Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Lush Sultana of Soap Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

Lush Sultana of Soap Review

Overall rating:
4.4/5

Lush Sultana of Soap Review

Revel in Sultana’s majesty, and have a wash with the royalty of soaps. It looks like a fancy Italian dessert; a giant nougat cake topped with succulent currants and apricots. Smooth a slice of our soft decadent soap all over your body for a creamy lather and the most dazzling bergamot and olibanum scent. Your skin will be delighted and you’ll be left softer and smelling like a fancy candy shop with a touch of fruity sweetness. If you weren’t invited to the wedding, at least you can brush shoulders with royalty in the shower.

Pack Size: 3.5 oz.

RRP: $6.90

Availability: Lush Stores and Online

Website: www.lushusa.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th May, 2017 at 10:48 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
New Fave Shower Product!

I was getting sick of going through shower gels and body washes, all packaged in plastic which in turn just kept adding to our waste being thrown away. It just seemed unnecessary and pointless! So I investigated Lush's soap range as a plastic-free alternative. Super impressed by what I found — Lush offers a great range of affordable soaps, so don't be put off by the fact that they also sell more pricey items. I also love the fact that when buying from Lush you're directly supporting a company that fights for animal rights, environmental awareness, and a whole host of other fantastic causes.

But onto the actual soap — Sultana of Soap is super lovely! The scent is very delicate and pretty, much less overwhelming than some of Lush's other products. It lathers nicely on the body and is super moisturising, my skin hasn't felt at all dry after using it. I've found that it lasts really well so far, been using it for about a week and have barely reduced the size of the bar at all. Will definitely be repurchasing.

Tips: Store the soap in a place where it can drain/dry easily — I keep mine in a dish on a shelf elevated out of the direct shower. This will help it to last much longer and prevent soap scum.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th December, 2016 at 7:46 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Short but Sweet

Last Christmas my partner spoiled me with a Lush gift box called Sugar Sugar. I Only just pulled it out a couple of weeks ago. I still have one soap left over from my Boxing Day Haul. My haul lasted me a year . I'm hoping to do the same this year.

This soap was different to all my other soaps I've purchased from Lush it seemed to be softer. My Soap was round with a pretty motive on the edges of it. Inside of it you can see grainy bits of Sultana running through it. Like all Lush soaps the smell of it is amazing in my shower. I thought I would smell fruits of Sultana but instead it's a strong floral with a mild zing of spice.

With application it glides on creamy . I had no big bits at all in my soap. This scent lingers on my body for hours after a shower. Unfortunately it discintergrated fast in my shower. It didn't last over a weeks use. This may be due to the wet condition it was sitting it. I like that it didn't leave any soap residue in my shower.

I'm a huge fan of Lush soaps. The quality of them is worth the price. I would repurchase this because I did enjoy the scent and consistency. I just wish it lasted a bit longer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I definately need to invest in a soap holder . I do love this soap.

That sucks that it didn't last long for you! I've also found that Lush products disintegrate much faster when kept in the wet.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th October, 2016 at 1:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sultana soap

So my latest buzz has been stocking up on the Lush range of soaps which I think are so irrestible, totally affordible and look great sitting in the soap dispenser. This one I was a little anxious to try as I havent used a product with Sultanas in it. I definitely was keen to give a go though.

The soap is a light pink colour with a generous mix of sultanas through the product. I love the creamy topping. when applied with water on skin it feels very creamy and soft, giving off a delicate velvty texture on to your body. The scent smells alot like apricots and berry. absolutely loved my soap.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
7th October, 2016 at 2:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Lush Creamy, Sweet, Moisture Infused SultanaofSoap

I have been into Lush soaps lately. I wanted to give this one a go since it's SLS-free and full of moisturizing natural ingredients. Scentwise, it's not my fave it doesn't smell like nougat to me but it does smell sweet. But what I do like is the natural moisturizing ingredients - rapeseed oil, coconut oil, glycerine and olibanum. I get a nice creamy lather from this, though of course I have to work it up a bit more than the Lush soaps with SLS. It does have added perfume so I would sort think it could smell nicer. Despite that it is one of the better lush soaps in my opinion for dry and sensitive skin which unfortunately I fall into that category. it has dried apricots, currants and cranberries in it which give it a nice nougat sort of look although the benefits of their presence in this soap doesn't go beyond being decorative and they tend the make the soap break up quickly and so you get left with just the base. They aren't fun to exfoliate with either. I think the soap would be better without them. Overall this is nice soap, but because of how quickly I went through the bar I'm on the fence about whether I'd get this again.

Tips: One of the better options for drier and sensitive skin. I would recommend lathering in your hand instead of rubbing it on your body as the dried fruit is a bit scratchy. This does work out to be a bit more expensive for a Lush soap since you loose a fair amount since the dried fruit will break up the top of the bar quickly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
30th March, 2016 at 10:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sultana of Soap

I have tried a few Lush soaps, and this one has certainly proved to be the most moisturising. I still used a moisturiser post shower, but it was so creamy and didn't leave a 'squeaky clean' feeling behind which was great. However, I felt I used it up more quickly than I have with other Lush soaps, and I had to keep it super dry when not using it, as it tended to lose its shape and become quite soft after just a couple of uses.

This is a soap that looks beautiful, and I also loved that the dried fruits provided an exfoliating effect for the first few uses. Nothing too sharp or abrasive, and the only downside was that they didn't last - after a few uses I was left with just the base of the soap. The smell was delicious and creamy, and I definitely picked up the bergamot scent along with a bit of spice. Despite being quite strong, it didn't linger heavily on my skin or overpower my senses like some luxurious scents tend to, and I enjoyed the scent just as much on my last use of the soap as I had on first smelling it. I think this would be a great one to try in the cooler months - the moisturising formula along with the creamy scent would be just the thing to brighten up a dark day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th March, 2016 at 4:26 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smells incredible

I have a 100gm chunk of this soap that I purchased in the lush boxing day sale for around $5. I'd added it in as a spur of the moment thing, The sultanas in it kind of put me off and I wasn't really sure what to expect but I also wanted to try something new.

This soap is a creamy off white colour and you can see all the chunks of sultanas, apricots and something that looks like macadamia nuts chopped up (but it is soft so I don't think it is nuts!) It's a sort of soft texture so while you use it up fast I feel, it does lather up really well.

I just use this for handsoap and I really love washing my hands with it. They are left feeling clean without getting dry and they are left smelling amazing. The scent is hard for me to describe but it is quite heavy. This says sweet like a candy shop but I don't get a super sweet scent. More like a slight fruity, bit of light musk and maybe slightly spicy? It's very unique to me anyway, I haven't smelled anything like this before!

I'm really glad I still have another soap from a giftbox I bought to use when this one is done. I would definitely repurchase at some stage as well, I'd even pay full price not just on sale!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
27th January, 2016 at 10:35 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Nice but messy

I use Lush soaps as hand soap as I prefer to use shower gels in the shower. I'd started to build up quite a collection of soaps from various Lush gift boxes so I decided to give up liquid hand soap in favour of solid soaps. The best thing about this has been that the persistent patch of dermatitis on my little finger is finally gone! (I also highly recommend Lush's Handygurugu hand cream for this too) The other bonus is that Lush soaps make the bathroom smell amazing!

This has a subtle scent compared to some Lush soaps and not really that fruity. The soap itself has sultanas embedded into the top of it. Now these are a real nuisance and really serve no purpose at all. They are plump so don't exfoliate at all and make a real mess in the basin. I have drains that block easily so I ended up picking the loose ones off before I had to pick them out of the drain.

This is also quite a soft soap so it needs to be away from moisture on a well draining soap dish (my search for the perfect soap dish is eternal!) Otherwise it will turn to mush. It also makes a mess of the soap dish.

Overall, this is pleasant but a bit messy to use as leaves my skin really smooth an not dried out like some soaps.

Tips: Lush are generous with samples and will also slice off a piece of soap as a sample for you to try

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
2nd November, 2015 at 10:43 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Soft, sweet/spicy sultana soap

I got this in a gift box from Lush (which I bought for myself, because why not!) which had a decent piece of this soap and a small Ro's Argan Body Conditioner in it for a very reasonable price of $14.95. It wasn't actually a soap I was particularly keen to try but all Lush is good Lush, so when my piece of Honey, I Washed the Kids ran out I popped this into my soap dish to give it a go.

Note: I only use soap in the shower to wash my hands, so this soap hasn't been used on anything other than my hands.

Sultana of Soap is way softer than pretty much any of the other Lush soaps I have tried. The huge looking piece has lasted less time than smaller, harder pieces of soap - something to consider if you're shopping on a budget.

The soap is a creamy 'vanilla' off white, with teeny dark flecks, which I'm assuming are the sultanas. Scent wise, it reminds me a lot of an item my Nana used to bake a lot: Eccles Cakes. In easier to understand terms, it's a sweet, slightly spiced scent that is warm, rich and pleasant. I really like the scent of this soap!

The lather is super creamy, and more hydrating than I was expecting. I don't really find that my hands dry out or feel tight after being cleaned with this soap - I do admittedly slather myself in lotion post shower, but until that point my hands are feeling nice regardless.

I would recommend this as a soap for people who aren't all about the super strong scents - it's one of the few I think my Mum would like :) My hesitation in giving this product 5 kisses comes in with the fact that it does melt/get used up really, really quickly.

Tips: Lush gift sets are a great way of trying out new Lush products - but as always if you can make it into a Lush store you can always ask them to slice off a few days worth of soap for you as a sample -they're amazingly generous in this way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th October, 2015 at 11:42 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worth the splurge

This is one of 2 lush soap that I buy even if its not on sale, saying that I only buy lush products during their 50% off boxing day sale, and even then only online because its ridiculous in the actual store, This soap is holy grail, its so creamy, and leaves my skin feeling so damn silky, (you will have fall out so watch the drain or get a drain catcher ) it smell like no other, its a very unique smell I cant find many other supermarket or cosmetics brands that offer a body wash that smells like this, its just so good. I feel so clean and silky afterwards.

Tips: Keep in a cool dry place

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
11th August, 2015 at 6:47 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Lush Sultana of Soap

I absolutely love Lush soaps and almost use them exclusively. I just change it up with different scents whenever I make an order and occasionally try the odd shower gel.

This one is different from the others for me because it's the first one I received as a gift, rather than picking it out myself.

To be perfectly honest, I'm not even that fond of sultanas and would never have thought of trying this out. Fortunately 'Sultana of Soap' is a bit of a misnomer. Yes it does contain dried fruit, but it doesn't smell like those dreaded boxes of raisins that we used to get at primary school as I feared.

The scent is amazing. It's intensely sweet and also exotically spicy thanks to the addition of frankincense.

Like other Lush soaps, it lathers up nicely and doesn't dry out or otherwise irritate my troublesome psoriasis-prone skin. They can melt a bit too quickly if you leave them wet and exposed in the shower, so I tend to chop off a small pieces to use and store it in a covered soap dish. I leave the "master blocks" of soap in my drawers to make my clothes smell good.

I'm really, really glad that a great friend gifted this to me. It will be joining my regular rotation of favourites.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This sounds like such a lovely soap! Lush is amazing.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Is 'Moisture' the Most Important Thing In Skin Care?

Is 'Moisture' the Most Important Thing In Skin Care?

YES, moist definitely! (geddit?)

view results

Review of the Day
scarlettraine
Extraordinary Clay Conditioner
Weightless and wonderful! I applied the conditioner to the lengths and ends of my hair after… more »