Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

NBR (probably) ...careers and lifestyle choices...

49 posts, 24 members
trudijoy
8375 posts
... did you always know what you wanted to be? Did you leave school and know which course you wanted to do?

I'm in a job that didn't exist at the start of the year, in an industry that didn't exist when I was in uni.... before that I was a teacher for 11 years, but i didn't know i wanted to do THAT until I was 21 and teaching English in Japan.

For ages I wanted to work in Tourism (thus the multilingualism) and I wanted to look at hotel management for a while, or interpretation for Japanese tourists.

Around the time I was thinking along those lines I was also assuming I'd be married with a kid by age 24 and probably had travelled a bit and then returned to Tauranga to live. I'm 34, single, childless, living in a city I swore I'd never live in but have lived in twice, a career girl and happy.

What has your career and/or lifestyle path looked like? Are you where you thought you'd be as a teen?
MareeB
5254 posts
Hahaha well Trudi, all I wanted to do when I left school, was leave school! I did want to be a hairdresser, but ended up a Probation Officer! In between times I've had 42 jobs, mainly thanks to the decline in fulltime jobs/any jobs in the 80s where I had to work 2 and 3  temporary/casual jobs at a time. In the 90s I watched a doco on tele about Probation Officers and figured I'd like to be one - prior to that I wanted to be a Corrections Officer or work in some other area of prisoner rehabilitation. It took me 10 years part time to complete some undergraduate diplomas, complete my degree, do some computing and business studies, work fulltime tutoring, and raise my kids alone, before the coveted opportunity arose!