Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
1.7/5
14th April, 2014 at 1:40 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not ideal for the face

I have acne scarring on my face and bought this product hoping that it might help reduce the appearance of scars. It is instructed that you use this product 3 times a day for a number of months for the best results. I found this product to be really oily and didn't sink into the skin at all. This meant that is was unwearable with any other type of product, especially any makeup - my temporary solution for covering up acne scars. I had heard from others that it had worked for them using it just once a day, only taking 6 weeks for results to show. So, i resorted to using it just once a day - at night - so that it wouldn't interfere with my everyday facial skin care. However i often found that an oily residue was left on my pillow as a result and my patience wore thin for this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
11th April, 2014 at 8:34 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My little scars.... battle wounds?

I lost my appendix in 2013 (well we had to break up we wanted different things)

I had some scars from surgery and this has helped me heaps. I think it is something that works over time. I think this isn't for everyone but it isn't a quick fix!

However it said it could also be used as a moisturiser and.... well it lied! Well for me anyway it was just to greasy and caused my skin to freak a little. So I keep it as my secret weapon on my scars although I hope not to get more of these.

Tips: Keep at it. What's that saying? It won't happen over night but it will happen?

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
11th April, 2014 at 7:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I brought this after hearing all the hype reviews but for me Bio Oil didn't live up to expectations. The oil is very greasy and does not absorb into your skin leaving a oily residue on clothes. Although my scars didn't fade dramatically they did lighten up ever so slightly and the massaging helped with smoothing the raised scar but I think massaging with any oil would also do this.

Tips: Best for very dry skin as it's really oily and doesn't absorb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
11th April, 2014 at 4:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Patience!

If you have the patience then this is the product for you!

It really works for stretch marks but you have to apply at least morning and night and massage the areas for at least 15min. Give it about six weeks before you will see a big improvement when it comes to the stretch marks. The really old ones wont disappear completely but will be less noticeable.

One good thing is that its a multi purpose product! Its good for everything from shaving to sun burns! I also use it as cuticle oil on my nails. Which just keeps them in sucha good shape and so healthy! When I had bleach blonde hair, I used to run some oil in the ends of my hair and it help so much to keep it conditioned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
11th April, 2014 at 2:29 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Overrated.

I purchased this after hearing that it can help reduce the appearance of scars. I have a lot of scars and I feel uncomfortable with them and after talking to my gp about scar removal, decided to give this a shot.

This is quite a thick, greasy oil. It left a slight greasy residue on my scarred skin but it didn't bother me all that much. I used this every day for over three months, as my doctor suggested I do. I went back to him after three months and my scars had faded a little bit but not a lot. Also the scars that had faded slightly were scars that weren't very deep, whereas the keloid scars didn't fade at all.

I continued to use this daily on my scars until the bottle (I used the 125ml bottle), ran out. Alas I didn't notice my scars fading that much - it didn't appear to do anything to the keloid scars and my doctor suggested that it was because the skin was too deeply damaged. Also on the scars that weren't so deep, bio oil did fade them but they are still visible.

I won't buy this again as it didn't do a great job for me and it's kind of pricey. I don't know what it is like for stretch marks but certainly for more severe scars this wasn't effective.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
10th April, 2014 at 10:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I love this for dry skin

So I brought this not for my stretch marks, but as a moisterizer in winter for my dry skin. I believe that if you're going to get stretch marks, you're going to get them and no "miracle" cream is going to prevent that.

Bio oil is great for dry skin. I only use it in winter as it's quite oily and in winter my skin gets quite dry. Using this stuff my skin is never dry! I only use it at night and by the morning, my skin is soft and moisterized and all the oil has been absorbed into my skin. I love it! I've been using it for the past 3 years (only in winter) and the condition of my skin has never been better. My skin tone is also nice and even. Overall, I love this product.

Tips: I don't use this product in any kind of warm weather as it is quite oily and just does not feel nice on sweaty skin!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
10th April, 2014 at 10:15 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fail :(

I brought this to help with dry skin, scaring as well as stretch marks.

When I used it I really disliked how long it would take to soak into my skin. I would put on my legs if wearing clothes that wouldn't go near the skin. So I tried mixing with moisturizer hoping that would help. It didn't :(

I heard it would be good for hair, so I tried putting mid way down to ends. Yes it did soften slightly at the ends.

If I had some on my hands and put on my face, my skin loathed it. Itchy and break out in a kind of pimple rash.

I'm sure it would be great for some people but not for me sorry

Tips: Rub rub rub into your skin and use a small amount

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
10th April, 2014 at 6:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't make a huge difference for me

When I was pregnant with my first child 8 years ago, I ended up pretty much covered in stretch marks. This product was all over the place back then so I started using it on my skin towards the end of my pregnancy and for maybe 6 months after I had her. My marks did fade but to be honest I think it was more a time factor then using this oil. It did make my skin feel nice but it didn't really soak in straight away and if my partner accidentally touched it with his face he would get a major breakout! I really dislike the smell of it as well. It is cheaper to buy now, but I remember spending about $50 on a 125ml bottle and I really don't feel it was worth the cost at all. Overall, I think using oils are a good thing for your skin but I wouldn't recommend this particular one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th April, 2014 at 4:49 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

So many uses!

When I first tried Bio Oil, it was because I was given a sample size, so I got to try it out before I spent the money on it. I am so glad I did because I use Bio Oil for many things and have repurchased a bunch of times.

1.Makeup Remover/Lash Serum Once or twice a week, I will use Bio Oil to remove my eye makeup before cleansing. (Side note: This should be done carefully and the eyes should not be opened until you have rinsed it off.) It not only removes my makeup easily, but it also coats my lashes and helps them grow. I glue on false lashes pretty much every day, and even with all the glue I use, I have noticed my lashes are longer and stronger since I have been using the Bio Oil on them.

2. Shaving Oil. I came across this trick accidentally. I was shaving my legs and the gel fell of my shaver. My Bio Oil was already in the shower with me so I put some on my legs and then shaved them. My legs were SO SMOOTH after, and I also noticed it took a little longer for the hairs to grow back. I use Bio Oil every time I shave my legs now and I think the hairs may even be growning back softer now!?

3.Hair Treatment I use Bio Oil on the mid-lengths to ends of my hair after I have washed it. My hair is pretty dry and after washing is super dry - especially on the ends. So I put a little Bio Oil on my hand, distribute it through the bottom of my hair, and then comb it through. It definitely puts some moisture back in after the washing has dried it out.

4.Dry Skin Remedy Whenever I have a dry patch of skin, I use Bio Oil on it. The fact that it's an oil really helps get some moisture back into the skin.

5. Overnight Lip Remedy I quite often put some Bio Oil on my lips just before I go to bed. I wake up with super soft lips in the morning.

There is so much more to Bio Oil than just being used on stretch marks. I don't care that I have stretch marks, so have never used the Bio Oil on them. It definitely does work for all the above uses, and there are probably many more uses too.

Bio Oil is the kind of product that's good to have around, you never know what use you'll find for it. I have to say though, I am not sure why so many people are always surprised that it's an oil. Why would a product called Bio Oil be anything but? It does feel weird on your skin if you aren't used to using oils, but that doesn't mean it's bad for your skin. There are plenty of oils around that are great for skin, hair and body.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
10th April, 2014 at 3:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not the miracle product it's made out to be!

I used this during my first pregnancy, twice a day, still got stretch marks :( I think it's mostly down to genes, you either get them or you don't, so I really feel like I wasted a lot of money on this!! It also smells weird ha, don't know if that's just me though.

Tips: If you are prone to stretch marks, this probably won't prevent them all together.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

YES! A million times YES!

view results

Review of the Day
Dii
Garnier BB Cream Nude
I am really pleased that I got the opportunity to put this BB cream to test thanks to the great people… more »