Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

July Beauty Boxes
July Beauty Boxes

No3 Underbalm Review

No3 Underbalm Review
Overall rating from 14 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

The flavour of this deodorant combines fresh lemongrass with slightly sweeter lime. This is also a unisex deodorant. It is really hard to pick a favourite between this and the Patchouli & Citrus!

Ingredients Shea Butter*, coconut oil*, mango butter, sodium bicarbonate, tapioca powder*, cornstarch, kaolin clay, cold pressed essential oils, Vitamin E. *organic

Availability Oh Natural and Online

Website www.no3.co.nz



RRP: $17.90

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

No3 Underbalm Review

No3 Underbalm Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.3/5
18th January, 2018
0 members found this review useful
I wish this had worked for me!

I was excited to get this in The Vault as I was curious and keen to try a natural deodorant. I love the packaging of this product which is a glass jar with a screw top lid. The scent is also great - I got lemongrass and lime which is so refreshing!

This is a thick paste which you apply to your armpits with your fingertips. The paste can become almost solid but I found the video on how to use this and gave it a stir with a wooden stick to break it up. I didn't find it too weird rubbing it on but I don't have any armpit hair (thank you laser hair removal!) It might not be pleasant applying to fresh shaved or stubbly pits though.

As this is not an antiperspirant, it does not keep you dry. I couldn't get used to this sensation during the summer so I saved it for winter. Unfortunately I still felt just as sweaty and it didn't keep me smelling fresh either. Sadly I had to give up on this product as it simply didn't work for me. I ended up alternating it on a daily basis with a antiperspirant which defeats the purpose of this.

Having read the other reviews and done a bit more research, I don't think the product is at fault here. I think my armpits need a 'dextox' from decades of antiperspirants first. I would definitely give this a go in the future to see if I can get it to work as I love the concept.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
7th April, 2017
1 members found this review useful
Raise your arms for underbalm!

I perspire a lot, even in Winter - which frustrates me massively. I have tried the clinical protection ranges and everything, nothing is the holy grail for me. So while purchasing this through the beauty vault (thanks BR!) I didnt have super high expectations but I had been wanting to try a natural deodorant for ages.

It comes in a glass jar with very cute packaging, most people wouldn't associate it with a deodorant, which I like. The fragrance is THE BEST. Im a lover for all things lemongrass and with the added notes of lime it was a winning scent for me.

The product itself is very firm in the jar so I have been using my finger in circular motions I warm it up before apply to my underarms where it melts more. Weirdly enough I find applying this to my underarms quite nice. I've since watched the video and see using an ice block stick to loosen it up first can help the application process. I could see people with long fingernails having an issue using this product. I don't mind if any gets caught up under mine as I knowing its a natural product doesn't cause me concerns. Im not sure how men would feel applying this to hairy armpits as I feel it could be a little messy as it wouldn't be melting directly on the skin as it has the hair to get through. Wonder if I can convince husband to try it...

If I've shaved prior to applying or using this for a long period of time I do get a little rashy but nothing intense. I presume its the sodium bicarbonate in the product. I've since seen they they make a 'low carb' option for those with sensitive skin - awesome!

This product keeps me smelling fresh, even when I change in the evening I can still smell the fresh scent. It doesn't stop wetness but given my sweaty nature it still does a pretty impressive job.

Like a few others I would love to see this deodorant paste put into a stick form, just to make applying it more convenient, especially for travel.

For a natural NZ made product it isn't over priced (now $18.99) considering you get approx. 100 applications per jar!

This is the second product I've tried of No3s and I've been super impressed with both. Will happily re-purchase Underbalm again.

Tips: Watch the short video on their website to help with application, and to also check out No3's other products.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Emily-jane
31st July, 2017

Great review. I have been wanting to try this now for ages but was worried it may not last a full day.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th July, 2016
1 members found this review useful
I thought it would never work...

but it does!

I love this product!

When I first discovered this, I admit, I fell for the cute packaging and the fact it was a quirky sounding product. A deodorant, that's a balm, that you like rub into your pits? Had to try it.

Firstly - the smell is amazing. Neither masculine or feminine, I love it, my hubby has started using it because I smelled yum (and not girly).

Confession - I don't remember the last time I touched my pits with my bare hands...razors, roll ons, scrubby shower nets. But I actually found it quite nice and actually it's quite important to be aware of your pits as a woman, your breast checks should extend to your armpits!

Ok, it applies fine, (but if you struggle there's a video to help!), it melts on contact, doesn't take long to dry. It doesn't rub off on your clothes, nor does it stain.

It's not going to prevent sweating, but I'm not a heavy sweater anyway, so I found this more than enough to feel fresh all day.

Over all this is a fab, natural, quirky product that's a joy to use and does what it says on the tub!

Tips: Watch the video and give it a go!

Be prepared to share with the man.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
No3
13th July, 2016

Mamacita, thanks for the Fab review! And super happy you love it :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
All Natural and it actually works!!!!

I was very excited to be chosen to review this deodorant! Over the last few months I had been on a hunt looking for a half decent natural deodorant. I was starting to feel bad to rolling or spraying on tones of who knows what chemicals into my arm pits. So the guilt got the better of me and I starting looking. Unfortunately they either provided no antiperspirant or just crumbled to pieces. Then just as I was about to resort back to my horrible chemicals in a can who came knocking at my door..the courier with my new underbalm! WHOOP! Quick picture of my delivery and then I unscrew the lid (off the super cute and funky presented tub) Wow can absolutely smell the lemon grass and lime! The scent instantly reminds me of summer and iceblocks in the scorching heat - love it!

Being a tub for my Pitts I wasn't keen to dig my fingers in there, so also being a mum I knew I had a new pack of iceblock sticks from Kmart the kids wanted to build a stick house. Wa-lah the perfect spatchula!

I dig out a wee bit and smear it onto my fingers, it has a thick, non crumbly texture. Applying it onto my armpits was easy too, it quickly warmed on contact and rubbed it. It had a ever so slight lumpy feeling but left no residue. The smell was great! (Thank goodness as I had a busy day ahead!)

I used this daily since I have received it. Not once did I feel the need to ever reapply it during the day! I frequently got whiffs of lime and lemongrass as I rushed about my day dropping my boys off to kindy, going out for a big walk with my baby girl, cleaning the house.

And so it continued, each morning I'd apply and each night I would wash it off (yes you can feel it washing off). It felt great knowing that my deodorant wasn't absorbing into my pits. And even if It was it was all natural products

So it's 12.30pm as I write this review...peace and quiet in a household of 3 under 4 and another older man child too :P and I can absolutely say this deodorant was put through it's paces of super busy crazy hectic mum life - and it passed with flying colours! Seriously it's awesome!!!

I will be buying another and another - I doubt I will try anything else! So if your looking for a natural deodorant that won't irritate sensitive skin, will provide all day protection from perspiration and Has a pleasant scent - this is it!!!

Tips: I would love for the company to provide a wee spatula with the product

If it's a super cold day, apply the product to your armpit and let it warm up just a little before rubbing in

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
angepange0
7th April, 2018

Great review! I have to get me some now!

No3
20th June, 2016

thank you mumaK :)

mamaK
20th June, 2016

Hi Cheryl, thanks for the personal reply. Great vid, I can tell you are both very passionate about your products. Keep doing what your doing because they work and are amazing!

No3
20th June, 2016

Loved reading your review mumaK, and so glad you love it :) We've also put up some tips in a video at http://www.no3.co.nz/underbalm/ Cheryl x

Overall rating:
1.7/5
19th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Great smell...not so great to use

I did not love this product. In fact, the only thing I liked about it was the smell, the lime and lemongrass flavour really was quite enjoyable! However, unfortunately that's where the positives end for me. Because this under balm is in a jar, it's quite tricky to get out. It's very solid so you need to rub your finger in it quite firmly to get an amount to put on. This also results in getting it stuck under your fingernails. It would be better if they made this into a stick, that would be much more user friendly! The texture is also really gritty which doesn't feel great when rubbing it onto your armpits. Initially, you smell lovely! But I found that the under balm doesn't actually last all day. Overall, this under balm is a bit of a disappointment. Not user friendly and doesn't last all day...but on the bright side, it smells delicious!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
19th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
No3 Underbalm

I received this deodorant as part of a Beauty Review trial and set about using it that evening after my shower.

It comes in quite a sturdy jar with a secure lid and a nice clean label. The product itself is a thick clay-like substance which was surprising as I was expecting something a bit creamier. As it spreads on the skin it became a little gritty, presumably either the sodium bicarbonate or the tapioca powder. It had a nice light lemongrass scent, I couldn't smell the lime.

Putting it on was a bit challenging. Due to it being so thick and solid it was difficult to scoop it out of the jar and spread in my armpits. I immediately wished it was a solid stick deodorant rather than in a jar!

This is where things started to go wrong for me. I couldn't tell how much product was actually on my skin or how much to apply. It didn't spread well (might be easier in Summer?) but I kept rubbing and eventually it seemed to soak in somewhat, leaving behind the grit. Then that nice light lemongrass scent that was in the jar intensified a bit and changed on me, turning into a less pleasant "armpit" scent. I knew I didn't have a body odour issue as I had just stepped out of the shower moments earlier. I don't know if this is just how lemongrass smells or if it reacted to my personal skins chemistry but it wasn't really the scent I aim for in a deodorant.

It's hard to rate whether it did what it said it would due to the scent starting out but I didn't get any excessive moisture or anything so I think it still worked fine.

I wouldn't repurchase the Lemongrass & Lime one, but I would try the Patchouli & Citrus - especially if it became available in a solid stick form.

Tips: Warm up your hands first to help soften the product, and rub it in well.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th June, 2016
3 members found this review useful
Its a Keeper!

I was a bit skeptical about a balm that claims to help against body odor. Especially an all natural one which has no chemical or artificial ingredients. All the ingredients are familiar and some are organic. Two thumbs up for that. I would like to thank BR for introducing me to this amazing product and giving it to me to trial.

The No:3 Underbalm comes in a clear glass jar which can be recycled. A plastic screw cap keeps everything in the jar. Pretty simple and cute product with no unnecessary packaging-just the sturdy bottle itself. The label is simple and states the flavour, ingredients and has a green stickman figure holding his harms up and a unisex symbol. When I first opened it the lemongrass scent really hit me hard as I was not used to that scent. Its not unpleasant and had notes of lime as well but I felt the lemongrass was more dominant.

I was surprised to find that the creamish paste inside was quite firm. First day I used my fingers to swirl on top of it for it to soften up but I found that it was like a double dip situation for me. Afterwards I just used a craft/popsicle stick to take a small pea sized out. I rubbed this between my fingers to it warm up and more spreadable. Sometimes I just put the blob in my armpit and when it softens from the heat than I spread it around. It’s a bit gritty at first but I think after a while the heat smooths everything. It doesn’t stain, sting, leave residue, cause irritation or is overly greasy. And it absorbs quickly. I really love the fresh smell it gives me but it gets subtler throughout the day.

I have religiously been using this since I got it and I love this product. I have been taking it through its paces. I had pretty hectic days and also vacuumed the whole house. That itself has me running to the showers but using the paste kept body odor at bay. Also I didn’t sweat as much. Depending on the day the product can protect you upwards of 8 hours. Sometimes I got 12 hours! Absolutely marvelous.

I read later on their site that it has 100 applications and the paste softens/melts on warm days. Definitely will make it easier to apply than. I cant wait to try the other flavor’s. Needless to say that I will be buying this and also to tell you all that you need these in your life!

Iam going to update this review in summer and see if it really works as well as it does now. Since its winter Im not as sweaty as I usually am.

Tips: Warm it between fingers to make it easier to apply.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
2lilmnkys
4th August, 2016

I really love it Ringy...and it's so convenient. Smells decent too!

Ringy
3rd August, 2016

Nice to know it works!

No3
19th June, 2016

woops - here it is http://www.no3.co.nz/underbalm/

No3
19th June, 2016

OK 1lilmnky, here's the vid :) http://www.no3.co.nz/admin/pagesEditPage.php?viewVersion=701

2lilmnkys
19th June, 2016

Thanks Cheryl. I'll definitely give your way a go but yeah the video would be really helpful as well <3

No3
19th June, 2016

And based on the unfavourable review below we are also going to put a vid up on the No3 Underbalm page to show just how easy it is :) Cheryl.

No3
19th June, 2016

Hey 1lilmnky, thanks for an awesome review! A tip for the consistency is to mix the top layer around with an ice block stick, or even the handle of a teaspoon and it will soften it up. Then when you use it, just take it from the sides, easy :)

2lilmnkys
18th June, 2016

The only downside- its hard at the moment and you need to spend extra few minutes on it. The aerosols are faster.

2lilmnkys
18th June, 2016

Thanks Koni. I also stuck to my old tried and true...until I got this one. Its very convenient as well. Small enough to tuck in the gym bag or locker. Give it a go. You might find your new favorite!

Koni
18th June, 2016

Great review!! Now I just need the courage to purchase it haha. When it comes to deodorant I like to stick to what works for me but your review has given me something to consider :-)

Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Lovely product

The idea of a natural deodorant interested me a lot and i was very excited about this trial. The packaging is great but because of the cold weather, the product had solidified so it would have been nice if it came with a scoop or something to get it out easily. It melted easily on the skin which was good and absored quickly but it had a grainy texture that left some white stuff. This was alright as it wasn't very noticeable and was easily wiped away with a towel. The smell was lovely and lasted most of the day but i wish it was just a tad bit stronger.

Overall i liked this product and would use it again but wish it had a better way to get the product out when it solidifies.

Tips: The product applies better when you melt it between your fingers before applying.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
No3
19th June, 2016

Hey there sonyia and thanks for the review :) We've made a short vid to answer your question on application..... http://www.no3.co.nz/underbalm/

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th June, 2016
1 members found this review useful
Lemongrass & Lime

I was lucky enough to get on the trial team for No.3 Underbalm in "Lemongrass & Lime". Thank you, BR.

When I opened my courier package, I was surprised to find the balm in a sturdy, recyclable glass pot. For some reason, I'd imagined this to be packaged in a plastic pot! Thankfully, its not and the only plastic part is the white screw top lid. The cute 60ml glass pot can be repurposed (or recycled) once the balm is finished and each pot holds about 100 applications and is good for 12 months from date of opening (it expires after this, obviously due to the natural ingredients being exposed to air).

To be honest, I was very sceptical of this product. After doing a bit of research, I understood that a small pea-sized amount of Underbalm should be applied to each armpit once a day, or as needed, and that it's best to apply it to clean, dry skin, so as soon as you get out the bath or shower. As it's a paste and there is no applicator, you just have to get in there and apply it with your fingers! It's not as yucky as I thought!

According to No.3's website, the texture of Underbalm can vary depending on the temperature. If it's hot, the balm can melt and become liquid (just stir & place in the fridge for 15 minutes) or if it's cold, the balm can become hard, in which case the warmth from your fingers melts it enough to spread it onto your skin.

The scent of Lemongrass & Lime is slightly sweet and citrusy, but is not overpowering, and is marked as a unisex deodorant - both men & women can use it. The day mine arrived was cold and raining, so the pale beige coloured balm was pretty solid and I had to scrape a small amount out using the back of my nail. It softened quickly from the warmth of my fingers and I thought the balm would be smooth but it has a very fine, gritty texture from the Sodium Bicarbonate. My hubby also tested this product and he didn't feel the grittiness, as he has hairy armpits, but said it was very easy to spread.

Underbalm is absorbed into the skin like a moisturiser and after a few minutes, it leaves an almost matte feel, so there's no greasiness or stickiness and there's no residue to get onto clothing. I applied it straight after shaving and there was no irritation. Best of all, it absorbs odour and really works! We really tested it out over the past week, yes, hubby also uses it and it survived various situations (not all on the same day): panic attacks, nervous stress sweating (even on a bad day), gym sessions, 3km walks and day-to-day activities. The balm was only applied once each day and at the end of the day there was no body odour!

So, would I purchase a pot? Yes! My hubby already has his eye on the "Vanilla & Lime" one, as he says Underbalm works better than his usual 24hr antiperspirant!

Would I recommend this? I have already told friends about it! If you're looking for a natural deodorant that works, give Underbalm a try.

Tips: If you have sensitive armpits, No.3 do have "Low Carb" variants too. These contain less Sodium Bicarbonate.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Silvene
7th July, 2016

Underbalm has been working so well for us that I've just ordered a tub of the Vanilla & Lime and I'm keen to try their soaps, so I added a Jasmine, mint & orange soap bar to my order, too! I just love products that work well and smell great.

Silvene
30th June, 2016

Thanks, Macs. We're halfway through our pot and have found that it works well for us, even with Hubby's 2km walk from the ferry to work in the mornings and back again in the afternoons.

Macs
30th June, 2016

I enjoyed reading your review. I am curious about this kind of deodorant.

Silvene
19th June, 2016

Thank you, No.3

No3
19th June, 2016

Hey Silvene and thanks for the fabulous review. Customers like you, who appreciate natural products, are the reason we do it :) We've also added a video onto the website to answer any questions on application http://www.no3.co.nz/underbalm/ x

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th June, 2016
3 members found this review useful
Highly recommend this deodorant!

I was lucky enough to get picked to trial this product. It arrived last week and I must say I was super excited to try it!

The packaging is nice and simple, no cardboard boxes, just the small glass jar (quite sturdy too, so nice and solid and doubt it would break that easily even though it's glass). I really love the stick figure on the jar with the arms up depicting the "Underbalm" really cute and it stands out for me - also the name on the jar is nice and big and a cool green colour, really like that. It also has the male/female signs so you know it's unisex.

When you open the lid the smell just grabs you! Love, love, love the smell of this - lemongrass & lime it is delish! My partner really liked the smell also as it's not girly either.

We both did a patch test for the product and left that for the first day to check - but all was good (and why wouldn't it as it's just natural organic ingredients!). So we both used some after showering - only used a tiny bit at the start, but the next day used a little more to give more coverage of the pit as I don't think it was quite enough the first time.

I put about the size of my thumb nail and gently rubbed into the armpit area - when the weather is colder it is quite firm and you need to scrape it out of the jar, but softens when it's warmer - in saying that it's really easy to distribute and softens quickly. It doesn't leave bits and it's not grainy and it didn't come off on my clothes either.

I walk to and from work every day and get a bit of a sweat up usually, this was the test for me as I normally use an anti-perspirant and this is just a deodorant, well it worked a treat! Not only did it help with the sweat there was almost no smell at all! Couldn't believe it! I think as I use it more often too it seems to be working better if that makes sense :)

My partner was really pleased with this, it worked so well for him also and he is using it every day and has said that we will be buying some when this runs out.

I love this product and will definitely buy it again and continue to use it - I will not be buying an anti-perspirant again like I was using, full of rubbish chemicals - bring on the all natural, organic ones!!

I am so happy I was picked for this trial team as it was at a time we were looking for an alternative and we have found it in this product.

LOVE IT!!!!

Tips: You don't need a huge amount, I scrape off about a thumb nail (just thin) and rub that in.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
No3
19th June, 2016

Thanks for the amazing review bevik :) Makes it all worthwhile developing a not-so-ordinary product :) Here's a short vid to answer any questions on application... http://www.no3.co.nz/underbalm/ x cheryl

bevik1971
14th June, 2016

Yes you should shazatron101 :) it's really great, we will definitely be buying it again

shazatron101
13th June, 2016

this is a really good review! Thank you so much for being so informative and adding lots of detail - I love that. After reading this I'm tempted to get some myself!