Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ Review

Braun Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ Review
Overall rating from 21 reviews so far:
4.2/5
Would use it again?
4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

SensoSmart™ technology

An intelligent sensor guides your epilation, ensuring the right amount of pressure is applied to remove even more hair in one stroke.

 

Epilator head

Close-Grip Technology

Close-Grip Technology

40 specially designed tweezers catch hair as short as 0.5 mm for superior efficiency.

 

High frequency massage system

High Frequency Massage system

Stimulates the skin for a more comfortable experience.

Pivoting head

The pivoting head lets the Braun Silk-épil 7 follow every contour of your body for better skin contact and even gentler performance.

 

Wet & Dry

The Braun Silk-épil 7 epilator is 100% waterproof. For extra comfort and a soothing epilation experience in warm water you can confidently use it in the bath or in the shower.

 

SoftLift Tips®

The SoftLift Tips® effectively lift even flat-lying hair and help guide them to the tweezers for removal.

 

Silk-épil Bikini Styler FG 1100 White

Silk-épil 3in1 body trimmer

This Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ epilator set includes a body and face trimmer for hair removal without the hassle of waxing. Quickly and easily tidy the bikini line.

 

Smartlight. See everything.

The Smartlight reveals even the finest hair for extra thorough hair removal.

 

Long-lasting battery

Charges in 2 hours for 50 minutes of use.

 

2 speed settings

Speed 1 for extra gentle epilation, Speed 2 for an extra efficient epilation.

 

100% waterproof

Easily clean under running water, comfortably use in bath or shower.

 

Features dermatologically recommended

Silk-épil epilators recommended¹ as the gentle solution to long-lasting hair removal thanks to its unique combination of skin-soothing features.

¹Dr. med. Petra Staubach, University Skin Clinic, Mainz

 

Product & extras may differ slightly as per retailer

 

 

Availability  Farmers and Online

Website  www.braun.net.nz



RRP: $249.95

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Braun Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ Review

Braun Silk-épil 7 SensoSmart™ Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Prickle be gone

I bought this brand/model after much deliberation and searching. I was looking for an epilator that could do face (that dreaded upper lip) as well as body and sensitive areas like underarms etc. This one ticked all the boxes and even had a couple of extra options for not a lot more than the next model down. It has wet/dry ability, it had an easy interchange system and even a trimmer attachment in case you need to trim the grass first. This model also comes with a brush head and adapter, I have only used it a couple of times on my arms and legs... it's not harsh but the instructions recommend you don't leave it in one spot for too long. I found it exfoliated alright but I prefer to use a glove or loofah. Instructions also recommend you do this one or two days prior to epilating.There is a massage head as well but I haven't yet used it and I don't know if I will.The actual epilating part I thought would be more painful but it has two speeds and a smaller cap for sensitive areas or a large cap for larger areas such as legs and at most it felt like a scratch or a tiny ping (to me anyway).I found that the process of epilating takes a bit of time and was actually a bit tedious but I liked the result (missed a hair or two in places but managed to get them the next time) I also didn't follow the instructions at first by using a circular motion, but a slow up and down motion. It didn't leave me completely smooth but I am happy with the results and will continue to use on a regular basis.In regards to under-arm hair removal... make sure the area is good and dry (unless using wet then follow those instructions to the letter). I made the mistake of using it with the large area head by mistake and also on damp skin... it grabbed the skin a few times (only time it happened) and well it took a couple of days to heal... so dry or wet... not in between!What I like about having bought this brand is that they offer a full 60days money back (at least it's available when I purchased).

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Newbie epilator diary

Tried waxing my bikini line a couple of times, found I could tolerate the pain quite well, so bought this epilator. After doing a load of research online over a couple of weeks I understood that I should get the best I could afford, and this has the most good reviews of the medium to upper range variety. As it happened, Farmers had these at 30% off and Braun offered a 60 day refund so I figured I couldn't lose.

Day 1 Nov 28 - first try. Decided to go for in shower epilation as the warmth would soften my skin and apparently make it less painful. Before that though, I used the shaver on one of my armpits. That was a little scarey as there is a skin tag under there and I didn't want to nick it. Will have to go get that removed. Shaver got nice and close and wasn't as rough on the skin as shaving. Left the other armpit for tomorrow, when I will pluck the courage to pluck. Used the exfoliating head on my arms and decolletage, seemed ok. Next up - the lower legs. Well, after not being able to tolerate the pain of waxing my legs, this was OK. The sensation was of lots of pinpricks and stinging, along with a sort of roughish buffing. It sent shivers up my spine and got my heckles up a bit but I got used to it. Didn't get all my legs done, and found the front of my shins more painful than the rest. Overall it was quite a bit less painful than waxing and I am going to have another go tomorrow. This will get better with practice, I'm sure.RIP leg hairs, I see your little red gravestones all over my legs :-)

Day 2 - Nov 29 - legs again Today I used it dry on my legs and it was overall more successful. Less painful, no heckles or shivers up my spine. Hair graves went down in a few hours. Legs are pretty much done now. Legs feel like the day after a shave - smooth with a few small prickles only. Still not quite brave enough to try underarms.

Day 3 - Dec 2.... the rest Today was the day to epilate bikini line and underarms. First off, underarms was too sore. If you take the massage head off and use the smaller cap, it doesn't glide over the skin as easily and I was afraid of it catching my skin. The curvy underarm makes it all pretty hard for a noob. So I opted to use the shaver instead, which should have been easy but I managed to shave a couple of small skin tags which was unpleasant. Eventually I got a close enough shave. I still think it's gentler on the skin than a razor. Bikini line was OK. Less painful than waxing but a little more care required to make sure the hairs are short enough. I used the trimmer first, in order to make room for the epilator head, and then it went pretty smoothly.

So overall I'm giving this a 5 out of 5 all round.

More practise down below will improve that result and I'll probably have another go at underarms at a later date. My legs are still quite smooth and the machine otherwise does everything on the label.

Tips: Follow the instructions if you are a newbie at epilation

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Love

I absolute love my epilator, no ingrown hairs and works so fast and effectively would definately recommend

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
27th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Better than Shaving!

I've been using this for about a year now, after doing heaps of online research on the different types. My leg hair is fine but dark, so on my delicate pale white legs they stand out! When I shaved it still didn't look smooth because you could see the roots of the hairs. The Silk Epil pulls the little sods out by the roots, so you get a lovely smooth look (after the chicken skin effect dies down) and you only have to do it once a week! Yes it does hurt at first but like everything else in live, the first time is the worst!

Tips: Keep your legs moisturised and exfoliated as otherwise you will get ingrown hairs - which are not sexy!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th April, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Probably the best DIY hair removal method

I bought this to replace my mum's 20+ year old Epilady (which still works!) and I think it's definitely worth the money.

It comes with many different attachments including a massager head (perfect for newbies) , an efficiency cap, two precision caps and a shaver attachment.

The first few times using this epilator I used the massager head. It feels really nice and definitely reduces pain. Now I use the efficiency cap because it gets the job done faster. I use the larger precision cap for my underarms and the smaller one for my bikini line. I have used it on my upper lip before - it works, but is almost unbearably painful!

The shaver head is able to shave right down to the skin, or you can just trim with the comb attachment.

Battery lasts about half an hour before it needs recharging. If you haven't epilated before, or it's been a while, you may need more than half an hour.

There is a little light that helps you see the hairs, which is a nice touch. It is also waterproof so you can use it in the shower, though I've tried it before and it seemed to break more hairs.

Comes with a cleaning brush and drawstring bag.

Pros:

+ Works really well, efficiently plucks hairs from root

+ Easy to use, no mess (unlike waxing)

+ With regular use hair grows back less and finer (unlike shaving)

+ Comes with many attachments

Cons:

- Battery doesn't last long

- Can't use while plugged in (though this is for safety, since it's waterproof)

- Painful and time-consuming (though the hair doesn't grow back for a while so it's worth it)

Tips: Exfoliate, exfoliate, exfoliate! This is the key to epilation. Exfoliation releases any hairs trapped under the skin and prevents ingrown hairs. It also removes dead skin cells so your skin looks more radiant and healthy.

Moisturise daily for smooth and beautiful skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st March, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Totally worth it

The best thing I think about this is it's a shaver AND epilator. I had a separate shaver and epilator and my epilator was almost 10 years old so I got this instead (I figured surely things have advanced in that amount of time). This is available on Fly Buys so I got it through that. I was so right! I think it's far more effective than my old one (this one can grip hairs the size of a grain of sand!) and it's probably less painful as top speed is pretty fast. Don't listen to anyone that says it's not going to hurt. Of course it is. I've been epilating my legs for years and it still hurts. But it's bearable and worth it when you can do this in your own time (you can use this in the shower as it's waterproof but I do my legs outside without time constraints of a shower for example).

The battery on this lasts for 40 minutes, this one cut my time down to about 20 minutes for 2 lower legs and knees (previously it took me about 40 minutes) so is really effective. I love how it's cordless and how it comes with lots of attachments. Even the shaver attachment works really well. I don't use the so-called efficency cap, I didn't find it works that well, I just go to town on my legs full speed with the epilator attachment!

I have even tried this on my face (yes, you probably think I am crazy) just to see how painful it would be - I have never epilated my face before and tried it on my neck and chin. If you are brave this works okay and you can use it for this but bear in mind you may get angry follicles popping up in an obvious place!

Tips: Exfoliate beforehand and resist all urges to exfoliate again for a few days. You'll get some inflamed hair follicles for up to 5 days which is normal, I found aloe vera gel soothes them or steal some aftershave gel from your man :) I found the easiest way to exfoliate 2 days afterwards was Manicare exfoliating gloves in the shower, just rub with these in each shower (you'll be surprised at how much dead skin you have, ewww!).

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Kellyleanne
9th April, 2015

This sounds really good, i'm really intrigued about epilators, I just need to get brave enough!

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th March, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Better than self waxing

I find self waxing time consuming and messy whereas epilating once used to it is so much more efficient and this epilator is by far the best I have tried. I like that it comes with several different heads, specifically a trimmer. I got used to the discomfort a lot quicker than I thought and haven't actually used the wipes. I especially like that its cordless and doesn't take very long to charge up.

Tips: Can not been used while charging.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
15th February, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Not as good as the older models

I've had an older plug in model for 10 years and thought I would give this a go as it's portable. However I found that it tends to snap the hairs off at the skin surface rather than removing from the root. Therefore hair grew out a lot faster so I've gone back to the original model.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th February, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Almost Perfect!

It is one of the fastest epilators, so obviously it is less time consuming. It can remove hair less than 0.5 mm and nothing is left behind giving the smoothest skin. The built-in light helps to see the hair which might have been missed. I like the fact that it is a wet and dry epilator. So can be used in shower to minimize pain. I am quite used to waxing and I found epilation using this epilator wasn't painful at all. So, if you could bear the pain of waxing, you can definitely epilate using this without any discomfort. There are five attachments included, yes a shaver and trimmer head as well. Trimmer head is really helpful as when I get lazy and don't do epilation and my hair grow long, I use the trimmer head first, and then replace it with epilator head and that way it doesn't hurt at all. Other thing I like the most about this epilator is the massage rollers it has on the epilator head which really soothes the skin during epilation. It is almost perfect and the only negative I can think of is that it cannot be used while being plugged in. It can only be used on battery. So, I can't use it if there is no battery left by plugging in the charger and have to wait for 40 minutes to charge it first.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
24th November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Great while it lasted

This epilator was great, being rechargeable and an upgrade not having to stay attached to the wall like with my last one. However....after 10 years, my old one is still fine and this one has given up (I've had it...maybe 3 years?). I guess that's still a decent lifespan but for a Braun product, I am surprised it didn't last like my old one. I'm back to the plug in, annoyingly.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No