Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
17th May, 2015 at 9:01 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It's ok

This slightly orange coloured oil comes in a clear plastic bottle with a screw top lid packaging is basic but ok. To me this oil smells a little bitter but it's lightness and ability to soak in and not leave a greasy residue is great. The uses for this oil are endless I myself tried it as a good all rounder. On my face I did end up with some clogged pores and I have very mild dermatitis and it did actually seem to get worse when I used this oil. I didn't get any extra hydration on my face using this nor did my skin tone even out. I do have a couple of scars and rubbed it into them and did get a tiny improvement or maybe just all the attention they were getting helped them. On the upside this did wonders as a hair oil and I did rub it into my body before moisturising it did help the body lotion slide on easier I also used it on my feet after a good foot soak it did make them feel softer. This I'm not sold on I tried the whole bottle and it just doesn't seem to have the kick that some other oils have had for me

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
9th May, 2015 at 10:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great moistursier

I used this throughout my pregnancy and while I know that if you are detsined for stretch marks nothing will stop them, I feel that it didn't live up to the hype I had been lead to believe. But in saying that it is a great moisturiser especially for dry skin and it absorbs quickly into the skin. I use it often for daily moisturising

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th May, 2015 at 8:35 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil - Nighttime repair

I must admit, I originally purchased this some time ago with great intentions, BUT they never came to fruition (until recently - when I discovered it in the bottom of my bathroom cupboard and decided to give it a go.)

I have started to use Bio Oil as my nighty moisturiser and I LOVE IT.

I have combo skin (oily T zone with dry in patches etc) and find Bio Oil helps keep my moisturised and makes my skin sooooo soft.

I only use it on my face and hand (I am lucky to not have any noticeable scarring on my face - so cant comment on that side of it)... but it works for me

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
8th May, 2015 at 12:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
not a lifesaver

Ah Bio oil, you hear so much about how it's the greatest thing for scars and stretch marks, so when i started getting stretchmarks when i was pregnant i thought id give it a go. Basically i found it didn't do anything except soften and loosen my tight skin.

Tips: Makes for good massage oil :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st May, 2015 at 6:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil greatness

I am a huge fan of bio oil. I have used it on stretch marks, dry end of the nose from having a cold and blowing my nose a lot, as a cuticle oil, a hair treatment and an after shower moisturiser.

What I love about this product is that the amount of things that you can use it for. I like that it comes in a variety of different sizes and that the bottle has an attachment inside the opening so that you can control how much comes out at a time.

Although my stretch marks did not miraculously disappear I did find that the appearance of them was reduced a lot from using this over a six month period of time. I also found that my cuticles were a lot softer from use and that my hair was a lot shinier. I used this is my hair as a serum to control it after styling by just applying a few drops to my hands and smoothing through my hair.

Tips: Place some into a dropper bottle so that you can control the amount used and carry around easily. This is quite handy for dry skin patches, cuticles or as a hair serum.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
1st May, 2015 at 11:53 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
not a holy grail

I have purchased this once and been given it as a gift the second time. Originally I bought it to help with scars from major surgeries, which i never really notices any difference with. although it felt nice rubbing it on.

I was given it while pregnant with my son, to help with stretch marks. My skin marks extremely easily and I scar a lot. Unfortunately it didn't seem to do much with those either, but it definitely felt nice on my poor tight belly. The smell was fine, and I have extremely sensitive skin and I never had a single reaction to it at all.

Tips: If like me, it doesn't do anything for your scars etc, I have found it works great as a massage oil.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
30th April, 2015 at 4:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Its alright

i like this oil its soothing an smells ok i use it at night on a clensed face an the next day i rinse my face off an my face feels lovely an refreshed i also feels softer , i used it on my scars an never really noticed any change as i was inconsistent with using it twice a day even every day lol , but im willing to keep using it on my scars an see what happens , i like the smell even though a lot of people don't . i really think everyone needs to try it atleast ones .

Tips: use every day twice to see results

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
29th April, 2015 at 10:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not for everyone, but worth a shot!

Bio Oil has been a family favourite for a while now. My mother uses it all the time, and after a bad cold quite a while ago it became one of mine too.

During that cold my nose suffered much more than normal - it was quite cracked and sore, and extremely dry. As a last resort I used some Bio Oil and it worked perfectly! Very hydrating.

I now always have some with me, and try to use it at least once a week for stretch marks (although I am very forgetful).

I worked for a time in a pharmacy and 100% of the time would suggest this product to women who wanted to fade stretch marks, scars, hydrate skin and the like!

The different size bottles also allows for a range of uses. It's not very expensive either, and you get what you pay for!

Tips: It definitely has an oily consistency, and is quite slippery, and don't use too much because it does stay on your skin for a while until it absorbs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
28th April, 2015 at 8:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio oil

I didn't really enjoy using this product...I used it every day during and after my pregnancy on my stomach and breasts and it did nothing...I found it hard to use as it was too runny and oily so it would drop everywhere before I managed to get any on me...also didn't like the smell of it

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th April, 2015 at 4:13 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio oil

I love bio oil. I used it when my son got second degree burns at age 5. It worked on him and he hasn't got a scar in sight. I also use Bio oil on my cuticles. I also use it in my moisturiser just a drop, in winter when my skin is a bit more dry. I put in my night cream too. My skin feels fantastic. When I don't use I can feel the difference. I have recommended to my friends too and they all rave about how there skin feels since using it. I wouldn't recommend using it if you have oily skin this way.

Tips: Put in day and night cream (just a drop) mix with cream and apply on face. Great in winter if you experience more dry skin than usual.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I've just been reading all the bad reveiws. It's a good tip to mix it with something, maybe that's what it needs to get the right result. I wonder how it would go mixed with coconut oil?

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

I am actually...how did you know?!

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »