Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd February, 2014 at 9:30 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Brilliant Bio Oil

Definitely one of the best products to relieve dry and itchy skin. My husband used this twice daily after skin surgery on his nose and massaged it in well. The scaring is now only noticeable to those that know the surgery ever occurred. Amazing results and a great product.

Tips: Use every day to see results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
2nd February, 2014 at 3:42 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
just a moisturiser..

There is nothing special about this moisturiser, its oily and definitely doesn't get rid of or diminish scars or stretch marks. Does do a good job at moisturising though so I'll give it that.

Tips: If you are pregnant lather it on your skin (especially stomach) every morning and night and it will help keep stretch marks to a minimum.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
2nd February, 2014 at 2:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Its okay

Its good if you just want to use it for really dry skin. Found it worked good on my dry hands. I found it doesn't get rid of scars and stretch marks like it said it would.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
1st February, 2014 at 11:34 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

Not a fan i have pretty bad stretch marks and in no way did i expect some sort of miracle but i just thought it would do something but nothing for me used it for quite awhile just became a waste of time and money

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
26th January, 2014 at 4:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
did not like

i used it for years, in HOPE that someday i would see a difference, but no, it made no difference, except to my bank account. not something you can afford when you have kids to feed. someone also told me once that to see a difference, it takes ten years of using it. Aint nobody have time for that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
22nd January, 2014 at 10:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I used this through first pregnancy but probably not as often as I was meant to. It didn't seem to stop any stretch marks but it does leave my skin really soft

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
22nd January, 2014 at 11:27 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Results.. but nothing amazing!

I have been using bio oil for uneven skin tone left by scarring on my arms and I think its working but definitely not as quickly/noticeably as i would have hoped for.

I admit I haven't been the best at applying it every single day but for the price and claims I would expect more from this oil. My skin tone has evened out a little bit but i'm not sure if this is just from natural healing or the oil itself.

I think to get really good results from this product you would need to apply consistently and spend a good time working it in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
23rd December, 2013 at 4:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Marketing ploy preying on pregnant mums.

This oil does NOT help with stretchmarks and fasley markets the product as helping to make them fade or prevent. This is not the case as stretchmarks are genetic and happen at a cellular level. I used this twice daily through pregnancy and it did not help during or after! Much too expensive for a product that doesn't work.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
23rd December, 2013 at 4:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not as advertised according to me

I personally have tried this product once when i just had stretch marks and then again when i was pregnant as i thought i would give it another go but sadly both times i saw no difference in the appearance of stretch marks or making my skin elastic...

I will probably not spend any money on this product again and would not recommend it to anyone either..

Its a very well known and advertised product but for me doesn't do it..

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
23rd December, 2013 at 1:15 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I actually like this

I found bio oil great at the start, when it first was available. It did help with my slow healing scars and wounds, which healed faster and aren't as prominent on my skin to this day.

It was also pretty good rubbing into my scalp for when my hair was dry.

Tips: If used regularly, I'm quite certain it will work for most. Also, when rubbing into scalp and hair ends, don't keep in for too long, as it'll look like a grease pit! Remove by rubbing shampoo into the scalp while dry, jump in and rinse off, wash hair as normal. Trust me, your hair will be soft!

One more tip, my partner dives, and comes back sometimes with lumps on his face from toxins from certain mussels. I always put bio oil on them, and he says its soothing and takes a third of the typical time to heal!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

I am actually...how did you know?!

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »