Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Maybelline SuperStay 16hr Powder

Maybelline SuperStay 16hr Powder
Overall rating from 27 reviews so far:
4.1/5
Would use it again?
4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.1/5

Maybelline SuperStay 16hr Powder is a waterproof powder that offers a matte finish, flawless coverage and shine control.

It's Micro-Flex formula with silicone-coated pigments and triple amino acids resist colour change, guarantees a flawless finish for up to 16 hours. Hydrophobic Treated Talc resists heat humidity, shine, oil and sweat for even coverage that lasts all day. 

Applicator sponge and mirror included

Website www.maybelline.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Maybelline SuperStay 16hr Powder

Maybelline SuperStay 16hr Powder

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.3/5
23rd April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Better as a setting powder than a foundation

I have mixed feelings about the Maybelline SuperStay 16hr Powder. I like using this powder to set my foundation because it has a nice matte finish and provides a little extra coverage. I didn't notice any oxidization which is a plus because I've tried plenty of powders that tend to go a bit orange when used over liquid foundation. This one stays true to colour and has a "stiffer" formula that lasts well during the day. I wouldn't say this powder is totally waterproof or sweatproof, unfortunately. The first time I used it, I sprayed my face with Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray, then touched my face before the spray had fully dried and ALL the makeup on that area came right off. It will also completely come off if you happen to have a nap while wearing it and drool on yourself a little (not that this happened to me... ok it did, I'm a sleepy girl). I've also tried using it all over my face as a powder foundation. It claims to have full coverage, and I was able to build it up to a fairly high level of coverage, but it got increasingly cakey the more layers I applied and my skin looked incredibly dry as a result. If you already have great skin and just want to even it out a little, this would look nice on its own but if you have more to hide then this won't quite do it.

Tips: Ditch the sponge applicator that's included in the compact, and use a fluffy brush instead.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
15th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Great but very, very matte

I like this powder - it sets foundation and reduces shine through the day. However for me it is just a bit too matte, I felt I had to warm it up a little with some highlighter, which is a bit counterproductive!

It really is heat, sweat and oil proof though and you definitely wont glisten when wearing it!

If super-matte is your vibe, this powder will be perfect for you!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Perfect for oily skin!

If you have slightly (or very!) oily skin, you're probably a powder girl like me. I HAVE to finish my look with powder, I just can't trust in foundation alone.

This is your standard powder compact, easy to use as it comes complete with sponge. The sponge actually does a great job of applying the powder!

From memory there were 6 shades to choose from, all fairly beige. For me that's not a problem, but I think if you were at the lighter or darker end then it might be a bit of an issue.

I love the finish and combined with the Maybelline Superstay foundation I've been trialing, it gives a flawless makeup look which will not budge for the whole day...and night!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
11th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Not my usual go to

I'm not one for pressed powder after seeing family use them but I gave this one a good go! It definitely lasted all day for me, and looked pretty good on and didn't feel thick or cakey on as I would say.

I really like the matte finish as I don't like looking Shiney so for me a matte finish is a must. The fact its got a mirror and sponge in the compact is a lifesaver as I can pop it in my handbag for after the gym for application etc.

It's one I would purchase again, as I'm getting the hang of using powder again, and using it with my liquid foundation as a touch up is good too.

No reactions with my skin so far either, so will keep using it and see, but definitely quite liking the look of it on my skin. The shade is a perfect match for me too.

Tips: Easily comes off at the end of the day with my micellar water which is good.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
11th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline powder

I have never really used powder foundations, have always been a liquid user. This powder was a good one to try out, went on easy enough and stayed for most of the day. If you're looking for a powder to try then give this one a go.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
10th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
16 hour Powder

Comes in a white and clear plastic compact with a thin latex sponge for application but I wasn’t a fan of the applicator. I tried this over foundation and as a foundation on its own over moisturiser and primer but it just sits weirdly on my skin and emphasised every dry bit, every pore, every flaw. Good coverage but cakey looking.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
10th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Soild product

Unfortunately due to Easter the package arrived late so didn't have as long as normal to trial. I wish I had longer to trial but will comment as much as I can.

This powder has a very lovely finish to it. Very even and fresh. It creates a lovely texture and makes it easy to blend bronzer and blush.

I am hesitant when it comes to coloured powder, I usually prefer translucent. I found the colour a touch orange when applied. Unsure if this was the wrong shade or if this is just the product.

It didn't look chalky at all. And you could definitely build the coverage up. I didn't try this powder without foundation under it yet but will be interested to see how that goes.

I have to wear a mask at work. Unfortunately this powder did transfer more that I would of liked. However saying that, it didn't move with sweat when working out etc.

I am excited to trial this product more and see other results.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
10th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Pretty good for hyperhidrosis!

I have hyperhidrosis (excessive sweating) due to medications I'm on, so I never wear foundation or powder as they always sweat off within a couple of hours. This powder stayed on my skin for most of the day, with decent coverage for a powder foundation - it says on the packaging that it's full coverage, and I'd say it's definitely at least medium coverage. I found it looked matte enough to cover any shine, but light enough that I didn't look like I was made of plastic. My redness was mostly covered, but it didn't do much for my undereye circles. However as it was a powder foundation it clung to my cheek pores and any dry patches/acne, so I wouldn't recommend it if you have textured skin. I tried it on top of the liquid foundation but there isn't really much point in wearing both - it's not intended as a setting powder.

Smudge-wise it didn't seem to noticeably lift when I touched my face, which I like. As for resisting sweat, it does seem to stay fairly intact with moderate sweating and only really moved when I was dripping in sweat from exercise - I don't know why anyone would actively choose to wear foundation for a workout, but if they did wear this one it wouldn't look terrible afterwards.

Overall, I'll probably reach for this to wear at work or in situations where I want to wear makeup without worrying about sweating through it, and maybe as a second foundation for dance/aerial performance makeup.

Tips: The mirror under the compact is pretty cute, but the sponge applicator they provide is thin and soaks all the product up so I would recommend a brush.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Superstay 16hr Powder

Ok so as a super oily skin Woman I was very skeptic of these superstay range, due to everything sliding off!

Nope! These products really do as they say they will!

I was trailing the Foundation and that was a game changer! So adding a very light layer of the powder on my chin and nose , both did not budge!

How often does that actually happen? I know for me , it’s never.

The packaging is super cute and easy to hold while you tap in with a fluffy powder brush , which is what I used.

I got ivory 10 and it was the perfect compliment to cameo in the foundation.

The powder did not oxidise what do ever , which I love and that’s important to me.

It wears beautifully. It’s soft and silky and not cakey. Every other powder and foundation combo I’ve used has caked. So I stopped adding powder , because the cakey dry texture is even worse when you have giant pores like me.

There’s no fragrance which is perfect, I’m super sensitive to fragrance.

I am super impressed by this range and they will be a staple in my make up kit .

I wore this combo for 12 hours no issues! I was so blower away that one night I even slept in my makeup to see what my face would look like in the morning... yup seriously! I could have literally just touched up my blush and headed out the door . The claims are real!

Tips: Go get you one ASAP!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
10th April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline superstay full coverage powder

The powder comes in a plastic circle container. The white middle base can be lifted up and underneath you will find a handy circular mirror and white thin sponge. Which makes this perfect to put the powder in your bag so you can do quick touch ups through the day if needed. I was lucky enough to be able to trial the powder in the shade 06 fresh beige. I found that this powder is medium to full coverage. Initially it gave a lovely coverage with a nice matte finish. I definitely had to re apply / touch up during the day, despite the 16 hour lasting claim. I found that this powder stuck to the dryness around my nose area and it doesn’t help cover any pimples or pores, especially around my nose and T zone. Overall, however I did quite like this powder and it is affordable so I would purchase and use again.

Tips: May need to re apply and touch up if you have dryness around the nose.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.