Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review
Overall rating from 38 reviews so far:
4.2/5
Would use it again?
4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.1/5

The Micellar you love, now in a gentle wash format. The new all-in-one Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash is powerful, yet gentle to skin. Like a magnet, micelles capture and lift away dirt, oil, and makeup without harsh rubbing or over-drying.

Enriched with natural-derived grape extract, the ultra-gentle, fragrance freeformula is suitable for all skin types, even sensitive. In one easy step, it gently removes makeup and impurities leaving skin perfectly cleansed and refreshed with no harsh rubbing

 $11.99

Availability All leading supermarkets, The Warehouse, selected pharmacies and department stores.

Website www.garnier.co.nz



RRP: $11.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Gel Wash Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Wonderful gel

Have been using the garnier micellar water and been impressed so was very excited to try the gel.

It’s wonderful. I like not having to use a wipe for this so better for the planet.

Also the gel lathers up well which I feel cleans my skin better. I use another small pump to lather up my eye makeup and help remove the more stubborn makeup. It doesn’t hurt my eyes so this is very comfortable.

I does well cleaning and also leaves my skin feeling soft and fresh, ready for my night creams. Doesn’t feel like it drys my skin like some cleansers can.

Great size bottle and very affordable.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Garnier Micellar Gel Wash

Finally found this at Countdown, $12 for 200mls. Loved their Micellar water but couldn't be bothered sometimes using the makeup remover pads. One all over wash is easier & faster with same results. No irritation or dry tight feeling afterwards. Removed my makeup well including mascara. I always double cleanse, once to remove makeup and again to clean skin. Must have.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Gentle but effective

I was super excited to get this in the beauty vault, I love micellar water so couldn't wait to try a micellar gel!

It comes in a great size 200ml bottle and my favourite part is it has a pump, I love anything with a pump as it just makes life easier for me. It is a thick, clear gel and I cannot detect a fragrance.

I use this in the shower, one pump is enough and it cleans my face super well and doesn't sting or cause any irritation at all. My face is left feeling clean and soft and I get no tight, dry face.

I really love this micellar gel and would happily buy it again. I feel like the bottle will last for ages as a little bit definitely goes a long way. A very gentle but effective face wash.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
trudijoy
23rd October, 2018

i'm so glad your vault one made it to you, and it worked for you! I had to buy mine in the end but it's so affordable that it's okay - I'll be buying and rebuying for a long time yet :)

Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
FINALLY found it

I had been absolutely desperate to try this - didn't get on the trial, got it in the vault but it was left out in error, and it wasn't available anywhere I looked.....

--- so imagine my delight when I finally found it, for $10 (The Warehouse - usual price) and it was every bit as good as I hoped.

Why no 5 star rating then? I prefer the Micellar Foaming Wash from the same range, which I got in Hawaii and is still not out here - it's thinner, and i actually like the slight foam to it.

SO saying, this is good. VERY good.

As is typical for their micellar range, it comes in a clear bottle with a pink cap - pink is my fave colour and so that's always a good start! The pump cap dispenses a good amount of product for one wash, and the gel itself is thick-ish, completely clear, and non-scented.

I use this AFTER oil cleansing at night (cleanse once for your makeup and once for your skin, ladies!) and my skin is currently very well balanced, not prone to breakouts and feels clean and fresh.

The bottle is a generous 200ml, which will last weeks, if not months, for the $10. I'll buy another and have two open at once - one in shower and one on the sink - for when my other runs out. I'm sold.

Cheap, effective, gentle and works for my skin; what's not to love.

Tips: The Warehouse is the cheapest place I've seen it - I've also spotted it in Farmers and a couple of supermarkets since, but it's still not widely stocked. Yet ;)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
trudijoy
16th October, 2018

try a loofah sponge - more natural :p

worldofsooziewong
16th October, 2018

Nah, I usually use a brillo pad lol.

trudijoy
16th October, 2018

didn't even notice haha! please don't spoolie on your cleanser. ouch

worldofsooziewong
16th October, 2018

I'm glad you know what I'm talking about since I replied on the wrong review lol.

trudijoy
16th October, 2018

i don't hate it it's just quite wet and dark

worldofsooziewong
16th October, 2018

I just use a tiny bit, then brush it through with a clean spoolie. I still need to rub half of it off again before it sets lol. I'll be going back to BDB as soon as it's used up.

trudijoy
16th October, 2018

I know, right? Would have been devastated if after ALL that it was awful

worldofsooziewong
15th October, 2018

Glad it lived up to your expectations after searching for so long!

Overall rating:
2.7/5
6th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Not good for me

After reading all the rave reviews of this gel wash, I thought I'd better give it a go.

What I like:

Lathers up well

Comes in an easy to use pump bottle that is clear so you can see how much is left

Seems like good value for money as you get quite a lot and don't need more than a coin sized blob for your face

No exfoliating beads so OK for when you don't want to scrub

If fragrance irritates your face or eyes then you might like this, but only if that's the only thing your face doesn't like.

What I don't like:

I mistakenly thought all micellar things were the same, and all natural/healthy. Unfortunately Garnier have resorted to using Sodium Laureth Sulphate (SLES) which was a surprise - I wouldn't have bought it if I'd read the ingredients.

While it doesn't feel harsh upon application or directly after, a little while afterwards I notice that my face feels a prickly and irritated. No other face washes or scrubs make my skin feel like that. The feeling goes away if I apply moisturiser but since I've already put some on after my shower, this would be an additional layer.

The labels says you can wash your eye makeup off with this but it didn't make a dent in my non-waterproof mascara or waterproof eyeliner. It did get the cream eyeshadow off.

Overall I give this a No Thanks. I'll probably finish it off in the shower as a body wash, but it needs to stay away from my face.

Tips: If you are desperate to try this but have sensitive skin, try out only a small amount first, don't scrub your face, and wash it off quickly. Then see how you feel about an hour or so later. If all is still good, then it's good!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
worldofsooziewong
15th October, 2018

Thanks for pointing out this has SLES in. I will need to avoid this as my skin will react to it in the exact same ways yours did.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Great gel wash!

I haven't owned this for very long (a weekish) but am already loving this! I've popped it in the shower and have been washing my face with it each night. I've tried it on it's own and also used it in conjunction with my face halo and both ways work amazingly. I love that it has a pump because it's easy to use, especially in the shower. The only thing I'm not too sure of is the scent, it isn't strong or overpowering, but does have a slight alcoholic scent (like a hand gel?). Overall I am really loving this and have enjoyed having a face wash again that foams up as I have been using just a cream for the last little while, there is something about a foam that makes me feel extra clean! It's also great to have an alternative to needing to use cotton pads with the other micellar water that they do.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
We just gel

After reading the trial reviews on this I knew I had to have it. It took a while to track down. But eventually it was mine.

It’s been in my possession for a few weeks now and I’m in love.

I waited a long time to use up my last cleanser and this was its replacement. The difference is incredible.

This gel is nice to use. It’s clear and lathers slightly. It’s smooth, easy to use and leaves your skin fresh and clean.

A non scented and very gentle formula. If it gets in your eyes it’s not a bother. I have sensitive skin and it’s been a breeze to use and isn’t drying like some.

I found it removes my makeup, sunscreen and all the other grime from the day.

A little lathers up effectively so you don’t use a lot. It’s really handy for use prior to getting in the shower.

The ultimate test for me was using this and then using a blackhead scraper to scrape my skin and see how clean my face was. My old cleanser left me with product buildup and grime every time, with the gel my face was so clean.

Love that I don’t have any waste or wipes so nothing to dispose etc. just gel that does the job.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
26th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Garnier skin active micellar wash

Removed my makeup well, and left my face feeling fresh and clean. Definitely up there with some of the more expensive products I have used, for a far more affordable price

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Violet27
28th August, 2018

Hey where did you buy this please. I have looked at the supermarkets, chemists and the warehouse but had no luck

Overall rating:
4.3/5
14th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
A good all round basic

I like using Micellar (even though i'm not convinced i'm saying it right). So when the opportunity came up to trial this new innovation (in a new innovation) I was in.

So it's a Gel Wash which for me means i'll use it in the shower as opposed to the Water version which you use outside of the shower.

The bottle is a clear bottle with clear liquid (reminds me abit of hand sanitiser actually) and hurrah..it has a PUMP! (so we're already kinda friends).

Claims to remove Make Up and soothe and Cleanse the skin.

It is very 'gel' like when you apply it but then when you rub it in it turns into a slight foam. Gotta say it removed every speck of my make up after one was and (here's the acid test) it did NOT leave my skin feeling tight. My skin was left feeling super supple and once i'd put my moisturiser on - va va va boom! Glowy, glowy, glowy skin.

Over all a great basic for me and I think i'll get my teenage daughter to start using it as it will be perfect for her.

Only thing I marked it slightly down down on, (which is a little bit unfair as it is actually a positive), is that it is fragrance free. I like my cleansers to have a fragrance but if you've got super sensitive skin then it will be perfect for you.

Tips: It's a pretty reasonable price and a decent size bottle. I reckon i'll get at least 4 weeks use out of this. Give it a go.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
angepange0
25th August, 2018

Great review! Now I just need to use up a couple of the billion different cleansers I have before I go buy this!

SmileyPisces
20th August, 2018

Aww... i do prefer wash over wipes. Since i like the micellar water.. I shall give this one a go!!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Garnier Micellar gel wash

I loved this product. Worked really well in removing makeup which I struggle with when using other cleaners. Smells amazing too. I would recommend this for sure

Tips: I would recommend moisturising after

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.