Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review
Overall rating from 30 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.7/5

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Give the gift of light in this limited edition palette featuring three shades of Ambient Lighting Powder, the high-tech, soft-focus finishing powder that features state-of-the-art technology to recreate the most exquisitely flattering types of light. Includes one new limited edition shade, Incandescent Light, and two existing, Dim Light and Radiant Light.

Dim Light A neutral peach beige powder that blurs imperfections and highlights a radiant complexion with the perfect balance of warm and cool tones.

Radiant Light A sun-kissed golden beige that enhances the overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth, and also extends a summer glow.

Limited Edition Incadescent Light A pearlescent powder that highlights the cheekbones and brightens the complexion with a celestial glow.

Availability Mecca Cosmetica and Online

Website http://www.hourglasscosmetics.com/lighting-powder



RRP: $89.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
One of my staples

I couldn't tell you how many reviews I read on this, how many times I looked at it online or how many times I looked at it in store until one day I FINALLY bit the bullet and bought it and I haven't had a single regret since! I absolutely adore this and think it was well worth the money. I have used the bronzer shade more than any of the others but still do adore the other two. They all offer a beautiful glow, like a glow from within rather than a shine, it's just gorgeous! The Incandescent Light is just beautiful and can be used in so many different ways, it's stunning as an inner corner highlight as well she a normal highlight, but my favorite way of using it is to mix it with my blush (on the same brush), it gives off such a stunning glow!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th April, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Beautiful But Not Perfect

I have struggled with my review for this product slightly because my feelings on this product have been a bit of a toss up.

I was keen to try this because of the hype and I was struggling to find highlighter and bronzer shades I liked. But it is expensive.

Finally I got one and couldn't wait to try it. I eagerly contoured my face and it felt a bit lackluster. I was expecting something more.

However the powders felt beautiful and the shades while not packing the punch I expected did seem to flatter my skin more than several brands I tried. So I kept at it and eventually found ways that worked best for me. And perhaps had also learned by this point that less could be more.

One trick I learned that I really like is mixing them together, this can create a whole new shade and can also be used as a face powder with a bit of glow.

What I love most about this product is how finely milled it is. None of my cheaper highlighter can compete with that. And it does last, which given the price is a relief. It's also in a nice compact, which I am a fan of.

All in all, I think I let the hype initially make me expect too much from this product. But it is quality.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
MAGPIEFI
23rd July, 2018

Great review I've been debating it

Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Effortlessly Blurs Pores, Fine Lines + Adds Glow!

This is one of my favorite products and palettes in my makeup collection. It's one of my most reached for palettes and I use it when I'm in a hurry to get out the door because it's so easy to apply and get a beautiful, glow and that blurs pores, doesn't look cakey or settle into fine lines. Plus the powder in the middle, Incandescent Light can be used a very subtle glow highlight and the powder on left Radiant Light gives a subtle all over bronzed glow that can be used as bronzer. The from the first time I tried this out in store it was love. The powders feel really light on the skin and the look I get from applying this is almost airbrushed. I honest was skeptical because my very pale skin friend used this and because the powders look very light and swatch very light and her face looked very subtly contoured, I wasn't sure I would get the same results using this on my NC25 skin. But I did, I got the same results and that subtle contour, glowy skin and it blurred my pores, didn't settle into or emphasize my fine lines. And I got that without and any need to really blend it in it which is why I reach for this when I'm in hurry because I don't need to be too precise with my application or worry about how much my brush picks up since it all blends so effortless and easily you can't really tell where my highlight starts and my bronzer begins. It's unlikely you can over apply this by accident another reason I use this to finish off my base when I'm in a hurry. This isn't a cheap palette but I use it so much almost $100 at the time of this review but the powder is so finely milled the compact is well made and sturdy so I feel like I'm definitely getting a quality product for my hard saved cash. Even though the pans only have 3.3g of powder I have gotten a lot of use out of it and when I hit pan eventually I will be investing in another one to replace it. I think this would be a fantastic staple in anyone's makeup collection.

Tips: Excellent if you love like a radiant look that blurs the appearance of pores and all over subtle bronzed healthy glow. It actually takes effort and digging into the product to over apply it and effortless to get right on the first application as the powder blends seamlessly. I use Dim Light (right pan) to set my foundation all over, Radiant Light (left pan) for an all over bronzed glow and for really subtle light bronzer under my cheek bones and sides of my forehead and lastly, Incadescent Light (middle) for a very subtle highlight glow on my cheekbones, bridge of nose and cupid's bow and light dusting over my eye shadow. The palette is very compact and sturdy, great for traveling. Even though the pans are small I can easily fit my Real Techniques Buffing Brush, Contour Brush, Stippling Brush, Sculpting Brush and tap the Multipurpose Brush in the pans.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
17th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
2/3

I love the middle powder to use as a highlight. Its not too powdery and it is such a nice glow without being too over the top. The powder on the right is a perfect bronzer for my skin and doesn't require much blending. I personally dont use the powder on the left because it leaves my skin looking quite yellow.

Tips: Make sure you tap any excess off or it can look pretty powdery over pores

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
11th June, 2016
1 members found this review useful
I love this but I struggle with this...

It's a love hate relationship. I hummed and haa'd over this in the shop, many times, before buying.

I find the dark shade is a little too dark and too bronzey for me maybe? I think my main problem is finding the right brush to use with it, not too big, not too small, just the right amount of fluffiness.

I have to say I was hoping for more 'blurring of imperfection' action but alas I don't see anything blurred. It does add a nice glow to my face and the light shade provides subtle highlights. I like that it is not glittery like a lot of highlighters are.

I like the packaging and I'm happy that I bought it. I'm not sure I really needed it, but honestly I'm happy just to look at it even if I'm not using it- it is beautiful and luxurious looking, and the three different powders all have a deep glow. It's like when you see someone beautiful and you just can't stop staring!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
6th October, 2015
5 members found this review useful
Bae

I have had this palette over 6 months and only now do I feel confident in writing my thoughts on it. I have dry skin and was sick of my makeup constantly looking tired and dull so one day I went in to Mecca and had the assistant dust the powders all over my face so I could see how they wore. I honestly couldn't stop looking at my skin the entire day, it made my skin look airbrushed and glowy all day long (in a non-oily way).

Needless to say I went back the next day and purchased it. Initially I was only using Dim Light over the centre of my face and for the life of me could not recreate the effect on my skin that the assistant had created. This resulted in me putting it aside and doubting my purchase. However, I picked it up again a couple of months ago after researching how others use it, and I just adore it now. I use all 3 powders daily as follows:

Dim Light: I dust this over the centre of my face to blur the size of my pores and imperfections, and just give the skin a healthy glow. It really is great at pore blurring!

Incandescent Light: I use this on all the standard high points of my face for a gorgeous non-glittery highlight. I also love it as a brow bone and inner corner highlight as it lasts alll day!

Radiant Light: I love the effect of this dusted over my bronzer at the back of my cheekbones and on my forehead. It really does give your face a gorgeous radiant glow. I also dust this down the bridge of my nose for a healthy, sun kissed flush of colour.

The packaging is elegant, feels sturdy and is perfect for travel as it contains a good sized mirror. I do note that the Hourglass label etc is starting to wear off, but that just shows how much I use it! Do I think it's worth it? If you have dry/normal skin, absolutely! It just makes your skin look airbrushed. Not entirely sure how useful it would be if you have oily skin though.

Tips: You can use the powders as a natural wash of colour on the lids, or as a topper to a matte shadow to liven it up. They look gorgeous!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Ringy
18th December, 2015

So glad you have detailed how to use it- I bought it last week and was stressing about it! So many to choose from and I chose this one- glad you like it - I hope I do too.

Mila
10th October, 2015

I love this palette great review, I do think it's just a matter of playing with it to get what you want from it

Sarahbeautynz
8th October, 2015

I hope it helps! I have my fingers crossed for you x

Thebeautycontext
8th October, 2015

Love your review x will try using this palette tomorrow in the ways you like and see if it works for me

Sarahbeautynz
6th October, 2015

Haha! I was so tempted to write bacon and eggs..

kirstyj
6th October, 2015

Love the title :P

Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Subtle, but beautiful

This has been on my wishlist for a while now, but I was worried at such a hefty price tag that this product would be all hype. Well let me tell you now, the hype is real!

Subtle is the name of the game when it comes to the Hourglass Ambient Lighting wardrobe. Dim light is a smidge too dark for my pale skintone, but with a light hand I can get away with it. I use my usual Clarins matte powder on a small brush over concealed blemishes and then apply dim light over my entire face. At first glance you're not sure its had any effect at all, yet when you catch a glimpse of yourself in the light you can see the most gorgeous glow to your skin. This somehow imparts a perfection to your skin that was definitely not there before. Incandescent light is a lovely natural highlight, not super obvious so you can wear it in the daytime without feeling too dolled up. Radiant light is a smidge dark again but being quite sheer can be applied gently for a lovely natural glow.

The powders, like the ambient blush, are very finely milled and buttery, but also quite delicate so your brush does kick up a lot of product when you use it. I find that these have great longevity on my skin, and does last all day. I don't know that I can ever justify repurchasing, but I definitely will continue to use and enjoy this palette

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th June, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Perfection in a palette

I've been looking at this for a long time but couldn't justify the price tag, when I received some money for my birthday I went out and purchased it and I'm so glad I did.

The case is just gorgeous, a shiny brown plastic clip case, that is easy to open and shut and feels like good quality as it's quite heavy. The 3 powders inside are a bit on the small side but I can't see me hitting pan for quite some time as you don't need to use heaps of powder to get a nice finish.

Once I've applied all my make up, I use the dim light to go over most of face with a big powder brush. I then grab a kabuki brush for the radiant light and apply that where you apply bronzer. (I apply the bronzer as well). Final touch is the incandescent light with a small highlighting brush on top of my cheekbones. The effect of the dim light is very subtle, creating a very soft look on my skin, almost like photoshopping my skin and the radiant light just brings out the glow of the bronzer. The incandescent light adds a beautiful sheen where applied. The only downside is that it's no good for oil control, so I don't apply to my T zone as it can end up looking greasy there. It's a really great product that helps soften the appearance of my fine wrinkles and brings about a youthful glow that I now couldn't live without.

Tips: My tip. Just go out and get it, you need it in your life.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Hiitwithbritt
16th July, 2015

I think you sold me on it - I am going to have to get it (sorry bank account)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Totally worth the money!

This palette is definitely expensive, but it is so worth it in my opinion. These powders are incredible, they are soft and give the most gorgeous finish to the skin. It has one that I think works for all over the face, one that works as a gorgeous bronzer, and the middle one is the most gorgeous highlighter and it's actually exclusive to the palette itself.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th May, 2015
3 members found this review useful
Glowing

This is just pure luxury.. On all levels. I brought this from Mecca and I must say amazing customer service I think it was only 2 days from when I placed the order to when it arrived and I had emails along the way saying it had been shipped etc. so of course I ripped into it with excitement when it arrived. (Cue harps playing) the case is just beautiful and I instantly feel special it is a mirrored dark chocolate brown with hourglass printed in gold to one side. I must say when I got fingerprints on it I had to carefully polish them off because it shouldn't have fingerprints on it it's too beautiful.

I open it up and in front of me there are 3 shades In 3 square shaped domes. There is also a mirror inside that runs the width of the palette. The Shades I have never seen before. At first glance I thought all three would be too light and I thought I had just wasted $89 but how wrong was I once I used it. The three magics are:

Dim light which is the medium colour out of the three. I do find it quite pigmented and I was worried I'd look all glittery I like using this very lightly all over like a bronzer. It definitely gives a healthy glow look to my skin I'm surprised at how little you actually need to use.

Incandescent light is the lightest shade out of the three it's a peachy kind of tone. I love this one and once applied my skin looks healthy, glowing and flawless. Yay there is hope for me even if it is with a bit of trickery!!

Radiant light is the darkest of the three shades and the one I use the least. It is basically a setting powder with no pigmentation so it doesn't really give that "glow" I have dry skin so I stay away from anything that is going to be matte and sadly this one makes me look drier (sobs)

All of the powders feel like velvet so soft and smooth. They are all so so fine I find them easy to apply using a powder brush. A very firm staple for me and I wished I brought some sooner. It's magic on my skin not only does my face look good.. And less noticeable flaws I feel good too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Thebeautycontext
27th July, 2015

Okay that's it, i need to actually start using mine every day! its so pretty, i like saving it for a special occasion, but its just getting neglected.

-Bex-
9th June, 2015

Haha Koni it was like angels playing harps from heaven. I still get that feeling every time I open it :)

Koni
8th June, 2015

You had me at "harps playing" haha!!

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!