Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Essie Stay Longer Ultimate Top Coat

Essie Stay Longer Ultimate Top Coat
250 Points ($24.99)
Add to Cart
Sorry, you must be logged in to purchase from the shop.

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th December, 2023
0 members found this review useful
Does the job

This is a nice easy to apply top coat that dries quickly which is a bonus and gives a nice shine to my nails .It is on the thin side but effectively protects my nail polish from chips for several days which definitely makes my nails look good for longer and I am not having to fix my nails all the time.This product is as good to use as any on the market and yes I would re purchase. I like that is comes in a little cardboard box too so if you are giving it looks special.

Tips: You may like to apply two coats for extra protection.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th September, 2023
0 members found this review useful
A Good Top Coat

I really like this Essie top coat! Personally I like to use normal nail polish on my toe nails so it's easy to change for occasions and gels on my fingers.

This top coat definitely makes a difference in the longevity of normal polish and also keeps it from chipping! I've used it now over both Essie and OPI nail polish shades and the formula didn't change on either base and lasted really nicely for around a week on my nails with no chipping before changing to a new nail colour underneath.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Annabrunt
4th October, 2023

helpful

Overall rating:
3.7/5
17th August, 2023
0 members found this review useful
It’s nice for a day

It was extremely easy to apply- it went on like a dream! It definitely self leveled and was lovely and smooth. My nails looked lovely and shiny for about a day- shortly after the polish seemed to be developing a yellow ness to it, and if it was chipped it would peel up and off the nail extremely easily, which was satisfying but probably not want you want. It definitely was nice while it lasted but I don’t think it would extend the life of a manicure at all.

Tips: Is not damaging to nails at all, I’d use it again to protect my nails if I was going to be scrubbing stuff actually

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Annabrunt
4th October, 2023

good tip

Overall rating:
2.3/5
17th August, 2023
0 members found this review useful
Not the best

So I tried this on top of an Essie colour and I have to say it went on fine but once dried I could still see the lines from the brush and it is super thin and it began to flake off the next day!! Would say 3 coats would be needed but the brush marks were still there so not a product for me I was so disappointed as I thought the bottle made it sound like the top coat I need but nope not this time unfortunately the brush is nice easy to apply fast drying but just the look and Performance didn't cut it in my opinion

Tips: Put at least 2 coats on

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Annabrunt
4th October, 2023

thanks for the tip

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th August, 2023
0 members found this review useful
Lives up to it's name

I'm always looking for a good top coat and I really like this one. I tested it over a red Essie polish and it lasted about 5 and a half days before any signs of chipping.

I'd been wearing polish by itself for a while because I'd run out of my previous top coat and it just wasn't lasting too well. I find polish chips on my nails easier than others, but this top coat helped a lot. It also gives a great shine and dries fairly quickly. I'd definitely recommend it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th August, 2023
0 members found this review useful
Not tacky at all!

Finally a top coat that doesn't turn your nails into a fly trap. Not tacky at all! I'm quite hard on my claws and this definitely extended the life of my polish. It does have that very strong polish smell, which I don't mind but others might find a tad overpowering. If you are looking for a product to extend your polish beyond the usual few days and up to a week without chips, this is for you.

Tips: Deceptively smooth formula so you only need a little coat.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th August, 2023
0 members found this review useful
Hard on hands Mum!

I wanted to leave this review for the last minute so I could truely test this product out and I can safely say it’s probably one of the best top coats I’ve used to date! I absolutely hate the fact that when I apply polish it comes off after a day or so. I’ve had this on for about a week and am super happy with the results! Hardly any chipping and still super shiny! I’m pretty tough on my hands at work and constantly doing dishes and my polish still looks pretty good! I don’t tend to use normal polish because of the reason that it never lasts long and usually go straight for the gels, but I am happy to say I will most likely reach for some of my normal polishes now! I used a Revlon nail polish underneath this time so am interested to see how it will go with some of my cheaper polishes in my collection. Also found that it dried pretty quickly which I love! I don’t get a lot of time to myself these days with a young child so when I get to pamper myself I love when it’s quick and easy if I have a million other things to do! I would probably use this by itself if I’m not wanting any colour on my nails but want to look shiny and healthy 😄

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
16th August, 2023
0 members found this review useful
Essie Stay Longer Ultimate Top Coat

I loved the packaging of this product. The red, white and silver was really elegant. The bottle itself is a standard rectangular Essie bottle, which I also really enjoy the design of. The red carried over to the bottle which was a nice touch.

The instructions/'Usage' information on the packaging was pretty brief, and I was surprised it didn't tell me to start with a base coat. It said to use on top of an Essie polish, so I chose Essie 'Chastity' from my collection which is a pink creme. I applied two coats of colour (waiting 5 minutes between coats) and then after 15 minutes I applied the top coat.

The brush was nice and wide, which I was surprised about as the brush on the colour I used was very thin. The wide brush was great as it only took two swipes to cover my nail and meant I didn't smudge the colour underneath at all. I did notice a tiny bit of colour on the brush after application, even though I had waited 15 minutes.

After applying the top coat I tried not to touch my nails until I went to bed - which was about 5 hours after application. That paid off, I woke up with no sheet marks on my nails which I was so happy about. I also noticed that the top coat made the colour on my nails look so smooth and glossy. My nails also felt super shiny.

After 3 days, only slight tip wear on a couple of nails. Really good going for me as I can often have chips after a day!

By day 7, I did have some chips but my nails were still so shiny! I had cleaned and done dishes all week, and also typed all day for 5 days for my job.

I have tried quite a few top coats and this one is amazing. I'm looking forward to trying it over other brands to see if it performs as well.

Tips: Apply this over an Essie colour as recommended. I will probably use a base coat next time I use the top coat too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th August, 2023
0 members found this review useful
Great Quality Topcoat

This top coat delivers on its promise. As someone who leads an active lifestyle (gym and sports), I was amazed that my polish lasted this long.

The formula glides on effortlessly and the colour definitely stayed vibrant and glossy, and I was blown away by the shine it added. Throughout the week, my nails remained smooth and bright.

I noticed some minor chipping around day 7, but this durability is exceptional considering my active routine.

Tips: Applying the top coat to the full length of the nail, as recommended, prevented most of the chipping and peeling.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th August, 2023
0 members found this review useful
Bright and Shiny Color

I was very excited to try Essie Stay Longer Ultimate Top Coat as it claims to be a premium longwear top coat for an up to 7 day salon quality manicure. I normally have to remove my nail polish around the 3erd day as I am very rough with my nails, so if it could last a week … Amazing! For best results, it should be paired with an Essie polish to keep the color smooth, bright and shiny. In my case I tried it with an OPI polish as I felt like that color at that moment. Applying the top coat was very smooth and made the polish brighter and shinier, really improving the color. It took about 5 minutes to dry. I was impressed by day 3 because there were no chips and the color was still bright and shiny. The first chips appeared by day 5 but they were minimal and not very noticeable. Overall, I am very happy with Essie Stay Longer Ultimate Top Coat, it didn’t last salon quality manicure for a week but it did a very good job, better than others I tried before.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

WELCOME TO NZ'S BIGGEST BEAUTY GUIDE!

READ AND WRITE REVIEWS ON YOUR FAVOURITE (or not so favourite!) PRODUCTS!

Sign up to receive our newsletter and stay up to date with all of the latest happenings here at Beauty Review!

You'll be the first to know about Trial Teams, Vault restocks and Giveaways.

We promise never to spam you - only to share the best in NZ beauty!

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE MAILING LIST!