Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun July
Braun July

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review
Overall rating from 65 reviews so far:
4.2/5
Would use it again?
4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.1/5

I’m a 100% natural slick-quickie at removing all sorts of make-up. With all the goodness of chia seed, coconut and avocado oils, your skin will be oh-so-clean and super soft. 

- Vegan friendly. Lightweight, non-greasy 
- Natural botanical goodness (no nonsense included) 
- With chia seed oil’s winning 31 ratio of omega 3 to omega 6 

How to use Scoop out a finger nail size, melt in hands, smoosh over dry skin and work around face (eyes and all) to break-up make-up. Wipe off with a warm, damp cloth.

Availability  Farmers

Website  www.farmers.co.nz



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st January, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Gentle, enviro-friendly, affordable

I purchased this as I loved the Trilogy Make Up Removal Balm but couldn't afford to repurchase that on a regular basis so I wanted a drugstore alternative. While not as amazing as the Trilogy one, this is an excellent make-up removal balm and very affordable. The balm comes in an adorable pastel yellow tin with artwork on the bottom half of the tin. I love that this comes in a tin as I prefer less plastic in my beauty regime and the tin can be reused afterwards for storing bits and bobs like earrings. The size is 80mL which I find didn't last me long as I tend to wear heavy full faces of make up and require a lot of product each use. The balm is pale yellow in colour and quite greasy in texture compared to over make up removal balms. This has the typical earthy smell a lot of goodness products do; it's not unpleasant but there is a strong aroma of chia seed oil and sunflower seed oil, so steer clear if you don't like strong scents. This says to use just a fingernail amount but I found I need a large scoop of about three to four fingertips in size to do my entire face if I am wearing lipstick and full on eyeshadow. A smaller amount suffices if I am just removing face/base make up. This is super gentle, and gently melts away all of my make up. It doesn't work well on matte lipsticks as it tends to smear the colour everywhere without fully removing it, so I recommend using a micellar water to remove liquid lipstick and use this for the rest of the face. This wipes away foundation in seconds, but requires a bit more work to remove heavy eye make up, especially mascara which takes a few wipes with this and a wet cloth to remove. However, I find this much gentler to use than regular make up remover, and more environmentally friendly as it just requires a cloth rather than cotton make up pads. This also hydrates the skin nicely whilst gently removing make up. This does leave a greasy residue however after use which I find I need to wipe off with a towel, or cleanse off with a cleanser afterwards. Overall, I think this is an excellent affordable make up removal balm, but it isn't my favourite due to the greasiness and the small amount of product included.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Low waste makeup remover

I tried this product a wee while ago as I wanted to try the Clinique take the day off balm - however it was unavailable. This was the next closest I could find and it did not disappoint!

The Goodness balm is set firmly in a tin - which I preferred as this could be recycled easier than the plastic others are packaged in. Using this product almost daily lasted me roughly 6mo before I had to dispose of it. I stored the product in the shower as I found it easier to use there - however I believe that is what ultimately led to some mild growing in the tin :(

While I did enjoy the product (and actually found it removed better than its Clinique dupe) I will not likely repurchase - mostly due to enjoying micellar products more.

Tips: Store in a cool dry area to avoid and unwanted nasties growing!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
14th April, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Break up that baked makeup

I brought this to try a few weeks back on my skin. It’s been a bit temperamental so was after something gentle that hopefully worked.

I wasn’t too sure what to expect. But was pleasantly surprised.

It’s easy to use and fairly portable. I used a small amount to work into my skin. The area I am most concerned with removing makeup from is the eyes it’s delicate and makeup really sticks.

This mixes nicely to break up that makeup. It doesn’t lather. It’s like an ointment kind of that you spread over your face. Don’t think it makes you oily though I found it washed off easily and didn’t make me break out which was a worry.. I honestly thought this would clog my pores as it is quite heavy and doesn’t seem to bubble up and wash away.

It is effective at washing away the day. I still cleansed after.. so I will say I found this a little fiddly - the jar and the fact I feel the need to cleanse after. I do prefer a cleanser or micellar that will target makeup so I just feel this is an extra step.

Non the less it does what it says it will. It’s a little pricey for what it is but I will use it up. If you need something to target specific areas this could be it. But I will hunt for something that’s a bit easier to use next I think.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Melts the makeup away!

I brought this to test, I had no idea what to expect from it, however, I was pleasantly surprised! It melted away by makeup really nicely!

I found it fantastic for my face, however, for mascara, it took it off very well, my only worrying factor was that my vision went blurry after using it for mascara... Maybe I wasn't meant to do that?

I will definitely repurchase this, I found it really handy on those days where I wear heavy makeup—it's nice not having to use a million wipes to get it all off!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Goodness i love this

I love this makeup remover balm. All normal make up removers make my skin really dry after using them or are too oily that leaves a residue after. But not this product! Does exactly what it says it will. Removes make up and leaves skin feeling great! I have already recommended to a few of my friends who also mentioned was a fav for them too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
30th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
A little undecided

I'm not sure whether I like this makeup remover balm or not. As a makeup remover it does a good job, my skin feels nicely moisturised afterward and the scent contains traces of lavender which I love! However, I bought this for travel but in the summer heat, the balm has liquefied and leaked out of the container and the oils make it harder to clean up than a liquid makeup remover. I had actually put it away in a bag away from direct sunlight. So a little disappointed overall but I think I will really enjoy using this every night to clean off my makeup. As it has stayed a liquid, I practically use it like a liquid makeup remover :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
15th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm

This cleansing balm was one of the products that i got to try from my first ever BBBE purchase. I loved the colourful design of the container. It was my first time using a cleansing balm, so it took me some time to get use to. The balm has a strong herbal scent to it. The colour of the balm kind of reminds me of a rubbing herbal balm my parents use to have, called ‘tiger balm’, but of course this smells a lot more pleasant.

This balm melts easily into your warm fingers without a problem, so it wasn’t difficult to work with. And surprisingly, the thick, oiliness of the balm didn’t cause any breakouts nor irritated my skin. It felt rather clean and refreshing. However, working with a greasy balm makes me feel less efficient than working with foams, creams, waters and wipes, as i try not to rub this into my hair. Therefore, I would probably use this on my day off, when i feel less busy.

I was actually worried that my face cloth would have a build up of this oily balm after a while.. but to my surprise, my cloth didn’t feel oily at all.

Overall, the balm did well with cleaning my usual bb cream and powdered foundation.. It was an interesting experience.. It didn’t dry out my skin, but my face felt like it needed a moisturiser or something for a little hydration afterwards.

Tips: You can wash and keep the container for storing small things like jewellery.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
14th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Works well but is inconvenient

I love the packaging on this one! Definitely a container you can reuse after finishing the product and it's a pretty tin. The product does what it should and easily removes makeup. The only issue for me is that it's a bit inconvenient to use. I definitely prefer things like wipes as they aren't as messy. But this product definitely gets off the stubborn makeup!

Tips: As usual, follow up with a facial cleanser.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
My go-to!

I really love this makeup balm and I especially love the fresh fragrance! Even the wee tin it comes in is cute! I use this daily in the shower before I cleanse, I take all of my makeup off with this and it is absolutely amazing for stubborn waterproof eye makeup! I usually use a mircofibre face cloth (are a face halo type thing if you have one) to remove it all off as the oily residue can be quite hard to get rid of sometimes, but a bit of friction and some hot water it just melts right off! I find a little goes a long way with this product so it always lasts me such a long time. I'll be buying this for a long time!

Tips: If you keep this in the shower then make sure you do the lid up well to stop the water from getting in and also tip any water out that gets in whilst you're using it, I had one get some mould on it once from the water left inside

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Great Alternative to Harsh Makeup Removers

I love this product for taking off my makeup at night! This doesn't feel harsh on the skin and can break down even the stubbornest of makeup! It does feel a bit greasy on the face and doesn't dry it out which I appreciate

Tips: Dont use too much at one time as it will feel gross. Start off small and gentle. Be careful around the eyes and use a warm flannel too!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!