Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Maybelline Tattoo Gel Liner Pencil

Maybelline Tattoo Gel Liner Pencil
Overall rating from 26 reviews so far:
4.4/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.3/5

Where to buy?

Delivering smooth strokes and intense colour, the Tattoo Gel Liner Pencil is a waterproof eyeliner that glides on seamlessly for our longest-lasting wear yet! This sharpenable eyeliner delivers pigment-rich hues, precise definition, and a 36-hour finish that lasts from day-to-night and beyond. Waterproof, no smudging, no fading, sebum resistant.

Website: www.maybelline.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Maybelline Tattoo Gel Liner Pencil

Maybelline Tattoo Gel Liner Pencil

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th September, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Love this eye liner

This eye liner is easy to use and goes on smooth. It has real staying power and stays looking good all day! No panda eyes, it looks just as good at the end of the day as it did at the beginning of the day. I also tested this out by wearing it to my dance class and it stayed put and didn’t smudge at all. This liner is going to be my new go-to, everyday eye liner now!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
27th August, 2021
1 members found this review useful
A pencil that sticks.

I'll preface this review by stating that I much prefer liquid eyeliner to pencils. I generally find that pencils don't create sharp edges, are easily smudged, and are harder to apply than a liquid.

This gel pencil liner was surprisingly smooth to apply, and I was able to create some nicely sharp lines with it. It was very easy to blend it into my lashline too, as the heat of my eyelids allowed the pencil to really get into the skin between my lashes. I used it under my eyes too and found that it's easy to smudge/fade out with a finger while it's still warm from my skin, so it can definitely be worked with before it really solidifies onto your skin. I did inadvertently rub my eyes a couple of times over the course of the trial period, and it didn't smudge much at all.

I also tried it on my waterline/tightline, and was very surprised that it stayed relatively intact for most of the day - it was only about 30-40% faded/rubbed off by the end of the day.

I have quite hooded eyelids, so later in the day I definitely noticed some lines on my eyelids from this liner - but this happens with all eyeliner for me, and was far less than I'd usually get with a regular pencil liner.

One thing that I wish it came with is a sharpener, as it is sharpenable.

Overall, I really like this gel pencil and will likely reach for it again soon!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
MareeB
17th September, 2021

That sounds good. I tried a different gel liner and found it didn't go on that well and didn't stay in one place. I thought maybe gel eye liners in general are not that good, but maybe not.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
27th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Not normally an eye liner girl

I’m not very good at eye liner so I was able to give this the ultimate test haha.

Easy to use, not hard to apply even being waterproof.

Smudge proof, yes unless you forget it’s there and rub your eyes it definitely will smudge then.

No overwhelming smells but due to the waterproof rating it is difficult to remove from eyes and takes a lot of cleansing to get it off.

Would I use it again? I don’t really use eye liner much but yeah I think I would use again

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Pretty Much a Tattoo!

I am not a daily eyeliner wearer (or makeup wear for the past two years, tbvh!) and also being asian doesn't quite help having uneven eyelid creases :(

But! Nonetheless, tried out this little beauty and.... I am quite amazed and surprised as as well as being the above, I am also guilty of constantly touching my eyes and eye area whenever I am wearing mascara and/or eyeliner so... when this little product popped up on the Beauty Review website, I was curious and super keen to test it out since, honestly there are times as a mum that it's nice to have some makeup on even though there is a chance it might not come off till the next day...

I usually have a simple eye look (as I am terrible with eyeshadow) so most of the time it is just mascara but if I am feeling extra, eyeliner gets added to the mix! I found this eyeliner to be super easy to use to add some darkness to the area just below the eyelashes and was so very smooth and literally just glided across where I wanted to apply. Quite precise too even though the nib looks to be fat.

Not sure if it would be capable of a cat eye flick but great to fill in that area just beneath the eyelashes to make it look fuller!

Tips: It's a dream to use! Love this product and no special tips or tricks required!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Glides on! Stays on!

Over all I really liked this mascara. The colour is very black but not matte it has a slight satin finish to give it that gel liner look. Very easy to apply, glides on smoothly. It sets VERY quick so if it needs blending or you make a mistake you need to work FAST. Didn’t smudge or transfer throughout the day. It was a little difficult to remove but a waterproof eye makeup remover worked great.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Long lasting eyeliner that is very affordable

Maybelline Tattoo Liner in Deep Onyx is a waterproof gel eye liner pencil with intense and long lasting pigments. Maybelline tout it as being “waterproof with no smudging, no fading and sebum resistant”.  I found it to be the most pigmented and intense eyeliner pencil I’ve ever tried. It's very dark and black and is fully opaque with no white bald spots or patchiness as you apply it on your lid. The liner has a very creamy formula but with enough hardness so that it glides over the lids ensuring no pulling or tugging during application, and giving an even pigmented line. It’s fast drying and when set it stays put brilliantly with no transfer or flakiness. It’s important to apply the liner with a steady hand and get the line right in one go as the liner can get a bit messy if you need to correct mistakes. I have oily lids so I always use a primer before applying eye makeup. I have to be super careful when applying to avoid transfer on the rest of my eyelid. The pencil is enclosed in plastic which is sharpenable. I found that I needed a very sharp blade and a light touch to get a precise edge on the nib. Maybelline promises a resistance of 36 hours. I kept it on the whole day (swimming, gym, cutting onions) until well into the night and I didn’t have to reapply. Its intensity didn’t fade and it didn’t smudge either. Being waterproof I needed to use a good eye makeup remover. Lauder’s ‘Take It Away’ and Nivea’s ‘MicellarAir Gel’ did the job without rubbing. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a long-lasting pencil eyeliner that does the work of a gel but in a more convenient form.

Tips: It is incredibly hard to remove, you need to use a good eye makeup remover.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Tattoo Gel Liner Pencil

I love how it glides very smoothly which makes the application very quick. Literally one or two strokes and I'm done! Perfect consistency: I don't need to press hard to get good result neither do I need to be extra careful in case it gets squishy. The pencil itself looks nice and sturdy, too.

Definitely intense colour that lasts the whole day on my eyelids. BUT I have problem with it smudging badly at the outer corner of my eyes after a couple of hours. I'm not really sure why. Could be the eye cream I'm using, but I don't have that problem with other liners I use. It survives swimming so I have no idea why it smudged when I wasn't swimming... Apart from that I really like this liner.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Actually easy to use

I'm a liquid liner person, have been for years and have settled on Morphe as being my favourite. I didnt pay a huge amount of attention to the trial details and somehow assumed it was a liquid so when I opened it I was like "oh bother" but gave it a whirl. Surprise surprise this actually works well! I'm able to get a nice (actually black rather than grey) line, its soft enough I don't need a heap of pressure to get it to transfer to my lid (a problem I've had with other pencils) and is pretty forgiving when I've accidentally gotten overzealous and ended up smudging or getting the line wrong. The lid stays on well and I haven't sharpened it yet but I have a fair idea of how it will go. It goes on smooth, stays on well and doesn't give me panda eyes or smudge/transfer to my upper lid. Definitely recommend and will keep using this!

Tips: I'm expecting that when I need to sharpen it I'll pop it in the fridge/freezer for a few mins first to get the liner nice and firm so I can get a good point.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Tattoo Gel Liner Pencil

Really enjoyed using this liner - very easy to use/handle and is very pigmented - I didn't have to go over my lines multiple times which is great, as Im still a novice with eyeliner and found it stayed all day! Would purchase.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Wow!

I have a problem with eyeliners never lasting, no matter whether I use them on my waterline, or my upper lash line. I used this and was hoping that it didn't do what every other eyeliner has done in the past. I was pleasantly surprised with this! It actually lasts! And I accidentally rubbed my eyes a few times without meaning to, but that didn't seem to matter! I'll be buying backups of this eyeliner when I get low and they're on special! Definitely recommend.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

WIN a $1300 BEAUTY PRIZE PACK!

We want to know about your beauty shopping habits - particularly your online shopping habits!

Take our quick survey and you could win...it's that easy!

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT MORE!