Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Schwarz Survey
Schwarz Survey
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
20th July, 2017 at 7:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't do much...

Tried this a few years ago when the lady at the pharmacy recommended this for pigmentation.

It is very thick and doesn't absorb into my skin easily above all I don't think it did much at all to aid in my pigmentation fading. Time helped more.

Won't use it again as it didn't do what I had expected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
20th July, 2017 at 11:43 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not convinced

I purchased this a while ago to use on my facial scars but it just doesn't work for me.

I would apply to my face every night, massaging into my skin with clean fingers but I just kept finding I would break out in the areas I was using it in. I would start using it, break out, stop using it then repeat this process over again. I was never able to use it long enough to see if it really was making a difference.

Perhaps on different parts of the body it works better but I have not had any luck with it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
8th July, 2017 at 3:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil didn't work

The product is an oily water substance. It in a clear plastic bottle with labels on it. The product feels oily when applied on my hand. It really annoying because it feels like it like a creamy oil type and I have to wash my hand a few times but it's completely gone.

I don't like using this product because on the bottle it said to apply the product for 3 months before you see some results on my skin. It was a waste of time using the product as I use it every day but I didn't see any changes to my skin after 3 months. I applied on my stretch mark and expected, it to faint a little bit but there was no change to it at all. I was so disappointed because I brought the product to get rid of my stretch mark.

I feel like I wasted my time and money on a product that does not work at all. The product was an average price, I got mine for $22.50. But it was not worth the money. I wouldn't recommend anyone to use this product because the product doesn't do what it said it would. There wasn't any change to my stretch mark at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
28th June, 2017 at 8:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
No change

This product made no visible changes to my skin, I used this for stretch marks, however, there was no change to the appearance of my skin, therefore I wouldn't say it does what it said it would

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
27th June, 2017 at 5:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
No visible changes

I've been using this for 3 months now because I have scars on my knees. Unfortunately, I don't see any visible changes for the past three months. I was hoping for this product to work to no avail. Maybe it depends on skin type? I actually don't have an idea.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
19th June, 2017 at 8:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Disappointed with result

I was recommended Bio Oil by a friend in the early stages of my first pregnancy to help with reducing the chance of stretch marks. I applied as directed everyday and for about a year after pregnancy. I don't believe this product made much difference at all. I have quite noticeable stretch marks and now I have stop using bio oil have not noticed not much difference to skin appearance whilst using. The product has a nice scent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
19th June, 2017 at 12:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
bio oil

I starting using this product when I was 12 weeks pregnant and I used it religiously. this product helped with the stretch marks that I received while pregnant. the only downside to this product is I cannot apply it to my acne scars on my face as it causes me to receive more breakouts.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
31st May, 2017 at 9:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Am I doing something wrong?

The ads and certain raving reviews really have me conflicted because contrary to my reality and this review, I really wanted this to work. I tried this on the scars on my legs, old and new, consistently until 90% of my bottle was gone, but no noticeable difference. If anything it DID moisturise the "tight" areas of some new scars, but I feel it did not do what it claimed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
27th May, 2017 at 4:05 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I love the feel of my skin after using this product as it does moisturise well but found it has not had any effect on my stretch marks as it claims to help with.

Tips: Use after a shower for best absorption

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th May, 2017 at 8:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I used bio oil when I was pregnant, started at about 12 weeks until about 2 weeks after baby was born. I used it twice a day and I didn't get any stretch marks. I would definately recommend this to anyone pregnant. I used this on scars and whilst it hasn't got rid of them, it has reduced their visibility. i like that this product is natural and contains really good ingredients. It doesn't have smell and absorbs easily into the skin. My skin doesn't feel greasy after using this. It's readily available at the supermarket so it's easy to pop into the trolley when doing the weekly shop.

Tips: Use often

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Braided Brows - Yay or Nay?

Braided Brows - Yay or Nay?

view results

Review of the Day
kfind
Linden Leaves Miraculous Facial Oil
Ok, I am going to be honest here, when I first received the oil I was excited, yes, but… more »