Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
25th September, 2014 at 12:27 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
fantastic results

I personally have used bio oil on my stretch marks.. I found it to be the best product out to use.. it did exactly as it said it would and faded my stretch marks. Never removed them but yes faded them. Made my skin on stomach feel amazingly fresh. My husband works with chemicals and found his facial skin always dry. He uses bio oil as a moisturizer to leave his skin soft and fresh.. yes when first applied it looks oily but once it's soaked properly into the skin it leaves you feeling soft and revived. Would highly recommend to all to give it a go and see the results

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
23rd September, 2014 at 10:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A real disappointment

I bought this a couple of years ago, in the hopes that it would fade my acne scars. I persisted with it for around 3 months - which was the time period that was recommended and I didn't see any improvement. The oil does not absorb easily and just sits on your skin leaving it feeling horrible oily and greasy, and it didn't help at all with fading or anything. The smell is okay, and it is an alright moisturiser, so that's what I use it for now - just to not waste product. Sometimes when I get dry patches on my elbows and arms, I'll just use a bit of it, but I definitely will not be repurchasing this again. It didn't do what it said, and as a moisturiser - it's a pretty average one anyway.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
23rd September, 2014 at 9:41 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
bio oil

After having two wonderful kids I am left with long nasty stretch marks all down my tummy. And had been looking for something to help tame them down or even get rid of them and was told to buy bio oil. Excitement washed over me thinking that this product would really improve them.But ive not seen any change in my stretch marks that I can tell.So im very disappointed .To be honest it just feels like im using normal baby oil.my skin feels soft and probably dehydrated like it says but thats about it really .The Smell is just ok .it says it contains the breakthrough ingredients purcellin oil.perhaps they need to put more in it ??? Or maybe if id known bout bio oil when I was pregnant I would have used it then and would that have helped then to prevent me getting them at all.i do wonder. This is also used for scars ,uneven skin tones ,ageing skin and dehydration like I mentioned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
22nd September, 2014 at 8:06 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

Bought this product a while ago at a beauty sale hoping it would do what it says and help with the appearance of my scars and stretch marks. I patiently applied this twice daily for about two months and unfortunately it was a disappointment because I had noticed no results with the appearance of my scars and stretch marks, still looked the same to me. However I did notice that it moisturised my skin really well and made my skin feel really soft. It worked well as a good moisturising oil but not as a product to help with fading scars and stretch marks. In my opinion, I think it was a waste of money and I will not be repurchasing this again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
22nd September, 2014 at 6:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I purchased this product to help with stretch marks and scars. I found that it did not diminish the appearance of them with regular application.

I really like the smell of this product and have also used it on my face. It's good as a oil like a night treatment or something of you require a bit of moisture. But i have not noticed any visible reduction in my stretch marks or scars by using this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
22nd September, 2014 at 2:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio OIl

I too like so many others tried Bio Oil in the hopes that it would help decrease the size of my many scars on my body and legs, hoping that I could gain more of a confidence to wear shorts and dresses, since only ever wearing trackpants to cover my legs and the many hideous scars I tried to hide, or help with the fading of stretchmarks on my tummy due to weight gain/weight loss over the years. I never did notice any change in using the oil, but one thing that did bother me was the smell. The smell was so strong at times Id get a headache, and the oil rather greasy on the skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
21st September, 2014 at 10:41 am
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I have been using this product for quite some time now but am yet to see any difference to the appearance of the marks. The smell is quite strong and the oil takes a while to soak in so is best to apply of an evening before bed as to not get on your clothes. The bottle is quite simple but for some reason it seems to always leak with the twist off lid.

I would not recommend this product as after using it for 6+ months I have not seen any noticeable difference to the appearance of stretch marks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Thank you for the review! I will not buy it after reading your honest review. Especially 6 months and not much of a result.. no point. Thank u :)

Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st September, 2014 at 9:44 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I love the smell!

I am addicted to the smell of Bio Oil. Although it reduces the appearance of stretch marks, it doesnt make them disappear... which they never really will. My thighs have stretch marks on them and they have reduced them to white if I use this everyday. Otherwise they slowly change back to a pink/purple colour.

Tips: If this doesn't work for you, it is said that Cocoa butter has the same (if not better) properties at reducing stretch marks. They will never fully disappear unfortunately, but they will slowly fade to a white/skin tone colour... with constant care that is.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
19th September, 2014 at 11:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio oil not for me

I purchased bio oil for my stretch marks and used it religiously everyday but didn't notice any change in my marks so was quite disappointed not too sure if I used the product wrong maybe????

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
19th September, 2014 at 8:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
bio oil

i bought this awhile ago and wasent happy with it at all, i found the oil texture ok, but it didnt do what it said it did, in fact i used it for ages and was hoping it would work as i have had 4 children and have stretchmarks and it made no difference at all, so dissappointed in this product

Tips: my tip would be dont buy it its a waste of money

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

I am actually...how did you know?!

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »