Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer Review

Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer Review
Overall rating from 20 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Create the perfect canvas for shadow application with this ultra-luxurious lid primer. Just like our best-selling, award-winning face primer, this formula glides on and instantly helps smooth and perfect lids. Wear it alone for a flawless natural eye or under any shadow. Soft focus pearls help diminish the appearance of fine lines and discoloration on the lids.

Tips Try dabbing Lid Primer under eyes to banish dark circles and softly highlight.

Website http://www.smashbox.com/

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer Review

Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Good concealer

I like this concealer a lot. It makes my make up look so much better. It easaly covers the dark circles under my eyes amd give me a good look.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Try the white version of this product

I picked up the white version of this primer in a hurry not realising that it was actually white. I was a bit miffed when I put it on to find it was actually all white and chalky and I wasn't sure how it was going to work BUT I absolutely love it and would definitely buy it again.

Firstly it really works....my eyeshadow and liner is locked into place all day. it does not budge especially the liner! And then the white makes the colour you apply really pop and appear much brighter. I wear quite a bit of blue eyeliner and it works really well with that.

Tips: You need to let the product dry first which takes a few seconds. With the white version, be careful not to cake it all over your eyelashes as you have to mascara over those and that can clog it a bit. Blend it too a bit so there are no hard white edges sticking out from under your shadow.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
15th May, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Big fail for me

I did not love this product. It was really hit or miss for me. Sometimes it would hold shadow well. But on my oily clients it would crease really badly. So really depends on your skin type! If you are more dry skinned you might love this! I don’t think that with it not being very versatile it’s a good choice though when there are others out there that work with all skin types!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
29th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Good but not worth the price

This has a beautiful soft texture and glides on the lid well and preps eye lid well for eyeshadow but it does just as good as concealer and does not seem worth spending $45 on this product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th October, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Flawless finish

Absolutely love this lid primer, I brought a month ago, I had just gotten into using lid primers so couldnt wait to give this one a go. I found it had a nice soft texture and applied smoothly in the cress and lid, leaving a nice light none shiny colour and after applying my eyeshadow it really helped to define my eyes and make that small difference in making them look great and feel great

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
16th July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer

I got the Smashbox photo finish lid primer in a little smashbox sample kit, it was only a mini but i got to use it around fifteen times. I am a big fan of lid primers as if i don't wear them my eye shadow will crease and that does not look pretty. It had a doe-foot applicator and was easy enough to brush the product on with out getting to much. The product is the same colour as the packaging, it is very much like a concealer as it gets rid of discoloration on your eyelid. The consistency is thick. I didn't notice a smell. I have now finished this product and overall i think it did an okay job at helping my eye shadow not crease but it defiantly wasn't anything special that i would go out and buy again. I find my elf lid primer just as good if not better. When your going to be paying $45 for high end you would hope for it to be amazing. This has amazing reviews from others so i feel bad for not loving it as much as they did! i probably wouldn't recommend this to a friend.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Makes eyeshadow easier

My first eyeshadow primer, I was ready for the next level in eye makeup and a primer was on the list as I'm sure there had to be an easier way to get the stronger pigment out of an eyeshadow, I'm sure my eyelids just sucked the eyeshadow in. A wee plastic tube with a screw top lid and a wand applicator nothing mind blowing to look at. So poised with a small amount on the wand and eye one shut I stick a little bit of this creamy thick light pale oat coloured primer on and it looks ok at this stage I'm thinking $ argh rip off. Then I apply my eyeshadow and the colours off my shadow are more intense and the go on easily and I don't have to spend forever building the colour up. End of day my eyeshadow is still put, not any extra in my eye crease and the colour is still as intense. This is easily enough to remove with my eye makeup and no drying out of my eye lids. This has a light sheen to it and is soft on my skin, as it's only going on my eyelids wow this is going to last me. And just on its own just adds that nice wee finish on my eyelids sometimes they look a bit pink in the crease (tired eyes) and this hides that. I've used other brands of eyeshadow over this and I get the same effect. I'm sold on this eyelid primer and I never thought of it as a necessity, but to get some depth in my eyeshadow colour and my eyeshadow easier to apply yes it's a good buy for sure and I only casually brought it as I was getting some eyeshadow. If I do make a we mistake it is a bit of a mission to try and take my eyeshadow off and redo without removing the whole lot, so it does really make it stick. It will last and it's definitely worth adding to my makeup routine.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
MAGPIEFI
9th June, 2016

Thanks :) it's so good

Kimrose
9th June, 2016

Great review! I want one

Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
The best lid primer on the market!

IMHO this is straight up THE BEST. I have used some other high end lid primers and not really noticed much of a difference. With the Smashbox, I have fallen asleep with my makeup on (very naughty!) and the next morning my eye makeup still looked as though I had just put it on! Super creamy and easy to apply, not drying or runny like some others, and a little goes a long way.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
19th January, 2015
0 members found this review useful
For when I need definite staying power!

This product is so easy to apply, goes on creamy and smooth and dries nice and quick, so I'm not fluffing around waiting. It's a nice neutral colour so it's not going to change the colour of your eyeshadow. It evens out any colour differences in your eyes, e.g. blue veins, dark spots etc.

It's a small amount of product for such a big price, so I only use it when I need my makeup to last all day and night, and can't touch it up. This product does this for me, I literally don't have to touch it up at all, even after 14 hours. My eyeshadow didn't blend together (meaning, the three colours didn't all become one), slide down my eyes, crease or anything. It looked like I had just applied it. It also makes my colours more vibrant and "clean" looking.

For such a big price for little product, despite the fact I love it, I wouldn't recommend to all people, as I know a lot of people's budgets won't allow. I think this is something that if you can splurge a bit, scrape up the money, it's the first thing you should be thinking of.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
17th November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
An extra step

Smash on photo Finish Lid Primer is an extra step in my beauty regime that I don't always use although I should! It it really works, helping your eye shadow to work much better. It's easy to apply but don't use too much. Wait until it's dry before applying your shadow. I like how it evens everything out and helps your shadow blend better and last longer.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

DOUBLE BEAUTY POINTS!

Do you love Antipodes?

We've updated all of the Antipodes listings - so if you've been waiting to review an Antipodes product, or three, now you can!

And until midnight Saturday 2nd July, you'll earn DOUBLE Beauty Points for every Antipodes review you place!

CLICK HERE TO FIND AN ANTIPODES PRODUCT TO REVIEW!