Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask Review

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask Review
Overall rating from 30 reviews so far:
4.6/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.6/5

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask have been used for centuries to beautify and refresh when used as a facial mask.
Now you can enjoy the benefits of clay in your own home. One pound cf AZTEC SECRET INDIAN HEALING CLAY makes 10-15 clay packs. Clay can be used by the whole family men and women. Mix some up and FEEL YOUR FACE PULSATE.

Pack Size 1 lbs

 From

Availability  Online

Website  www.aztec-secret.com



RRP: $7.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask Review

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.7/5
5th December, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Amazing!!

For my birthday I got an amazon gift card and ended up buying this... and it’s absolutely amazing!! As a skincare enthusiast, I definitely do not recommend using water instead of apple cider vinegar, it absolutely ruins it and after research it became apparent that anyone who had something bad to say about it on amazon was using this with water, or had dry skin (which with a drying clay mask is no good at all). Also, don’t use a metal bowl/spoon when mixing and applying this because it’ll deactivate the clay. Use a brush or wooden/plastic utensils.

Anyway, this is a mix it yourself mask, and sometimes it can be hard to get the right consistency, but once you do it settles on like a dream. I admit I can see how some people get annoyed with the smell, but after one use your nose gets used to it so it’s worth it in my opinion. The mask itself is absolutely amazing and always gives me the best results, the next day I always get compliments on how my skin is glowing, i look less red, etc. Helps my acne a whole bunch too, but if you get pimples then you need to be real careful and gentle when taking it off or its gonna tug at your skin barrier and cause irritation.

I would recommend this 100% however it is a lot of work to use it the right way.

Tips: Use Apple Cider Vinegar— not water!!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
amaztec <3

so scored this off catchoftheday 2 for $29 + shipping. I was pretty excited as I had read some great reviews and articles about it.

The packaging is basic and at first it just seems like a sturdy tub of clay powder. I tried it out just basic mix with water at first... the sturdy tub of clay powder is now a pot of love and goodness!!

I experimented with the product, I quite like using it as a dry exfoliator before I shower. It works perfectly as an underarm (armpit) detox, an idea which was new to me but makes total sense and something I highly recommend trying out :) I am anaemic with extremely low zinc levels so my skin is pretty unpredictable, I've had no problems using this product which is awesome and it helps my skin heal which is a godsend. I did go through a bit of a purging stage at the beginning so If you're planning to try it out maybe do it when you have a few quiet days to yourself :)

Tips: Try using it in different ways, a hair mask, face mask, body exfoliator. There are lots of different recipes and mixes to experiment with which is great, I find mixing it with just water nice and gentle, a nice way to start off.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
My absolute favourite clay mask!

I love a good clay mask and have read so many rave reviews about this. I ended up paying $22 which is quite a lot more than buying it from overseas but I'm impatient and didn't want to wait.

It comes in a tub with a screw on lid. It is in powder form and you can either add water or apple cider vinegar. Pretty much every review I've read said it is clumpy with water so I only use with vinegar. It mixes up into a beautiful smooth mask. You don't need much at all, I don't measure it out I just tip a little powder in then add a few cap fulls of vinegar and then adjust accordingly. Just experiment to see what works best for your skin. It says not to use metal as it reacts with the clay, I use a plastic bowl and an old foundation brush to mix and apply to my face.

My skin is sensitive and dry so I was a bit worried when I applied this, however I got no burning at all. They say that you feel it pulsate but the first time it didn't pulsate so I thought it must have been too thin so next time I applied thicker, nope still don't get the pulsating! The third time I caked it on super thick and woohoo it pulsated, it isn't anything too out there, just a light sensation really. I leave this on for about 15-20 minutes. It dries hard! Your face feels super tight and you can't talk properly. I find it easier to jump in the shower as it's easier to remove and far less messy but a hot face cloth also works.

Afterwards my skin is red which they say is normal, I only do this at night so it's not a problem as it calms down while I'm in bed but for me it takes about an hour to calm down so be aware of this if you use during the day then need to go out. This does not give me any breakouts and if I have a spot it helps heal it super quick.

I absolutely love this mask. My skin looks clear and even and feels super smooth. It has not dried my skin out at all. The tub will last for ages so is great value for money. Give it a try!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
19th October, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Disappointed it didn't really work for me

With this product being a bit of an iHerb legend - I had to try it. It took me a while to get it as it is so popular it is regularly out of stock. I couldn't wait to try it once it arrived so I mixed the powder up with apple cider vinegar - I also tried plain water but it mixed up so much better with the vinegar. It really stinks with the vinegar- like sting your eyes stink! I packed it on and let it dry. It does pulse and it dries. It is difficult to remove after - best to just have a shower and soak it off. My face was very bright red afterwards which took a few hours to dissipate. My skin felt lovely and soft but the next day I got some whoppa pimples- big, blind, sore ones. I thought maybe it's bringing them to the surface etc so I kept using the mask but every time it makes me break out badly. I've seen some suggestions to mix it with avocado or honey so I might give that a go, I like the lush cosmetic warrior mask so I might try making my own version of that using the Aztec mask as the clay base and adding some egg, tea tree, garlic and honey perhaps? Not sure but on its own this mask doesn't seem too good for my normal skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th November, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Super cleansing!

This was the mask I got when I first started to get skincare crazy. I got this off a health shop and I honestly did not have any idea what masks were for but the lovely lady at the shop said it was really good so I gave it a go.

It comes as a powder so you would have to mix it your self. It can get messy specially for a newbie mixing powder clay and I found it tricky to mix it into the right consistency.

The mask comes off quite thick and clumpy but I do not know if that was just because I was bad at mixing it. I mask is soothing when you apply it then it gets quite hard when it starts to dry. You can really feel your face pulsating! I did not find it uncomfortable but the pulsating sensation was a bit weird when you are a skin care newbie.

Now, taking the mask off is the tricky part.It dries into a thick hardened clay that can come off in pieces but the ones that stick has to be taken off with a warm wet wash cloth. I usually just do it in the shower and I gently rub the wash cloth on my face to remove the clay off. I find this method more time efficient than washing it off in the wash basin. My skin is always red after but it settles after a few minutes, then you can really see that your skin is clean and the skin looks really healthy! It can be a bit drying so be sure to moisturize but this mask is really good at cleansing pores!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Feel the pulsating!

I love this stuff on my face, especially my nose and chin where I get the most blackheads and pimples. It's very cheap and will last a loooong time since you only need about a teaspoon for your whole face. As it dries it tightens and you start to feel your face pulsate, it feels strange but I guess that means it's working!

I like how it's only clay so when you make up a mask you can personalise the ingredients and know exactly what you're putting on your face. I prefer it with apple cider vinegar as the tub recommends, and sometimes I put a couple of drops of rosehip oil in for added moisture.

One annoying thing about this though is that it just isn't as convenient as a mask out of a tube, and also when it dries on your face it takes a bit of effort to get it off. I usually put it on 20 min before a shower then let the water soften the clay so it can easily be rubbed off.

After I wash it off my face is a bit red but goes back to normal after half an hour or so. My skin feels tighter (but in a good way) and cleaner, and as I've been using it for a few weeks once a week I can see less blackheads on my nose and chin :)

I would recommend this to anyone even with sensitive skin - I have sensitive excema-prone skin and this is gentle enough for me, and there are no nasty added ingredients like in ready made masks. Try it out!

Tips: Mix with organic apple cider vinegar for best results, the acidic vinegar balances the pH of the alkaline clay, and when mixed together makes a smooth mousse rather than a clumpy mess.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th May, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Fantastic stuff

Well I bought this product from www.iherb.com after reading people reviews for it. It arrived from Cincinatti within 5 days which was fantastic.

I must admit when I first made it up I made too much mixture up - 4 tbl powder to 4 tbl cider vinegar as I was going to do a mask on myself and one for my teenage son who was getting some sore looking pimples on his face. We did save the remaining product up to use in a couple of days.

The mixture goes a LONG way so only a tbl each is sufficient for one person.

The smell was a bit gross to be honest but there was no residual smell after. We left it on for a good 30 mins until it dried as much as possible.

Our skin was so soft, smooth and polished after taking it off with warm water. I applied the mask again to my son two days later and his skin really started to heal very fast.

Tips: Don't laugh when it has nearly dried as it cracks and you look like a lizard! Try to take the larger bits off into a tissue as if it all goes down the drain it may block it as it may not wash all the way down the drainpipes.

Use a toner after it is removed to make sure every last bit has gone.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st April, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Amazing value and great results

I had to get some of this after reading the below reviews and I have been nothing but impressed. It's really cheap on IHerb and as you don't need to use as much as the container says, it's amazing value. I've given some to my sister and some friends and still have enough to last me absolutely months.

As per the below reviews, make sure you use apple cider vinegar and a brush (I use a pastry brush lol)

It's yet to make my skin pulsate but I'm feeling like that's a good thing, I don't think I would like that. What I have noticed since using is that my face is way less oily than it has ever been and my foundation is lasting all the better for this. I don't think I would be without it now, it's just that good.

I don't suffer from acne and was wondering if it would be a bit harsh for my sensitive skin but not at all, if you've been wondering about that don't let it stop you from trying it.

It does leave my skin a little red but it subsides within half an hour, nothing I can't get over.

All in all I would say it's a must have in your beauty regime.

Thanks everyone for talking about it, I'm so glad I've been and tried it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th February, 2014
2 members found this review useful
The Secret is Out!

I bought Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask after reading the raves about it on here and further researching it online. To be honest I thought it all seemed a bit too good to be true as I've tried other clay masks and always felt like 'yeah they're alright but my skin's still looking pretty meh and I'm still breaking out'. I was glad to be proven wrong. This clay WORKS. It goes on thickly (although I do have to use a pastry brush to mix and apply it as using my hands was just mucky) and it makes your skin tingle then pulsate. It's pretty freaky feeling! Afterwards your skin is aglow! Since using it for three weeks I've noticed my acne has calmed down substantially. Smaller pimples that were there at the time of application seem to clear up more quickly and my skin just looks healthier. The Husband has also taken to using it and he's seeing results too. I don't know what the secret is to the clay but I'm glad someone discovered it and then put it into an affordably tub!

Tips: Use the apple cider vinegar rather than water - it seems to mix better with it. Also, pastry brush it on if you don't want to get all grubby :) Oh, I also take it off with a flannel - just using my hands didn't cut it - and then lightly exfoliate before moisturising.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Kaiarahi
18th February, 2014

Lol - I have my husband using it too. I'll let him know he's not the only one :p

toodles83
18th February, 2014

Wow thanks for your review iam so getting some of this to try,and will deff try out apple cider vinegar to mix it up with, I sometimes use an apple cider vinegar as a rinse in my hair and it's absolutely awesome stuff,oh yes an a pastry brush too :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th February, 2014
2 members found this review useful
Cheap can be good!

To start - I'm actually sitting typing this review in the mask!

I love a bargain but I'm generally suspicious of really cheap products. I think I would have paid maybe 7 NZD for a big tub from iherb four weeks ago. I've been using it once or twice a week and I haven't even made a dent in the clay! So value for money - check!

I have sensitive skin, so I'm always apprehensive about new products, especially ones which are going to be in contact with my skin for a long period of time. I followed the directions and didn't keep it on for more than 10 minutes. My face was red for a while afterwards, but the label says this can happen.

Mixing it up is a case of each to their own I think - definitely try it with Apple Cider Vinegar if you have it, but don't be put off by the consistency water gives you - it still does the job, you just look slightly less desirable while wearing the mask!!

The mask tightens quite dramatically and your face will feel warm and tingly - but it's not unbearable and in my head it means it's working.

Washing off is a bit of a mission - I recommend cleansing your face before applying the mask, then rinsing it off in the shower.

The effects - skin is visibly refreshed - it's flushed to start but once that wears off you'll be glowing. It does seem to pull out blackheads and blocked pores, and there's not a trace of oil. I suffer from oily "nose sides" and an oily chin - this mask is a godsend!

It's a shame this isn't readily available in NZ, it would be a very popular product - as it is, if you're ever ordering from iherb pop one in your cart - you wont regret it!

Tips: Use apple cider vinegar for a more consistent paste - it does work just as well with water but it's a bit lumpy and you kind of have to "slap" it on.

This is great to really freshen your face and rid it of sweat and oil at the end of a hot, muggy day! .

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
gtsgrl
1st March, 2014

All these reviews have got me wanting some, I especially like your comments about the oily nose sides and chin, I suffer from the same so I'll order some now and hope it works for me.

kirstysays
17th February, 2014

I have to get some of this, it sounds so good.

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!