Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - April
The Beauty Vault - April
The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review

Overall rating:
4.9/5

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer a seemingly innocent honey-hued luminizer that catches everybody’s eye. This highlighter, shadow and shimmer diffuses light so your skin looks softer and younger while adding a subtle glow.

Layer it on your lids for a luxe look, sweep it on your cheeks for a sexy sheen, or use it as an all-over finishing touch before you head out for the night.

Pack Size: 8.5g

RRP: $34.00

Availability: Online retailers

Website: http://www.thebalm.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th March, 2018 at 1:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful highlighter

This highlighter looks amazing on the skin. It isn’t chunky and blends in nicely into the skin. It is on the lighter more natural side but is definitely buildable if you are wanting more shine. If you are wanting the blinding kind of highlight it may not be your favourite highlight but it definitely is gorgeous and it doesn’t leave a grey cast on tan-medium skin tones.

Tips: Can use a setting spray to make the highlighter stand out more on the days you want a more blinding glow

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th February, 2018 at 8:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
YES YES YES

This beautiful thong is up there with one of the most beautiful highlights I've ever used. Although it is very light, its almost translucent in the way it sits on the skin and I find it even suits a medium/olive skin tone. I love this product and I will continue to use it on myself and clients!

Tips: Build it up for a blinding glow or it is beautiful all over for a "natural" lit from within look. The pan is huge so I also brush it all over my body when I'm going out!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd February, 2018 at 6:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
This highlighter is all you will ever need!

The Balm is my holy grail brand - everything they make is perfection! I would recommend the Mary-Lou Manizer to anyone looking for an amazing glowy highlighter.

This product can be layered up to different levels of glow. It is the perfect colour to create a gold silver shimmer just where the sun would shine on your face. It makes me feel like a sparkley princess and it is currently my favourite part of my makeup routine at the moment.

Love this product!

Tips: This product can be layed up for different levels of glow :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th January, 2018 at 8:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing!

This one my first ever highlighter and I’m still OBSESSED to this day! It’s a gorgeous colour and stays on my oily skin all day!

Tips: Using Mac fix+ helps to intensify the pigment!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd November, 2017 at 4:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best highlighter ever

I love this stuff, its very shimmery but not in that gross glitter kind of way. It is a pale highlighter which needs the lightest hand to apply. Theres tonnes of product so lasts forever,. As it is almost white, using too much can make you look like a ice queen but with a soft approach you will glow amazingly.

Tips: Be very careful with this. Dont just throw into a makeup bag. It can shatter very easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th September, 2017 at 6:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful gleam and for all occasions!

This is one of the most buttery and pigmented highlighters I have ever used. It is a creamy shade, almost like the Mac pigment in Vanilla. When swatched, it is an intense shine that can be toned down with a light hand. It is a smooth highlight with barely or no glitter at all.

I usually use the gentlest tap of an angled brush and blend it onto my cheekbones for a subtle highlight but it can be built up depending how much of a highlight you want. It's one of those products that will last you forever, since you need so little. Sometimes I also use it as eyeshadow.

The packaging is also really cute and retro. The compact has a mirror and it feels sturdy and strong when opening and closing. I will repurchase if I ever run out.

Tips: 1. Use a very light hand for subtle looks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th September, 2017 at 10:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
SHHH, don't tell.

Is it just me, or is this product kind of over-hyped? I feel embarrassed speaking out and saying so. Yes, this product is nice but I very easily find dupes or WAY cheaper brands that perform to this level yet no one seems to notice. When I first used this highlighter I joined the band wagon and gushed over the glow that it produced. But as time goes on and highlighter becomes a centripetal focus in the beauty world I start to see flaws within this product. It seems to emphasise pores I didn't even know I had on my cheekbones...Wah. And the sheen seems rather chunky, but it's not life or death so I'll stop complaining. I've enjoyed this product, but am keen to move on and experience something a bit more 'eye-catching'.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th July, 2017 at 4:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love the glow I get from this

I am in love with this balm product, I love supporting the balm since they are cruelty free! this highlighter is so great because it is really easy to layer and doesn't give you a "white" patch, it's shimmery and great if you want a subtle look or a glamorous look. the actual colour is quite subtle and really does provide a glow!

I apply with a blush brush and dust or stroke over my cheekbones, I have also been using it to line my under brows and it stays all day!

Tips: use under your brow line to make them pop!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd July, 2017 at 9:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Buildable Glow

This has been my favorite highlighter to date. You have the option of a light dusting for a natural glow or can build it up to be more intense. I prefer this over fully intense highlighters as it is more versatile and customizable to whatever look you're going for. It's not to chunky or glittery which is great and it's a lovely color for my skin tone - not too yellow.

Tips: If you want a more intense highlight, apply some just after using your setting spray, or mist your brush with Fix Plus or similar.

Also available at Unichem Pharmacies i believe

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2017 at 7:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Gleaming!

Mary Lou-Manizer by The Balm has to be one of my all time favourite purchases. I managed to snag this amazing product for only $20 at a warehouse sale (its not fake, I checked first!). This highlight gives the most gorgeous champagne glow perfect for a natural day look or a full glam night look. It can easily be built up by using a soft powder brush to give an intense highlight if needed yet it never looks chunky or gritty. Mary Lou-Manizer is definitely a product every gal should have in their makeup bag!

Tips: Use a big powder brush for a soft glowy look or a small denser brush for an intense glam highlight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

No...but now I want to!!

view results

Review of the Day
thirtywinks
The Perfect Balm for Dry Weather
I'd always been a petroleum jelly user but it could never save my lips from the dry weather… more »