Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Shape of 2018 Nails

30 January, 2018 - 07:31pm by - Head Pixie | 28 Comments

By BR Amelia

When a 'hot' nail trend emerged for 2018 I held my breath. I feared I would be faced with further fluffy things adorning the tips of our fingers. Or giant bubbles filled with water and little things bobbing up and down within the bubble. Or, I don't know, dirt and tiny pebbles glued to the nails and called fashionable. Have we seen that yet? I feel like we should have. 

Oh sweet relief... what I saw was something we've seen in the past, and it's just as fabulous as ever. Turns out in 2018 we're getting in shape... with geometric nails!

studiourodydianak

What we love about this look? It's doable. It's not something that involves one billion and one steps, with each step holding the potential for disaster. Because, let's be honest, who needs that kind of stress in our lives?  

Also. It can be super elegant. Like this:

naomi_dsouza

How show-stoppingly beautiful is this? The clean white with black geometric design? These are nails that could be taken from work to the bar with ease. 

Of course, sometimes you want to have a little fun with your nails and geometric design allows for this too. Check this look out:

shreyashirke

Think it's hard to achieve geometric nails? Sure, if you're working with multiple colours and designs it can be a tad tricky, but if you get hold of some coloured striping tape it's as simple as popping some colour on your nails and then using the striping tape to create the geometric pattern. Or you can go one step further and use plain striping tape to design the pattern, then colour in the lines with another polish before peeling off the tape for a fabulous two-toned look. (Wondering where you can get nail tape? Check this NZ supplier out.)

So... are you excited for geometric nails to be back on our radar? Is this the shape of years to come? Or are you here for my fabulous dirty and tiny stones trend idea? (!!!) Chat away!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

I love the black on white! I don't often jump on the nail trends but this is one I can get behind!!

Ooooh I love the look of the middle one with the white and the black. That is super pretty. I haven't yet mastered nail art design, still a newbie and only just started using UV Gel polish ha ha ha. But if its doable as you mention above, definitely keen to give it a go and see what I can come up with. The one trend that I totally do not get is the 'vagina nails' like what is up with that lol

Haha I'm all for girl power but vagina nails were just a bit "What the?!"

1st February, 2018 at 11:35 am

woo hoo...you're wearing polish. your nails are always nice and long and look great with polish

2nd February, 2018 at 6:27 pm

I love everything nails - my nails are naked rarely!!...... I am a Jamberry nails fan so I don't have to be too talented with the polish because they take care of all of my nail art ambitions but I'm quite partial to being a mani-creative...... and I do love the creative side of creating my own nail designs with Gels and nail tape etc on the odd occasion....can never have enough glitter!!.... I think geometric nails are awesome - even just one accent nail is enough to have popping on trend nails if a whole set is too much!

I wish I had the time to paint my nails different every week. It makes me feel put together and makes me feel good. I prefer to do them myself but Im in need of a polish that dries quick.

I find most simple silver glitter polishes dry super fast, and last ages for people with less time! They also look super pretty

31st January, 2018 at 9:11 am

I love the Gellack kit from Farmers. Saves so much time and I can get a couple of weeks or more from a DIY manicure and months from a pedi!

1st February, 2018 at 11:36 am

Yes and No -very effective but I haven't got the patience to achieve.

In my job I can’t have painted nails. I miss having them done. I really like that top one . Absolutely gorgeous.

yes really nice and well done

31st January, 2018 at 9:00 am

That's possibly the most tragic thing I've seen today! I would go mad if I couldn't have my nails looking all bling everyday.

31st January, 2018 at 5:19 pm

I know . We can’t contaminate food with nail polish. This is the longest time I haven’t had my nails done.

31st January, 2018 at 7:15 pm

They can be cute! Not a fan of the bottom pic though, I feel like that achieves less a 'geometric' look and more a 'mosaic' look?

The white and black looks so classy! Definitely a fan.. though the last pic looks a bit 90s-paper-cup vibe, if that makes sense.

Geometric looks cool but beyond my nail abilities.

I can do this, ok well at least I’m going to give it a try when my new polish’s arrive. Can’t be that hard can it and with kids at school might even have time for it to dry

I wish you well. Please post a pic!

31st January, 2018 at 3:18 pm

I’m a useless nail person, I file and buff and that is that. In saying that, I’m a teacher which is hard on the nails (among other things!), lots of handwashing etc. I do paint my toes though...

They look amazing!

I am terrible with my nails, but when I do suck it up and pay for them to be done I most definitely appreciate all the work that goes in to them! I love the geometric look, especially ones like the first photo on this article. I wish I was better with my nails, but I'm too inpatient haha

I love geometric designs but absolutely hate nail tape! Unless you seal it in with gel or something they always end up lifting at the edges in a day or two. Normal polish just isn't enough to lock it in.

Ooh I like the look of the first 2! Super dainty and elegant

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

erm...no. I know, I know. I'm bad. I know it.

view results

Review of the Day
petinar
L'Oréal Paris Revitalift Regime
I was so excited to try all three of the components in the Revitalift regime at once to… more »