Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

VS Sassoon Steam Straight Brilliance

VS Sassoon Steam Straight Brilliance
Overall rating from 20 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.9/5

Discover the power of conditioning steam technology with 3x more steam* for long-lasting, poker straight hair that glows with shine & vitality. Conditioning steam mist infuses hair with moisture while transforming all hair types, textures & conditions; from fine, damaged & colour-treated to even the hardest-to-style thick, coarse & afro-textured for straight-in-one-pass results proven to last up to 24 hours^.

Tames difficult to straighten hair types for hair that feels softer, more polished & satiny to the touch - as agreed by 96.8% of women who felt their hair was softer, more hydrated & less frizzy^ after using the Steam Straight Brilliance.

 

• STEAM YOUR WAY - Leave the base station at home & take the power of steam wherever you go - choose to refill the straightener reservoir directly; or use with the base station for effortless gravity refill.

• NO FUSS WATER REFILL - Base station reservoir automatically refills the straightener in seconds

• PERFECTLY SEEK - Smooth glide titanium cushion plates provide maximum temperature stability for poker straight-in-one-pass results proven to last up to 24 hours^.

• FASTER STRAIGHTENING - Max wide straightening plates for styling larger hair sections.

• CONTROLLED STYLING - 5 heat settings up to 220°C for personalised temperature control to suit your hair type, texture & condition, while the integrated sensors ensure styling without excessive heat for enhanced hair protection.

• UNIFORM RESULTS - Removable detangling comb for complete 3D straightening, sections & detangles as you style.

Website www.vssassoon.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

VS Sassoon Steam Straight Brilliance

VS Sassoon Steam Straight Brilliance

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th November, 2021
1 members found this review useful
VS SASS SMOOTH & SILKY

I had never used a Steam Straightener before so giving this one a go was definitely a different experience for me. My hair is naturally Wavy/Curly and quiet thick it can also tend to be very dull, and lacking that finesse touch, so having a great straightener has always been a must have for me especially as a ON THE GO MUM, needing that little bit of a boost occasionally to making me feel a bit glamourous very quickly.

My favourite quality about this straightener is it's Versatility. I did find it to be quiet straight forward and easy to use for a beginner, just plug in, attach to the water tank vessel (Making sure the tank is filled with water), place the straightener on to the holder and give it time to allow the steam to come through and away you go. Just making sure each time placing it back on to the stand to then refuel and be ready to re use again, simple!.

There is also that function you do not need to use the steam function and can use the standard straightening technique if need be and also has a detachable tank that you can you can fill instead of using the water stand, which I personally found to be handy for when I'm running late on doing errands.

The straightener has a adjustable comb that you can slide on or off depending on how it suits.I did find it to be more or a hassle for my hair style so I left the comb off.

Temperatures can range between 5 different heat settings, highest reaching up to 220 degrees which is perfect for me as I do like the higher heat setting option and find that it makes my hair much more silky smooth and giving it a healthier glow.

I love its very sleek and modern design, the wider iron plates suit my hair style and makes it much more faster to straighten, the colours are beautiful and very elegant,

I really think this straightener is Amazing and is definitely worth the investment as it's worked wonders on my hair providing a very sleek, smooth and silky finish to my hair including the use of steam which makes it very hydrating and provides much more health benefits compared to the standard straightening iron tools.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Mimi-Sheen
22nd November, 2021

Does it weigh down the hair?

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th November, 2021
0 members found this review useful
VS SASSOON STEAM STRAIGHT BRILLIANCE

My hair is an awkward in between of wavy, but not wavy enough to look cute, so I either style it by straightening it or curling it myself. I have fine hair, but there is a lot of it, so I needed a straightener that made styling less of a process. This straightener did exactly that. For starters, the straightener itself honestly feels very luxury. It’s solid, a beautiful matte black, and you can tell from the feel alone that it’s great quality. The base station works great to refill the straightener, simply push the straightener into place and it fills automatically. I like that you have the option to use either steam or not, so you can take the straightener with you and not have to worry about carrying around the base as well. You can also refill the straightener manually so you still have the option to use steam without the base. The straightener does come with a detachable little comb that intends to detangle your hair while you’re running the straightener through, but even with my fine hair I found that this would catch and not actually detangle, so I removed it and prefer it much more that way. It heats up super quickly and also has an auto-shut off time of 30 mins which is SO important to me as I’m as forgetful as they come.. I initially started off by sectioning my hair into small pieces and running a brush through each section before straightening, but I quickly found this wasn’t even necessary. I can brush my hair before I start, and then literally just run the straightener over my hair a few times and get a flawless result. Honestly, I was so impressed, and even more excited because I am too lazy in the mornings to section everything perfectly. I took my hair out of a braid this morning, so it was very wavy, brushed it through and spent less than 5 minutes straightening my hair and it was absolutely perfect. I didn’t find much difference in result between using steam vs no steam, both result in lovely straight hair and I didn’t have a preference. But, I imagine if you have particularly dry hair then the steam function would be a great option. Honestly, I can’t fault this straightener. It does such a fantastic job even with the most minimal effort, it’s beautiful, great quality and has adjustable heat settings. It’s everything I could want in a straightener, and it easily rivals similar popular brands in performance and quality. Obsessed!

Tips: Remove the detangling attachment for a smoother run through.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Lisa-Lou
18th November, 2021

I'm having trouble removing the comb....how did you do it? Lol

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th November, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Steam Dream!

I've really enjoyed this trial team - I feel very blessed to have been chosen.

These amazing straighteners come beautifully boxed, they're a joy to unwrap!

I forced myself to wait until the next day after receiving them, to use them so my hair would be freshly washed. I have very thick, quite course hair, that I have styled in a rounded under bob. If I don't straighten it I end up with hair flicking out left, right and centre.

I found these very wide to hold, and the lock was pretty fiddly to use, although to be honest I don't think its an essential feature. The buttons are in a very strange place too, on the inside of the unit - i had to use the opposite hand to the one holding the straighteners. But the buttons are easy to tell apart and intuitive to use.

I used the filling station, but it's convenient for travel that you could pre-fill if you needed to take your straighteners with you.

These took about 3 uses to feel a degree of ease in styling, but once we'd gotten used to each other, we were a steam dream team. My hair felt softer and silkier as it was straightened, who knew that was possible! I was able to round it under easily and I only had to make one pass per section.

I LOVE how long the straightness lasts, I ended up only straightening it after washing it, every 4 days, instead of straightening daily. This meant my hair felt nicer and less greasier as I wasn't handling it as much.

I am genuinely wowed at the results of the Steam Straight Brilliance, and yes, they are definitely on the pricey side, but if within someone's budget, I would 100% recommend!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Kellyleanne
2nd December, 2021

This sounds SO good!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th November, 2021
0 members found this review useful
A slow burner...

I was so excited to be chosen for this trial team - I was intrigued by the idea of stream straighteners. I have very long and very, very thick hair which doesn't stay straight for longer than 24 hours after being straightened with my usual straighteners.

My first impressions were that the VS Sassoon Steam Straight Brilliance were beautifully packaged, with lots of information to read through.

I opted to fill from the station rather than the on-unit reservoir. That seemed much more fiddly and who has the time when they want to crack into a new toy?!

The straighteners felt much more clumsy when I was using them, I love the wide plates but the whole appliance feels somewhat heavy and clunky. You do get used to it though!

I only had to run over each section once, and I was able to straightener much thicker/wider sections than I usually would.

The steam function didn't steam like I thought it would (I was picturing a steam iron, which thinking about it would be a bit gnarly around the face!) but it did feel / sound different than the steam function being off.

There's a good choice of temperatures, I went for my usual 220 deg and felt it the right choice for my hair.

I will admit that after use I was, not underwhelmed as such, just not wowed. My hair was straight, but no straighter than it usually would be. And then I woke up the next day and realized just how amazing this product is.

I plait my hair before bed into pigtails - when I woke up the day after using this my hair was still straight. Like actually straight, not a hint of a wave. This was the case on day 2 and day 3. On day 4 my hair began to wave after sleeping in plaits.

So in a nutshell, 1 faster-than-usual straightener session gave 3 days of poker straight hair! It's actually an amazing time saver and my hair feels incredible - soft, smooth and so, so shiny!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th November, 2021
2 members found this review useful
VS Sassoon Steam Straight Brilliance

Thank you Beauty Review and VS Sassoon for affording me the opportunity to test this new straightener. What an amazing product!!!! I am absolutely in love with it.

Lovely black and gold design. The tank holds ample water and has suction caps to adhere to the surface so it doesnt move around. The transfer system for water is innovative, effective and easy to use. The reservoir holds quite a bit of water and goes a long way before you need to refill again.

With my usual straightener it takes me 30 to 45 minutes to fully straighten my thick, unruly hair. With this product, 15 minutes and all sorted.

I was worried that the steam/dampness will cause frizz but not the case at all. Love the fact that my hair is shiny afterwards and softer than ever before. My hair stays straight until my next wash which is also an added bonus.

I got compliments everywhere I go and I will be recommending this product to everyone I know. Worth every cent!!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th November, 2021
0 members found this review useful
It was like a friendship that turned into love

I was intrigued with the concept of a steam straightener, straightening my hair for me is like going to the dentist - painful! It takes me so long and then a day later you've got to start all over again - so would this device take the pain away? I set out to find out.

The product is beautifully packaged with clear instructions. It has a water tank that the device rests on that mysteriously sucks the water up, but there is also a small pipette that comes with it that you can top up the water with if you take it travelling with you. The cord is really long which is good. They are quite heavy compared to my Cloud 9's and the plates are probably twice as wide.

To be fair I wasn't really a fan the first time I used it, I found it a bit clunky to use and a bit heavy, but then...I noticed that 2 days later my hair was still....straight! Even after being windswept and slept on. In hindsight there's nothing wrong with the device, it was just me getting used to using something different and getting the hang of it.

After using it for two weeks, I love it! My hair stays straight for far longer, and the wider plates mean that the process itself takes far less time - BIG tick from me.

Look it's not cheap, then again most great straighteners aren't but how often do you buy them versus the use you get? If I were you I'd be making this straightener your next hair care tool - you won't regret it.

Tips: Keep and eye out for it being on special and leap in and buy it

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
16th November, 2021
0 members found this review useful
VS Sassoon Steam Straight Brilliance

Wow first off I’m really blessed to be able to be part of the trial so thank you!!

The packaging was really cool , sleek and easy to open , very easy to put together. Great colouring! Who doesn’t love black and copper?!

While you plug in your straightener , fill up your stand alone water reservoir either by the pipette or use the tap to fill it up , you just pop open the plastic bung fill and the steady the water reservoir on your vanity .

Make sure you pop in the mini water reservoir onto the steam straightener and then lock your steam straightener closed and it’s really easy , push down your steam straightener into the slot on the water reservoir. This fills up the water for the steam.

The very first time I used the steam straightener I put the temperature on the lowest setting which was 140. It was OK kinda straightened my hair. One pass definitely didn’t straighten but did smooth .

I have thick , frizzy, very unruly wavy and curly hair . It’s a nightmare!

Second time I tried 170 and on some sections it was definitely looking straighter . Still not poker straight like I was hoping to achieve.

Third time I tried 180 very thin and freshly brushed sections , half my head was looking a lot straighter however my most frizzy parts only looked smoothed over not straightened.

I highly recommend going very , very slow . I also tried rounding off the ends to see if that smoothed them down more but sadly no.

The steam straightener is very bulky , I did find it harder with carpal tunnel. The wife plates are awesome!! I do love the copper and black look. The buttons are easy to push , love that there is lots of temperatures to choose from and the steam straightener heats up super fast!

I found I had to top up my water reservoir twice on the steam straightener while straightening so be mindful of the steam running out .

I really think this would be perfect for someone with thin but frizzy hair .

Tips: Go slow , use thin sections and really take your time.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th November, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Straight Up Amazing

I've used cheap straighteners that had no business existing. I have used GHDs. I have used more department brand straighteners that have been as good as GHDs... this offering from VS Sassoon blows them all away.

First of all... the packaging is super luxurious. Sturdy, attractive, in line with the straighteners, which are also sturdy (heavier than my usuals) and really luxe with black and rose gold touches. Inside the packaging is the heat glove (which is fine, but I did without it well enough), a dropper to fill the water station in the straightener if you didn't want to use the automatic filler, and instructions. The instructions are super comprehensive, which was great, as this technology needed them.

First of all - you have a standing water station. It has suckers on the bottom so that it's safe to use. You fill it with water then set the straighteners onto it to get the water into the straighteners. At first I was worried I'd done it wrong, but the moment I used the straighteners (at 180 degrees, with the steam button on) the clicking the instructions said would happen, happened and steam came whooshing out. I was on my way.

I can unequivocally say these are the fastest straighteners ever. I can get my wavy hair poker straight in five minutes. The plates are larger, which I found handy for speed, and they glide through the hair... once you take the comb off. Which I did after one go. I did not care for the comb as it tugged at my already brushed hair. Using the straighteners sans steam was also good, but not as good. The steam left my hair straighter, shinier, smoother, less split-ends looking, and 24 hours later it was still straight. I only needed to refill the straightener once per use. (I used the dropper once, but wouldn't bother with it unless I was travelling).

I can't recommend these highly enough. There's no way I'd ever go back to my old straighteners, and if anyone asked for a recommendation, these would be my go to.

Tips: Read the instructions first in order to get the most out of the machine - and to not freak out when it starts making clicking noises.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th November, 2021
1 members found this review useful
Fantastic Steam Straightener

I received this straightener in a nice black and rose gold box, the straightener itself is black with luxurious rose gold titanium plates and rose gold metal near the swivel cord base. It is heavier and wider than my last VS straightener. The wider base plates make it easier to treat larger widths of hair. It comes with a refillable clear base station which is easy to fill. There are five heat settings from 140 to 220. I used the 160 setting. I used it with the detangling comb attached, but it can be removed by sliding it off. After filling the base station with water, I placed the straightener into the slot and it filled its tank with water. A heat protective glove was provided, I would have liked a heat resistant pad included to place the straightener on. I divided my hair into sections, turned it on, selected the temperature and pressed the steam button. These buttons are all in a row just inside the handle, on/off, steam and temperature control button. Heated up very quickly and efficiently straightened my hair, took about 10 minutes. The heavier weight takes a bit of getting used to, but it was fine. My hair was glossier, not as frizzy as usual. Using steam is gentler on your hair as well. It can be used without steam also. Can be used to curl hair as well. My hair still felt smooth the next day. I would highly recommend this straightener if you want a high end reliable product.

Tips: There is a detachable water tank on the side of the straightener which you can fill with the pipette provided, if you don't want to take the base station with you when travelling.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th November, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Straight to the point

Very excited to try these. So much so that I tried them on my daughters rogue hair first so I could see how good they really were from the back. It was nice being able to see the action unfold right in front of my eyes as if I usually straighten my hair its hard to do as well as see how well I have done at the back.

Being on one income, I have a cheap pair that has personally been seeing me through after the death of my good straighteners. If I ever wanted to do a good job I usually have to call in my mums.. but now I no longer have to. I have a good pair - and they are so pretty.

I think my favourite feature is the water reservoir stand that acts as a holder... this is hands down is one of my favourite features especially with kids around. I can set it on the stand in the bathroom or bedroom and know its not going to flop around, fall or move where my kids can touch it.

The heat is great its not burning hot and doesn't torch my hair to a crisp.. which might be because of the way it heats.. I feel like its steaming hair into place with a better heat - more like how a blow-out works, rather than baking the hair into place like my old straighteners.. I also don't get that burning hot smell and feel like the hair is too hot. So I think this is also why the look achieved is also more a glossy, soft, straight look than a clumpy, dry, straight look.. this achieves a very glossy mane.

Depending on the hair I left the comb attachment on or off.. so mine is wavy and fine and I left the comb on no issues. My daughters hair is curly, long and thick and I took the attachment off and used a normal comb as its quite thick to get through initially and then at the end I added it back on.

It also seems a lot less frizzy so I think the moisture might make it less static or something?? Somehow it holds the hair down much better - my current ones straighten but I have this halo of fly-aways that always need hairspray or a smoothing oil to weigh them down with this its very much smoother and glossier from the get go so I have had less fly away issues.

My fine hair also used a lower setting than my daughters thicker hair which is nice to have that control over... mine is still quite quick to straighten even at the lower setting which is nice to have that option so i'm not frying my hair as damaged enough from colouring etc.

Definitely a favourite new hair friend.

Thank you BR for the opportunity xx

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Reviewers Needed for the Garnier Perfecting Care BB Cream!

It's BB Week here at Beauty Review!

We'll be putting the new Perfecting Care range from Garnier to the test - which means we'll be sending it out to members just like you! FOR FREE!

Whether you want a BB Cream with high SPF or one designed to keep oily skin matte...we've got you covered!

Check out the Trial Teams by clicking below!

Put Your Hand Up Here!