest time and/ or money into your skincare and primers, this foundation does like to accentuate dry areas. So you may need to up your hydration.

Tips: Prep skin well before use, it does like to accentuate dry areas.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd March, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Best foundation ever

This foundation is definitely worth the hype. It is a very full coverage long lasting formula that stays looking flawless throughout the day. It sits on the skin really well and looks amazing and fresh for atleast 12 hours. I have experienced with other long wearing full coverage foundations , they usually start to budge and move or crack however this one always looks the same at the end of the day as it first does when I apply it on my face. 10/10 for this product.

Tips: Tip : Use a matte setting spray on top to lock everything in place even better!!!:)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
23rd February, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Buildable coverage

I recently took a trip to farmers back at the start of January looking for a new foundation to wear for an event, I wanted to it be full coverage, last all day and not leave marks on people as I gave them a hug!

I have tried this foundation before back in my early 20s and to be honest I never really took much notice of it. Whacked it on my face and called it a day. However I do remember it always being an absolute flawless finish. My skin has changed since my 20s so I was curious to see how my skin would like it now 10 years on.

I wanted to do it right so went and and had a consultation with the Estee Lauder sales lady? and she was kind enough to colour match me like I had asked. However I wasn't sold on it just with a wee swatch on my face so she kindly did a full face for me so I could be sure I really wanted to buy the product. Not only did she do a full face but she sent me home with a sample. Regardless I purchased it then and there on the spot after having it applied.

The one thing I noticed straight away was actually how buildable the foundation was without it looking cakey. To start off with we did a light application that could easily be worn as a day to day face and then she built it up so it was MAX coverage. I have quite large pores and was super impressed with how well it sat on my face without making my pores look grossly enlarged.

The day of the event I chose a full coverage application and it really did not budge all day! It didn't smudge or smear or Mark anyone's tops as I hugged them. It was a sweltering hot day too and it didn't melt or look oily throughout the day. I did wear a setting spray to help the longevity of the product of course.

One thing I disagree with this product is that it states its a semi matte. I honestly think this is just a straight matte finish. On my skin it feels and looks matte. However it doesn't feel heavy on the skin and the finish really is beautiful. I 10/10 will be re purchasing this product when I run it. It's reliable and it's beautiful on the skin, I feel like my skin has matured alot since my early 20s, now being in my early 30s it still looked flawless.

Tips: I'm not sure if you can buy a pump for the top of the bottle? But if it exists I 100% recommend getting one to make getting the product out a little easier and to avoid mess!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th January, 2021
0 members found this review useful
EL DoubleWear, Longwearing Natural Even Toned Skin

This is quickly becoming one of my fave foundations. I really like the natural looking finish I get and it stays on for hours. I've gotten compliments using this. I've never worn it for 15 or 24 hours so I don't know about those claims but it does look pretty good for most of the day and into the evening. I use a primer and the Urban Decay All Nighter so that does extend the wear a bit. I haven't gotten any breakouts using this and I have found I only need a small amount to even out my skin so even though it's expensive it lasts a long time. I would recommend this to anyone with oily to more normal skin that wants a longwearing foundation with a natural finish.

Tips: I like to spray a good setting spray like UD All Nighter for even longer wear once I finish my face. If you have an eye on this foundation I would recommend waiting till there's a good gwp or discount so you can get more for your buck.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Full coverage and flawless

This is quite pricey, but you do get what you pay for! This foundation lasts SO long, morning to night without a smudge! Super impressive staying power. However if not blended properly it can look a little bit cakey. It doesnt seem to oxidize on my skin which is very good as I usually end up a little orange by the end of the day with other foundations, but not with this. You can tell the bottle is made of good glass quality. The packaging is also sleek and classy. I use this foundation mainly on a night out, and love it. A flaw for me is that if I use it too often, I will break out but I think that's because it is quite heavy.

Tips: I would not recommend this an an "everyday wear" foundation as it's very high coverage. Use on a night out to have perfect makeup all night long!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
29th September, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Wouldn't use anything else!

I've now been using double wear for a few years. It has stayed by my side during a torrential downpour, a sweaty festival and an impromptu summer swim. Its staying power will long outlast any other and they are constantly expanding their colour range. Its a bit pricey if I'm honest but that the price you pay for a near perfect foundation I guess!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.