Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th August, 2016 at 2:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I used Bio Oil religiously while I was pregnant from about 12 weeks & I did not get a single stretch mark. This product is fantastic but I did use it every day; morning & night so it did end up getting pretty expensive. I ended up using 2 small bottles & 1 medium bottle & by the time you're near the end of your pregnancy you have to use quite a bit to cover your tummy, hips & thighs. However it does make your skin nice & supple so if you can afford it I'd definitely recommend it.

Tips: When you're pregnant start using it early before your belly grows to minimise the risk of getting stretch marks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
23rd August, 2016 at 6:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
liss

It's a good product but you do need to use a lot for it to do it's job. Is quite expensive so for the amount you use it's not quite worth it. The bottle would be better with a pump so you don't loose to much out of the bottle. The product absorbs into your skin really well which is what the bottle says. So that's good

Tips: No tips

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
9th August, 2016 at 12:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil - Review

I decided to try some of this a while ago after hearing what 'incredible results' it had for surgery scars, and recently having had surgery, I got sucked in.

This comes in a little bottle, there isn't a pump or anything you just tip the bottle to get a little bit out. It is very oily, and tends to get all over the bottle when you use it despite how hard you try not to which is pretty annoying. It doesn't have much of a scent. I found this glides onto my skin easily but doesn't absorb fast, it just sits there and sometimes wipes off onto my clothing. I noticed a bit of a difference in my surgery scars but not a huge difference, and so I'm wondering if another oil would work better.

Overall I probably wouldn't purchase this again. It just didn't work for me and didn't make a big enough difference to justify the price. It also became really messy which was quite annoying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
10th July, 2016 at 10:40 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Lovely

I first tried Bio Oil after the birth of my daughter to try and rid my stomach of dreaded stretch marks. What surprised me most about this oil was the smell it was just delightful and the texture was like silk on my skin. It turned my skin into soft butter it was lovely after a hot shower. Did it remove stretch marks? Well I still have them but they are significantly faded.

Tips: Use after a hot shower just before bed. The gorgeous smell will help even the most tired new mother.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th July, 2016 at 12:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Works great on Scars

I have used this in the past on a burn scar on my hand. It worked well for me when I used it regularly and it has a nice light fragrance to it

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th June, 2016 at 6:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
the magic oil

scars! stretch marks! pimple marks! these are any womans biggest problems... but heey to every problem theres always a solution. And the solution is a magic oil in a bottle called BIO OIL! :) I personally have been using this for a long time now, its not just helpful to get rid of scars, stretch marks or pimple marks but it also helps to balance your skin tone, keep it moisturised and help it heal. I just LOOOOVEEEEE this and would recommend anyone to try it! its perfect for any gender and any age even kids... so do try it out ! :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
14th June, 2016 at 7:57 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

Disappointed......I used this for the few stretch marks I do have and I didn't notice a difference at all. I felt greasy and yuk! I was attacked by a dog in my twenties and used it on the scars on my arm with no noticeable difference.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
9th June, 2016 at 8:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great for scars

I used this on my scars for some time and it made the healing process so much smoother. Even though the process was much longer than I would have liked, there is no faster treatments for scars, I don't believe that my scars would be so subtle without the use of Bio oil. I like that this product is not to oily to touch and smells great-but not to overpowering like many other products are.

Tips: Use on your scars daily, especially after showering, for a long term solution treatment for visible scarring. =)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
9th June, 2016 at 8:40 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't see much results.

I bought a big bottle of this and used it as the instructions stated but after using the whole bottle I didn't see any results. I think regen oil has alot better results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
21st May, 2016 at 10:44 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Did not work for me

I expected this product to be extremely effective as I heard fro some friends. After using it for a few months, I did not notice any difference. And this product is quite expensive too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

I am actually...how did you know?!

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »