Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Yay Laybuy
Yay Laybuy
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
1.0/5
10th April, 2014 at 10:15 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fail :(

I brought this to help with dry skin, scaring as well as stretch marks.

When I used it I really disliked how long it would take to soak into my skin. I would put on my legs if wearing clothes that wouldn't go near the skin. So I tried mixing with moisturizer hoping that would help. It didn't :(

I heard it would be good for hair, so I tried putting mid way down to ends. Yes it did soften slightly at the ends.

If I had some on my hands and put on my face, my skin loathed it. Itchy and break out in a kind of pimple rash.

I'm sure it would be great for some people but not for me sorry

Tips: Rub rub rub into your skin and use a small amount

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
10th April, 2014 at 6:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't make a huge difference for me

When I was pregnant with my first child 8 years ago, I ended up pretty much covered in stretch marks. This product was all over the place back then so I started using it on my skin towards the end of my pregnancy and for maybe 6 months after I had her. My marks did fade but to be honest I think it was more a time factor then using this oil. It did make my skin feel nice but it didn't really soak in straight away and if my partner accidentally touched it with his face he would get a major breakout! I really dislike the smell of it as well. It is cheaper to buy now, but I remember spending about $50 on a 125ml bottle and I really don't feel it was worth the cost at all. Overall, I think using oils are a good thing for your skin but I wouldn't recommend this particular one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th April, 2014 at 4:49 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

So many uses!

When I first tried Bio Oil, it was because I was given a sample size, so I got to try it out before I spent the money on it. I am so glad I did because I use Bio Oil for many things and have repurchased a bunch of times.

1.Makeup Remover/Lash Serum Once or twice a week, I will use Bio Oil to remove my eye makeup before cleansing. (Side note: This should be done carefully and the eyes should not be opened until you have rinsed it off.) It not only removes my makeup easily, but it also coats my lashes and helps them grow. I glue on false lashes pretty much every day, and even with all the glue I use, I have noticed my lashes are longer and stronger since I have been using the Bio Oil on them.

2. Shaving Oil. I came across this trick accidentally. I was shaving my legs and the gel fell of my shaver. My Bio Oil was already in the shower with me so I put some on my legs and then shaved them. My legs were SO SMOOTH after, and I also noticed it took a little longer for the hairs to grow back. I use Bio Oil every time I shave my legs now and I think the hairs may even be growning back softer now!?

3.Hair Treatment I use Bio Oil on the mid-lengths to ends of my hair after I have washed it. My hair is pretty dry and after washing is super dry - especially on the ends. So I put a little Bio Oil on my hand, distribute it through the bottom of my hair, and then comb it through. It definitely puts some moisture back in after the washing has dried it out.

4.Dry Skin Remedy Whenever I have a dry patch of skin, I use Bio Oil on it. The fact that it's an oil really helps get some moisture back into the skin.

5. Overnight Lip Remedy I quite often put some Bio Oil on my lips just before I go to bed. I wake up with super soft lips in the morning.

There is so much more to Bio Oil than just being used on stretch marks. I don't care that I have stretch marks, so have never used the Bio Oil on them. It definitely does work for all the above uses, and there are probably many more uses too.

Bio Oil is the kind of product that's good to have around, you never know what use you'll find for it. I have to say though, I am not sure why so many people are always surprised that it's an oil. Why would a product called Bio Oil be anything but? It does feel weird on your skin if you aren't used to using oils, but that doesn't mean it's bad for your skin. There are plenty of oils around that are great for skin, hair and body.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
10th April, 2014 at 3:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not the miracle product it's made out to be!

I used this during my first pregnancy, twice a day, still got stretch marks :( I think it's mostly down to genes, you either get them or you don't, so I really feel like I wasted a lot of money on this!! It also smells weird ha, don't know if that's just me though.

Tips: If you are prone to stretch marks, this probably won't prevent them all together.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
9th April, 2014 at 9:39 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Oil. Nice smelling Oil.

I was using this to help get rid of pimple scarring and stretch marks. While It did help reduce the scars, it left my skin feeling very oily. I did not realise when I brought it that the consistency would literally be oily, I thought it was just part of the name (Oil being nourishment). I still use this occasionally to help clear up scarring, but even so I use just a dab.

Tips: Use a very small amount if you're worried about your skin feeling oily after.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
9th April, 2014 at 9:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

This is just a big fat pass for me. I used this during my pregnancy and afterwards, I got stretch marks (nothing you can really do to stop them) and bio oil made no difference in their disappearance (because they are still there) even though I used this like my life depended on it.

Tips: Don't bother with it, it's a waste of money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
9th April, 2014 at 4:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Stretch marks

I was given a bottle at my baby shower. At the end of my pregnancy my lower abdomen broke out in stretch marks! I applied the oil regularly during and after pregnancy, but to be honest I did not notice any difference. My skin does scar easily, so this may have been a factor.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th April, 2014 at 4:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
bio oil

This is a good product it is better than baby oil as it does not leave the skin dry after washing it off, also does not leave an oily feeling after putting it on. although i must say that you tend to burn easily when out in the sun with using this product

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
9th April, 2014 at 2:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio-Oil

My mum first purchased this for me to try on some scars I had that I used to be very self conscious about and I've purchased it a couple of times since. Although I didn't notice a huge change it the appearance of my scars for a while, I did notice my skin becoming a lot softer and dry patches of skin seemed to dissipate. After around six months I noticed that the less prominent scars had pretty much completely faded to the point I could only see them when my skin was red from heat and all the dry patches had vanished. The scent of this product isn't by any means amazing and it does leave a greasy layer on your skin for a bit but if you persevere with use I feel it can be beneficial :)

Tips: I found other uses for this product such as applying a small amount to my hair when it was really dry and putting a few drops in a bath to add goodness to your skin

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
6th April, 2014 at 6:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't mind it at all.

I used this in the summer after sunburn and it took the heat out, it is very oily on application (but it IS oil after all) and I wasn't bothered as I use body butters too. I mainly used it as a night face moisturiser (use a tiny amount) and still do when I remember, I would always have a bottle in the cupboard.

Tips: If you don't like oily skin? Don't buy it. it's OIL!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

No... just wait, it'll crash and burn.

view results

Review of the Day
Lenore
L'Oréal pure clay detox regime
I really enjoyed using the cleaner and mask as a new regime. I used the cleanser nightly… more »