Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun July
Braun July

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review
Overall rating from 33 reviews so far:
5.0/5
Would use it again?
5.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.9/5

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder A wardrobe of six universal finishing powders that recreate the most exquisitely flattering light—from ethereal moonlight to luminous candlelight. Each powder captures, diffuses and softens surrounding light with groundbreaking photoluminescent technology. Available in 6 shades.

• Powders mimic six universally flattering light sources, from morning light to candlelight, allowing clients to build a wardrobe of options—not unlike having a personal lighting technician at your disposal.
• By manipulating and filtering out harsh light, powders conceal skin imperfections, pores and wrinkles.
• State-of-the-art formula delivers a multi-dimensional luminescence to every skin tone, making it appear softer, younger and perfectly lit.
• Universal powders make them suitable for every skin tone, while each can be worn day and night.
• The finishing powders enhance skin in any type of light, including flash photography.

Availability Selected Online Retailers

Website http://www.hourglasscosmetics.com/



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th July, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Second time was the charm!

I first had this when I was in a massive matte/dramatic phase with makeup and didn't fully appreciate it. I used it but it wasn't giving me the look I wanted.

I'm a bit more subtle and glowy these days, and have fallen in love with my second purchase of this, made recently. I have the smaller size, in Dim Light.

Hourglass packaging is subtly stunning, this is a small bronze compact with a secure clasp and small internal mirror.

The fine milled powder basically sits on top of your foundation (or on bare/primed skin) to get a natural glowy shimmer (not a highlighter sparkle, just a 'lit from within' radiance).

It settles beautifully and looks stunning. I'll more than likely purchase a full sized when I pan the baby one.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd May, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Best product ever

This stuff is absolutely gorgeous! It stands out and you can definitely tell the difference between this and a cheap product. Worth every cent

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th April, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Stunning

I have both Diffused Light and Dim light and I love them both! After I've finished my makeup I love to brush this over my face to give a beautiful soft glow which also makes the skin to appear more airbrushed. These aren't cheap but soooo worth it. Plus you can purchase minis

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th April, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Incedible

Does exactly what is says, looks like you are standing in dim lighting and have been airbrushed. Almost impossible to overdo and it feels so luxurious. While its expensive because its so well packed and finely milled it lasts really well. A HG product. I'm not a powder person (settles into fine lines around my eyes that are just start - joys of almost being 30) but I love this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Amazing!

This powder is amazing! I bought this in the summer when it was stinking hot and humid. I’d just been travelling for a month and wasn’t keen to go back to wearing foundation in the heat. I still felt like I needed something though, so off to Mecca I went! The sales assistance recommended this and tried it on my face on one side first of all, so I could see the difference it made. And what a difference! It seemed to even give my face a slight lift whilst not looking like I was wearing anything at all!

I have this in dim light which was perfect for me in summer. As the weather changed, I continued to use this over tinted moisturiser which gave me a nice, healthy glow. I don’t feel like I need to use illuminiser with this as I am glowy enough already. Now this stuff is pricey - Mecca also do a mini size of but really it is much better value to buy the big size. Mine lasted me about six months of daily so I will definitely be repurchasing in the warmer months.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th January, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Good for dry skin

Love this for setting my makeup. I have dry / combo skin and this gives my makeup such a natural radiant finish without looking cakey or oily.

Tips: I dont use it to set under the eyes, but it is beautiful around the perimeters of the face.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
23rd August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Glowy and dewy from within

Wow. I was so excited to finally purchase this product, as Hourglass is a pricey brand. I did only manage to purchase the mini size, however I would recommend doing this with more expensive brands, to test the product before committing to the full size. I purchased the shade Dim Light. This works well when I have fake tan on, however it's too dark and warm toned for when I'm not tan. The range only has a couple of other shades, which is not a large selection.

Other than that this product is amazing. All it takes is a light dusting to provide your skin with a luminous glow. Although this skin provides a glowing and dewy finish, it does not emphasise pores or texture. If anything it minimises pores. It makes your skin look healthy, which pairs great with a foundation that may have mattified your skin and made it look too flat and one dimensional.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Ambient Lighting Powder

I use this in radiant light as a everyday bronzer give me a barely there bronzed look with a natural glow have repurchased and will keep doing so.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
So good

I’ve bought it just before the price went up an extra $10 dollars, so now this powder costs $83 at mecca.

It’s worth the money, even though it’s basically undetectable on the skin, it doesn’t even make sense!

I have diffused light which is yellow coloured, it doesn’t show up on the skin, no matter how much I use. I didn’t notice it would counteract any redness really, but makes my skin look really smooth and blurred out, just what I’m after. It doesn’t sit in my fine lines and also doesn’t bring out any dry skin areas to show and that’s always a plus. Makes me look so fresh and glowing, but matte at the same time.

This powder is very very finely milled, sometimes I use it on top of my setting powder and sometimes I use it instead, it works both ways for me. However this is actually a finishing powder, which means this goes on top of makeup after you set it with a setting powder, some people get confused. Finishing powder isn’t the exact same as a setting powder.

I love the luxe packaging, but for this price I kinda expect it too, to be honest. This is 10 grams in the full size, so it will last for ages no doubt. Pricewise it’s really not worth it to get the travel size, as that’s about half price for 1.3 grams.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
maria4meyer
14th July, 2019

Very informative. Thanks

Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th January, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Use it daily for that extra GLOW!

I was really on the fence about forking out for this product, I had just purchased the bronzer and really loved it and had a friend rave about this one too, so I went out on a limb and brought Luminous Light off the Mecca website.

Hourglass has beautiful packaging, I don't think anyone can deny that—although, I get a little frustrated with getting fingerprints all over it. However, the packaging stacks up it's beautiful and it is hard wearing too (could easily be thrown into your handbag).

The product lasts what feels like forever! I purchased this about 10 – 12 months ago and I use it daily... It looks like I haven't even touched it! It provides a gorgeous glow all over the face and can be built up to a subtle highlighter if that's what you're after too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
maria4meyer
14th July, 2019

Great review. Thanks

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!