Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.0/5

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review

Overall rating:
4.1/5

The Micellar you love, now in a gentle wash format. The new all-in-one Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash is powerful, yet gentle to skin. Like a magnet, micelles capture and lift away dirt, oil, and makeup without harsh rubbing or over-drying.

Enriched with natural-derived grape extract, the ultra-gentle, fragrance freeformula is suitable for all skin types, even sensitive. In one easy step, it gently removes makeup and impurities leaving skin perfectly cleansed and refreshed with no harsh rubbing

RRP: $11.99

Availability: All leading supermarkets, The Warehouse, selected pharmacies and department stores.

Website: www.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
26th August, 2018 at 3:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier skin active micellar wash

Removed my makeup well, and left my face feeling fresh and clean. Definitely up there with some of the more expensive products I have used, for a far more affordable price

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Hey where did you buy this please. I have looked at the supermarkets, chemists and the warehouse but had no luck

Overall rating:
4.3/5
14th August, 2018 at 10:56 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A good all round basic

I like using Micellar (even though i'm not convinced i'm saying it right). So when the opportunity came up to trial this new innovation (in a new innovation) I was in.

So it's a Gel Wash which for me means i'll use it in the shower as opposed to the Water version which you use outside of the shower.

The bottle is a clear bottle with clear liquid (reminds me abit of hand sanitiser actually) and hurrah..it has a PUMP! (so we're already kinda friends).

Claims to remove Make Up and soothe and Cleanse the skin.

It is very 'gel' like when you apply it but then when you rub it in it turns into a slight foam. Gotta say it removed every speck of my make up after one was and (here's the acid test) it did NOT leave my skin feeling tight. My skin was left feeling super supple and once i'd put my moisturiser on - va va va boom! Glowy, glowy, glowy skin.

Over all a great basic for me and I think i'll get my teenage daughter to start using it as it will be perfect for her.

Only thing I marked it slightly down down on, (which is a little bit unfair as it is actually a positive), is that it is fragrance free. I like my cleansers to have a fragrance but if you've got super sensitive skin then it will be perfect for you.

Tips: It's a pretty reasonable price and a decent size bottle. I reckon i'll get at least 4 weeks use out of this. Give it a go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Great review! Now I just need to use up a couple of the billion different cleansers I have before I go buy this!

Aww... i do prefer wash over wipes. Since i like the micellar water.. I shall give this one a go!!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th August, 2018 at 8:28 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Micellar gel wash

I loved this product. Worked really well in removing makeup which I struggle with when using other cleaners. Smells amazing too. I would recommend this for sure

Tips: I would recommend moisturising after

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th August, 2018 at 9:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Interesting results

Now to be fair to this product we only had a week to trial by the time it arrived so can only give the best review for 7ish days use. The product itself was interesting to say the least. Had it not been labeled i would have sworn black and blue it was a hair gel. It smelt like hair gel, it's texture was like hair gel, it looked like the thickness of hair gel. The only difference was when rubbing it between your fingers it had a slight foam that formed. Using it on the skin was like any other product really, it felt clean afterwards, but my preference now is more of a harsher scrub. You could easily tell it cleaned the skin well, as using a white facecloth you could see the residue/dirt more then what you would just rinsing and washing. Now the results we noticed on my daughters skin that the redness in the acne had declined to just acne bumps. Although it did not clear her skin up there was potential for the product to be able to do this to a certain extent over time. It also helped her get makeup off more easily as well. Overall I would use the product again but it didn't leave me with the I must buy this product feel by the end of the trial.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
12th August, 2018 at 10:39 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Active Micellar Gel Wash

Loved this product! Didnt irritate my skin at all, took all my makeup off. Only struggle was the waterproof mascara but it was easier to get off than I expected. My skin felt moisturised afterwards, rather than being left dry. This will become my new go-to face wash especially for if I am wearing makeup!

Tips: To get waterproof mascara off, I used the gel wash once all over my face (still focusing on eyes and lips as it says), washed that off, then went over my eyes again and that got most of it off.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
12th August, 2018 at 9:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Genuine Gel Wash!

I have never used the Micellar make up removing water, so i was excited to sign up to review Micellar Gel Wash. Thank you BR for letting me try this. Well after a few hassles when it arrived, i was very much ready to try it straight away, as i had just come from work and follow my routine of getting fresh which includes washing my face with my personal basil gel face wash. I would like to add here that i am a huge fan of Gel based face washes and masks also. The packagung of this product is similar to micellar water, and a pump attached invites me to use products even more, as they are so much easy to use as much you want. I wet my face and used about two pumps of Micellar Gel Wash, wiped my face with towel after washing and i felt so good and clean. Its not that i never felt good with my regular face wash. But the quality speaks for itself and the face looked clean without any sign of irritation on my face. I also noticed that there was not much soapy feel to it and lather was less, which tells me it is great Quality wise and genuinely gel based. There was no dryness even after 5 minutes of washing my face with it. I have been using Micellar gel wash for 4 days now twice daily and i have not had any redness, rashes or pimples( that i fear most) at all. Honestly, i was scared to trial this product as i have been using my gel wash for 6 years now and have never tried any other face wash between this time, but this Micellar Gel Wash has been as good. I am fully impressed with this product. It definitely did what it says, and i will use it again and again. Micellar gel wash, you have won my trust and i will recommend you to anyone who loves their skin as much as i do. Go for it guys! So much worth that price, and will last 2 months for me for sure. Great Value for money, i might buy it after this pump finishes!

Tips: Using two pumps at a time is better as i noticed 1 pump does not clean as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
12th August, 2018 at 9:29 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Micellar Gel Wash

I was thrilled to trial the new Garnier Micellar Gel Skin Wash, as I have been a fan of Micellar water for years now.

I was really surprised how thoroughly this cleanser removes my makeup, whether standing at the vanity or washing my face in the shower it's really easy to use and the pump makes it hassle free. While this gel cleanser does provide a good clean, I still feel that I need to use a second cleanse such as a treatment wash and a makeup remover for my eyes to finish the job.

While I don't have sensitive skin, I did experience a break out on the 6th day of using this. Whether this was related or not it was still interesting to report.

All in all I will continue to use this gel wash for its effectiveness, and non fragrant scent.

Tips: Squirt 2 pumps onto hands and apply onto dry face for a quick cleanse, rinse off with water and repeat if required.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th August, 2018 at 9:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Removes make up wonderfully

I've been trialling this cleanser in several different methods over the last few days. With a konjac sponge, silicone scrubber, hands.. All work wonderfully. My favorite has been with the silicone scrubber to really get the make up off. I follow it up with my regular skincare once my makeup has been removed (I double cleanse every evening anyway so prefer having a makeup remover step rather than waste my very expensive cleanser by using it twice at night) and have enjoyed the process. Have had a few breakouts following starting the use of this product, but these were very small surface pimples, so I am not concerned about this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th August, 2018 at 8:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Effective though stinky

I tested this every day for a week and it removes almost all make up on the first go! Waterproof formulas generally take a couple of washes but that’s ok because I didn’t find it drying which was nice. The smell though, ugh! It was a very harsh smell and I hated it for that reason alone. I’d use it if I didn’t have better smelling options, but I don’t think it’s my go to.

I wanted to like it, unfortunately I can’t get past the smell.

Tips: Waterproof formulas may require two uses

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th August, 2018 at 8:54 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Micellar Miracle

I have always loved micellar water and used it religiously pre child but have since gotten lazy and my skin has suffered. The garnier micellar gel wash gives me all the benefits and results micellar water does but with the ease of adding it into my normal shower routine. Although this gel wash is very watery it packs a punch and within a few days of using it I have seen a noticeable improvement in the overall texture and clarity of my skin. I will definitely keep using this and recommend to others.

Tips: It is very watery so make sure not to press to hard on the trigger as you only need a small pump

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

I've been looking for this so nice to know it's in a pump bottle too. Thanks

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Yes! They're a match made in heaven!

view results

Review of the Day
sarahellaoverton
Not so easy to use
I love Tailor products, so I was excited to try this one. However, I was disappointed. I found the product… more »