Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Kotia
Kotia

Braun Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ Review

Braun Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ Review
Overall rating from 21 reviews so far:
4.2/5
Would use it again?
4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

SensoSmart™ technology

An intelligent sensor guides your epilation, ensuring the right amount of pressure is applied to remove even more hair in one stroke.

 

Epilator head

Close-Grip Technology

Close-Grip Technology

40 specially designed tweezers catch hair as short as 0.5 mm for superior efficiency.

 

High frequency massage system

High Frequency Massage system

Stimulates the skin for a more comfortable experience.

Pivoting head

The pivoting head lets the Braun Silk-épil 7 follow every contour of your body for better skin contact and even gentler performance.

 

Wet & Dry

The Braun Silk-épil 7 epilator is 100% waterproof. For extra comfort and a soothing epilation experience in warm water you can confidently use it in the bath or in the shower.

 

SoftLift Tips®

The SoftLift Tips® effectively lift even flat-lying hair and help guide them to the tweezers for removal.

 

Silk-épil Bikini Styler FG 1100 White

Silk-épil 3in1 body trimmer

This Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ epilator set includes a body and face trimmer for hair removal without the hassle of waxing. Quickly and easily tidy the bikini line.

 

Smartlight. See everything.

The Smartlight reveals even the finest hair for extra thorough hair removal.

 

Long-lasting battery

Charges in 2 hours for 50 minutes of use.

 

2 speed settings

Speed 1 for extra gentle epilation, Speed 2 for an extra efficient epilation.

 

100% waterproof

Easily clean under running water, comfortably use in bath or shower.

 

Features dermatologically recommended

Silk-épil epilators recommended¹ as the gentle solution to long-lasting hair removal thanks to its unique combination of skin-soothing features.

¹Dr. med. Petra Staubach, University Skin Clinic, Mainz

 

Product & extras may differ slightly as per retailer

 

 

Availability  Farmers and Online

Website  www.braun.net.nz



RRP: $249.95

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Braun Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ Review

Braun Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Prickle be gone

I bought this brand/model after much deliberation and searching. I was looking for an epilator that could do face (that dreaded upper lip) as well as body and sensitive areas like underarms etc. This one ticked all the boxes and even had a couple of extra options for not a lot more than the next model down. It has wet/dry ability, it had an easy interchange system and even a trimmer attachment in case you need to trim the grass first. This model also comes with a brush head and adapter, I have only used it a couple of times on my arms and legs... it's not harsh but the instructions recommend you don't leave it in one spot for too long. I found it exfoliated alright but I prefer to use a glove or loofah. Instructions also recommend you do this one or two days prior to epilating.There is a massage head as well but I haven't yet used it and I don't know if I will.The actual epilating part I thought would be more painful but it has two speeds and a smaller cap for sensitive areas or a large cap for larger areas such as legs and at most it felt like a scratch or a tiny ping (to me anyway).I found that the process of epilating takes a bit of time and was actually a bit tedious but I liked the result (missed a hair or two in places but managed to get them the next time) I also didn't follow the instructions at first by using a circular motion, but a slow up and down motion. It didn't leave me completely smooth but I am happy with the results and will continue to use on a regular basis.In regards to under-arm hair removal... make sure the area is good and dry (unless using wet then follow those instructions to the letter). I made the mistake of using it with the large area head by mistake and also on damp skin... it grabbed the skin a few times (only time it happened) and well it took a couple of days to heal... so dry or wet... not in between!What I like about having bought this brand is that they offer a full 60days money back (at least it's available when I purchased).

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Newbie epilator diary

Tried waxing my bikini line a couple of times, found I could tolerate the pain quite well, so bought this epilator. After doing a load of research online over a couple of weeks I understood that I should get the best I could afford, and this has the most good reviews of the medium to upper range variety. As it happened, Farmers had these at 30% off and Braun offered a 60 day refund so I figured I couldn't lose.

Day 1 Nov 28 - first try. Decided to go for in shower epilation as the warmth would soften my skin and apparently make it less painful. Before that though, I used the shaver on one of my armpits. That was a little scarey as there is a skin tag under there and I didn't want to nick it. Will have to go get that removed. Shaver got nice and close and wasn't as rough on the skin as shaving. Left the other armpit for tomorrow, when I will pluck the courage to pluck. Used the exfoliating head on my arms and decolletage, seemed ok. Next up - the lower legs. Well, after not being able to tolerate the pain of waxing my legs, this was OK. The sensation was of lots of pinpricks and stinging, along with a sort of roughish buffing. It sent shivers up my spine and got my heckles up a bit but I got used to it. Didn't get all my legs done, and found the front of my shins more painful than the rest. Overall it was quite a bit less painful than waxing and I am going to have another go tomorrow. This will get better with practice, I'm sure.RIP leg hairs, I see your little red gravestones all over my legs :-)

Day 2 - Nov 29 - legs again Today I used it dry on my legs and it was overall more successful. Less painful, no heckles or shivers up my spine. Hair graves went down in a few hours. Legs are pretty much done now. Legs feel like the day after a shave - smooth with a few small prickles only. Still not quite brave enough to try underarms.

Day 3 - Dec 2.... the rest Today was the day to epilate bikini line and underarms. First off, underarms was too sore. If you take the massage head off and use the smaller cap, it doesn't glide over the skin as easily and I was afraid of it catching my skin. The curvy underarm makes it all pretty hard for a noob. So I opted to use the shaver instead, which should have been easy but I managed to shave a couple of small skin tags which was unpleasant. Eventually I got a close enough shave. I still think it's gentler on the skin than a razor. Bikini line was OK. Less painful than waxing but a little more care required to make sure the hairs are short enough. I used the trimmer first, in order to make room for the epilator head, and then it went pretty smoothly.

So overall I'm giving this a 5 out of 5 all round.

More practise down below will improve that result and I'll probably have another go at underarms at a later date. My legs are still quite smooth and the machine otherwise does everything on the label.

Tips: Follow the instructions if you are a newbie at epilation

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Love

I absolute love my epilator, no ingrown hairs and works so fast and effectively would definately recommend

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th April, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Probably the best DIY hair removal method

I bought this to replace my mum's 20+ year old Epilady (which still works!) and I think it's definitely worth the money.

It comes with many different attachments including a massager head (perfect for newbies) , an efficiency cap, two precision caps and a shaver attachment.

The first few times using this epilator I used the massager head. It feels really nice and definitely reduces pain. Now I use the efficiency cap because it gets the job done faster. I use the larger precision cap for my underarms and the smaller one for my bikini line. I have used it on my upper lip before - it works, but is almost unbearably painful!

The shaver head is able to shave right down to the skin, or you can just trim with the comb attachment.

Battery lasts about half an hour before it needs recharging. If you haven't epilated before, or it's been a while, you may need more than half an hour.

There is a little light that helps you see the hairs, which is a nice touch. It is also waterproof so you can use it in the shower, though I've tried it before and it seemed to break more hairs.

Comes with a cleaning brush and drawstring bag.

Pros:

+ Works really well, efficiently plucks hairs from root

+ Easy to use, no mess (unlike waxing)

+ With regular use hair grows back less and finer (unlike shaving)

+ Comes with many attachments

Cons:

- Battery doesn't last long

- Can't use while plugged in (though this is for safety, since it's waterproof)

- Painful and time-consuming (though the hair doesn't grow back for a while so it's worth it)

Tips: Exfoliate, exfoliate, exfoliate! This is the key to epilation. Exfoliation releases any hairs trapped under the skin and prevents ingrown hairs. It also removes dead skin cells so your skin looks more radiant and healthy.

Moisturise daily for smooth and beautiful skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
24th November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Great while it lasted

This epilator was great, being rechargeable and an upgrade not having to stay attached to the wall like with my last one. However....after 10 years, my old one is still fine and this one has given up (I've had it...maybe 3 years?). I guess that's still a decent lifespan but for a Braun product, I am surprised it didn't last like my old one. I'm back to the plug in, annoyingly.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
7th November, 2014
1 members found this review useful
It takes a little getting used to

My first epilator, many years ago, was the two-speed Braun Silk-epil Eversoft Deluxe (with 20 tweezers) and this year, for my birthday, my husband bought me the Silk-epil 7 (with 40 tweezers). Wow, what a difference!

I love the fact that the Silk-epil 7 is cordless and only takes about 45 minutes to charge fully. Epilating for the first few times does hurt, especially around the ankles, knees and thighs and it will take a while, but it does get easier, faster and painless the more often you do it. I find that around the 4th or 5th time, it only hurts around my ankles and behind my knees.

I tend to only epilate in spring and summer, when the weather is warmer, as I find epilating in winter when it is cold is too painful and difficult. Not only is it uncomfortable, but I find when it's cold my skin almost holds on to the hairs! I tend to shave during winter and then in spring, before I start epilating, I go to a salon for a once-off, full leg wax and then begin epilating once the hair starts to grow back. This seems to ease the initial first time pain and its not as sore once I begin epilating, about a week after the once-off wax.

I did try epilating directly after bathing or showering (as recommended by Braun), but find that when I do this, my hair is too soft and more likely to break. I prefer to epilate a few hours before I bath or shower, but this is just my personal preference, so do whatever works best for you.

Tips: Try taking two Panadol or Nuromol 15 minutes before epilating, it does help with the pain. Keep the epilator at a 90 degree angle to your skin, move it slowly and keep pulling your skin tight as you work in sections, to make sure that the hairs are plucked out and not broken off. Also, try not to let the hair get too long, as it will break off instead of being plucked out and don’t shave in between epilating! This will disrupt the hair growth cycles and you’ll end up epilating more often (I learnt this the hard way).

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st July, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Effective but wince inducing

I hate shaving and have been known to go months without shaving. Once I did my research I chose this one because it can be used wet and dry. Multiple heads so make different areas easier. It's loud but charges quickly. First use stings but gets easier. If the room is warm it seems easier.

Tips: Make sute the hair isn't too long and exfoliate before and after to reduce ingrown hairs

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
12th April, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Not for me

I was very excited to try epilating last year.. I was fed up with constantly shaving and wanted something that would help result in long-term hair loss in shaving areas. I found this epilator to be quite painful on sensitive areas such as the shins and thighs. However, it did not hurt me at all when using it on my armpits. Regardless of pain I would have continued to use this product as you really do get used to the pain but I was constantly getting ingrown hairs and hairs that were not ingrown but would not break the last layer of skin. It was painful to release the hairs from the ingrown folicle and also the thin layer of skin. Therefor I went back to shaving.

With the epilator it is easy to miss spots and occasionally it was difficult to tell your hair had grown back until I was out andit was too late!

Also, you will break out in red bumps from using this, especially the first time. It takes a few hours for mine to go down so i recommend using it at night!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
4th April, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Easier than self waxing

Removes hair by pulling them out from the roots. Not messy so easier than waxing but quite painful when first used especially around the ankles. I didn't use it for bikini line as thought it might be too painful. Better result than shaving as lasts longer and grows back softer. Once you have used it a few times you get used to it. Not as quick as shaving because I found I had to go over the same area a number of times to get all the hairs.

Tips: Make sure your legs or under arms are warm, if you are cold the hair follicle contracts holding onto the hair tightly which results in the hair breaking off instead of coming out from the roots. It is really important to exfoliate often after epilation as if you don't you can get In growing hairs which are like infected spots. Also moisturise to keep the skin supple. Do not apply moisturiser up to 24 hours after epilating as the pores of the skin will be open and moisturisers entering the pores could cause irritation.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
sassrose
16th April, 2014

Fantastic tips! I have been using for years and did not know about the warm thing! This makes sense now! Thank you so much

Overall rating:
2.7/5
31st January, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Not so great

I am not really a huge fan of this as I feel not only does it hurt but it makes my skin very irritated! In saying that my mum uses this and she absolutely loves it! I did find when I was using it that hair grew back a lot slower unlike shaving which is an every day sort of thing, I used this about 3-4 times a week! So if you can put up with the slight tingling pain and skin irritation then it'd be fine!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No