Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - April
The Beauty Vault - April

Holy Guacamole! Avos Aren't Just For Eating!

8 January, 2018 - 10:11pm by - Head Pixie | 20 Comments

By BR Tabatha

Have you noticed lately that the news is leaving avocado-loving wannabe-home owners alone? They're no longer being berated for wanting to fork out $6 for an avocado to smash on their toast. Why? Well, that's simple - avocados have entered affordable territory, which means it's time to go hard on that green goodness. Not just on your toast either - avocado can be a skin saviour as it's full of antioxidants, vitamins and good fats, and making a mask to mash on your skin is easy as! You just need a fork, bowl and a couple of ingredients you probably already have in your cupboard!

Got dry skin? Simply scoop out the contents of a ripe avocado, mash it all up, then add in a little manuka honey, mix, then apply and let it sit for around ten minutes before washing it off. No honey on hand? Swap it out with a tablespoon of natural yoghurt, and you'll enjoy the same moisturising effect. Or you can go next level and add both natural yoghurt and honey to your avo smash.

If your skin's on the oily side you can always add an egg white and a small squeeze of lemon juice into your finely mashed avocado. Pop it on, take a chill pill for 15 minutes, then wash off and you're good to go.

As always, patch test first to check for irritation! 

Of course if making your own mask is too much of a hassle you can always buy your way to beautiful skin with these avocado-rich products!

Recommended for normal or combination skin, Freeman Purifying Avacado + Oatmeal clay mask is designed to noursh and purify your skin, leaving it soft, clean and hydrated. 

If your skin is on the drier side you could well benefit by applying Sukin's Hydrating Facial Masque. It's chock-full of the good stuff, including mango seed butter and a blend of avocado, olive fruit and jojoboa oils. Not to mention papaya and pineapple enzymes. Basically it's hydration and glow in a tub. Yum.

Of course it's not just your face that can do with some avocado goodness, your body can benefit as well. Lucky for us LUSH's King of Skin Body Butter can come to the rescue and nourish the bod with its mix of avocado, bananas, oatmilk and butters.

So, do you go ga-ga for avocado? Is it a must in your beauty regime? Or are you more of an avo on toast than on my bod kind of gal? Chat away!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

Wish avocados didnt cost so much. They are so good for you in many ways.

Mash that avo, apply it to my face, and then rinse it down the drain ... No thanks! I prefer to eat my avo on toast, on a bagel, or in a salad and let my skin (and body) get the benefits from the avo after I’ve enjoyed eating it.

That Freeman Avo & Oatmeal mask looks good though, I’m keen to try that

8th January, 2018 at 10:29 pm

Avocado is SO delicious! The Freemans mask is also really nice, recommend :)

9th January, 2018 at 8:54 am

I agree. I think with the cost of avocados at $6 you can put the cost of getting a few avocados towards a skincare product with avocado oil in it and get more uses out of that. I think you can get that Freeman's Mask in a sachet for a few dollars

12th January, 2018 at 3:00 pm

and get a few uses out of that which makes it cheaper than just the plain avocado which $6 for a single facial use treatment.

12th January, 2018 at 3:01 pm

Oh wow the Sukin Hydrating Facial Masque sounds delightful - I'm almost out of my masque so I'm going to find this one.

By the way I'd rather eat avocados (esp when they're not $6 a pop).

It does sound good! Going to be awhile before I run out of masks though.

8th January, 2018 at 11:11 pm

King of Skin is one of my all time favourite Lush products that I always must have at home. You apply it in the shower. It's been around longer, and is way better, than another well known in shower body conditioner.

I like the look of the masks for my face as I would rather eat my delicious avocados. Yummmy!

I have an avocado tree and have been giving them away so I should be using some of them for a mask as I have very dry skin.

*gasp* giving them away? Where are you in my life!?! We have not been buying them because we refuse to pay $4 for ONE. But, I have now found The Avo Tree (which also makes Avocado skincare) so I'm happy.

9th January, 2018 at 8:48 am

Oh I'm sooo jealous!

9th January, 2018 at 5:46 pm

Yes very lucky and it is really nice to be able to share with neighbours and friends.

10th January, 2018 at 7:07 am

Lucky you and your friends. Those things are expensive.

12th January, 2018 at 3:02 pm

I love the Freemans Avocado mask! It's so lovely and nourishing, but also clarifying.

I’m a sucker for Lush lol . Gets me every time

Have you tried King of Skin, Macs? It's one of my favourite Lush products

9th January, 2018 at 11:37 am

NO BUT i will be Lol

9th January, 2018 at 6:46 pm

i don't usually eat avo or use it in my skin care regime. I would use it in those ready to use masks. The Freeman mask looks nice.

I'm just all for eating them really :)

I haven’t used avocado in my beauty regime but I have head many of its benefits. I’m keen on using it as a face mask though

love my avo on bread... but I have been trying an avo body butter thanks to a chrissie pressent!

Have used mashed avo with oats on my face before. Feels very refreshing. Have also used Avo with bananas. Feels good too. But only when avos are affordable.

I'm more of an avocado on toast or in salads and burgers and stuff. I do take a skincare supplement which had avocado oil in it. Given the price of avocados at $6-$4 that's the price of a nicer Korean sheet mask if I'm after a single use treatment and doesn't require any DIY. I do love my masks so might check out the Freeman's and Sukin mask.

I paid $5 for a pre-ripened avo today. It is huge so I don't mind but I wouldn't pay more.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

No...but now I want to!!

view results

Review of the Day
thirtywinks
The Perfect Balm for Dry Weather
I'd always been a petroleum jelly user but it could never save my lips from the dry weather… more »