Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug

Dr Lewinns Facial Polishing Gel Review

Dr Lewinns Facial Polishing Gel Review
Overall rating from 32 reviews so far:
4.6/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Description

  • Provides gentle, yet very effective exfoliation action to the skin's
    surface.
  • Produces excellent polishing effect.
  • Removes oil from the skin's surface.
  • Helps clean out skin pores.
  • Oil free.
  • Great pre-shaver for men.
  • Suitable for women and men of all ages.

For
- Normal or Dry skin use once a week.
- Combination or Oily skin use 3 – 4 times a week.

Pack Size 150g

Avalilability Selected pharmacies, online

Website www.drlewinns.co.nz



RRP: $45.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Dr Lewinns Facial Polishing Gel Review

Dr Lewinns Facial Polishing Gel Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
11th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Gentle but effective!

I love exfoliators - does anything make you feel as fresh than giving your skin a good scrub?!

I've always been impressed with Dr Lewinn's products, so I was excited to try this, and wasn't disappointed.

The gel is quite fluid, I found I continually ended up with more product than I needed due to the upside down tube. In the shower it meant quite a bit of wasted product as it just fell through my hands. A smaller opening would have been better perhaps?

Anyhoo, excess product aside, the polishing gel was quite lovely to use. The 'scrubby' bits were small and gentle, but you could feel them working. You can't really over-scrub with this, you can apply a lot of pressure and it doesn't feel too abrasive.

The scent is gorgeous, it's slightly floral, but not overly and it gives me major deja vu, but I can't place it!! Everytime I use it I think 'what is that smell?' and the mystery has yet to be solved!

I found the scrub really brilliant for my oily chin and nose crevices, they were left clean and didn't feel over stripped. Equally my dry cheeks and forehead felt flake-free but not over dry. Winning.

All up, I really, really, really like this scrub, the only reason I've marked it down, is the packaging results in a product loss and mess. Nonetheless this is a great scrub and one i would happily recommend.

Tips: Be conscious of the packaging and use sparingly.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Nice, but not a standout product

My first though when I opened the courier bag was that the packaging was the typical sophisticated, lovely looking packaging I've come to expect of Dr. Lewinns products. The bottle itself is quite pretty, and I like that it is see through, so you can see how much product you have left. The first time I used it, my immediate thought was that the scent wasn't really my thing - I don't hate it, but it's not a smell I would go out of my way to be around. As far as the feel of the product, it's a lovely gentle wash with a slight exfoliation to it. If you are the kind of person who wants a heavy duty in depth exfoliation, this is probably not the one for you. But this would be great for people with acne, or redness, as it wouldn't aggravate those conditions. The first time I used it I actually found my skin felt a little dry and tight the day after I used it, but on subsequent uses I didn't get that feeling, so I'm not sure what was going on there. I used it twice a week, as I have some dryness and redness and didn't want to overdo it. Overall, I think it's a nice product, I don't think I would pay that price for it, but I would use it again if I was given it xx

Tips: You only need a really small amount xx

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Pampering and Productive.

Received this as a trial product from BR. I have combination/oily skin, so used this product every second day. Recommended for use in the shower in the morning, I used this in the shower in the evening.

Upon using this for the first time, the scent was beautiful. Not overpowering but very suttle and calming. The wax beads were a nice texture for exfoliating. Not harsh in any way, when massaging in circular movements, I focused particularly on my T zone and nasal area(where I am most prone for blackheads.)

End result: Using this product felt like I was pampering myself. My skin felt gently cleansed and cared for. I also noticed a visible reduction in the black heads on my nose which I was really impressed with.

Tips: A 20cent coin size amount is plenty for use on the face and neck area.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th August, 2017
1 members found this review useful
absolutely perfect

I am completely obsessed with exfoliators, I have dry skin and there is something rather satisfying scrubbing away flaky dry skin, so I was absolutely delighted to trial this facial polishing gel. (thanks, so much BR)

The packaging is perfect, it comes in a 150g clear squeeze tube and it sits on a flip top lid. The product itself has a very thin and runny consistency so you don’t need to squeeze the tube much at all to get the product out.

I splash a bit of water around my face, squeeze out a 10-cent size amount and gently massage the gel over my face. At this point I realise why it says to use it in the shower being such a thin consistency it does get a bit messy however, it makes it so easy to massage around, something I can easily do for 30-60 seconds. I love the scent, it’s kind of floral I’m guessing it’s the camomile but it’s not the usual camomile scent I’m used to. The polishing beads are a very fine white jojoba bead, they are so gentle yet very effective.

When I wash the polish off my face I notice my skin feels silky soft and clean but doesn’t feel tight or stripped. It looks healthy and refreshed.

I have been using this every second night- even though it says to use it once a week for dry skin, I can’t help myself! It leaves my face super soft and since the beads are so fine and gentle It hasn’t harmed my skin.

Even though this is a slightly dearer product I would happily repurchase it as it does leave my skin feeling fabulous and a little bit does go a long way so it should last a long time, I also love how this is suitable for dry, oily and combination skin. Highly recommended to everyone!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
MareeB
11th October, 2018

I loved it more the longer I used it. I have a tiny bit left that I'm trying to spin out. I'll really miss it!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th August, 2017
1 members found this review useful
Left my face feeling clean and soft

Bit runny - when I opened the lid I was holding it upside down and, squeezed gently into my palm and ended up wth almost a handful!

But thats pretty much where the negative side ends.

This smells yummy - kinda like my summer smoothies made with mango lol.

It left my face feeling clean and soft, not greasy or dry like others do and it didnt make my skin break out ... bonus ☺

I really liked it. Will definitely keep using it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
5th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Nice but not for that price

This face wash is nice, don't get me wrong. But I 100% would not be spending $55 on it.

I love the simple packaging, a clear tube with simple black and silver writing on it. The product comes out really easily and I find I need about a 10 cent piece sized amount to lather over my face.

The smell is very chamomiley which I find really soothing and relaxing. It's not too over powering which is perfect for me.

It is a super gentle exfoliator which my skin loves. The beads in it aren't harsh at all but still give you a good scrub to get rid of any dirt or leftover makeup. I just use my fingers in a circular motion over and over for about a minute and this seems to do the trick.

Because I have super sensitive and dry skin, I only used this a couple of times as was directed. In this time I didn't see any huge changes, but in some ways that is a good thing cause if my skin doesn't like a wash, it will tell me straight away by either drying out or breaking out. Because of this, I would say it's pretty good and I do like it, but it is nothing mind blowing.

Love the gentleness of it, love the smell, my skin does feel nice after use...but not $55 nice.

(And I didn't notice any 'polishing' effect)

Tips: Use in the shower so it is easy to rinse off all the tiny beads.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Dr Lewinns Facial Polishing Gel

With combination skin that easily gets congested, using an exfoliating cleanser makes an immense difference to my skin and well, a good exfoliant makes the world of difference. So I was very excited when I was asked to trial the Dr. LeWinn’s Facial Polishing Gel. Product Description For normal/dry skin use once a week. For combination/oily skin use three to four time a week. Gently exfoliates the skin without the use of abrasive exfoliates commonly contained in other scrubs. With natural jojoba beads, the gel gently melts away flaky skin. Dr LeWinn's Facial Polishing Gel actually polishes the skin and removes the oil layer from the skin surface. Intial Thoughts The Facial Polishing Gel comes in a handy tube, with a flip lid, and it is designed to stand on its lid, which makes it easy to use every single bit of scrub in the tube. It has a frosted white colour, which also makes it easy to see how much is left of the yellow scrub. The tube comes in a matte white box with grey sides, and full instructions as well as ingredients of the contents of the Polishing Gel. The Polishing Gel, which has a pretty pale yellow colour, has a pleasant and gentle floral-vanilla scent, which however is so subtle, and once rinsed off the face, this scent more or less completely disappears. Some of the key ingredients in the scrub are jojoba esters (wax beads), which has the purpose of exfoliating and moisturising the skin. It also contains algae extract which has toning and firming benefits, as well as Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, which is soothing and moisturising. Another key ingredient is Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, with its calming and soothing benefits, and finally Rosemarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract with Toning, Firming & Stimulating effect. According to the on both the tube and on the box, it is recommended to use once a week for normal to dry skin, or three to four times for combination to oily skin. In other words, this scrub is suitable for all skin types, and is certainly gentle enough to use on dry and sensitive skin as well.

Tips: The actual scrub has a very soft texture of a thin cream and has it has little wax beads through it, which are not too gritty to damage your face but rather very gentle are perfect in removing all of the dead skin cells on your face. The scrub is very concentrated, so you only need a little. It is easy to rub into your damp skin, and afterwards, it is also very easy to wash off again with water. The jojoba beads are so gentle and give my skin an overall even feel and smooth texture to it without even really feeling like I've exfoliated. That's because they are so fine it almost feels like it is not exfoliating at all while you are doing the 'scrub', but the feel and look of the skin afterwards tells another story. After use, my skin feels beautiful in texture and smooth to the touch. It is soft and feels moisturised (although I still feel the need to moisturise afterwards), unlike other exfoliators that seem to dry out the skin. My skin is simply left looking glowing and radiant. I really love a scrub with chemical ‘scrubbers’ such as glycolic acid, but nothing beats using a scrub with physical scrubbing beads from time to time! After having used the Polishing Gel a few times this week, my skin seems softer, more glowing, and breakouts seems to have reduced. So all in all, this is a fantastic scrub, which has great impact on the health of my skin, so I will definitely look into purchasing this again when I run out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Gentle but very effective exfoliation

I love Dr Lewinns products so I had high expectations for this facial "polish". I am pleased to say that my expectations were exceeded. Coming in a flip top tube I found my only gripe was that I had to be very gentle or I ended up with way too much product. It has a gentle fragrance that is neither stunning nor horrible but gives an impression of "clean". It feels quite smooth and silky to touch as the jojoba wax beads are very small and soft feeling. I used it in the shower and found it easy to apply and wash off. While using it for the first time you may doubt its effectiveness as it seems illogical that this lotion could be exfoliating anything as it feels so soft on the skin - I definitely did. But when you wash it off and dry your skin if you are like me it will feel soft and smooth. I used it 3 times in the first week I had it but could have got away with once or twice on my drier skin. I would use this again as part of my regular regime.

Tips: A little goes a long way

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Dr Lewinns Facial Polishing Gel

Gorgeous, effective product.

Simple, clean lines packaging - very modern and fresh.

Product is quite thin and only a very little needed. Glides on well on a damp face, gentle yet effective.

My skin is a little more on the dry side as I'm aging so only used once a week, and that was enough. Didn't dry my skin out like other exfoliants are prone to but certainly felt like it had done a good job of exfoliating.

Subtle light fragrance, not overpowering. Did not sting my sensitive eyes like other products invariably do in coming anywhere close to the area.

Price point high for many consumers but a little goes a long way with this product and it comes in a generous tube size.

Great product!

Tips: Dampen face before application for a smooth experience. Don't squeeze the tube too hard, you only need a small amount!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Polished

Over the years I hav tried so many different face scrubs with all ending in fails, my skin has always been bad. that's the only nice word I can use, I had given up on ever clearing my face up and saw this trial i had read other reviews on this product and felt like another leap of faith to hopefully find something that works. woo hoo made the trial and product arrived. Day 1 of my trial for Dr LeWinn's Facial Polishing Gel I am very skeptical as absolutely nothing has worked in the past for me so I read the label an it says best under running water, but good old me in a hurry decides to just run a lil sink full of water as I hav to get ready for work but am way 2 keen to start my testing of this yummy smelling face polish. let's put this beauty to the test. well it feels good as it's rubbed over my face, its not to rough with the texture of the product and I wash it off racing off to get ready for work. as I'm moisturizing my face there is still some of the face polish sneakily remaining on my face. this would be the reasoning for running water peeps, so off to rinse round 2 and finish off with a wet flannel. bingo definitely all done this time. hav double and triple checked. now pat dry an off to get ready. man on 1st use my skin feels so soft only time will tell.

Day 2 Early morning face wash b4 getting ready and I'm loving the feel of my skin after using this product. on only the 2nd day my skin definitely feels softer an cleaner this time one did as the label recommend an used the running water hehe. Day 3 Wow my skin is actually starting to look good. ha I didn't actually think this would happen like with other products in the past, but this one is doing some amazing things. Days 4 an 5 I hav to say the difference in my skins appearance is choice, i am a very happy trial member an so thankful that I was one of the selected few that got the chance to try this product. i absolutely give this a huge 10 out of 10.

Tips: I would hav to say definitely use with running water just when you think you hav it all washed off there is a sneaky little bit left behind :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.