Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
28th April, 2014 at 9:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I used this religiously when I was pregnant with my first child and it was great! I didn't get any stretch marks at all. I found it was really moisturising and I loved the smell. It even helped reduce stretch marks I had on my hips from the teen years. Sadly I didn't use it as religously with my 2nd pregnancy so got a few marks on my belly but I used it afterwards and it faded them quite quickly so I would totally recommend this product to others.

Tips: Can use it on any scars/marks and even used lightly on your face either under moisturiser or alone.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th April, 2014 at 9:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Works magic xx

Adore, love and rave of this product. I have used this on and off for many years, mostly during the drier times of the year. Stretchmarks seem to be associated with this product quite highly, and for great reason. It may not magically make them disappear, but over time, constant use of this product will help with gradual fade. My 'mummy-marks' never completely went away, but certainly are not as noticeable as they were. This is the only oil based product (well any product) I ever used. No strong scent to it. Certainly oily, but that obviously is what the product is, an oil one. Gorgeous colour too. Definitely would recommend.

Tips: If pregnant you may experience an itchy feeling after application which is normal. Whether or not you can handle the itch is a personal thing :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
28th April, 2014 at 9:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

This product didn't prevent me from getting horrible stretch marks, no i didn't expect a miracle but when i fell pregnant i started using bio oil in my first trimester and used it religiously through out hoping that it would at least mean my stretch marks wouldn't be to bad. I brought so many bottles of it and it was all a waste of money in my opinion. In my third trimester i got the worst stretch marks, super fat and purple, i then tried applying it 3 times a day instead of 2 and had it in my baths. But no it was a big fail i still have horrible stretch marks, they are no longer purple but that is no thanks to bio oil because they faded after i stopped using it. I still have 2 bottles left and i don't know if i want to try use them as just a moisturizer or if there is any point.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th April, 2014 at 4:27 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

No one enjoys putting on weight... and this makes you feel a bit better about it!

While I shouldn't have, I still expected miracles to be worked. It made a difference, just not as much of a difference I wanted to see! But if I hadn't eaten my way into my stretch marks, it wouldnt have been a problem.

This can however, be used of other things! A couple of drops at night is a really lovely moisturiser on your face. Give it a go, even if you originally got it for stretch marks xo

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
22nd April, 2014 at 9:41 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio oil

I brought it for my stretch marks but after a few weeks I got lazy and stopped. I didnt notice much of a difference. I use it as a cuticle and nail oil which has turned out pretty good keeping my clients cuticles nice and soft.

Tips: There are multiple uses for bio oil. You can use it as a hair serum, cuticle oil, and on your face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
22nd April, 2014 at 7:36 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not for me

I purchased this originally for two reasons - firstly, to fade the unsightly stretch marks which had appeared on my 'love handles' after gaining weight, and secondly to help fade my acne scars.

I was pretty religious in my use of this over more than a month, using it first thing in the morning and then again before bed. I loved the feeling of the oil on my body, but not my face! It left my skin looking greasy throughout the day, like it just needed a thorough cleaning.

Unfortunately, after about a month of using it I noticed no difference in the scarring on my face or body. I stopped using it on my face, and used it until it ran out instead as a moisturiser on my legs.

I didn't find this lived up to the hype, and I wouldn't repurchase it.

Tips: Use it as a body oil moisturiser after your shower on your legs, the oil will help trap moisture in and make them feel silky smooth.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st April, 2014 at 11:25 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
For me, it actually worked :)

I tried bio oil middle of last year as a last resort to my stretch marks, within a month i was seeing a great difference .. they were lighter and had nearly disappeared and even now after stopping using it they have stayed the same from using bio oil

Tips: Had to use morning and night, and even put it in the bath :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
21st April, 2014 at 11:09 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
bio oil

This is such an over hyped product.every beauty magazine site, tv channel and beauty site have been raving this but honestly after 3 bottles I haven't seen any difference. Just a moisturizing oil and that is it.used during and after pregnancy so find the stretch mark prevention /fading a total fabrication and nothing more.i will not be buying this again

Tips: If you want to use an oil then use organic coconut oil :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
21st April, 2014 at 10:32 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil Hype

Thought I would try this product as it was getting alot of media attention and I had some scars that were needing attention. Used the product as directed and found no ling term results at all. Was disappointed

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
19th April, 2014 at 5:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Don't see what all the fuss was about

I used this while pregnant and after for a year and it did absolutely nothing for my stretch marks. I used it on older stretch marks while using it on the new ones and it didn't budge them at all. So disappointed

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

I am actually...how did you know?!

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »