Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Glam Pro Lash
Glam Pro Lash

MAC Prep + Prime Fix + Review

MAC Prep + Prime Fix + Review
Overall rating from 95 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

A lightweight, mineral rich finishing mist that refreshes the skin and finishes makeup. Helps create an even surface for a smooth makeup application Same Fix + formula with updated packaging. Hold the bottle 12 inches away from face and spray evening onto freshly washed skin to hydrate before applying moisturizer. Mist on top of foundation to finish makeup and add a glow. Mist onto skin throughout the day for an instant boost of hydration and to refresh makeup.

Pack Size 100ml

Availability: Select Department Stores, Farmers and M.A.C Britomart, M.A.C Riccarton, M.A.C St Lukes, M.A.C Ponsonby, M.A.C Botany. Online at farmers.co.nz and smithandcaugheys.co.nz

Website: www.maccosmetics.co.nz

RRP: $42.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MAC Prep + Prime Fix + Review

MAC Prep + Prime Fix + Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Good for a refresher

Love this mist as a refresh, or a base. I found it didn’t set my makeup, but just settled powders. I prefer using this prior to applying my makeup as I find it “sticks” better. Great for intensifying your eyeshadow or highlights

Tips: Make sure you spray from a distance!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Stay all day!

I originally got this years ago and have restocked many times since. It is the go to setting spray for when I have an event, want my makeup to last all day or just for a freshen up! It is a superfine mist, it doesn't take forever to dry once applied and does a great job of soaking up excess powder. It leaves my face with a dewey, natural look which I quite like, but if you like you can always go in with a light dusting of transluscent/blotting powder to have a matte finish after setting. It holds well and the only time I have trouble is summertime when I have liquid foundation on (pretty sure most do!) Love this and although I have found a few cheaper options for daily wear I still run back to this for longevity I can trust!

Tips: Apply your highlighter after it has dried to avoid it looking patchy! I also use this to wet my brush when applying shimmer shadows. Keep your distance when spraying to get an even spray!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Dry Girls Best Friend

There’s a reason MAC Fix+ is a staple item on many personal collections and professional kits! Currently priced at $45 for 100ml or $24 for 30ml Fix+ is a very hydrating spray.

Because I have such dry skin I do find Fix+ prolongs how long my makeup stays on my skin, keeps me looking fresh and reduces any powder that may otherwise look cakey.

It comes in 4 different scents as well as 3 finishes. -Hydrating Finish -Original Scent -Coconut Scent -Lavendar Scent -Rose Scent -Glitter Finish -Gold Glitter -Pink Glitter -Matte Finish

The scents only last as they are being spritz - they do not stick like a perfume. Anyone with oily skin should give the matte variety a go! After a good drenching you will have never seen your face so matte! The glitter finish can be intense - for me it is more appropriate for a night out rather than daily use.

Tips: -Make sure you apply from a full arms length away. -Shake the Matte variety well to prevent and white spots, cover the face completely to get a super matte finish -When applying the glitter variety, avoid and cover dark clothing. The glitter will stick to any dark colour and stand out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
5th May, 2019
1 members found this review useful
On the fence

After hearing so many people rave about this product I picked it up and gave it a go.

First of all I used it as a finishing spray - I am not a fan of using it like this. While it melted my powders and made everything look nice and natural, I found my foundation would slip and slide and smudge - even hours later.

I have used it to wet my makeup brushes in order to intensify eyeshadows - and it works great for this. However, I also find cheaper sprays do this as well...

I did enjoy it as a makeup/face 'refresher'. It brightened the skin, and as long as I had used another makeup fixing spray (Skindinavia) I found my foundation didn't slide.

Would I repurchase? No. Would I use it if someone bought it for me? Yes. Did I dislike it? No. Did I love it? No. I'm well and truly on the fence.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
11th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Good but...

I like this product. It smells nice, it feels refreshing, and it works well with my makeup. But, I've given it the rating that I have for two reasons: 1) The price tag. It's a good spray, but I don't think it performs any better than cheaper alternatives, such as the Mario Badescu facial sprays. 2) The packaging. When it works, it works. But the last two times I've purchased this spray the pump top has eventually broken, with the black top not wanting to stay on the bottle correctly, and it leaking everywhere.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
10th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Great stuff

My sister has this and I’m always sneaking into her makeup kit to use this. It really does enable makeup to last all day and is also good for applying eyeshadow with. I see that they now have a gold one which I’m keen on buying so I don’t have to use my sisters all the time.

Tips: Spray from a far or else you’ll drench your face.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Prime time

Love this! I have this and the pink fix and am equally obsessed with both.

It was a hard choice but I watched a video about gold fix vs pink and they actually looked very similar so I grabbed pink fix and just the plain fix version.

It needs to be shaken pretty well for a start. But held at a good distance from your face you spritz a fine mist that leave your skin looking pretty wet then it dries quickly to reveal a fine radiance. The pink fix especially creates this glow that looks like you spent a looooong time applying makeup but really just used about 3 sprays to get this radiant looking skin. The pinks bottle needs a lot of shaking as the pigments settle to the bottom of the bottle.

I tend to use my plain fix for use prior to makeup application and pink fix for the finishing spray. It really does set my skin for some prime time makeup use. And finish my skin with a lovely shimmer that isn’t like glitter. With dry skin this is very hydrating and lifting just to stretch my makeup out a little longer so if I’m feeling a little flat in the afternoon I spray and can go about my day.

Tips: Apply before mascara or use waterproof mascara!!!!! Sometimes it caused my mascara to spot so definitely leave my mascara for last.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Perfect

I love this prime fix! Not only is it good for preparing the skin before makeup application and ensuring the makeup sits nice on the skin once applied it is also good for setting the finished makeup in place once a look is complete..absolutely recommend and definitely continue using it!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Wow

This setting spray is so good that I keep and extra in my bag when I’m out on a night so if it’s a really hot day and you scared of you makeup melting have a spray it’s will save your life.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
13th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Mac Fix+ For All Hype it Doesn't Fix or Set Makeup

I really wanted this because it seemed almost every makeup artist had this and had heard of it. It seemed to make everyone's shimmery eyeshadows more shiny and reflective, give them that glowy face and make their makeup last for longer. Granted other than one other setting spray, I had never tried a setting spray. Buying into the hype and with the motivational GWP special going on I bought a couple bottles. Why not? It was going to make my shimmery eyeshadows look like molten metal, make my cheeks glow and makeup last for ages. Well it only delivered partially on that. It if you spray your brush with water or toner anything wet really, your eyeshadow will stick better to the bristles and you'll get more pigment payoff. Mac Fix + works but so does any non-exfoliating spray toner or facial mist or just water in a spray bottle. I spritzed this on my face after doing my makeup and it took away that powdery look but many times I looked like I had just briefly been caught in the rain. My makeup also didn't last longer as a result of using this, I got the same wear time. Now I've found that you need to shake the bottle and really hold it quite far away to get a finer mist so it's probably some user error on my part but really for the hype this bottle of mostly water gets I thought the sprayer should give a finer mist. I do like that you can turn the nozzle and lock it so you can pack it without it spraying in your bag. And I like it doesn't have alcohol in it like a lot of other setting sprays. Like I said I don't have a lot of experience with setting sprays but I thought they were supposed to increase the longevity of your makeup and I don't think Mac Fix + does that for me. So I think I'll look at some other setting sprays first before I consider repurchasing this, I have a backup bottle to use up anyways to really think if it's worth repurchasing.

Tips: Shake the bottle really well and mist it from a distance. I tend to mist the air and then stick my face in it so I get the finer smaller mist on my face. It does really work to foil your eyeshadows but so does water in a spray bottle so keep that in mind.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No