Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Ten Hair Care Tips You Should Know By Now!

12 September, 2018 - 08:15pm by - First Lady | 18 Comments

Article by BR  Tabatha

It might seem like hair care products are constantly developing and evolving but when it comes to the basics of hair care things don't really change much at all.  Here's our top ten hair care tips, whatever your hair type or style!

Rinse your hair thoroughly after shampooing and conditioning.  

Left over product and residue will dull hair, make it look greasy and weigh it down.  Aim to spend as long on the final rinse as you did shampooing and conditioning combined. 

Make the most of conditioning time.  

Once you've applied conditioner to the mid-lengths and ends of your hair, use a wide tooth comb to distribute the conditioner, stimulate the scalp and leave your hair shiny and tangle free.

Get your ends trimmed regularly.  


 Contrary to popular myth, trimming your ends doesn't make you hair grow any faster, but trims ensure your hair looks it's best by removing split ends, which make hair look unruly, dry and damaged.  

Use a towel gently.  

You know the vigourous towel drying you mum would subject you to?  Do the exact opposite!  Rubbing your hair with a towel when it’s wet will ruffle the cuticle and cause tangles, increasing frizz and damage.  De-tangle hair while conditioner and gently squeeze out excess water after rinsing.  Wrap your hair in a microfibre towel and towel dry gently, with minimum effort!

Exercise good blow drying.  


Opt for the medium heat setting and hold the dryer at least 6 to 8 inches away from your hair and direct the air blast down the shaft from the root to prevent frizz.  Use some form of heat protection when blow drying. Experiment with serums, milks, creams and sprays to find what works best for you.

Don't fall for 'You must change your products or your hair will get used to them'.  

Your hair is effectively dead from the roots down - it doesn't feel and it certainly doesn't know if you're using the same brand day after day, month after month. 

Go easy with the brush. 

Brushing your hair 100 times morning and night will not leave your hair more shiny but it can cause breakage and frizz.  Brush your hair when you need to - when you're styling it.  Avoid brushing wet hair - it's at its most fragile.  Opt for a wide tooth comb or a gentle tangle brush to de-tangle wet hair, and reserve the brush strictly for styling.

Volumise the easy way

Volume will give hair a fuller, bouncier and healthier look.  If you're blow drying flip your head upside down and blow dry until almost dry; then flip your volumised hair back and finish styling and smoothing,  A simple trick for a fuller hair do is to part and style your hair in the opposite direction to usual. 

Use the right product for your hair type. 

Think product varieties are marketing hype?  Think again! For example curly hair is naturally dry (oil doesn't travel down the kinky hair shaft as easily as on straight hair) so products for curly hair will contain ingredients to soften the hair and minimise frizz, helping the oils travel more easily.  Conversely products aimed at oily hair will be light and gentle (look for a thinner consistency and clear colour).  Whether your hair is fine, limp, dry, damaged, coarse, coloured, curly or oily, look for a product range that address the specific needs that come with each type.

Amp up the intensity.  

At least once a fortnight treat your hair to an intensive treatment.  For deeper penetration of the product wrap a warm towel around your head. Leave it for 30 minutes before rinsing thoroughly.

 

So there you have it - our top ten hair tips.  Any to add?  Get chatting below!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

Going to buy a wide tooth comb this week thanks for that tip. Also will try the warm towel around my head when using my garnier hair mask this week. I use to use gladwrap and it would get warm and toasty but trying to reduce plastic so I don't anymore.

I used to use supermarket bags! now I don't use anything.

12th September, 2018 at 9:01 pm

Shower caps aren't tight enough either to really get the same effect plus the amount of shower caps that have split on me it's really just more plastic so I've given up on the plastic.

12th September, 2018 at 9:41 pm

I would recommend investing in a tangle teezer. I have really long hair and I used to use a wide toothed comb, then I switched to the tangle teezer and my hair went from feeling like it had been conditioned to like it had been deep conditioned after

13th September, 2018 at 10:33 am

washing it because the tangle teezer makes more strands of hair gets coated and it also helps you have to less tangled hair when you rinse it and get out of the shower.

13th September, 2018 at 10:35 am

Thank so for that will do.

13th September, 2018 at 2:18 pm

Don't use rubber bands for your ponytail!

Oh yes yeowch

12th September, 2018 at 9:42 pm

Oh yes all those pretty elaborate braids you see people doing on facebook vids using them, sigh.

13th September, 2018 at 10:36 am

Great tips. I torture my hair daily with heat and find a heat protectant a must. I have a salon mask I use once a week and have just added olaplex into my treatment routine. I must give the warm towel a try when I treat my hair again.

Haven't tried Olaplex but I've heard it's amazing!

20th September, 2018 at 10:51 am

See I just can't rinse all the conditioner off, because then it feels pointless!

Any suggestions for the fortnightly intensive treatment please? :) *colored, dry ends, sensitive scalp. Thanks xx

Have you tried Macadamia natural oil deep repair hair masque? It is the ultimate intense hair treatment and works great for sensitive scalps, it might be good to do a little test before applying to your whole head, but this hair mask is a real treat

19th September, 2018 at 12:38 pm

Thanks! I'll try and hunt it down xx

20th September, 2018 at 11:14 am

Use a hair mask once a week. Has done wonders for my hair.

Such a good tip! Replacing your conditioner with a hair mask completely is something that a lot of stylists are starting to recommend too.

20th September, 2018 at 10:52 am

I’m guilty of brushing my hair when it’s wet. Been wanting a tangle brush for a while now . Great tips .

Lots of nice tips there... I’m still vigorously towel drying my hair... so definitely need to work on that one hahahaha =D. Going to use that volumising trick from now on ... and yes an intensive hair treatment sounds good~~ =)

Get one of those micro fiber tower turban thingys you can find at the supermarket and warehouse and even $2 shops. My really long hair stays wrapped and dries much quicker.

13th September, 2018 at 10:38 am

Lol just saw your reply . I’m guilty of being vigorous with my hair. old habits die hard rofl

13th September, 2018 at 12:57 pm

I like turbie towels too.

13th September, 2018 at 9:55 pm

Don't wash your hair everyday because it will dry it out. And swap out the wide toothed comb for a Tangle Teezer you will get more of a conditioning effect and fewer tangles when you get out of the shower. Also switch to a micro fiber tower turban thingy it makes a big difference in drying time and it's easier to keep your hair wrapped up.

Where can I get a microfibres turban from ?

13th September, 2018 at 12:56 pm

You can find them at the warehouse, supermarkets, I even found one at the $2 shop. It's basically just a triangular sort of towel with a button on the larger end and a small loop on the other. My hair is so long that I have to fold my hair in half to

13th September, 2018 at 1:22 pm

get it to fit in the turban but it works. They're often white but sometimes you can find them in pink or purple. Oh and avoid using them with hair treatments if you want to keep using them as towel as once the fibers get oily they don't absorb as

13th September, 2018 at 1:25 pm

much water although you could have one just designated for hair treatments.

13th September, 2018 at 1:26 pm

I like the sund of the turban towel -Thanks Tannygirl

13th September, 2018 at 3:43 pm

I only have white but the lavender hair shampoo has stained them. Coloured ones would be good.

13th September, 2018 at 9:56 pm

I'm pretty good with most of these :)

I have taken these tips on board from some past articles and so am not guilty this time - rubber bands for pony tails also a no no as most people wrap then too tight as Maree advised.

I am still quite bad at leaving products in my hair eg conditioner. Silicone and diamenthicones can be bad

I have to stop towel drying my hair.. I'm guilty of that. I also need that wide tooth comb.

a few good tips thank you xx

Hair masks are a must for me...I bought the whole fruit bowl of garner hair masks the other day when they were on sale and I use them most of the time instead of a conditioner! I have dry hair - so I shampoo every other day or longer if I can get away with it, but lightly condition my hair every day! Oh, and the Air 3D hair dryer changed everything - I use my straighteners rarely thanks to that fantastic hair dryer

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Yes! They're a match made in heaven!

view results

Review of the Day
sarahellaoverton
Not so easy to use
I love Tailor products, so I was excited to try this one. However, I was disappointed. I found the product… more »