Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara

Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara
Overall rating from 27 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.6/5

Colossal gets amped up! Colossal Up To 36HR Mascara is Maybelline's latest, most hardworking mascara. Thanks to its iconic Mega Brush that sweeps on its flake-resistant, volume-lock formula, it delivers non-stop dramatic lashes in an instant. Waterproof and smudge-resistant!

Website: www.maybelline.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara

Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th September, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Mascara with real staying power!

This mascara really does stay put for the whole day and night! It’s not just waterproof and long-wearing but it also thickens and lengthens the lashes as well, which is what you want from a mascara! I even tested this out during my dance class. Usually by the end of the dance class my mascara is all smudged around my eyes and I have panda eyes. But with this mascara it looked just as good as when I first put it on, even after my sweaty dance class! I was super impressed. I also tested this out by wearing it to the hot pools and again, even with the steam and getting some water on my eyes, it stayed put. So I really love this mascara and would absolutely recommend it. The only downside, which is not surprising, is that it is hard to remove at the end of the day. As it’s waterproof, it is going to be harder to remove and I found that my basic makeup wipes and also miceller water just doesn’t cut it. So I’d recommend using an eye makeup remover for waterproof mascara. But apart from that, I’m really loving this mascara!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
27th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Long-lasting, but a little clumpy.

While I didn't intentionally wear this mascara for 36 hours, it definitely stayed on my lashes for a day or two! I usually use a makeup removing cloth to remove my makeup, and it didn't fully come off with that.

This product is a classic black colour, which is my preference for mascara. One thing I noticed immediately was that it clumped my lashes up very quickly, with only two swipes after I'd taken the excess product off the brush. I was able to tidy it up a bit with a lash comb, but it was annoying to have to do. I know that this is a volumizing mascara, however I don't consider clumping multiple eyelashes together as 'volumizing.'

I didn't notice much mascara rubbing off during the day, which was better than other mascaras I've tried - especially as I overheat easily and tend to have oily skin around my eyes. It also held up pretty well to a sweaty 2 hour contortion training session. One of the reasons I choose not to wear mascara as often as I'd like to is that it rubs off onto my skin whenever I wear it, but this mascara may actually change this for me.

I did have a lot of trouble getting this product off my eyelashes completely, but I do kind of like the residual mascara effect. This is probably due to me using a product-free makeup removal facecloth rather than a dedicated eye makeup remover, but is something to keep in mind with this product.

Pros: Sticks well to lashes!! Wand is a good length and flexibility for application.

Cons: Clumped my eyelashes together. Hard to get the excess off the brush.

Tips: Wipe as much product off of the brush as possible before applying it, and definitely use a good makeup remover to clean it off.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
27th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Not bad maybelline!

I haven’t used Maybelline products in 10 years and first of all price is amazing!! Excellent product in this price range.

First it’s packaging makes it simple to use, but there is an overwhelming smell of chemicals with this product that I haven’t smelt with any other mascara before.

Did it do as it said? Well it didn’t last 36hours (yes I left it on while I slept one night to see) but it was definitely still there when I washed it off before bed at night.

It didn’t give me volume as such but made the lashes more defined, didn’t flake at all, but definitely made them pop!

Would I use again? Yeah I think I would as like the effect it had on my lashes.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Waterproof, Long-Lasting & (somewhat) Smudgeproof

This product lives up to its name. Though, one thing that I couldn't put to the test was the claimed longevity of 36 hours...

The claims of being smudge-proof, clump-free and waterproof are all proven correct although didn't fully test out the waterproof in actual water but i am a chronic eye area toucher and at times smudge and unknowingly remove my mascara (when I am wearing it..) by constantly rubbing my eyes....

Just also reading up on the other claims that it would look "just as bold" and voluminous as when I first put it on... not particualrly true, for me anyway. I can still feel and see some of it but... it is not as voluminous 10-11 hours later, unfortunately.

Other than that, it is a great mascara that will most definitely last the whole day and not clump or smudge and possibly last through a little random Auckland sun shower !

Tips: Easy to use - no instructions pretty much required!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Great natural long lasting mascara

This mascara was perfect for me. It’s applicator does a great job at coating and separating lashes! No clumps! If you like very voluminous fake looking lashes this mascara isn’t for you. It does however give you long natural looking lashes with a small amount of volume. Just what I like. It stayed all day no smudging and also didn’t budge when I washed my face and i wore it to sleep to test out the longevity of it! Looked just as good in the morning as when it was first applied!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara

This mascara survived all the tests I put it through: tears during meltdowns, sweat on a very humid day, water during swimming (plus when I purposely splashed water on my eyes), and a few eye rubs when I had hay-fever.

It didn't flake, smudge, and my lashes looked the same at the end of the day. I tried it with and without eyelash curler - didn't seem to make any difference in the lifting department.

It doesn't deliver the "dramatic lashes in an instant" claim: I have to keep on dipping the brush into the tube as the mega brush didn't pick up sufficient amount of product, which I find a tad frustrating. It also doesn't curl nor amplify my lashes.

Would repurchase this for the waterproof property but not for daily use.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
familiar but good

Ok so first impressions the smell is like going back in time to previous iterations of Maybelline mascaras. It's a pretty easy mascara to apply a light or heavier coat of. It doesn't weigh down my lashes and gives good coverage. A perfect every day mascara. I've been using a different mascara recently and it seems to always make my left eye itchy/irritated (yep, only one eye because... actually no idea). I had no impulse to rub my eye after putting it on. The brush separated my lashes well and it stayed on without flaking. Pretty easy to remove with my makeup remover and I'm officially going to toss the other one I had and use this instead.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
25th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Colossal Waterproof Mascara

Not a fan of this mascara - became clumpy easily and did nothing for my eyelashes - it is a very pigmented black which I liked and it is most definitely waterproof which is a bonus. I just found it made my lashes look blah - no length, volume or Wow factor - far better and cheaper options on the market.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Liked it a lot!

Wow, I am the queen of any mascara smudging! I've tried waterproof ones, and ones that claim they don't smudge, but they always do. I went into this with mixed feelings, I was hoping that it would live up to its claims, but I've been disappointed before, but fret not! This DOESN'T SMUDGE!!! It literally didn't even move for an entire day!!! I couldn't believe it!! I've never had this happen before, I'm so so happy!! I'll be using this one and repurchasing it again! And it made my lashes look really good, which is another bonus, it didn't clump, didn't look spidery at all!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
24th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Colossal

I do love me a Maybelline mascara!

Pros: - The packaging is lovely, really bold and striking. - The wand is fantastic, it's big enough to make applying mascara easy, but not too big that it's hard to wield. - The formula of the mascara is perfecto. Not to wet, not too thick. Quick to dry, but not too quick that you can't go in for a second coat. - It really volumises your lashes. They look almost double in thickness

Cons: - REALLY hard to remove. You either need a good waterproof-makeup remover, or settling in for a good amount of cleansing and re-cleansing. - It doesn't really lengthen the lashes, so if you're lashes are a bit on the stumpy side this might not do it for you - I don't believe this would last 36hours without smudging or flaking based on the 16 hour day I put it through, but it is long-lasting and definitely doesn't smudge for a good amount of time.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

WIN a $1300 BEAUTY PRIZE PACK!

We want to know about your beauty shopping habits - particularly your online shopping habits!

Take our quick survey and you could win...it's that easy!

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT MORE!