Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Maybelline Eye Studio Hyper Glossy Liquid Liner Review

Maybelline Eye Studio Hyper Glossy Liquid Liner Review
Overall rating from 14 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Maybelline Eye Studio Hyper Glossy Liquid Liner Review

Ultra-glossy formula + soft, flexible brush for a smudgeproof line! 
Dare to shine all day!

 

Website www.maybelline.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Maybelline Eye Studio Hyper Glossy Liquid Liner Review

Maybelline Eye Studio Hyper Glossy Liquid Liner Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th January, 2021
1 members found this review useful
Good Value Eyeliner

Bought this as l ran out of my favorite eye liner, l was worried that the brush would be hard to use due to cheap price of product. It really has a nice brush and it comes to a fine point and makes a nice line . It is a bit shinny but l use a setting translucent powder on my face to set my make up so this helps Would recommend this product, and its really as good as my expensive one

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
MareeB
22nd January, 2021

Interesting. I still haven't found one to rival the Za model.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
cheap but not a dissapointment

I tried this eyeliner a few months ago and I actually liked it. I was surprised at the brush. I thought it would be a hard brush but its actually really pliable. Easy glide on formula that remains smooth and doesn't clump. Hard to remove though. If you like a matte finish this is not your go to! It dries really glossy and remains glossy so actually a product that lives up to the "hype"

Tips: if looking for a matte finish apply a little translucent powder on top of if with a thin brush :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th April, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Best brush tip liquid liner

Love this! I've been looking for a good brush tip liquid liner for ages, I find these best for the flick/wing look I like but it seems so many companies are moving to pencil/smudgy or felt tip "easy-use" liners- I find those transfer and slide into places they don't belong and are too blunt to achieve a good flick.

This liner is perfect - stays put, no transferring once dry, the brush has the perfect thinness and flexibility for a great line and flick - apply with less pressure for a fine line and more for a thinker line. The colour is great, I find it is a true, bold black. I can't rate this highly enough and I REALLY hope maybelline keeps this in production!

Tips: I have hooded eyes and this still works well for me, just let the liner dry for a few seconds before opening your eyes wide open, and if you slip up or do get some transference while the product is wet, wipe away with a cotton bud with a tiny bit of concealor or liquid foundation on it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
11th November, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Glossy

I love this liquid eyeliner. I randomly picked it up one day when Farmers was having a buy 2 get 1 free sale. I think the regular price was around $17 or so which isn't bad.

It comes with a nice applicator - the brush is nice and thin and the handle of it is a good size and easy to hold. The formula is like a medium-consistency paint which makes it very good for application. Like most liquid eyeliners, it's not simple to apply but I think most people purchasing a liquid eyeliner understand that. I like to apply it from the middle of my lid out and then from the middle of my lid in which works well for me. Once I draw each line, I hold my eye open without blinking to let it dry for about 20 seconds or so. Be warned, if you make a mistake it's really hard to correct with this eyeliner so take your time.

The formula dries to a really nice glossy finish (hence the name) and is a true black. It can really make the eyes look dramatic and it's great for a night out. It does stay on forever and will not smudge even a tiny bit but that makes it really hard to get off. I find that coconut oil works the best but you'll still probably have to give it a good scrub to get it off when you're washing off your makeup.

For a non-luxury brand eyeliner this is a great product! I would purchase again without hesitancy.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
10th November, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Great but hard to apply

I like this liquid liner a lot for doing wings, although it's brush is a little unforgiving to beginners it does give a wonderfully crisp wing when done correctly. I don't particularly like how glossy it is (but I guess I shouldn't complain about that when the name is Hyper GLOSSY). It stays all day on me and doesn't smudge. I like this product a lot a side from how hard I find it is to apply personally.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
21st May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
I like it.

I really like this product, it stayed on well, didn't transfer to my brow bone etc.. Really good if you're like a glossier finish.

Tips: You can add a black shadow over top to mattify it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
7th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
A miss for hooded oily lids

I bought this product based on a recommendation from one of my lovely friends who has oily monolid eyes and this liner works wonders on her. I really wish I could say that it worked the same wonders on my oily hooded eyes but alas it was not meant to be. What is interesting is that she bought the exact same product from Thailand but when we compared our products we noted the brush on my one was longer and slightly thicker.

I bought mine from the Warehouse for S14.99 and it comes in a black ink bottle with pink print on the outside. The cardboard backing it comes with shows you how to use the product where it suggests you hold your lids taunt. I personally don’t like to hold my lids taunt but the skin near my lashline isn’t smooth and the thin smooth consistency of the product means it will show every bump if not done right.

The brush tip is probably the thinnest liner tip I’ve ever seen but as mentioned earlier when compared to the one from Thailand it’s slightly thicker. The tip picks up a good amount of product and the formula doesn’t bleed or pool at the corners of your eyes during the day. I apply my liner in small strokes and it goes on really well but I find that I do have to work fast or risk trying to move product that has already adhered to the skin. It initially appears glossy but the colour slightly dulls to a semi-gloss; it’s not my favourite look but it’s black liner and not many people looking at your eyes care about the “finish”.

I prime my lids but sometimes it’s just not enough. I let my liner sit for an extra minute or two to ensure it’s completely dry before committing to opening my eyes normally. Despite my extra efforts I found that within the hour there is some light transfer and from there on out the product begins to flake or break away and tends to transfer throughout the day.

I wish it was oil and transfer proof however I’ve found that if I do a much thinner liner where there is no contact with my hooded lids that there’s no transfer. My only issue with that is I naturally have big eyes and to have a thin black liner isn’t really flattering on me – it seems almost pointless. When the liner is thinner it doesn’t smudge; it last a good 4 hours before I notice a bit of flaking. I personally wouldn’t recommend this for those with hooded lids where the preference is for a thicker winged liner.

Tips: If I want to go with the thicker liner, I add black shadow over the liner (once it dries) to help stop it from transferring.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Great eyeliner, dark, glossy, last all night

I brought this because of shaaanxo ( I buy alot of products she recommends or raves about) Its pigmented, glossy, the applicator is so fine, it last all night, i tend to only wear this at night cause i perfer a matte eyeliner for daytime. I brought this overseas it only cost me about $6, I cant say i would buy this rrp in nz but if its ever on sale i would pick it up again.

Tips: If you dont like glossy eyeliner, dont get this, it really is super glossy. i thought it was just a fad "hyper glossy eyeliner" but no it is truly hyper glossy.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
amazing

i really like this eyeliner, its probably my holy grail. stays put and looks so good and glossy all day love it

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
26th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Great Eyeliner, Interesting Finish

After seeing this was Shaaanxo go to liquid liner for a while I had to pick this up. It wasn't to badly priced and is quite easy to find since it is stocked at Kmart and Farmers. Being a beginner with eye liner and only using one before this and being terrible at it I thought this would be a really bad investment but it was he opposite! I finally was able to do a wing liner without mucking it up!

It's in nice black packaging with metallic pink typography which is a nice touch. It has an easy to use applicator because the lid is quite long and easy to hold because of it. From what I've gathered I think the brush applicator is a long thin brush which is easy to use and creates a nice buildable line.

The formula is nice and smooth and doesn't clump or anything. It's not runny or anything though and is easy to work with. It does dry glossy though and not matte so it lives up to the name 'hyperglossy'. I really like the finish of it though if you haven't done much with your eye make up and it just adds a little bit more to your eye make up. It also doesn't smudge very easy and lasts all day. It can be a little hard to remove though so It's a good idea to hold a cotton pad with make up remover on your eye for a bit longer than you would.

For the price and the results I would definitely repurchase as it's my favourite eye liner at the moment.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.