Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - April
The Beauty Vault - April
Manuka Honey Refreshing Facial Wash Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.3/5

Manuka Honey Refreshing Facial Wash Review

Overall rating:
3.4/5

A luxurious foaming cleanser suitable for all skin types. The unique pump action aerates the liquid to create a luxurious foam to help remove impurities and rejuvenate the skin giving you a feeling of freshness. Aromatic Sweet Orange Oil provides both an uplifting scent and helps to detoxify the skin, while the natural properties of Willowbark Extract work to deep cleanse the pores. A combination of skin softening Sesame Oil and Hibiscus Extract moisturise and nourish the skin for a more youthful complexion.

RRP: $19.40

Availability: Selected Health Stores and Online

Website: www.wildferns.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
30th January, 2018 at 10:36 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Wild Ferns Pure New Zealand Refreshing Facial Wash

I enjoyed being on the trial team for this facial wash. I thought the packaging it came in was gorgeous and simple. I liked the gold embossed font and the honey details on the front of the small box. I loved that it was made right here in New Zealand too. The packaging was easy to open. I could see the bottle inside the box when I opened it.

I found the directions on how to use this facial wash were easy to follow and it was simple to do. I used this as part of my morning and night routine to remove my make up well over a week or two and it kept my skin feeling refreshed.

The sweet orange oil gave it a lovely scent which I found quite revitalising and it was a nice smell. I only needed a couple of little pumps of the wash. It foamed up when I squeezed it out of the bottle pump. It was easy to apply to my face and rinsed off with ease. After drying my face, after applying the facial wash, my skin felt clean and fresh. My skin is quite sensitive and this didn't seem to irritate my skin which was great.

I used this along with the same brand of purifying toner and moistuiser. Out of all of the products, this was probably my favourite. I most likely wouldn't buy this facial wash from a store or through their site but I would most likely give my friends and family good feedback about this facial wash as I found it to be pretty good for my skin.

Tips: A few squeezes of the pump is plenty. The foam comes out quite fast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
16th January, 2018 at 6:42 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Manuka Honey Refreshing Facial Wash

First off the packaging and presentation of this range is bright and pretty. Never used a cleanser that smelt so sweet it was a bit overpowering but welcomed. One pump is almost more than enough but it foam feels nice as you're applying it. I wouldn't necessarily say it left my combination skin feeling refreshing and detoxified but my skin did seem to be bright and glow-y after cleansing. Overall after using it for over a week I can confidently say it is not one of my favourites but feel it would be good to use doing winter because the skin can get so dry and this would help rejuvenate it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th January, 2018 at 5:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Miss 12 review

The fragrance was not my most favorite but it foamed up like you would have expected from a wash. It tended to pull the dirt off the skin well and made it easier to remove the excess dirt and oil. After using the product my skin felt clean and smooth.

Tips: Ensure the diet is appropriate when using the product as may effect results

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
14th January, 2018 at 10:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Manuka Honey Refreshing Facial Wash

I have to admit that I tend to write off anything that comes from souvenir shops as a bit too pricey so really grateful that I got to trial this range. The packaging is cute. I like it and think it looks quite nice. I like that it uses the natural healing properties of Manuka honey and incorporates that into the formula. This cleanser/face wash comes with a foam pump which is nice, means that you don't inadvertently use lots. I used a couple of pumps and was quite happy with the amount I got. I didn't like the scent. It was way too strong for me, smelt a little bit like honey and overly sweet. This put me off, didn't like putting it on my face! The scent did dissipate over time and was okay. Ultimately - my face felt nice and clean afterwards so it did a good job. I will use it again but I feel for almost $20 there are better options out there. I don't like the smell and ultimately I feel like that put me off right from the start.

Tips: A couple of pumps will do the trick!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
1.3/5
14th January, 2018 at 1:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Manuka Honey Refreshing Facial Wash

Pretty happy to receive this pretty yellow products just before xmas. Nice yellow box representing the honey colour. I think that the packaging is additional non essential item just adding to waste. Would rather prefer the bottles printed with the essential info.

Easy to handle size bottle with a cap (that I somehow manage to loose in the shower) It has a pump action top that distributes a foamy liquid into your hand - I found that I needed two pumps of the product to wash my face and neck. It has a distinctive honey, orange smell that smelled pretty fake. I am not a fan. The face wash did not remove makeup unfortunately and I had to "clean" up my face with another product after.

I did like the size of the product that I could easily slip into my overnight/travel bag when we left on holiday.

Unfortunately this product is not for me - I did however see them in "curious shops" up north that is definitely aimed at tourist at about $25.

Tips: Double pump of the face wash will cover your face and neck

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
14th January, 2018 at 12:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Decent facial wash!

I enjoyed this product.

I have dry skin so I did find it was better to use this every few days rather than everyday. I used one pump and it was enough to clean my whole face. Moisturiser afterwards is usually a must for me because it can leave my skin feeling a bit tight.

The smell is pleasant enough and doesn't linger on the face anyway if you find it a bit strong. The packaging feels relatively luxurious for being plastic.

While I will use this product up, cleanser isn't a product I'm that picky about because its only on the skin very briefly and then down the drain.

I think this product would best suit someone with oily skin who doesn't mind a fairly scented product and is looking to support a made in New Zealand brand.

Tips: Might be best to use every few days rather than everyday for dry-skinned gals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th January, 2018 at 11:10 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Manuka Honey Refreshing Facial Wash

I got this sent by the lovely team at beauty review. It comes in a nice little box. I love that it is a foam based wash in a pump bottle. So easy to use ! It smells divine and leaves my skin feeling clean and fresh . I love how my skin feels after I use it. Only thing I would say is that it unfortunately doesn't do much for my post delivery peeling skin. But other than that it's a great little find ! Would definitely use it once I get my peeling skin under control.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
14th January, 2018 at 9:47 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not for my skin type

I have combination/oily skin and I normally prefer cream cleansers over foam cleansers. However, I do like a few things from the range so I thought this would be a good opportunity to try something else from their range. First off, I love the smell of the range. It’s sweet but not too over powering. The actually foam cleanser feels good in my skin and wasn’t drying which I liked. Foam cleansers, even with my oily skin, tend to dry me out. However, when I used the toner, I noticed their was still a lot of dirt on my skin. I had to use 3 cotton rounds to remove the excess dirt left in my skin, which tells me the cleanser was not effective. In saying that, it’s not a terrible regime, it just didn’t suit me. I feel like this is more suited for normal to dry skin types. I need something a bit more deep cleansing for my skin type.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th January, 2018 at 10:42 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Manuka Honey Facial Wash

I don't usually use facial washes in my skincare regime but this product might become an addition to it. The scent is slightly sweet (almost the same as the moisturiser) but that does not bother me too much. What I liked most about this product is that I could feel a difference in how clean my face was after using it. Especially after wearing makeup all day, this got rid of any remaining makeup that a makeup wipe wouldn't remove.

The only negative I have about this product is that my skin kind of feels a bit more dry than usual as soon as I wash it off but a good moisturiser fixes that with no problem.

I also don't like adding a lot of new products to my face because sometimes less is more when it comes to skincare but I find that by using this product a few times a week it just gives that clean feeling to my face.

Overall I would definitely continue using this product however not on a daily basis.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
13th January, 2018 at 10:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Average

​First impression: When I pumped it into my hand literal foam just spurted out. It’s been a long while since I’ve used foaming cleansers so it was quite surprising. It lathers up very satisfyingly, but does leave a very slight rubbery feeling, though definitely not as strong as if soap were used. I really like how you can see inside so you know how much product is left. Seeing as I've been using this every single morning (sometimes at night if I don't use my oil cleanser) for nearly 2 weeks now, one pump each time, I'd say it can probably last around 3 months.

Review: I think it does a decent job at cleansing. Not the best cleanser ever, but it does the job. I did notice though that after I cleansed I could actually see the pores on my cheeks which is a little alarming as usually mine aren't distinguishable. I also found my face contracted random whiteheads that did go away so I don't know if it was because it reacted to the sudden change of cleanser or if it contributed. I'm just glad they went away!

All in all, I don't think I would recommend this only because there are plenty of face washes out there that are more affordable and can do a better job at cleansing.

Tips: only need one full pump to wash your entire face

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

No...but now I want to!!

view results

Review of the Day
thirtywinks
I'm Confused
Got two huge bottles last year and I really just don't understand how I'm supposed to use it,or maybe I just… more »