Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

How Long Have You Had Your Hairbrush?

6 September, 2020 - 08:02am by - First Lady | 244 Comments

poll posted by BR Amelia

I was reading an article the other day, recommending we change our hairbrushes every SIX MONTHS.  This seemed a bit extreme to me, but I do agree its important to keep our brushes in tip-top condition lest we risk them damaging our hair.

You see, built up debris of styling products and damp hair can lead to bacteria growth, and melted bristles from heat styling can actually snag the hair as we brush.  At the bare minimum we should be removing excess hair from our brushes after every use.  For the Gold Star of Care, we should be washing our brushes weekly.  Using baking soda and vinegar is an easy way to remove product build up and scalp flakes, helping to keep our brushes in better condition for longer.

We're putting the latest hair brush release from Mita to the test.  The last three Mita detangling brushes are all Top Rated by you, the people of New Zealand, so we're super excited to get our hands on this colourful beauty!

The Mita™ GEMTIP Detangling Brush is a unique 3D Flexi-Control Brush with multi-nylon bristles & gem tips.

Each bristle is physically formed into a smooth round sphere, like a delicate gem, free of sharp edges. The Mita GEMTIP detangling brush is super flexible with long & short thin bristles to remove tangles effortlessly and painlessly, reducing hair breakage.

The two-length bristles work perfectly to detangle and massage the hair whilst massaging the scalp and gently cleaning away dandruff and dirt from the scalp.

As well as for use on dry hair, the GEMPTIP shines when used in the shower.  It helps to spread shampoo and conditioner evenly along the hair and helps rinse them away more quickly without snagging or pulling on wet hair.

If you fancy a spot on this trial team, get chatting below about all things hair brush.  How long have you had your current brush?  Do you look after it well or is it a bit neglated?  Why would you like to review the Mita GEMTIPS Detangling Brush for us?

How Long Have You Had Your Hairbrush?


View results

View previous polls

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

8th September, 2020

Well to be honest I have a hairbrush but only brush my hair about once a month as it wavy/ curly so most brushes just make my hair go boof This would be great to try to see how it would go with my hair

8th September, 2020

I have not updated my hairbrush in a while... and it shows.i am so embarrassed by the state of it -Pieces broken off, full of hair, and generally bleurgh. But I get so confused about what I should be buying! And then shocked at the price... and cant work out which one to buy... so I buy a random one and end up going back to ol favourite. To be able to review a detangler like this would be perfect and may be enough to sway me to say farewell to the tried and true brush

8th September, 2020

I don't own a hairbrush...I just use cheap plastic combs so would like to try this

8th September, 2020

My hairbrush is very tired! I am unsure how many years I have using it but I am certain it has been well loved - none of the wee nobs on the end of the bristles are left. Would love to try something new that promises results in the shower.

8th September, 2020

I would love the chance to review this brush. My brush is old and the bristles are coming away a little but it gets the job done. I’ve found it hard to find a brush that is good on wet and dry hair and is easy to clean. I’ve tried natural fibre brushes, tangle teasers, combs big and small. Always up for trying a brush!

8th September, 2020

I definitely need to change my brush more often! This brush sounds great! My daughter and I both have very fine hair that tangles easily, this brush sounds fab!

8th September, 2020

I’ve had my big paddle hairbrush for almost over a year now and the only TLC it gets is taking out the hair when it gets full. I started using a detangling brush that was about $10 that was a lot more gentle on my hair until the bristles were snapping in half. It’s definitely time for a new one as my fine blonde coloured hair needs to be handled gently especially when it comes to brushing my hair with wet and dry hair. The top half of my hair on the crown always gets knotty after the shower so gentle pulling with my hairbrush is a must or I risk a lot of hair breakage!

8th September, 2020

Forever and ever but built to last although starting to show signs of wear and tear.

8th September, 2020

Wow I've had mine almost 10 years

8th September, 2020

I bought my present brush last year and tend to change every 2/3 years. However, I do clean my brush on a regular basis and remove hair from it after every use. Love the fact that only does this brush does the basic job of brushing/detangling hair, but it also massages the scalp. Count me in for a trial.

8th September, 2020

Have been trying all sorts of brushes but feel like they all rip my hair out! This one looks amazing!

8th September, 2020

Last time I replaced my brush was because the handle broke. My 'new' one is now about 3 years old but I've never been that happy with it but can't find one the same as my old one to replace it. Would love to give this one a shot!!

8th September, 2020

I never replace my hair brush, my hair is very long and it's in a nice condition at the moment due to no hair dye and at home treatments. Would love to try a hair brush that will allow me to brush in my hair treatments easily actually!

8th September, 2020

I have to be completely honest and admit that this is something I have never thought about. I take the hair out of it often, but haven't ever considered soaking it or really paying attention to the condition of the brush itself. The last time I bought a new hair brush was when I left my last one behind at a hotel a few years ago. But it does make sense that we should be replacing our hair brush every so often.

My hair is long and fine and unfortunately, prone to becoming tangled. I prefer to brush my hair in the shower after I rinse out the conditioner as I find that it then doesn't tangle quite as badly when I towel dry it.

Other than the fact that I clearly need a new brush, I'd love to try the Mita Gemtips Detangling brush because I spend a lot of time 'detangling' - if this works, it could be my savior!

8th September, 2020

I have most definitely had my hair brush for a few years... seems to still do the trick.

YOU CAN SHOP THE BEAUTY VAULT WHENEVER YOU LIKE!

The Beauty Vault is now open every day so you can earn Beauty Points and exchange them for full sized products whenever you like!

Beauty Review: REGISTER - WRITE REVIEWS - GET REWARDED!

Click here to SHOP!