Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review
Overall rating from 25 reviews so far:
5.0/5
Would use it again?
5.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.9/5

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder A wardrobe of six universal finishing powders that recreate the most exquisitely flattering light—from ethereal moonlight to luminous candlelight. Each powder captures, diffuses and softens surrounding light with groundbreaking photoluminescent technology. Available in 6 shades.

• Powders mimic six universally flattering light sources, from morning light to candlelight, allowing clients to build a wardrobe of options—not unlike having a personal lighting technician at your disposal.
• By manipulating and filtering out harsh light, powders conceal skin imperfections, pores and wrinkles.
• State-of-the-art formula delivers a multi-dimensional luminescence to every skin tone, making it appear softer, younger and perfectly lit.
• Universal powders make them suitable for every skin tone, while each can be worn day and night.
• The finishing powders enhance skin in any type of light, including flash photography.

Availability Selected Online Retailers

Website http://www.hourglasscosmetics.com/



RRP: $83.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
So good

I’ve bought it just before the price went up an extra $10 dollars, so now this powder costs $83 at mecca.

It’s worth the money, even though it’s basically undetectable on the skin, it doesn’t even make sense!

I have diffused light which is yellow coloured, it doesn’t show up on the skin, no matter how much I use. I didn’t notice it would counteract any redness really, but makes my skin look really smooth and blurred out, just what I’m after. It doesn’t sit in my fine lines and also doesn’t bring out any dry skin areas to show and that’s always a plus. Makes me look so fresh and glowing, but matte at the same time.

This powder is very very finely milled, sometimes I use it on top of my setting powder and sometimes I use it instead, it works both ways for me. However this is actually a finishing powder, which means this goes on top of makeup after you set it with a setting powder, some people get confused. Finishing powder isn’t the exact same as a setting powder.

I love the luxe packaging, but for this price I kinda expect it too, to be honest. This is 10 grams in the full size, so it will last for ages no doubt. Pricewise it’s really not worth it to get the travel size, as that’s about half price for 1.3 grams.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Use it daily for that extra GLOW!

I was really on the fence about forking out for this product, I had just purchased the bronzer and really loved it and had a friend rave about this one too, so I went out on a limb and brought Luminous Light off the Mecca website.

Hourglass has beautiful packaging, I don't think anyone can deny that—although, I get a little frustrated with getting fingerprints all over it. However, the packaging stacks up it's beautiful and it is hard wearing too (could easily be thrown into your handbag).

The product lasts what feels like forever! I purchased this about 10 – 12 months ago and I use it daily... It looks like I haven't even touched it! It provides a gorgeous glow all over the face and can be built up to a subtle highlighter if that's what you're after too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Flawless finish

I use this as a finishing powder although it can be used as a highlighter. It is perfect for a natural glow, I use Luminous Light which helps finish off my make up look. It is very easy to apply and creates an almost soft focus effect, totally worth the cost.

Tips: Can be used either all over your face or to highlight high points on the face.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th December, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Nothing Dim About Dim Light

As a beauty lover I have long heard about Hourglass and their beautiful Ambient Lighting powders, how they were raved about as "holy grail" products you had to have. I was always turned off by the price tag and how they were less available than other brands I frequent so I couldn't have a looksee in person to see if they were worth it so I gave it a miss.

Recently this changed however when Mecca Maxima opened up locally for me and I was able to go and have a nosey myself. I was in need of a new setting powder, I was completely out, and asked one of the friendly staff if they had any recommendations for such and she recommended Hourglass Cosmetics Dim Light. I had always assumed this was a highlighter so was suprised to learn that it worked well as a setting powder (she was wearing it herself) and that it was made to suit all skin tones. I was a bit dubious about that as in the pan it looks like a pale powder but convinced otherwise by her testimony thought I would give it a go.

If you haven't used Hourglass' powders before they have the most beautiful packaging, reflective chocolate casing which is quite sturdy so good for the handbag.

The powder itself is finely milled and comes off not so much translucent but fair, but when applied to skin it's colourless. I have combination skin which has been oily but is currently very dry and it sets my makeup beautifully while giving off the slightest glow, my skin but better.

I now have this in both the solo powder for my handbag and also now the palette, more on that later! I highly recommend if you're after a fantastic non-hue-specific pressed powder to give this one a go.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Emily-jane
7th January, 2019

Great review it sounds lovely and I didn't realise you could use this as a setting powder.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th November, 2018
0 members found this review useful
I've tried two shades...

I got these in shades Dim Light and Diffused light. Dim Light left a stunning smooth finish to the skin however on me the colour would show up. I am quite pale (Mac NC15, Sheer glow Gobi, Revlon colourstay Buff, Estee Lauder double wear in bone.) so could use this as a subtle bronzer/contour powder but not all over. Diffused Light, was more up my alley as a finishing powder and it does really do a great job at diffusing fines lines and making them less noticeable, it has a slight sparkle in the pan that doesn't not visibly transfer to the skin but just helps to reflect the light a little.

Tips: Love it but not a must have

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Glowing greatness

This was recommended to me instead of a highlighter while talking to one of the assistants in Mecca (for a subtle glow). When I tried it I was initially disappointed as it was not as glowy as I wanted but then I realised it’s more of a setting powder. I have oily combo skin and normally only want glow on my cheeks not everywhere else but after applying this OMG!!!! This was just beautiful, so beautiful I went out and bought it in another shade for the more tanned time of year. I have used this so much that I’ve had to replace it after 3 months but believe that one compact will usually last at least 6 months (I went crazy with mine and put it on my body too). Mecca also stock smaller sizes for around $35 so you can try one of them before you splash out on the larger size as it’s not cheap at $60 (ish). This is my favourite product in my collection and can’t wait to try more products by this brand.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Holy grail powder for me- Ethereal light

I’ve been a massive fan of hourglass for ages now but this powder is the star of the show for me. It gives me a soft glow without sparkle or glitter and also helps to blur my many imperfections-haha! The powder is extremely finely milled- if not a smidge delicate, so be careful when traveling with this one. I use this most of the time as my setting powder although is really best suited as a finishing powder as is not as effective when it’s mid summer or to give me all day longevity of my makeup. Will forever repurchase this one.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
29th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Pretty

its gives your skin a beautiful glow from within look and does not cling to any dry patches, I would probably not purchase again as the price seems too high in my opinion for something that does not really show up well but i will continue to use it.

Tips: buy the mini version it is much more worth it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd December, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Hourglass Airbrushing Pore Blurring Ambient Powder

This is one of the best powders you can buy! It's expensive but so worth it. It blurs pores, makes my skin look smooth and radiant, doesn't emphasize fine lines and feels so light on my skin. I don't have a full-sized powder but I have three of the powders in Dim Light, Diffused Light and Radiant light.

Dim Light - a neutral peach beige powder that blurs imperfections and highlights a radiant complexion with the perfect balance of warm and cool tones. Diffused Light - a soft, warm, pale yellow powder that conceals redness and gives skin clarity—like a soft ray of morning light. Radiant Light - a sun-kissed golden beige that enhances overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth, and also extends a summer glow.

I really like using either Dim or Diffused Light all over my face to sort of set my makeup and then I like to use Radiant Light lightly all over to give a bit of a bronzed glow but then I like to use it as a very subtle bronzer and I have done a touch of contouring with it as well. As far as as setting powder goes it doesn't give a matte finish it gives a subtle glow. I really don't see a huge difference between the effects I get from using Dim or Diffused Light to set my makeup but Radiant Light is like a bronzer for me. I can also use this to set under my eyes and it doesn't make my under eye concealer crease. I only have a few grams of each of these powders but they have lasted me a long time and they're my most reached for setting powder. The only drawback I can think off besides being expensive is if you want your makeup to look shine free all day this won't stop your face from getting shiny or needing a touch up. But still I would definitely repurchase these, especially Radiant Light.

Tips: I still use it even when I have oily skin because it still blurs pores and imperfections but if you are after a matte look this probably won't be the powder for you. This is designed as a finishing powder so it can be used to set make and it will work for a few hours but the way this is intended to be used is actually to be buffed over a matte setting powder. That way your makeup stays locked in place for much longer and your get the airbrushing effects from using this powder. Radiant Light can double as a very light bronzer.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Bronzer?

I love to use this powder as a bronzer! I find its such a great tone for my skin colour, and provides a nice bronzed look without being too orange or too dark. It blends out so well and I never seem to have any harsh lines.

Tips: A big fluffy brush and don't be too precise, just mimic the 3 on the side of your face and it looks flawless.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No