Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun Xmas
Braun Xmas

Glam By Manicare Magnetising Eyeliner & Lash System Review

Glam By Manicare Magnetising Eyeliner & Lash System Review
Overall rating from 34 reviews so far:
3.6/5
Would use it again?
3.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.6/5

Glam by Manicare® uses a revolutionary eyeliner technology containing invisible magnetising particles to take lash application to a professional level. Create a sleek eye look using the precise, long-lasting and smudge proof Glam By Manicare® Magnetising Eyeliner and click magnetic lashes in place on top of eyeliner for a seamless finish. Easy to apply, remove and transition from day to night lash styles in seconds.

 Availability Farmers and Selected Pharmacies

Website www.manicare.co.nz


RRP: $65.98

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Glam By Manicare Magnetising Eyeliner & Lash System Review

Glam By Manicare Magnetising Eyeliner & Lash System Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Game changer

I was super curious to try these, and so grabbing them in a vault was an amazing opportunity to do so.

I had an 'Egyptian Princess' look going on for the work Xmas party I needed these for, but due to the scheduling for the day i wound up with about ten mins to get ready in, so having these handy was a god send!

The liner is super super easy to apply, and even by itself is a great dark liquid. In the light you can see the flecks of the magnetic chips, but you can't feel them and they aren't irritating or scratchy.

I have the Khloe lashes, which are reasonably full (but I think I could go bigger!) and were the right length for me without trimming, which was handy.

You apply the liner, let it dry for a moment, and then push the lases onto it - I found I needed to place them then nudge them a little further down towards the lash line, but they adhered well and stayed put almost all night ( popped a corner once or twice, but it was a crazy party).

Removal is as simple as grasping one corner and giving it a gentle tug - no pain, no residue, no glue to clean. You just wash your face as normal and you're away.

I'll definitely keep using these!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
14th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Recommend For Beginner Lash Wearers

I got these both through the recent vault. I really liked the idea of this as lashes is something I struggle with. As a set, they look really nice. I like the packaging, could be interpreted as plain to others but I think the black with silver writing looks sleek. I have detailed pros and cons of each individual product in their separate reviews.

As a set, it still took me 15 minutes to get these on the first time. I put this down to my inexperience and this being a new product however I thought it would have been faster. Subsequently the couple of other times I have used this it hasn't been much faster. The magnets can be quite fiddly. I seem to be able to get the center magnets to click without trouble it's just the inner and outer magnets that give me hassle. I think this may be down to not having a thicker line of the liner in both these areas. I also forget to shake the liner well as per instructions, this may also have something to do with it.

I've worn these a few times now and one thing is very clear. I only seem able to get about 5 hours wear out of these before the magnets start lifting and I need to go in with the liner again to reattach the lash.

I do like this lash system but think there is room for improvement in terms of the magnet design on the lashes and making the wear time last longer. I myself will probably just wear these for events or when I feel like making extra effort. These are easier for me to apply then the traditional glue and lash. Think this system would be great for beginner lash wearers.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
28th September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Don’t get it...

I was excited to be able to get these products in the BR Vault. I haven’t had a liquid eyeliner in a while as it isn’t my everyday look so then end up going off. Also I haven’t been a big user of fake lashes so the whole idea just really excited me.

The packaging is pretty boring. The liquid eyeliner is pretty standard with a black bottom half and a silver lid. I do like that it is wide enough to stand upright which means that the brush won’t go dry when you use the product a lot. The fake eyelashes are in the standard plastic packaging (is there any company that has less single use plastic for this type of product?). I found that the sticky bits to keep the lashes on the plastic were quite strong and actually ended up moving the lashes around a lot when you try take them off. But I understand the need to be sticky to put the lashes back in there for multiple uses. Also - weird point - I’m not a usual lash user but is there a reason they have a left and right one? Why couldn’t I just use them on either eye? Even after using them - is it in case you have different sized eyes after trimming?

The eyeliner itself- so the product itself seems quite nice. A floppy brush, easy to use. Has a fine brush tip so nice to get right into the inner corner. Very very black which is nice. I like the glossy black look that it gives. I found it took a week while to dry down which might be because of the magnetising factors in it.

The lashes themselves - I received the natural 64. Willow lashes which is great because that is the look I would probably go after. I really like the lashes themselves, it is a very pretty natural wispy look. Now the first step is to try on the lashes to check the fit and trim if needed without cutting off the magnets. BUT the magnets are at the very outer edge of the lashes so how are you supposed to trim them without cutting the magnets off? I don’t get it. Luckily they JUST fit my eyes. To be fair I could probably do with trimming them a wee bit to get the perfect fit - but I don’t understand how you could know your eyes were too small for them before purchasing. They click on really easily however I did find that you couldn’t take them off without the eyeliner being damaged - but that isn’t a big deal. Also I find them really big in the middle part of the eye so it looks a bit strange to have long lashes near my nose. I don’t find them particularly strongly attached as the middle ones keep coming undone.

Overall this is fun to try but just doesn’t work for me. I don’t get the need to have the same look every time. That you need to use thick liquid eyeliner to use the lashes... why would you want a single look product like that. Don’t get it, won’t be keeping it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Glam by Manicare magnetising eyeliner & lash systm

This is amazing! It took a bit to get used to but well worth the practice compared to glue on lashes. Once you perfect the application technique it becomes a breeze to put them on, only thing I can say about them is I wish they were more dramatic.

Tips: Practice practice and practice, well worth it once you get good at application these are awesome and are now part of my daily routine

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
17th September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Mehhh

I wanted to love this so badly, and part of me still holds hope that I will work out how to use these properly but I just find them way too fiddly to be completely honest.

Pros: the liner is a very nice formula that glides on really easily, and it is super opaque. The brush head on the liner is really nice to work with and gives a super precise line or even wing if that's your jam. It wears really well and I found it was also pretty easy to remove. The lashes themselves are very pretty ( I was gifted the Khloe pair) they give a nice amount of volume without heaviness on the lids.

Cons: I found I needed a fair amount of liner on my lids in order for the lashes to adhere which works for a night out but its a bit much esp for days when I wanted my lashes to look a little more "natural" When I stuck the lashes on they initially stuck on really securely for maybe 5 minutes then they wiggled their way loose. I tried soooooo many times and on different occasions with no success and on the last attempt actually lost one of the magnets off the lashes. I don't know how you are supposed to trim these lashes as the magnets are right at the edge so there is no overhang to trim off, and they are quite a long lash so they wouldn't fit everyone eyes so short of chopping them in half I'm not sure how to get around this.

Overall I have mixed thoughts on this system, I like the lashes and I like the liner but just not together. The lashes are pretty but I need to stick them on with glue not the liner, and the liner is beautiful but I don't find the "stick" magnetic factor strong enough for the lashes so I'm a bit torn on this one. Sorry team glamlash but the magnetic system is just not for me.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Lush Lashes

I received and tried the Khloe Lashes, which is the intense lash look. I was super excited to try these, as I have short straight lashes. I am not big into false lashes, because of the time it takes to apply. While I am. It a pro at applying glue based lashes, I could do these with a bit of patience and time. I was hoping these Magnetic lashes would be a game changer.

The packaging is simple and sleek, and well packaged. Upon opening the Khloe Lashes, they look of great quality and nice and luscious. They have 3 small magnets across the lash, on either corner and the middle. The liner has a nice small brush, for easy application.

Upon applying the liner, I found it quite liquify, and would run, I had an incident where it got in my eyes, and that wasn’t very pleasant. Bonus is the liner is easy to wipe off with water and a cotton tip. Once I managed to apply the liner, I gave placing the lashes on it a go. I found it took me a few days of attempting to even get a half decent application. The magnets stick well enough to the liner, but were easily lifted if needed to place again. I personally found the 3 magnets didn’t give me a good enough application, as I felt like there needed to be 2 more so you get a better curve, and they poly to the liner/eye lid much more snug. (The kind of fit you get when you use glue based lashes, because glue has been applied around the whole lash edge). When I did manage to get the lashes on (which did take 4 days of trying before I did my normal makeup routine), they did look amazing, nice and full. I did use my eyelash curler to try clamp my natural lashes to the falsies, and then put my normal mascara on my natural lashes. However even when doing so, I just didn’t like the feel and fit of the lashes. I could feel them and see them which bothered me. I know a better application would’ve made a difference, but I really found it a bit difficult to get a really good application. Maybe more practice is needed.

All in all, the lashes looked amazing once I got them on. I probably wouldn’t go out and buy more, unless they bring out ones with extra magnets on them. I also wouldn’t say they are easy to apply. So definitely not for someone who hasn’t applied glue based false lashes before. Practice makes perfect!

Tips: Use a eyelash curler to clamp your natural lashes to your fake ones for a more seamless application.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
trudijoy
9th December, 2019

oh great tip re the curler! didn't think of that!

Overall rating:
1.0/5
17th September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Very disappointing, didn't work at all

I was so excited to try these magnetising lashes. The concept was unique and as I don't wear fake lashes regularly, it seemed like an easy way to glam up a look with little effort.

However, this was a huge let down.

The packaging was the first problem. The lashes were stuck down with these small sticky dots. When I pulled the lashes off, it left sticky residue on the lashes, which just smeared around when I tried to rub them off. They're still slightly sticky, which means dust sticks to them.

The eyeliner was fine - I applied as per normal. The eyeliner brush was super thin and the consistency was dark, so no apparent issues there.

The instructions said to let it dry for 60 seconds, but I could still feel that the eyeliner was tacky, so I left it on for a few more minutes. Upon application, the lashes stuck well, but the outer edges lifted up!

I tried again with thicker eyeliner to help the edges, and left the eyeliner to dry while I repotted a plant outside in the sun. When I tried again, the end of the lashes still lifted up, and when I pulled the lashes off, the magnets pulled off the eyeliner too.

For the purposes of magnetic lashes, it would've been great to be able to reapply during the day or if they had shifted. If I wore them out, it was likely I would have to take them off during the day and walk around with patchy eyeliner.

The magnets on the end of the lashes are also at an angle so when I apply them, the lashes point slightly downwards. Looking straight at my face, the lashes don't make any difference. I feel like this, along with the sticky dots, was a huge oversight.

Tips: Just stick with normal fake lashes - at least they won't leave your eyeliner patchy when you have to remove them during the day

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
16th September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Great potential

I’m on the fence! Great concept but I feel it needs a little adjusting.

Packaging: simple packaging, not overly glamorous but functional and that’s the main thing.

Liner: good pigment, plenty of product. I tested It on my hand before properly testing the product and found the liner bled a lot into my fine lines so I made sure to use a good eyeshadow base before applying. The consistency is a little runny so if you aren’t overly confident applying liquid liner I would steer clear, the tip could to with being a little stronger too for ease of application. I read a couple of tips and tricks on this product before applying so made sure I shook the bottle well first and applied a thick liner to ensure the lashes stuck to it. If you aren’t into a thick liner this probably isn’t the product for you.

Lashes: nice lashes, not too over the top which I like. Labelled left and right which is fantastic. The lashes fit my eye perfectly, if you did have to trim them you could run into problems due to the magnets. Application was reasonably easy (as far as falsies go) I did find it difficult to blend the lashes in with my natural lash line even with a coat of mascara.

All in all, love that there is no messy lash glue to deal with, they lasted really well. I wore them all evening to test their longevity. I also jumped up and down a bit to test how well they stuck and they were good.

I feel if they adapted the liner formulation a bit they would be on to a winner. Even better, a felt tip liner would be awesome.

Not sure I’d purchase these as they are quite expensive. Not sure the extra money is worth it to save on the inconvenience of using glue.

Probably not a product for beginners due to the liner but if you rock a thick liner this could be for you.

Tips: Shake well before use, apply a thick band of liner to ensure the lashes adhere.

Take care with liner as it is a little watery.

Use an oil cleanser to remove liner as it is rather stubborn

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
1st September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Magnetic Lashes!

I thought magnetic lashes would clamp your eyelashes between two lash sets. The idea of lashes sticking to eyeliner?! Are we in the Year 3000?!

So I received the natural style of lashes, they were the right size for my lids, and once applied, I wouldn't say they looked natural, but they definitely gave me a subtle glamour vibe.

The eyeliner is a pretty typical liquid liner, with magnetic particles in it, that you can't see. I shook it well before use.

I actually find these really easy to apply, and removing them was just as easy. I don't think I'll be using glue again.

Come on magnetic false nails next!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Tricky until you get it - then...EASY!

So I was intrigued. And before you see the 5/5 and think 'she liked them', let me tell you...it wasn't always this way! I'm marking these so highly after a few practise attempts. After attempt number 1, I was ready to go full mean-reviewer on them.

The eyeliner is actually a really nice eyeliner - it applies evenly. If you can already apply liquid eyeliner, it's no different. If you can't apply eyeliner, then yeah, there's going to be a learning curb with these lashes.

You need quite a thick line, which isn't my usual style, but the lashes click on top and hide most of it, so you don't look like an eyeliner meme with super-thick wings.

The lashes took a few attempts to line up, but once on - they did indeed stay on! They didnt feel overly heavy and the natural style I reviewed were just lovely.

I think the fact you can reuse the lashes, and that the eyeliner will last a while makes these an economical investment. And the end result is really pleasing.

Best of all. NO GLUE!

Tips: Use a light coat of mascara once you've applied the lashes to blend them more with your own.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.