Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

worst ever beauty therapy experience?

11 posts, 10 members
pingalulu
26 posts
hey ladies i am a beauty therapist / newly qualified nail technician and wonder what your worst experience at a beauty salon has been?I actually get so concerned hearing clients previous tales of horror....mostly it is from brazilian waxing...from lack of hygeine to a burnt hoo ha!what have you guys got to tell me?Obviously no need to mention names of the salon or therapist...not encouraging slander. Or which treatments are you most apprehensive about?
pintsize
1072 posts
I had my underarms waxed and the therapist had several goes all at once not in strips (had a few stubborn hairs and it was my first time) and I couldn't put my arms down for a week. They were so badly burnt they would crack and bleed.  Just as well it wasn't before my wedding or in the Bikini region... I remember it hurt so bad.

Also had a therapist over wax my brows... and they took 3months to grow back in
BarbaraMay
131 posts
Ouch Ouch Ouch.

I'm very lucky, my sister is the above beauty therapist, so no bad experiences for me!

Like a good hairdresser you need to be picky about your beauty therapist - you're paying for a service and like anything you pay for you want knowledge, kindness and dedication.  Nothing worse than asking questions and getting uninterested / uninformed response.

I've only just realised the NZ beauty industry isn't regulated - kind of crazy with all the things to consider - safety, hygiene, etc.
lenarose
313 posts
My worst has been when they seemed to miss half the hairs that they were waxing!! Soo bad.