Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Colour Specialist
Colour Specialist

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review
Overall rating from 41 reviews so far:
4.1/5
Would use it again?
4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

The Micellar you love, now in a gentle wash format. The new all-in-one Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash is powerful, yet gentle to skin. Like a magnet, micelles capture and lift away dirt, oil, and makeup without harsh rubbing or over-drying.

Enriched with natural-derived grape extract, the ultra-gentle, fragrance freeformula is suitable for all skin types, even sensitive. In one easy step, it gently removes makeup and impurities leaving skin perfectly cleansed and refreshed with no harsh rubbing

 $11.99

Availability All leading supermarkets, The Warehouse, selected pharmacies and department stores.

Website Garnier Facebook Page

RRP: $11.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
1.3/5
26th June, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Very disappointing

Garnier's Micellar Cleansing Gel Wash is an all-in-one rinse-off gel that not only promises to remove make-up but cleanses too. It's dermatologically and ophthalmologically tested, has a gentle formula, and is non-perfumed, making it perfect for all skin types, including sensitive skin. If you're avoiding products containing SLS (Sodium Laureth Sulfate) you may want to avoid purchasing this, as it does contain it.

Packaged in an easy to use 200ml clear plastic pump action bottle with hot pink nozzle, the bottle makes it easy to see how much you have left. Unfortunately, this product did not live up to the promises made. This extremely gentle cleansing gel hardly foams, and does not remove gel eyeliner pencil or non-waterproof mascara, however it did remove powder products and foundation.

I ended up using the rest of my bottle of Micellar Cleansing Gel Wash after oil cleansing first to remove make-up, purely to use it up (as I didn't want to simply throw the product away) and to help remove some of the oil cleanser residue before I cleansed with a foaming cleanser.

Sadly, this micellar product gets a "no" from me, and I won't be purchasing more or recommending it. Garnier's Micellar Water did a better job of removing make-up than this did.

Tips: One pump is sufficient to cleanse with

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Wowsers!

I picked this beauty up in my weekly grocery shop . I love that I can sneak these things into my trolley lol . I’m dedicated to cleansing my skin morning and night .

This comes in a pump bottle easy to disperse product out of it . Has the garnier labelling . Consistency is like a clear gel . I lather this on my face after a full face of make up . This just powers through all of my make up .

After using this religiously for four weeks daily use I can say that my skin feels cleaned nicely . I had no skin irritations or sudden changes with my skin . I can see myself buying this again . I reccomend giving this a try .

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
The Garnier Micellar Gel Wash

Whoohoo!! I always wanted to try this gel cleanser. Saw it on the shelves like it was calling out to me, and I just couldn’t hold back on the purchase. I’m so glad I finally got to try it out; a cleanser and make up remover all-in-one. It has a turn on and off lock, so you wont need to worry about accidental spillage when carrying it around with you on the go.

I thought I would have preferred this micellar gel cleanser to the micellar water. However, after trying out the gel, i realised i missed wiping that cool water over my face.

I don’t usually use eye make up.. but thought i would do a little test with this gel cleanser. This clear and thick transparent gel cleanser frothed up nicely, and cleaned off my usual basic make up of the same o’ BB cream and powered foundation. However, when it came to my eyes, although the colour shadow was gone, i still had residue of the glittery substance around my eyes.

When it comes to foamy cleansers, I have the tendency to try avoid as much as my eyes as possible, which was most probably why my eye make up didn’t come off as cleanly as I would have liked it. Although the gel wasn’t harsh on the eyes, I would probably stick to my micellar water, as I feel less anxious wiping that around my eyes than rubbing the gel over it.

This gel cleanser like the micellar water; easy and simple to use. But due to personal preference, if i wore any eye make up, I would probably stick to using the micellar water with facial wipes, and double cleanse with another cleanser. But if i felt a little lazy, and don’t have any eye make up on; I would go for a quick and easy clean with the gel cleanser in the shower.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Wonderful gel

Have been using the garnier micellar water and been impressed so was very excited to try the gel.

It’s wonderful. I like not having to use a wipe for this so better for the planet.

Also the gel lathers up well which I feel cleans my skin better. I use another small pump to lather up my eye makeup and help remove the more stubborn makeup. It doesn’t hurt my eyes so this is very comfortable.

I does well cleaning and also leaves my skin feeling soft and fresh, ready for my night creams. Doesn’t feel like it drys my skin like some cleansers can.

Great size bottle and very affordable.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Garnier Micellar Gel Wash

Finally found this at Countdown, $12 for 200mls. Loved their Micellar water but couldn't be bothered sometimes using the makeup remover pads. One all over wash is easier & faster with same results. No irritation or dry tight feeling afterwards. Removed my makeup well including mascara. I always double cleanse, once to remove makeup and again to clean skin. Must have.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Gentle but effective

I was super excited to get this in the beauty vault, I love micellar water so couldn't wait to try a micellar gel!

It comes in a great size 200ml bottle and my favourite part is it has a pump, I love anything with a pump as it just makes life easier for me. It is a thick, clear gel and I cannot detect a fragrance.

I use this in the shower, one pump is enough and it cleans my face super well and doesn't sting or cause any irritation at all. My face is left feeling clean and soft and I get no tight, dry face.

I really love this micellar gel and would happily buy it again. I feel like the bottle will last for ages as a little bit definitely goes a long way. A very gentle but effective face wash.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
trudijoy
23rd October, 2018

i'm so glad your vault one made it to you, and it worked for you! I had to buy mine in the end but it's so affordable that it's okay - I'll be buying and rebuying for a long time yet :)

Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
FINALLY found it

I had been absolutely desperate to try this - didn't get on the trial, got it in the vault but it was left out in error, and it wasn't available anywhere I looked.....

--- so imagine my delight when I finally found it, for $10 (The Warehouse - usual price) and it was every bit as good as I hoped.

Why no 5 star rating then? I prefer the Micellar Foaming Wash from the same range, which I got in Hawaii and is still not out here - it's thinner, and i actually like the slight foam to it.

SO saying, this is good. VERY good.

As is typical for their micellar range, it comes in a clear bottle with a pink cap - pink is my fave colour and so that's always a good start! The pump cap dispenses a good amount of product for one wash, and the gel itself is thick-ish, completely clear, and non-scented.

I use this AFTER oil cleansing at night (cleanse once for your makeup and once for your skin, ladies!) and my skin is currently very well balanced, not prone to breakouts and feels clean and fresh.

The bottle is a generous 200ml, which will last weeks, if not months, for the $10. I'll buy another and have two open at once - one in shower and one on the sink - for when my other runs out. I'm sold.

Cheap, effective, gentle and works for my skin; what's not to love.

Tips: The Warehouse is the cheapest place I've seen it - I've also spotted it in Farmers and a couple of supermarkets since, but it's still not widely stocked. Yet ;)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
trudijoy
16th October, 2018

try a loofah sponge - more natural :p

worldofsooziewong
16th October, 2018

Nah, I usually use a brillo pad lol.

trudijoy
16th October, 2018

didn't even notice haha! please don't spoolie on your cleanser. ouch

worldofsooziewong
16th October, 2018

I'm glad you know what I'm talking about since I replied on the wrong review lol.

trudijoy
16th October, 2018

i don't hate it it's just quite wet and dark

worldofsooziewong
16th October, 2018

I just use a tiny bit, then brush it through with a clean spoolie. I still need to rub half of it off again before it sets lol. I'll be going back to BDB as soon as it's used up.

trudijoy
16th October, 2018

I know, right? Would have been devastated if after ALL that it was awful

worldofsooziewong
15th October, 2018

Glad it lived up to your expectations after searching for so long!

Overall rating:
2.7/5
6th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Not good for me

After reading all the rave reviews of this gel wash, I thought I'd better give it a go.

What I like:

Lathers up well

Comes in an easy to use pump bottle that is clear so you can see how much is left

Seems like good value for money as you get quite a lot and don't need more than a coin sized blob for your face

No exfoliating beads so OK for when you don't want to scrub

If fragrance irritates your face or eyes then you might like this, but only if that's the only thing your face doesn't like.

What I don't like:

I mistakenly thought all micellar things were the same, and all natural/healthy. Unfortunately Garnier have resorted to using Sodium Laureth Sulphate (SLES) which was a surprise - I wouldn't have bought it if I'd read the ingredients.

While it doesn't feel harsh upon application or directly after, a little while afterwards I notice that my face feels a prickly and irritated. No other face washes or scrubs make my skin feel like that. The feeling goes away if I apply moisturiser but since I've already put some on after my shower, this would be an additional layer.

The labels says you can wash your eye makeup off with this but it didn't make a dent in my non-waterproof mascara or waterproof eyeliner. It did get the cream eyeshadow off.

Overall I give this a No Thanks. I'll probably finish it off in the shower as a body wash, but it needs to stay away from my face.

Tips: If you are desperate to try this but have sensitive skin, try out only a small amount first, don't scrub your face, and wash it off quickly. Then see how you feel about an hour or so later. If all is still good, then it's good!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
worldofsooziewong
15th October, 2018

Thanks for pointing out this has SLES in. I will need to avoid this as my skin will react to it in the exact same ways yours did.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Great gel wash!

I haven't owned this for very long (a weekish) but am already loving this! I've popped it in the shower and have been washing my face with it each night. I've tried it on it's own and also used it in conjunction with my face halo and both ways work amazingly. I love that it has a pump because it's easy to use, especially in the shower. The only thing I'm not too sure of is the scent, it isn't strong or overpowering, but does have a slight alcoholic scent (like a hand gel?). Overall I am really loving this and have enjoyed having a face wash again that foams up as I have been using just a cream for the last little while, there is something about a foam that makes me feel extra clean! It's also great to have an alternative to needing to use cotton pads with the other micellar water that they do.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
We just gel

After reading the trial reviews on this I knew I had to have it. It took a while to track down. But eventually it was mine.

It’s been in my possession for a few weeks now and I’m in love.

I waited a long time to use up my last cleanser and this was its replacement. The difference is incredible.

This gel is nice to use. It’s clear and lathers slightly. It’s smooth, easy to use and leaves your skin fresh and clean.

A non scented and very gentle formula. If it gets in your eyes it’s not a bother. I have sensitive skin and it’s been a breeze to use and isn’t drying like some.

I found it removes my makeup, sunscreen and all the other grime from the day.

A little lathers up effectively so you don’t use a lot. It’s really handy for use prior to getting in the shower.

The ultimate test for me was using this and then using a blackhead scraper to scrape my skin and see how clean my face was. My old cleanser left me with product buildup and grime every time, with the gel my face was so clean.

Love that I don’t have any waste or wipes so nothing to dispose etc. just gel that does the job.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No