Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
20th April, 2016 at 7:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
worked on scar but not on stretch marks

I used this product on my old burn scars and they started to go away after a lot of regular use, but i also used it on my stretch marks and there was no change

Tips: use it regular for it to work

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
2nd April, 2016 at 2:27 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Disappointed

After seeing all the hype about Bio Oil being great for prevention and/or lightening stretchmarks, i wanted to give it a go and see if it would make a difference to my skin. It didnt help at all! Bio oil is super greasy feeling on the skin and hardly seemed to soak in to my skin, which was extremely disappointing. Bio oil also has a lot of yuck non natural products that arent good for the skin

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
30th March, 2016 at 9:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smooth canvas

I've used Bio Oil on and off for some years sometimes consistently for months and other times a few times a week. I mainly used it for uneven skin tone because I noticed parts of my face were darker than other areas but nothing like hyper pigmentation.

On my student budget back then it was expensive buying the 60ml for $20+ but I was sold on the ongoing advertisements. It comes in clear soft plastic packaging which allows you to pour out the product. I always felt the hole was a smidgen too big and a lot of the times I ended up pouring out too much and I'm not the type of person who likes to put the product back into the bottle once it has been exposed to air.

The fluid is an orange hue and smells like baby oil to me. Depending on how much you dispense it's not as runny as baby oil nor as greasy but still somewhat greasy where I have to wipe my hands down or wash them before touching anything that I don't want fingerprints on. It's only absorbed nicely into the skin if you really take the time to massage it in and there have been plenty of times where I just didn't have the time or I was too lazy to put in the effort.

After months of continual use I didn't see any major change in my skin tone other than having a smooth canvas each morning which I know I can achieve with plain jane moisturiser. This benefit however wasn't enough to justify repurchasing it after my last bottle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
20th March, 2016 at 10:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't work well

I didn't like this. I didn't see any of the claimed benefits of it. I used it for 8 months. Would not buy again

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th March, 2016 at 5:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ahhhhmazing

I have recently had a baby and used bio oil right through my pregnancy on my stomach, hips, boobs and bum, it kept my skin hydrated and smooth and I am lucky enough to say I didn't get stretch marks! The only mark I got was my old belly piercing which stretched and became quite red but I have been using bio oil on this 2x a day and it has already faded drastically. I cannot say enough good things about bio oil!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
17th March, 2016 at 6:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I'd use it again, but it didn't do what it said...

Confusing? Sorry.

I wouldn't use this product on its own as I didn't see any of the claimed benefits and it's expensive. It's greasy, non absorbing, and I've been using the same bottle for 6 - 10 months now.

But, I found when I mixed it with rosehip oil, some mixed essential oils it was great. I almost would say I used it as an active carrier oil for my concoction. It was an experiment to try and diminsh the stretch marks from my pregnancy.... And it worked really well. It softened my skin, faded my marks very quickly and improved the condition overall.

Tips: Great for stretch marks if mixed with a bit of rosehip oil etc..

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
7th March, 2016 at 7:41 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A Must Have!!

I have been using this product for 6 months now and I can say that I have seen a huge change in my the dark marks on my skin. Though the product works well, Its a little to greasy and takes a while to see any changes. I will still continue to use this product until I find something better.

Tips: Apply right after you come out of the shower.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th February, 2016 at 1:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
pleased of the results

I have been using bio oil for about 6 months now. and i am very happy of the results. it hasn't remove any stretch marks but made it hard yo see. it changed the colour to my normal skin colour. love this product

Tips: Apply a little after shower

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
22nd February, 2016 at 4:15 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Half minded

I tried this because I saw the ad and I have a lot of stretch marks I use it for atleast 5 months n it didn't really do much for me although I used a little on my face and it worked great the discolouration and I had a few dark dots went away but for stretch marks I don't think it work well at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
21st February, 2016 at 2:29 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I am currently using this product, it has a lovely scent and feels nice and silky on my skin. so far I haven't seen any change to my stretch marks but this oil has worked on some scars that I have...it has started to lighten them, I can't understand why i have been able to notice a change in my scar and not my stretch marks but i am hopefully if I keep using this it may lighten then too. Bio Oil is quite expensive but a little goes along way being an oil it spreads quite far. as for the packaging it comes in different sized clear bottles, pretty average nothing special to the design.

Tips: apply a couple drops to your hand then apply to skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

I am actually...how did you know?!

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »