Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Garnier Fructis Coconut Water Shampoo and Conditioner Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.5/5

Garnier Fructis Coconut Water Shampoo and Conditioner Review

Overall rating:
4.4/5

Fructis Coconut Water Oily Roots Dry Ends: The paraben and silicone-free formula combines coconut water and purifying agents to cleanse and rebalance the scalp, whilst hydrating. Hair is healthy and soft without being weighed down.

RRP: $5.09 each

Availability: Selected department stores, pharmacies and online

Websitewww.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd November, 2017 at 11:11 am
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Salon results in a supermarket product? Hell yes!

When it comes to shampoo & conditioner I tend to dip in and out of Salon vs Supermarket depending on my budget. So of late i've been using a Salon only range. So I was keen to see how this compared.

Firstly I loved the fragrance. It's really important to me that products I use, especially in the shower give me a sensory experience as well. And this certainly did that!

From a usage perspectives the products performed really well, there was good later and my hair felt really clean when i'd washed it.

I loved the fact that when I went to rinse out the conditioner my hair felt super sleek, you know when the water hits it and it just feels lovely and smooth?

Now I only use conditioner about once a week generally as often they make my hair too slippery and I can't style it. But i've got to say with this range it's made it style up beautifully so I think I'll be able to use it more frequently.

My only gripe and this is aimed at ALL hair care product manufacturers is that the shampoo & conditioner bottles look the same and what is what is written in teeny tiny writing! I don't wear my glasses in the shower so i'm forever grabbing the wrong one. Yes I know they're turned up different ways but I shouldn't have to try and remember which is which! That said it doesn't take away from how great this product is so I will be forgiving!

Tips: I've just seen the range on special at Countdown for $2.50 per bottle! $2.50! Stock up now!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I had same trouble with the colour fast one too -eyes full of water and hard to see which is shampoo or conditioner

Agreed, the small print is annoying. Great review.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
30th October, 2017 at 9:41 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
New garnier shampoo and conditioner hair products

I found that although the shampoo from this brand is sulphate free, it does have a very closely related ingredient that resembles sulfates and does basically just the same damage to the hair. To me this is a bit of a trick to make you think you will get healthy hair but the "sister sulfate additive" as i will call it defeats the purpose of using a sulfate free shampoo in my opinion. I also learned more about silicones in conditioners and the benifits of using a conditioner without silicone or dimenthicone. I really quite like the scent of the conditioner it was unexpected and the first conditioner I have ever come accross that smells very different to its matching shampoo. Performance wise based on the results so far and research I think long term use or a longer trial could show the full potential/favouable results of the conditioner. I think if you have damaged hair and have been using a conditioning product with a silicone in it, the initial results you might not like from the silicone free conditioner because it does not give your hair the artificial shine and as much of a very smooth and slippery when wet feeling that a silicone based conditioner does. Long story short, silicone products can hide alot of damage but long term they buld up make hair more damaged and dry. Using a silicone free product can help your hair show its natural shine but initially may reveal you true hair condition which maybe un desirable looking hair. The coconut water in this product is a tough thing to consider as looking back to when checked coconut oil out for hair I found it has pros and cons. Particularly if you colour your hair or already have quite dry porus hair it can be a not a good idea to use it. Bearing in mind that coconut oil & coconut water are not the same but can be just as effective. Coconut water can help treat hairloss promote growth/thickness hydrate and balance skin for a healthy scalp, provide nutrition to hair follicles and has antibacterial properties. This made the product ideal for me as I want to grow & thicken my hair the dye fading of my red coloured hair was not too bad following shampooing. The main thing was my oily roots and dry ends. To be honest in that area I didn't notice much differences the shampoo washed out the oily roots like a normal shampoo would. If I used too much conditioner/didnt rinse it I could feel the residue and my conditioned aread of hair felt oily. Otherwise once I got the hang of correct product ratios to use my hair ends were light and fluffy with fly aways that settled down later. Given everything said. I am interested to see how this product goes on others who use it for a longer trial period or long term. I am keen to keep trying from this line the conditioners specifically. Extra Points for no parabens and packaged caring for the environment.

Tips: Give it a chance. Do your research. Consider less is more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
29th October, 2017 at 10:50 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great duo - volume and helps with oil

This duo from Garnier is awesome for my hair, I'm so happy they've made a silicon free shampoo and conditioner, also recyclable bottles are great.

The shampoo has a refreshing scent and is of a gel-like texture. It takes a bit of extra rubbing to get the level of lathering in used to, but it does get there. This shampoo works really well for me, it makes my hair feel soft and a lot less oily.

I don't like the scent of the conditioner as much, as it's quite a bit stronger. But it does make my hair feel really nice during washing and once dry, it also doesn't weigh my hair down at all.

Using these products has been so helpful for my hair, usually my hair gets oily the second day after washing (especially at the front in my fringe). But with these I have 2 whole days of non-oilyness. My hair also has a whole lot more volume and curls than when using other shampoo and conditioner. It cleans and hydrates my hair just the right amount. I do find it gets knotty easier, but I'm willing to cope with that!

Tips: The shampoo takes a bit to be lathered, but it does after a bit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
29th October, 2017 at 12:02 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smells Great

As a combo this was something I really wanted to try. My hair is oily at the roots and dry through the length, so this promised to work for that. I like the bright packaging, it's refreshing. The scent is nice without being overpowering. I find some products give me a headache, but this was a light, fresh scent.

I wasn't sold on the shampoo, I just felt that it wasn't able to clean my hair when it was oilier, but if there isn't a lot of build up then I will use it. The conditioner felt like it worked well, hydrating the ends without dragging down the roots, so I think I will repurchase that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 8:34 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fructis Coconut water shampoo and conditioner

Will buy this product in the future!

In the trial time I managed to use this product 3 times. I have always struggled with oily roots but the rest of my hair is dry from many years of highlights.

The products came in striking but appealing green bottles with sturdy click top lids. I had no leakages when travelling with these bottles in my bag either. They had clear text on their label and easy to read instructions for use on the back.

Like all Fructis products the shampoo and conditioner both have a pleasant fruity scent that I kept on smelling until my hair dried.

The shampoo lathers well and a little goes a long way. I made sure to get deep into my roots and down the length of my hair for best results.

With conditioner, like the shampoo a small walnut size amount managed to coat the entirety of my hair (I have thin hair but lots of it that is past my shoulders). I left the conditioner in for the 2-3 minuets while showering and rinsed out. My hair felt smooth, sleek and tangle free.

Following drying my hair my roots felt light and ends of my hair felt hydrated and nourished. This product didn’t attack the humidity frizz however but still is a great product.

Overall these products did what it said it would.

Tips: Massage both products deep into roots and to the tips of that ur hair

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 8:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My new favourite range

I'm so glad I got to try these products. I had been using rebalancing haircare for a while now after I was told my scalp was quite oily, and so far the Garnier Coconut water range has done everything perfectly. The shampoo really 'rebalanced' my hair - my roots felt fresher for longer, and the ends weren't dried out like some other shampoos I had used. The conditioner was a creamy lotion type and it felt like putting on a luxurious body balm or moisturiser after washing - the scent was lovely and my ends felt nicely moisturised but not heavy. The volume of my hair was just right after drying and I felt it lasted longer before it started getting oily again. Overall I loved this range and I will stick with it until my hair condition changes!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 4:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great shampoo

I loved this shampoo and conditoner! I have tried quite a few shampoos and conditoners and this is right up there for a supermarket brand. I was quite skeptical considering the Garnier skin care products react with my skin (queue BB cream trial years ago). So i was pleasantly surprised that Garnier had brought out a product without silicon in it. I have thick hair so from the outright i knew i would need more product then normal.

First of all the packaging is great, it is a reasonable sized product and price compared to the organic brands in the supermarket.

The smell is beautiful not overly fruity and not coco nutty at all. I had to shampoo twice due to thick hair, but thankfully my hair didnt feel like it had been stripped which i have experienced with other shampoos and no yuck residue after rinsing the conditoner out.

I have managed to go three days between washing and my hair once straightened held for a lot longer as well.

So two thumbs up on these products, will buy again!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 3:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
i wouldn't call this a holy grail...yet

thanks to beauty review for sending me this product. in the 10 day trial time, i have used it twice. i was so excited to try this because i recently went to the hairdresser and she said i have oily roots. so this product was made for me LoL.

first off, garner fructis always delivers a lovely botanical fragrance. paragon free, silicone free...GREAT (now they just need to get rid of the sulphate).

this shampoo and conditioner allowed me to go four good days before having to wash again. five would be pushing it. i can usually go three days...so the more days between each wash is great! the other thing to note is that i don't get overly hot or sweaty from exercise on my head, so that may impact on the period between washes.

i will end by saying i will continue to use this shampoo and conditioner...to continue trial it, as 10 days just wasn't enough time

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
28th October, 2017 at 9:55 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Coconut care!

I really enjoyed trying this shampoo and conditioner set as I have natural tendency for oily roots and as my ends have been bleached they can often be dry and frizzy.

The packaging is sleek and I prefer the new click lids on these bottles versus the old design. The bottle now stands up sturdy in my shower and closed with an audible click so no chance of leaks like the older ones. I do however miss the signature neon green bottle that was easier to spot on the shelf amongst the other colourful brands. The text is clearly written and it's easy to see which variant you are buying but the blue isn't as clear as the rest and may benefit from a different colour. I think the word shampoo and conditioner should be larger on these bottles or repositioned however to distinguish the two bottles more obviously. I don't like that standing the bottles up on their lids means the design ofis the shampoo is then upside down, but that is more my tendency for order than an issue. The only visual cue of which is which at a distance is the conditioner is the dark green bottle which is odd as usually it's the lighter in a set.

The smell is absolutely delicious and fruity, I loved showering with this and made me want to wash my hair daily.

Texture was nice and sleek for the shampoo, the colour is a pearlescent white and it's frothed up really easily. The conditioner was thick and white like a good moisturizer and felt like I was applying a mask to my ends.

It definitely cleaned my hair really well without feeling like it stripped my scalp of all the oil leaving it dry and more likely to make more! I even noticed less hair fall during this week :) My ends felt more nourished and very soft! However it didn't seem to help their frizzy nature.

Overall I like this shampoo and conditioner set, it's a good affordable price and i will continue to finish the bottle and see if it improves my hair over more time. I would personally repurchase this product as it does a good job for such combination hair on a tight budget.

Tips: Leave conditioner on for as long as possible while you finish your shower as the longer the softer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 9:11 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Puberty Blues

A teenagers perspective on this new shampoo and conditioner. As a 15 year old with dry ends and greasy scalp she is washing her hair every three days. Most days preferring sleep over getting up early to do her hair, she opts for a slicked back pony tail to hide this. So let's start with the packaging. Cool colours looked clean, fresh and the graphics appealing to all ages. Like the fact that both bottles opened and stood up from a different ends so you could grab the right one easily in the shower. The fragrance was divine. It was just like transporting us back to Fiji where this fragrance is everywhere. The shampoo was easy to apply and lathered well. The conditioner smoothed out tangles really quickly and made the comb through quick. Ok down to the real question. Did it do what is promised? Yes, yes and yes! To a point the non verbal teenager enthused about the products and told me various times over the last week. "Mum I haven't washed my hair yet and look how good it looks still' "Mum my hair is normally itchy and feels dirty by now" "Mum feel how soft my hair is" "Mum I have worn my hair down all week" "Mum my scalp is so clean". So suffice to say she loves the products, will use again and will tell all her friends.

Tips: Get your teenagers using it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »