Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review
Overall rating from 248 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin leaving it light and fresh.

- Draws toxins & impurities from the skin

- Cleanses skin, leaving it soft & supple

- Clears clogged pores

Our masque is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of New Zealand. This masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin. With natural Rotorua mud, spirulina, apricot oil, aloe vera and jojoba oil. The effects of using Skinfood’s Mud Masque are visible even after the first use, skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and your skin feels incredibly soft.

HOW TO APPLY: Apply an even layer onto cleansed skin. Leave for 5-10 minutes until dry and wipe off with a warm, damp cloth. Avoid eye area.

Website www.skinfood.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th October, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Leaves my skin so soft!

I have been using this mask for a few years now and I love it! It goes on so easily and feels nice and tingly (in a good way) once dried I can see the little spots where it has removed the extra oil from the pores on my nose chin and forehead. Once removed my skin feels smooth and super clean and any spots I have appear less red and smaller and my skin has this extra glow to it for the next few days. A must have in my skincare routine!

Tips: Great to use the day before a big event to prep skin and have it looking its best

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
3rd October, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Disappointing

I snapped this up a while ago after I read all the amazing reviews here on BR, but sadly, this product is just not for me.

The packaging is a sleek and functional tube that keeps things from getting too messy, which is good since the masque itself is a thick beige mud-coloured cream. The idea of putting something containing actual mud on my face wasn’t appealing in the slightest, but fortunately this smells amazing – not at all like Rotorua mud! It has a slightly citrusy, fresh scent which is really pleasant.

It applies smoothly – you only need a thin layer, and sets relatively quickly. This is one of those masques which seriously sets to the point where if you smile it looks like it’s going to crack. 10 minutes is plenty time for it to dry. I do find this a bit difficult to rinse off, so I often use a damp cloth as that’s easier than just water by itself.

As far as the putting-on/pampering process goes, I really like this masque. However, when I rinse it off, I often find my skin is a little bit red and sensitive, and I don’t notice any difference in terms of reduced pore size or soft skin like it claims to produce. The redness does go away after a couple of hours, but I don’t like that it gets irritated like that, especially given that I haven’t noticed any actual benefits from using the masque!

This might suit people with more oily skin (mine is dry/combination). It is really inexpensive and easy to find at the supermarket, and the fact that it’s an NZ brand is even better. And obviously it works for heaps of people on here – just not me!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Sylvia
5th October, 2014

I was disappointed, especially since it's such a favourite on here! Just goes to show that skincare can have vastly different effects depending on the person, I guess. :)

Kellyleanne
3rd October, 2014

That is disappointing. I'm glad I didn't purchase this the other day now, as I have dry skin too. Will give this a miss! x

Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th September, 2014
0 members found this review useful
New Zealand's best kept secret!

Like a lot of people I love a good face mask and this one is right up there. I use this mask two to three times a week, it really heaps keep my pores tight and my skin clear.

It is made with New Zealand Rotorua mud and leaves my skin feeling lovely and smooth. I find that when using this product the redness in my checks aren't as noticeable. It is only around $13 nzd from Countdown so it is great value for money. Plus it is New Zealand made, I love finding great localy made products!

I have repurchased this product many times and brought it for family members. I would recommend it to anyone!

Tips: Once it has dried leave it on for a extra minute or two. I find it makes a big difference to the end result!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
21st September, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Mud for your face

I use the mud masque every week. It is very easy to apply. I put in on then put my feet up for twenty minutes. It washes off really easily, I usually stand under the shower and then leaves my face soft and refreshed. I like that it is a New Zealand product with natural ingredients. The price is pitched just right, not too expensive and easy to get in the supermarker.

Tips: Have a cup of tea whilst waiting for the masque to work.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th August, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Wee Gem !

Ive had this face mask for the past 6 months and decided to use it last night, it is a wee gem ! I randomly purchased it when I saw it on sale at countdown and hadn't heard anything about it before. I sure was lucky that this product is soooo good. It has a pleasant smell and a nice thick creamy consistency. It dries relatively fast and within minutes you will notice all the oil that is brought to the surface out of your pores. You know that the face mask is definitely working its magic when you see this. I leave it on until it completely dries and for maybe 15 minutes more to get all the oil out of my pores. After washing it off it leaves your skin feeling really clear and soft. This morning i woke up and touched my face and it felt like a baby's butt it was so soft. For such a affordable price this is a definite must have to use on your pamper nights, bonus that its a NZ product !

Tips: Wash your face first with warm water, then pat dry. Apply mask to face and spread it on evenly with fingers. Let it dry and after 15 minutes wash off with warm water again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
16th August, 2014
1 members found this review useful
A Must Have

I always have this in my cupboard and use it about once a month in winter and twice a month in summer. I love this product because it always leave my skin feeling 'detoxed' and smooth, however, it does not further dry out my already dry skin.

Tips: Apply coconut oil to your face afterward for extra smoothness!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Become a Skinfoodie!

This mud masque is life changing to say the least! I use this once a week (normally on a sunday night) to pamper my face after a long week. After cleansing with my fave cleanser I then apply this badboy all over my face (ending up looking like some creature out of a horror movie for sure!) I leave it on for 10 minutes. Then I wipe it off with a warm cloth. My skin is left feeling refreshed, clean and glowing. All of the gunk in my pores have been extracted and my face feels amazing. I recomend trying this, Its easy to pickup at most supermarkets too. It has healing properties in it from the rotorua mud that have healed up my acne and my scaring and redness seem to be reduced as well. Give this a go and become a #skinfoodie :) Trust me you will never look back!

Tips: Let it dry properly before removing it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.3/5
5th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Not for me

I bought this product after reading all the amazing reviews on here however, unfortunately this was not a beneficial product for my skin.

The good points of this product are that it applies well, it is easy to spread and it is a thick and creamy formula which I liked.

Unfortunately, I could not get past how much this product made my eyes sting. It started the moment I applied it and lasted until approximately half way through its drying time. My eyes were watering and I thought that maybe this is just something that I should put up with however after trying another mud masque product and not having to deal with this, it was a no brainer for me.

The other thing that stopped me from persevering with this product (I used on two occasions) was that I didn't notice any significant change.

Tips: Use an old foundation brush to apply the masque. This works really well as you are able to more easily spread it and you get a more even layer of product

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
1st August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Mud monster

I can't say that I've noticed any amazing results from using this product but I do like it. I have combination skin with a scattering of pimples and it hasn't seemed to make anything better or worse.

I love the texture of the masque itself and have great fun applying it - nearly feel like a kid again! I have quite sensitive eyes and notice that if I'm not careful about my application that my eyes sting. Personally I love the tight feeling when the masque dries but I know this isn't for everyone. Overall, I'd recommend it as a bit of at home luxury at a great price.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th July, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Smooth Skin

I love this mask. Everytime i use it, it makes my skin feel and look so much better for days on end. I would highly recommend it.

Its thick and creamy, easy to apply to your skin and very smooth to move and spread around your face. It doesn't smell like mud as some people would assume which makes it all that much nicer. Walking around home with a dark green face and then smelling like the pits wouldn't be ideal ;)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

WIN A TOP RATED OLAY PRODUCT!

Last month we sent out the Olay Collagen Peptide 24 Serum and Moisturiser to reveiwers - the results are in and it's safe to say we'll be sneaking these into our trolleys when we're next buying groceries!

We're giving two of them away - all you need to do is tell us which product you'd most like to win...how easy is that?!

CLICK HERE TO ENTER!