Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

How Eco-Friendly Is Your Flow?

20 October, 2019 - 01:25pm by - Head Pixie | 16 Comments

By BR Tabatha

Fun fact: If you ever want to be grossed out by how we dealt with our periods back in the days before pads and tampons, Google it. Okay, it's not really all that gross - bascially for a bit there when women weren't being shunned for seven or so days or making use of softened papyrus to stem the red wave, they just bled into their clothes. Eventually it was decided perhaps bleeding into clothing for days on end possibly wasn't all that hygenic (this was the 19th century so popping your bloodied knicks, skirts and pants into the wash on the daily probably wasn't all that feasible...) and that became the 'a-ha' moment that saw the inventions of what eventually became modern day tampons and pads.

However the times are once again a-changin' and as we become more concious of caring for Mother Nature and not stuffing her full of rubbish, people have come up with nature-friendly alternatives to dealing with our monthly. 

So what's the what? And, er, what's a Whatakrakka? Read on...

Image:  Whatakrakka Fancy Pads

Whatakrakka Fancy Pads are the invention of Laura, a fellow Kiwi who creates bamboo cloth menstrual pads with fab, fun cloth designs. Designed to lay flat and not slide upon in your knicks, they're thirsty-as and come in a range of sizes to suit your flow. Best of all? Being washable, and therefore reusable, you can use them knowing you're not contributing to landfill, and in the long run you'll save money!

Women have gotten on board in a big way too with Fancy Pads, as they regularly sell out and new releases fly off the virutal shelves.

If you're not a pad person...

Image:  Lunette

... Menstrual cups might just be for you! When they first hit the market - and hit the BR crew's radar - well, there was a collective yeah, nah. But over time slowly but surely we're falling for their charms - or at the very least, the eco-friendly aspects - of a menstrual cup. As with reusable pads you'll save money over time, while contributing less to landfill. 

The benefits of a cup over a tampon is - obviously - that they're reusable, they're odorless, oh, and you can go up to twelve hours before having to empty them out. What's that? Less chance of leakage while out and about with no public toilet in sight? Sounds like a win all round to us!

Of course if you want to be extra sure that you'll be leak-free there's also ...

Image:  Modibodi

Period pants. Designed to hold up to a tampon's worth of blood, period pants work by wicking away the blood to keep you dry, fresh and leak-free. Bonus? If you experience the joys of bladder leakage - and some of the mum-types at BRHQ know exactly how that goes - then you'll be glad to know that period pants also work at making those 'uh-oh I'm about to sneeze and weeze' moments easier by absorbing the moisture and stopping it soaking through.

Australian brand Modibodi has also branched out into swimwear, so those who aren't tampon-friendly can now get their swim on no matter what time of the month it is.

So, there you have it! Three easy ways to eco-friendly up your flow! Now, do tell... is your halo shining? Are you already riding the eco-friendly flow wave? Could you be convinced? Or, is it a hard pass? Chat away!

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

11th November, 2019

I currently use a cup and find it so much better than tampons. Clean up is not so fun but gets easy as you get used to it. I would really like to try the period pants though to see which is best for me.

4th November, 2019

I haven’t tried the first two options but have about 7 pairs of different modibodi underwear and they are amazing!! They definitely do as they say. So so so comfy!! A little bit expensive but once you have enough you won’t have to buy any for ages! I’ve only had mine 2 months so I’m interested to see how long they actually last

3rd November, 2019

I am at the stage of my life where my period either comes or it doesn't but when it does it's major full on so I have to wear Super heavy duty tampons and pads because of the heavy blood flow.I honestly don't think I would be game enough to try the cup for fear that it would leak and how comfortable it would feel up there.Period panties and material pads I doubt would be enough to hold my blood flow so I just keep on hoping for that day when I am completely period free and continue using the products I have always used.

30th October, 2019

I've been going eco friendly! I've got all of these but in different brands.

29th October, 2019

I don't have periods anymore but I would have liked to have tried a cup back in the day.

24th October, 2019

I do have a cup but I find I still haven't completely mastered getting it to not leak so I end up using disposable pads for the most part and just opt for clothing that won't show it. I do want to try out the panties at some point. I have considered cloth pads but I do live with my family and I'm not sure how well a bunch of stained pads on the line would go over but the panties would be more discreet.

23rd October, 2019

These are good ideas I could consider material pads in future. I tried period pants although I'm pregnant because I had other leakage but it didn't mask smell and I still felt wet. My sisters likes them though they were not cheap. My youngest sister lives her cup. I got one but I haven't ever tried it.

tannygirl
24th October, 2019

I have been wanting to try the panties. Is there a brand you or your sister recommend?

23rd October, 2019

I always wondered how comfortable those menstral cups will be... And those reusable liners does seem very environmental friendly, but i guess we need to take more care of our hygiene when using these products. I’m still not brave enough to try any of these yet.

22nd October, 2019

I would love to try the underwear if I got a lite enough to wear one. My monthly is so heavy that I would over flow.

21st October, 2019

I'm someone who doesn't need these products anymore due to the Jadelle implant, I like the idea of the underwear though to use a backup in case whatever sanitary product one is using leaks, my teenage self would have loved it!

21st October, 2019

Hmmm that looks interesting. Luckily I don't need them any more.

21st October, 2019

It’s a shame a lot of people have been grossed out by these because they are so much better for the environment. When I tested and reviewed some a while back I also found I experienced less period pain with cloth than I did with the synthetic disposable products, which was interesting to find.

20th October, 2019

I no longer have a period, thanks to the Mirena IUD! But pre-IUD I used to use a MoonCup. It’s not nearly as gross as it sounds and is really easy to use once you get the hang of it. Cleaning and sterilising it was a breeze, too. (I’ve done a review in the Brand Directory under “Moon Cup” with hints and tips, for those thinking about converting to a cup)

20th October, 2019

I’ve had a few years of pregnancy and breastfeeding so it seems like a long time since I’ve had a period. But I’ve just had a baby and it may be my last so I’m going to have to think of this very soon. I’ve heard good things about the undies. I’m just hoping when my period returns it’s not heavier than it once was.

20th October, 2019

When I first heard about cloth pads, I was a bit grossed out about them. Not sure why to be honest ha ha ha. Unfortunately I can't wear tampons and have been using pads since getting my period. Problem is I find them so darn uncomfortable and I don't like the way they are disposed of. Decided to give cloth pads a try and am kicking myself for not using them sooner. Alot easier to clean and not as gross as I thought, plus it's much better for the environment and no panicking about having to purchase pads each month.

MareeB
21st October, 2019

That's funny to hear of people going back to cloth pads. There's nothing wrong with them and to be fair, pads are a big expense so cutting that out is a very good thing!

Mumof3Munchkins
22nd October, 2019

Exactly hun. They are also so much more comfortable than disposable. I don't notice I'm wearing anything.

CHAT TO WIN!

Every forum post you make is an entry in the weekly draw to win a Remington Curl and Straight worth $249.99.

We're giving one away every week for the next three weeks!

Winner announced every Monday morning!

Click Here to Chat!