Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun Xmas
Braun Xmas

MAC Prep + Prime Fix + Review

MAC Prep + Prime Fix + Review
Overall rating from 99 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

A lightweight, mineral rich finishing mist that refreshes the skin and finishes makeup. Helps create an even surface for a smooth makeup application Same Fix + formula with updated packaging. Hold the bottle 12 inches away from face and spray evening onto freshly washed skin to hydrate before applying moisturizer. Mist on top of foundation to finish makeup and add a glow. Mist onto skin throughout the day for an instant boost of hydration and to refresh makeup.

Pack Size 100ml

Availability: Select Department Stores, Farmers and M.A.C Britomart, M.A.C Riccarton, M.A.C St Lukes, M.A.C Ponsonby, M.A.C Botany. Online at farmers.co.nz and smithandcaugheys.co.nz

Website: www.maccosmetics.co.nz

RRP: $42.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MAC Prep + Prime Fix + Review

MAC Prep + Prime Fix + Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Mac is just amazing

I got this as a gift last Christmas and I'm usually not a fan of priming spray because I feel like it makes my face a bit heavy when I put on a lot of makeup but I got the chance to try one when I got it as a gift. I didn't know what the primer would do until I tried it. What it does is it makes the makeup more blend-able and the makeup just looks radiant and fresh. I love that it makes the makeup stays in place while having the dewy effect. I also use it as setting spray and it's just amazing!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st November, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Ultimate setting spray

This is a regular repurchase for me, a must have. Have tried so many setting sprays but this is the best. Packaging looks ordinary but it is the best product as it locks in makeup all day and gives a light dewy glowy finish.

Tips: I have used as a primer or to freshen the face before foundation application but I prefer to use to set my makeup look. Love the feeling of knowing makeup still looks fresh at end of an 8 hour work day.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
10th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Still on the fence

This Mac product is still a big HMMM for me. Very much on the fence. I had heard so many people raving about it that I just had to try it. I got the little 30ml bottle to try out and maybe it wasn’t enough to get a real good go with it. Did my make up stay long? Yes but not a hell of a lot that I feel I need to really go out running to get the product again. It does feel nice and refreshing going onto the face, the bottle is simple which I like as you can see how much is left! I really don’t know if I should buy another bottle and give it more of a go or just not worry! I really wanted to love this product since the reviews are amazing.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Feeling fresh

I absolutely love fix+. A friend used it on me, and I loved how it soaked up the excess powder. I purchased my own bottle and am now onto my second bottle. I use it after moisturiser to prime. It helps my foundation stick and soak into the skin (not the pores, don't worry!). It prevents makeup from sitting on the skin and looking heavy. I also use it over top of my makeup, to soak up excess powder. I don't use cream contour or highlight, so after using foundation, powder, blush, bronzer, contour, and highlighter a lot of powders can be sitting on the face. This takes away that cakey look, and brings back the dew. I also spray some during the day, if I feel like being refreshed. As Mac has brought out new scent's I think that would be nice to refresh the skin throughout the day. However, the original scent does not smell bad to me - I know of a few people who don't particularly enjoy the scent. To me it has a natural type of scent, a slight cucumber fragrance. I don't notice whether it makes my makeup last longer, however I was happy with the lasting power of my foundation and powder before purchasing this, I purely brought it for the reasons mentioned above.

Tips: If you are wanting to test the lasting powder, try spraying half of your face at the start of the day. Then compare the two sides at the end of the day. :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Good for a refresher

Love this mist as a refresh, or a base. I found it didn’t set my makeup, but just settled powders. I prefer using this prior to applying my makeup as I find it “sticks” better. Great for intensifying your eyeshadow or highlights

Tips: Make sure you spray from a distance!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Stay all day!

I originally got this years ago and have restocked many times since. It is the go to setting spray for when I have an event, want my makeup to last all day or just for a freshen up! It is a superfine mist, it doesn't take forever to dry once applied and does a great job of soaking up excess powder. It leaves my face with a dewey, natural look which I quite like, but if you like you can always go in with a light dusting of transluscent/blotting powder to have a matte finish after setting. It holds well and the only time I have trouble is summertime when I have liquid foundation on (pretty sure most do!) Love this and although I have found a few cheaper options for daily wear I still run back to this for longevity I can trust!

Tips: Apply your highlighter after it has dried to avoid it looking patchy! I also use this to wet my brush when applying shimmer shadows. Keep your distance when spraying to get an even spray!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Dry Girls Best Friend

There’s a reason MAC Fix+ is a staple item on many personal collections and professional kits! Currently priced at $45 for 100ml or $24 for 30ml Fix+ is a very hydrating spray.

Because I have such dry skin I do find Fix+ prolongs how long my makeup stays on my skin, keeps me looking fresh and reduces any powder that may otherwise look cakey.

It comes in 4 different scents as well as 3 finishes. -Hydrating Finish -Original Scent -Coconut Scent -Lavendar Scent -Rose Scent -Glitter Finish -Gold Glitter -Pink Glitter -Matte Finish

The scents only last as they are being spritz - they do not stick like a perfume. Anyone with oily skin should give the matte variety a go! After a good drenching you will have never seen your face so matte! The glitter finish can be intense - for me it is more appropriate for a night out rather than daily use.

Tips: -Make sure you apply from a full arms length away. -Shake the Matte variety well to prevent and white spots, cover the face completely to get a super matte finish -When applying the glitter variety, avoid and cover dark clothing. The glitter will stick to any dark colour and stand out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
5th May, 2019
1 members found this review useful
On the fence

After hearing so many people rave about this product I picked it up and gave it a go.

First of all I used it as a finishing spray - I am not a fan of using it like this. While it melted my powders and made everything look nice and natural, I found my foundation would slip and slide and smudge - even hours later.

I have used it to wet my makeup brushes in order to intensify eyeshadows - and it works great for this. However, I also find cheaper sprays do this as well...

I did enjoy it as a makeup/face 'refresher'. It brightened the skin, and as long as I had used another makeup fixing spray (Skindinavia) I found my foundation didn't slide.

Would I repurchase? No. Would I use it if someone bought it for me? Yes. Did I dislike it? No. Did I love it? No. I'm well and truly on the fence.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
11th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Good but...

I like this product. It smells nice, it feels refreshing, and it works well with my makeup. But, I've given it the rating that I have for two reasons: 1) The price tag. It's a good spray, but I don't think it performs any better than cheaper alternatives, such as the Mario Badescu facial sprays. 2) The packaging. When it works, it works. But the last two times I've purchased this spray the pump top has eventually broken, with the black top not wanting to stay on the bottle correctly, and it leaking everywhere.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
10th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Great stuff

My sister has this and I’m always sneaking into her makeup kit to use this. It really does enable makeup to last all day and is also good for applying eyeshadow with. I see that they now have a gold one which I’m keen on buying so I don’t have to use my sisters all the time.

Tips: Spray from a far or else you’ll drench your face.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No