Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug
LA Girl Setting Spray Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.7/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.1/5

LA Girl Setting Spray Review

Overall rating:
3.4/5

LA Girl Setting Spray Review

To keep that matte finish of freshly applied makeup, mist evenly with PRO Setting Spray after makeup has been applied. The lightweight, non-sticky formula sets makeup for all day wear. The ultra-fine mist is refreshing and dries quickly setting makeup to help you stay beautiful longer. Paraben and fragrance free.

-Lightweight and non-sticky formula
-Helps keep makeup last longer
-Natural matte finish

RRP: $12.99

Availability: Selected pharmacies and online outlets.

Website: www.lagirlusa.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
20th October, 2017 at 9:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
LA Girl Setting Spray - Review

I purchased this product from a variety store for around $12.99, as I wanted to try out a cheap setting spray and thought it would probably be decent as I like most of LA Girl's products. However, I simply wasn't that impressed, and I feel like there are setting sprays that you can get for a lot cheaper that do a better job. You also don't get very much product, only 30mls, which is just not enough to justify the price.

This comes in a basic black bottle, very portable, however you don't get a lot of product. The spray nozzle is very fine and I personally really liked it - it didn't leave my face soaking wet like some other setting sprays I have tried since. Once finishing this product I did re-use the spray bottle for toner. It has a very faint scent, almost chemically, but it is barely noticeable. I didn't notice any change in the finish of my makeup once using this, and also no difference in how it wore.

I think that for the price, there are many other setting sprays that are much better than this one. I personally love Mario Badescu's Rosewater spray, which is cheaper and has more than 3 x the product, and I have also heard good things about NYX's setting sprays which cost a little more. I'd say give this one a miss, it really didn't make any difference in the look or wear of my makeup - I think just a bottle of water would do the same thing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
12th April, 2017 at 10:24 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not this time

Ok so I am not a fan of this setting spray, the only thing I do like about it is the size of the bottle which is perfect to put in your handbag or to travel with and the nozzle for a quick spray. I have applied this spray on different occasions i.e out for lunch,out for cocktails, and also for a busy day at work as a barista. My makeup on all occasions shifted within a few hours which was super annoying! If you were to use this I suggest using it for a day at home or where you are not moving around alot, also you will need atleast 6+ sprays to your face to slow the process of shifting. There is also a slight chemical scent that I can smell when its on, nothing harsh just no it is there. Sorry L.A Girl but not this time x

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th February, 2017 at 6:51 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Spray and Walk Away in a New Setting

I'm a little on the fence about this product.

I have been keen to get a setting spray to help set my make up a bit more over summer.

After applying my make up (and I set it with powder too), I then hold this at arms length and do a couple of sprays over my face.

It certainly sets quickly and doesn't look like it's been there at all. And my make up has held up a bit better, but overall I'm not sure it's made a huge difference.

One of the other things I like about this spray is it had a lot less ingredients than the other sprays I looked at. Downside is that it's a smaller bottle. However it's also cheaper for trying the product out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th October, 2016 at 4:04 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
a good cheap alternative

My makeup rarely gets put through its paces these days and I tend to use my Urban Decay spray when it does, but this one got me through a good few long days as a teacher with my face intact!

LA Girl Pro setting HD setting spray (long lasting matte finish) - to give it it's full name - comes in a small black plastic spray bottle. It's cute but functional - this isn't something that you'd generally use outside of the house though, so the looks dont' worry me.

The spray nozzle isn't prone to clogging, and the spray dispenses in a cloud of fine mist that settles nicely.

It adds a nice finish to makeup, mattifying slightly, and definitely helps prevent it from sliding around too much. I used this one and the MAC one at around the same time, and preferred this over the MAC by far.

The scent is a little chemically, especially as it's gotten older, but it's faint, and it fades.

For the price it's definitely a good buy.

Tips: the best distance seems to be to hold your arm straight out and bend your elbow straight up, and spray from there....not too close that it melts anything, not too far away that you don't get it on your face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
7th September, 2016 at 1:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great for the price it is

I decided to give this setting spray a whirl after seeing good reviews on it. it's a 30ml bottle and great to chuck in the make up bag. I got it at Postie Plus on a buy 1 get 1 half price but it was $10 full price. I used this to set my eyebrows (using Anastasia beverly hills dipbrow) by spraying on my brush first then dipping into the product and my brows stayed on smudge free all day!!!

I have been using the setting spray for work on my oily skin and I save my urban decay for special events. It doesn't work as well as UD but I actually prefer it as it's not heavy and dries quickly. I spray it on after using powder to finish my liquid/powder foundations.

overall, the price and size of the bottle is a really good cheap buy and I've found multiple uses for it so i'm happy!!

Tips: spray it about 30cm away from face to ensure even distribution of product, too close and it will feel gross!

use on creamy products (eyebrow gel, to "set" them

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
24th May, 2016 at 11:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Setting spray

Im not a big fan of this. Its dried up my face so bad that I felt like if I smiled my face was going to crack. I dont know if I put to much on or sprayed it to close? Was quite surprised at the size of it lol but good for travel. Will not repurchase again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th April, 2016 at 3:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It seems ok

I bought this bottle quite a while ago. I'm not sure of how much I actually paid but I got it off beautyjoint. I was not expecting such a small bottle though, this is tiny and only has 30mls of product in it. I'm sure it's cheap to buy but getting less product is a bit of a bummer!

I really like the spray nozzle of this packaging. It helps spray out a really fine mist so the product is evenly applied across your whole face. Some mists are not fine enough and you get droplets on your face which can actually smudge your makeup or just stay on your face for ages before drying. I spray this on my face and it dries down within a minute which is great. I wear glasses and it's nice to be able to wear them straight away rather than waiting ages for my face to set!

This says it is fragrance free. I don't smell any perfumes but it does have a light scent. It sort of smells both fresh and slightly chemically. That sounds odd but I can pick up both of those notes. I smell it when I spray it but it quickly disappears.

This leaves my skin looking like normal. It does say a matte finish but I don't notice anything overly matte. It could be because my foundation is a dewy formula. I have dry skin so I don't want an overly matte look anyway.

I think this helps my makeup last a bit longer and look a bit fresher at the end of the day. It's not a massive difference as I've tried half a face with spray and half without before. But every little bit helps I guess!

I'm on the fence about purchasing again. This little bottle only lasts me about a month and I also have a brand that I prefer more that has a bigger bottle as well. I don't think it's a bad product though so worth giving it a go if you come across it cheap somewhere. I do plan on keeping the bottle when I'm finished as it will be great for on the go and to have a finer mist spray.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
26th February, 2016 at 8:23 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Life Changer.

This spray has seriously changed my life.

My mascara used to ALWAYS smudge on my lower lash line but since owning this it never does!

Probably not the best for foundation and other base products - especially in the summer heat! But totally worth it for the money even just to save my eye makeup.

I do about 4-5 sprays maybe 30cm away and works a treat. Purchased it just over a month ago and have nearly run out so I guess doesn't last that long. However I will definitely be re-purchasing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
25th February, 2016 at 1:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hit and Miss

I purchased this on a recommendation from a friend who said it had changed her life.

$13 for a setting spray isn't bad at all but for this one I think it's a bit expensive. When I arrived I was shocked by the size but that's purely because I didn't read the size. It's mini!

Packaging is really basic small black bottle with a squirt/spray head with a clear plastic lid.

Now the first time I used this I sprayed twice from a distance. It felt quite dwey and dried matte this is accurate about the product. Unfortunately it doesn't last. I have to apply it twice a day on a hot day three times. This is what is wrong with this product! However once applied my makeup didn't move, it did wear off and need re applying

I won't be re purchasing this item but will use it up till I find something else that works for me.

The scent is a hard one, I didn't smell anything the first few times I used it but after awhile of use I noticed a slight scent but can't put my finger on what it smells like. It's not pleasant however.

I'll use it again till it's finished. It did one thing it said it would. Personally I wouldn't recommend it . I think for the price it's a waste.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Does your foundation last all day?

Does your foundation last all day?

No, I have to touch up at least once during the day!

view results

Review of the Day
dani7331
Gentle Gel
I really like this gel cleanser. I have always been a fan of the Micellar water, so it was exciting to try something… more »