Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Kotia
Kotia

Revlon Colorsilk Beautiful Color Review

Revlon Colorsilk Beautiful Color ReviewRevlon Colorsilk Beautiful Color Review
Discontinued
Overall rating from 15 reviews so far:
3.8/5
Would use it again?
3.7/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.7/5
  • #1 Hair color brand in the USA
  • Revlon 3D Color GelTechnologyTM for natural rich color
  • Delivers Long-Lasting, High Definition Color & Shine
  • Leaves hair in better condition
  • Ammonia-Free. Permanent. 100% Gray Coverage
  • Available in 41 Shades.

Availability Selected pharmacies and Online

Website www.revlon.co.nz



RRP: $9.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Revlon Colorsilk Beautiful Color Review

Revlon Colorsilk Beautiful Color Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
My hair secret

After years of paying big bucks for hairdressers to colour my hair I started looking around for cheaper and less time consuming options. I tried several brands of supermarket hair dyes & found they all left my hair yellow and brassy instead of the natural blonde colour I was wanting to achieve. Then I discovered Revlon's Colorsilk and I have used this product ever since. It's quick and easy to apply and super cheap, approx $10 at supermarkets but I often find it marked down to $6, so I stock up. I use the 03 blonde colour and it's natural tones are amazing on my hair. I often get asked by strangers which hairdresser colours my hair.

Tips: For a cheaper alternative to salon visits this Revlon Colorsilk is excellent

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
26th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
It's ok!

So the good points first! It's an excellent price, it doesnt smell too bad, there is a decent amount of product which easily covers my shoulder length hair, and the best bit.. it absolutely and totally covers my grey hair.

The not so fab is its longevity. I have used this product in dark brown and red shades. The dark brown shades work great and last until my roots need done, the red unfortunately, not so great. When I used a bright red over pre lightened hair it fell out really quickly, it looked a washy corally red after a week. The dark red over darker hair was more successful but still not great, it definitely lost vibrancy after a few washes and needed redone after 4 weeks.

Tips: Great for brown shades, pass it over for vibrant red.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Did you ever had grey?

I have been using this from the time I started showing some maturity. It keeps the shine in your hair and colours stays for ever if you have changed colour for full length and the touch up to root in 3-4 weeks time. Best is that it is ammonia free which is what I want for my hair and body. I will recommend this to everyone and not to mention it is not expensive still gives you better outcome than the more expensive ones

Tips: Always use the conditioner provided with it for extra shine and to stay longer.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Great

So I can’t remember the colour I used but it was from when I dyed my hair from bright red to blonde. I used a colour stripper which brand my hair to a very orange like colour then I used a couple of boxes of this stuff and it brand it to a beautiful toned blonde colour without all the damage! This stuff makes your hair feel better than before dying it’s supposed to not cause any damage and I defiantly think it lives upto that expectation

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
7th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Fades fast

I dye my hair often and have tried many different brands. I purchased this in black for $5 from The Warehouse, crazy cheap.

It is just like every other dye I have used. Mix together and apply. I have long hair and always use 2 packs which was just enough. It doesn't have an overwhelming chemical smell like some other dyes have which I liked.

It was easy to apply and coverage was even. My greys were covered with ease and it left my hair looking shiny and quite healthy. It definitely did not damage my hair. I did notice each time I washed my hair quite a lot of black was washed out even though I use a colour lock shampoo and conditioner.

While it is a good dye I find that it fades too quickly on me and it is annoying having black come out in the shower whenever I wash my hair. For me there are much  better dyes but if you are on a budget and looking for something cheap then this may suit you.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
7th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Color silk shade black

Used this in my hair just last week to do a ombre look. Chose it because it was only $5 each at The Warehouse and thought that it was a reasonable price for a good quality dye. It covered the several grey hairs that I had very well, had a pleasant smell compared to other dyes I've tried. The only issues I had was that it wasn't a very glossy black, it was more matte. I had to use 2 bottles for the half of my hair that was going black and it made my scalp a wee bit dry and flakey. But for $5 each I can't really complain.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
21st March, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Easy fade

I used this product in the shade Black.

Like most other home dye boxes inside was 2 bottle's that you mix together and just apply to your hair. The 3rd bottle is a sachet which is the conditioner. It's pretty straight forward and pretty easy. Mix to active ingredients together and apply to your hair.

Of course if it's just a reminder growth application, you just apply to the rest growth area. All over dye, apply it all over. In my case it was an all over dye.

There was a really faint smell to the dye, but unlike most it wasn't over powering and it wasn't chemically smelling.

Straight away I could see my hair changing in colour, I left mine in for longer than they say, I always do. Not by much just by 5-10 minutes. I hoped in the shower and rinsed the dye out and I swear more dye came out than went on! A good massage with the conditioner sachet left my hair feeling amazing. Almost like a salon wash!

All in all the hair dye worked in the moment. Sadly it faded sooooo fast! Within 4 weeks in noticed fade and had to replace dye 5 weeks in. For this reason I will not re purchase this product.

Tips: Make sure you wear the gloves provided, they save your hands!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
25th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Ash Blonde

This was a pretty average product. I didn't hate it but I didn't exactly love it either. The smell was bad. Not strong or anything, just strange. Applied to my regrowth (natural hair colour dirty blonde) before putting the leftovers through the rest of my hair. Takes a lot longer to lighten than any other blondes I've ever used (started lightening after about half hour) Also turned the blonde already in my hair a strawberry blonde. Its not terrible but I really wanted the "Ash Blonde" colour. Also got a bit itchy after a while. I wouldn't use it again solely because I'm a bit concerned about the fact it was strong enough to take my wall back to the jib where i accidentally spilt a bit (can't be good)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
4th February, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Super cheap but fades quickly

I bought this from The Warehouse as it was $5 for a box. I have really long hair and need two boxes so I usually just get whatever is cheapest. I didn't really have the highest hopes but I thought it didn't really matter since I was only 'investing' $10.I chose the shade black, I have darker brown hair and a couple of greys so I thought that this should work out quite well.

This is just like any other home dye I've used where you have to mix up the active ingredients and then just apply it. I found this did not smell as bad as some others I have used. Sometimes I even have to go outside for fresh air every now and then with others but I had no issues with this one at all. I'm not sure if these packs are bigger than others or they just spread further but one box almost did my entire head so I was really surprised. I did end up using the second box as I still had a few bits to dye but I think if you normally need just two boxes with other dye that you would be able to get away with one box from this range. I had no bad reactions to this dye at all, I wasn't expecting too, so I'm glad nothing happened.

I did leave this on for a bit longer than what it said but only because I lost track of the time. Rinsing out is just like any other dye, this will stain the shower for a few days but every other dark dye I've used has done the same thing. The conditioner this comes with is only ok, I usually love how hair dye conditioners make my hair feel but this didn't really do anything special and it didn't even smell amazing!

I dyed my hair about 8 weeks ago now and I did notice the first few times that I shampooed, that my hair felt super dry. After I put conditioner on it felt fine though but I was a bit worried I'd damaged my hair for a while. The pain in the butt thing with this is that even now, every time I wash my hair, colour will run out. It's not a massive amount but I can definitely tell that the black has faded a lot now and some brown strands are coming through. My greys stayed dyed for over a month, but I know that they don't hold colour as well as normal hair strands.

I'm a bit lazy with hair dying and I usually leave it until I really need it before I redye so it bugs me that this fades away. I'd possibly use this again if I really didn't want to fork out a lot of money but I think I'd rather save for a better dye. If you regulary dye your hair, this could be a perfect cheap product for you.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
31st May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Affordable color

Revlon colorsilk it a good product.It has good coverage, even covers grey hair. The smell is not bad. The price point is good and there are always coupons if you look around. I feel it does not last long enough and becomes dull easily.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No