Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder Review

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder Review
Overall rating from 70 reviews so far:
4.1/5
Would use it again?
4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.9/5

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder is a translucent, versatile loose powder that creates a flawless, "soft focus" effect to the skin. Masks fine lines and imperfections for a glowing, radiant complexion. This incredibly soft and invisible powder is ideal for everyday wear, either alone or over your favorite e.l.f. foundation. Our HD Powder is a makeup artist and e.l.f. customer favorite, and at only $6, it can be yours at a fraction of the cost of the competition!

Website www.elfcosmetics.com.au

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder Review

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th November, 2019
0 members found this review useful
High quality, low price

I bought the pressed version of this from Kmart for around $14 and while the applicator (not sure if it’s a brush or a sponge) was missing I was pretty impressed with how hardy the packaging is. It’s a white powder and I didn’t hold out much hope but this powder is one of the most blurring powders I own (next to my Laura Mercier). It doesn’t do an amazing job of keeping the oils at bay but it does lock down my foundation and doesn’t look cakey at all. I’m loving this brand the more I use it and at less than $20 will definitely keep purchasing this powder ,although next time I’ll try the loose version.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
19th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Elf studio HD powder

Apply lightly! The packaging is big, sturdy and comes with alot of product. Classic sleek matte black packaging with a twist lid. The inside has 2 layers, with a sifter between the 2. You dont need much product at all as it quite powdery and loose (type of product, i know) i noticed minimal results and had alot of fall out. In some pictures i had flash back. Not ideal. Very affordable and you get alot for what you pay for.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Air powder

This awesome powder is cheap and yet one of the better setting powders that I have tried! Goes on a breeze and doesn't go cakey or as I have found some high def powder make you skin oily, this doesn't! The tub has easy to access holes for product distribution and comes with a cute little puffer pad. I found it easier to use a stippling brush to apply though. Awesome no white flash back to this is definitely a must have!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
15th July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
good

i really like this product, it does exactly what intended to do! except i find the packaging makes it very messy!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
17th February, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Big container with a big promise.

I love the way this matte black little square container sits on my vanity. The minimal e.l.f logo and product name are small enough to keep with the minimal vibe but large enough not to mistake it for something else.

The sifter inside is huge! Don't make the mistake of turning it upside down and tapping it without the lid on tightly or you will look like you've bathed in talcum powder.

The powder itself looks extremely white and although I got the clear version, I was hesitant to put it on my already fair skin. I do have to be careful not to put too much on as it does tend to give me a slight white cast sometimes. Using the biggest fluffy brush I can find helps minimise this problem. I know that this is a matte powder but I find mine quite glittery. It tends to settle in the lines under my eyes and the glitter brings even more attention to an area I would prefer to hide. Apart from these teething problems I do think that this powder mattifies my makeup and helps it to stay put longer.

I would definitely not recommend this if you have extremely dry skin but as an oily-faced girl I think it helps keep shine at bay and gives evrything a smooth finish.

Tips: Be gentle with the sifter and go in with a light hand.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
3rd September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
E.L.F studio HD powder

I picked this up from my local Kmart, and it ended up being around $10 I think.

Thisis a white translucent powder and you can get the sheer, shimmer or yellow corrector shades. I have the shade sheet, which is just a normal, translucent powder.

This powder is really finely milled and is really soft. It is easy to apply with either a brush or a sponge, I use a brush as I find a sponge picks up too much and you want to be able to tap off any excess before you apply. A very light touch is all that is needed for setting concealer, foundation or baking. I like to use this powder over my oily spots and it does help control my oil and make me look matte throughout the day.

However I really hate the packaging on this powder, it makes such a mess. even if you tip out a bit onto the lid, powder gets everywhere, and even moreso when you apply it. If you don't tap of any excess before you apply it can cling to your face and make you look really powdery.

I love the finish this powder gives my skin and its great at stopping me from looking oily during the day but I hate how much of a mess this makes, despite the cheap price tag, I don't think I will repurchase in the future.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Bake that concealer

I use this to bake my concealer, and i find it really does come off nicely. It makes my skin smooth to look at and to touch, and stops my concealer from creasing, and as a full face powder, a little goes a long way.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
18th March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
A Unique, Effective Powder

The e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder wasn't quite what I expected, but I ended up quite liking the results. I think, at least.

I initially purchased this powder during my search for a cruelty-free setting powder that was also light enough for my porcelain skin. This powder is not only cruelty free, but SUPER cheap, and translucent. So it ticked all the boxes, and I gave it a whirl.

Packaging is aesthetically pleasing, in a chic and elegant square screw-top tub, with a cute little powder puff inside. As everyone else has already noted here, the inside is a bit of a disaster in terms of messiness - the powder tends to explode everywhere when you open it. I actually have started applying this in my bathroom instead of at my makeup table, just because it's so messy! But it's no biggie - since it's translucent, you can easily brush it off clothes with no marks left behind.

This powder is definitely not what I expected in terms of effect. It is great at setting and mattifying makeup, but at the same time it provides a crazy level of luminosity to the skin. I have found it definitely makes my skin slightly paler, and leaves a fine shimmer to the skin as well. It lasts well all day, but doesn't add any extra coverage to your foundation/concealer. I would say it does create the "soft effect" as advertised, but I'm still making up my mind as to whether or not I actually like that look!

Tips: This product is great to use to bake your makeup with - definitely my preferred way to use this. Over your foundation, apply heaps of concealer beneath your eyes and over your chin area. Then, pack on the powder and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. The heat from your skin + this HD powder leaves an amazing finish to the skin after you brush it lightly off again. Would definitely recommend trying this out if you're into baking.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Love

I love this powder and use it everytime I apply my make up. It's super easy to apply and also great value for money.

Tips: Use it in conjunction with the e.l.f concealer to make an eye primer. Use a brush to apply it rather than the sponge thing they supply, so it doesn't wipe away all your makeup.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th February, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Amazing

The product itself is amazing! Lightweight and works really well to set foundation and to stop my skin looking oily. I like that this product doesn't make me look cakey! I don't use the powder puff that it comes with as I prefer brushes so I can't say how that works. The lid is a bit unstable so you need to be careful, also when opening the product as a lot comes out of it and it can go everywhere if you aren't careful. Despite the lid issue this product is amazing and I definitely recommend!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.