Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Maybelline Matte Maker Powder Review

Maybelline Matte Maker Powder Review
Overall rating from 19 reviews so far:
4.3/5
Would use it again?
4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.1/5

Maybelline Matte Maker Mattifying Powder Shine – meet your Matte Maker! Flawless looking coverage. Matte Finish.

Our new powder with millions of powerful mattifying particles helps to try and keep your shine at bay, all day. Available in 4 shades 01 Classic Ivory, 20 Nude Beige, 30 Natural Beige, 50 Sun Beige.

Website http://www.maybelline.co.uk

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Maybelline Matte Maker Powder Review

Maybelline Matte Maker Powder Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.3/5
6th October, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Good, but not great

This product is great if you're on a budget! I bought it to keep in my bag for touching up during the day as I have oily skin so get shiny very quick and didn't want a super pricey product just for work days. This product definitely does what it says it does on application - mattifies and reduces shine which is why I rated the way I did. For me it lost marks though because within the hour my skin was shiny - not all day coverage! Not that I was expecting it at that price. So no I wouldn't repurchase but I do have very oily skin so I would probably recommend it for a friend to try.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th May, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Good inexpensive powder

I really like this for an inexpensive powder, it does what it says, and it keeps me matte long enough that I'm going to be wearing makeup. I mostly use it where I'm going to be applying my blush and bronzer. I also don't need to use a huge amount. I'd definitely recommend it though.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
17th February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Affordable, long wearing

I purchased this as I had heard good things and was tired of matte powders not being able to get the oiliness at bay during summer. This has done the trick! The packaging is really simple; a simple clear plastic lid that screws onto the compact. The packaging is quite annoying, the lid is screwed on really tight and when I first got this it took me days before I could unscrew it and I thought I'd never even get to use it, as this screws on very tights and its hard to grip to undo. Even now, it can be hard at times to unscrew, especially when you're doing makeup and often have greasy hands. I own the palest shade in this. It surprisingly provides quite full coverage and has a sort of blurring effect and definitely makes my skin look better. This is VERY matte which I love and this keeps my foundation in place and matte all day. A little bit of shine sometimes slips through on hot days, so a quick touch up is needed, but it's usually fine without. This layers well on top of itself so its easy to build more coverage. However, being matte it does cling to the hairs on your face, so it can emphasize any hairs above your lip a lot. I did find this really neutralized any colour in my face and washed it out a bit, so be sure to use blush and bronzer with this (I do anyway whenever I'm using face powder so this wasn't an issue for me, but would be if you wanted a more natural base look). This was super affordable and is ridiculously mattifying, I reccommend it for anyone with oily skin. It is quite drying, so this isn't for you if you want a matte look, but have a drier skin type. This is pretty great, my only downsides are the awkward packaging and how the colour is a bit too neutralizing, but its worth it for how good this is at mattifying for a drug store product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th August, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Maybelline matte making setting powder foundation

Reminds me of the fit me powders. Very good at what it does. These days I don't really need powder but when I did this was really good but 8 had to be careful because if I applied too much i would look too pale. So when you use make sure you follow through with blush contour and or highlight. I didn't notice much if an oxidizing but this would obviously depend on what you are using under it and your skin chemistry. I don't recall there being a mirror in the packaging which would be an improvement though it's fairly sturdy like other reviewers have said. I'm sure this has talc in it so it's not going to do you any favours as far as preventing acne it might actually block your pores but its a decent setting powder and proved nice coverage - it isn't translucent. Just be careful because if you get oily over and over and keep layering up powder it will get cakey. Affordable price and does the job

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
I need to repurchase this!

I found this on clearance years ago in Farmers and didn't really know what I was buying (those newbie days haha).

I applied this over my foundation as a finishing powder and really loved it! It soon became a product that I used daily!

It applies really smoothly and mattifies the face without making you feel heavy and cakey. I found it was easy enough to throw in my bag with a brush to use on the go, the packaging was quite robust!

I literally used this until I couldn't get anything else out of the pan, and now seeing it on here, reminds me I really need to repurchase this product!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th February, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Basic

If you like the matte look then this product might be suited for you. I like the matte finish because I finish if I have a shiny finish people suggest that my face looks very oily and that’s not the impression I was to give off. I was excited to try this product. It’s does what it says it does but nothing extra. It didn’t impress me. It’s a good setting powder to have in your collection for the price.

Tips: Use a good buffering brush otherwise the powder won’t last all day

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th November, 2017
2 members found this review useful
God, is that you?

This stuff is literally a life saver, sent from above! I have finished my multiple flirtations with numerous other powders and I have found the one my soul loves. 1. The case is sturdy plastic, screw-on lid that promises no breakage or dismantling in your makeup bag. 2. This stuff is MATTE. I’m an oil slick. If I say this stuff works, IT WORKS. 3. No oxidation. 4. Has decent coverage without looking cakey or changing foundation colour. 5. Full price= under $20 NZD from Farmers. 6. Very smooth velvet finish, I have pimples, pores, wrinkles starting to form and small bumps...this powder does NOT emphasise. Obviously it does not magically make every lthing disappear, but second best eh? 7. No smell.

Defo found my new holy grail. RIP ME.

Tips: Paired with maybelline ‘fit me’ concealor and foundee it works a treat. Every day will be a good makeup day :-)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th August, 2016
3 members found this review useful
Matte Me

After trying Rimmel Stay Matte and really disliking the flimsy packaging, I bought Maybelline Matte Maker powder in shade #30 (Natural Beige) when I ran out of the Rimmel one and it hasn't disappointed!

Even though it's a pretty cheap, affordable powder compact don't be fooled by the simple looking packaging. The clear plastic screw top lid has a sleek black border that still allows you to see the colour of the compact underneath and it's pretty sturdy; I've dropped it once or twice with no cracking and the screw top lid stays on.

Personally, I prefer loose powders over compacts but I've been battling to find loose powders that are easily available from pharmacy's or departments stores that are specifically targeted at oily skin.

When applied with my Real Techniques Buffing Brush, Maybelline Matte Maker powder seems to almost blur any large pores around my nose and it also helps to even out my patchy complexion even more (over BB cream or a light to medium foundation) and has a really nice, matte finish without looking cakey or patchy and it does keep my skin looking shine-free for a few hours before the oil starts to seep through.

Would I recommend it or purchase it again? Yes, definitely, although I have bought another brand that I haven't yet tried (Australis Fresh & Flawless) and depending on how that goes, I might revert back to this one!

Tips: Try using it with a Real Techniques Buffing Brush and buff it into your BB cream or foundation

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
21st July, 2016
1 members found this review useful
Matte Maker~

I brought this because I needed a cheap powder. The packaging is really simple and would be good if the compact came with a mirror but we can't all be perfect. ;) The powder is alright I use it to set my BB cream and it does what it says..."keeps the shine at bay" However if my skin is too dry it does cling to those patches but that's just my skin not really the product. To avoid dry spots clinging I just make sure to moisturize my face before applying my makeup and I also only use a little bit of the powder to take the shine off my face after applying BB cream.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
A good pressed powder

I bought this because I needed a pressed powder in a shade that matched me when I was fake tanned and this worked well. It's not the best powder I've used but it definitely does the job, I like how it comes in more yellow tones shades and it's not overly powdery. Although this is the only powder I've found that has made me more oily during the day if I wear it for more than a few hours; it's nothing too bad though. Also I'm not too fond of the packaging, it's quite similar to the rimmel stay matte powders and I would prefer it if it were in a compact with a mirror.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

Reviewers Needed for the Garnier Perfecting Care BB Cream!

It's BB Week here at Beauty Review!

We'll be putting the new Perfecting Care range from Garnier to the test - which means we'll be sending it out to members just like you! FOR FREE!

Whether you want a BB Cream with high SPF or one designed to keep oily skin matte...we've got you covered!

Check out the Trial Teams by clicking below!

Put Your Hand Up Here!